OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3666 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Sakura Sakura  Smile May 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Private Party


We run out of Japanese places to eat! OH NO!!!

He came to rescue and brought me to this place called Sakura Sakura even though we were having some conflict at the moment. I guess I am the world's luckiest girl!

This place is brimming with Japanese and locals alike. Many Japanese frequent the Japanese restaurants in this areas that are opened and operated by Japanese.

Appetizer was mashed potato . I wonder why Japanese restaurants serve mashed potato as appetizer. Doesn't this make people too full to eat the next item? Luckily it is not too creamy like how others do this.

 
Sashimi Set (RM 42)

All the sashimi costs RM 80 and above so I didn't order those in order to save money. Luckily I found a cheaper version of Sashimi Set that even comes together with Japanese white rice, miso soup, a piece of watermelon and honeydew.

The butterfish, salmon, tuna and prawn sashimi are very fresh and seems to melt in my mouth!

 

 
Curry Nabe (RM 32)

I thought my this is just a normal claypot stir fried pork slices but it turned out to be curry soup with chicken, cabbage, bean sprouts and cherry tomatoes! This is very appetizing for dinner.

 
Details:

Address: Sakura Sakura Japanese Restaurant, No. 4 & 4A, Jalan SS12/1B Subang Jaya Selangor

Tel: 03-5637 9185

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi set
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM86.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xing Hot Pot  Smile May 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | BBQ


Usually we won't drive so far all the way to Cheras Selatan to eat anything. Initially I declined the offer then suddenly, I went because of fellowship. Thank god Saturday is Wesak Day so a lot of Malaysians are on leave on Friday.

Xing Hot Pot is located in a commercial area called C180, a bit weird for an area like this. I was surprised that the AEON Cheras Selatan that I used to go for movies in university, has developed into such a busy area with a lot of cafes. There is even an Ibis Style Hotel! Beside the Ibis Hotel, there is a staircase that leads upstairs to the commercial area whereby Xing is the only cafe.

Surprisingly, the seafood at Xing is very fresh. Unlike the description by other bloggers, that we have to be kiasu and stand beside the aquarium in order to get the live tiger prawns to be barbecued, I did get 2 chances. I admit I waited till an hour later before I saw it swimming in the aquarium and I even got the chance to eat it twice! The prawns are so fresh, swimming and jumping off the glasses! The taste is springy too!

 

 
The other blogs and facebook also described Xing waiters as not helpful but it turned out my experience was good whereby when I arrived, they gave me plates though they needn't do so since it's a buffet. They even helped me put the sticks through the live prawns and brought us 3 big plates of slices beef, pork and lamb.

 

 

 
Upon arrival, normally hungry customers can go to the cooked food corner and grab some noodles, salad, fried food like chicken wings, prawns, clams etc.

There were many choices of vegetables, fishballs, yong tau foo stuff, many varieties of noodles from ee foo mee to fish paste noodles, and also 2 refrigerators containing BBQ satay sticks made in very cute yakitori style and the other for steamboat items.

 

 

 
My personal favourite are the BBQ sticks such as my favourite snails, taiwanese sausages (mini version), BBQ fish and shimsamo. We can BBQ all that on mini BBQ pits on every table.

 

 

 
They just have too much seafood here like clams, prawns (normal and tiger prawns), scallops (smaller version), oysters (very small ones), bamboo clams, snails etc. I felt like I was in a seafood restaurant instead of plain steamboat.

 

 

 

 

 

 
For soup, there are choices of herbal chicken, clear, tomyam and pork bone soup.

There is also myriad drinks like chinese tea, lemon tea, sweet herbal tea, orange juice. As for desserts, there are red bean soup, green bean and also sweet glutinous balls. Most of them are super sweet.

 
There is even a fridge for ice-cream from Magnolia and Kings ice-cream sticks in flavours like lemon lime, orange, chocolate etc.

 
For the price of only RM 49.90 per pax, it is well worth the money. If you live around this area of Cheras or Balakong, then should not miss this steamboat!Details:

Address: E-UG-10, Centerstage, Dataran c180, Jalan c180/1, Cheras, Jalan Kasturi, Taman Kasturi, 43200 Batu 9 Cheras,
Selangor, Malaysia

 
Recommended Dish(es):  tiger prawn
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM49.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taima Hokkien Mee  OK May 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


I really like Klang Bukit Tinggi Jaya Jusco and just found out that it is the biggest Jusco in the entire Malaysia! There are so many stores! Dad felt like eating Fried Hokkien Mee after a whole afternoon of shopping. It was raining too so a plateful of hot fried Hokkien Mee seems to do the trick, dad thought! We were feeling hungry due to early brunch in Klang at 11.30 am.

So I was in the car googling where to have this Hokkien Mee nearby in Kota Kemuning which has less jam compared to PJ area and voila, I found Taima Hokkien Mee at Bukit Rimau. When we reached there, at 5.31 pm, there was no dinner crowd yet and only had 1 table.

All the food here is quite cheap as it only costs RM 36 for all the 4 noodles and 1 pot of chrysanthemum tea!

Fried Hokkien Mee

This is by far, the only food item I find that is the best! I regretted not ordering more of the same thing! It was incredible! Fragrant from a lot of fried pork fats, tasty and strong in taste. In fact, it has changed my perception of Fried Tai Lok Mee as I previously hated this type of noodles! Fancy doing that to me!

 
Cantonese Hor Fun

The sauce is thick with egg.Loh Tai Lok Mee

This is thick but not as good as the one at Ulu Yam Loh Mee which has the noodles swimming inside the dark sauce.

 
Fried Sinchow Mai Fan (Singapore Fried Bihun)

I wonder how you call this SG Fried Bihun when the noodles are overly soggy and cooked with too much water? There is lack of vegetables and only had cheap white cabbage and some greens and pork meat. I had only 1 spoon and done, NO MORE! This is how terrible it is! My mother's fried bihun is 10 times better!

 
Details:

Address: Jln Sungai Burung AA32/AA,
Bukit Rimau, 40460 Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM36

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rayong Thai  Smile May 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood


I have been wanting to bring my parents here for so long and finally decided to do it tonight since they love thai food. The price here is very cheap and worth the originality of the food. These are our orders;

Pineapple Fried Rice (RM 11.90)

This is super fragrant and well worth the price with the amount of prawns, octopus, pineapples and vegetables used.

 

 
Mixed Vegetables (RM 8.90)

The mixed vegetables are just nice and tasty, not too oily too.

 

 
Tomyam Set (RM 18.90)

As usual the set comes with 2 pieces of fried fish cakes, 1 lemongrass drink, 2 santan corn pudding desserts, 1 white rice. The tomyam seemed to be cooked for 4 pax instead of only 1 pax.

 
Lime Steamed Fish (RM 35.90)

The lime is just nice and not too sour and the fish is superb with very tender flesh. Dad even drank every sip of the sauce!

 
Fresh Thai Coconut Juice (RM 6.90)

The coconut juice is very sweet and refreshing.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  pineapple fried rice,tomyam,lime fish
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Yong Tau Fu


I rarely comment Chee Cheong Fun as tasty. But this one is one of a kind whereby the chee cheong fun sauce looks like Pasembur sauce.I guess the sauce is the reason behind the super long queue, which I joined. I rarely like to queue, but thinking it is Yong Tau Foo, it should be fast. While queuing up, my friend from Holiday Tours came to call me and asked whether I was doing the closing ceremony. She said that the place is closing down and moving to Imbi Plaza soon.

 
There is a variety of Yong Tau Foo ingredients such as foo chuk, fish balls, ladies fingers, pig's skin, etc. I feel that dish is just ok. Only the sauce made the difference.

 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0