OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3684 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Thai Express  OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


We were trying to find dinner place at Jaya Shopping Centre and ended up eating here again though I was not that keen to eat here. After all, the price here is the most reasonable among all the other restaurants at the top level in this mall. This is the third time I come here. The second time was with another friend whereby we ate white tom yam served in very small portion and lacking the spiciness and sourness of tomyam and the kangkung being too sweet. Anyway we came here because my friend wanted to fulfill craving of beef noodle soup. I think the only edible food here is the curry with chapati.

The Beef Noodle Soup at about RM 17.90 was something I have never seen before with the soup being too dark as though they poured the whole bottle of black dark sauce inside. The few thin pieces of beef were just normal. I prefer Vietnamese Pho in any vietnamese stall or cafe. My friend poured the whole plate of dried chilli flakes inside and ate till he was sweating all over.

 
I had the Siamese Laksa with green curry for about the same price of the beef noodles. The curry had too much santan and I am not a milk person and am too health conscious. There were potatoes, brinjals, carrot and chicken inside. The rice flour noodles were hardened and crumped or balled together.

 
The Thai Herbal Drink (RM 6.90) : Has a little weird taste for my friend but for me it was quite ok just that it was a little sour.

 
Details: Address: Lot 3-15, Jalan Semangat Section 14, Level Three, Jaya Shopping Centre, PJ 46100 Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Weissbrau  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | Bar & Pub | Steaks / Chops


We were in Pavilion walking around looking for a place to eat since my friend was staying opposite at Novotel. I just realized that Novotel is just opposite Pavilion and so convenient to walk across.

Though there was a lot of mosquitoes at the end corner table, the waiters were very attentive and observant and even brought a mini fan / ventilator. 

I had a Leffe which was served in a typical Leffe glass.The German Frankfurters were quite ok, thankfully not that salty like typical German sausages. I totally like mashed potato with sauerkraut and parsley which are sourish taste.

The side salad is quite tasty with balsamic sauce.

 
Address: Level 3, Pavilion 168, Jalan Bukit Bintang 55100 Kuala Lumpur

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rayong Thai  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood


We were looking for the Korean restaurant in Taman Desa and could not find it despite making a few rounds; then voila, I laid my eyes on Rayong Thai cafe which has alfresco dining and also air-conditioned part.

The place is quite airy despite having the kitchen right in front. Inside, one can see Thai god altars. All these assured you that you are dining in the correct place whereby you can eat genuine Thai food cooked by Thai nationalities.

For me, the benchmark of taste for any Thai restaurant is easily The Pad Thai but once I find it horrible, you can be assured there is no second visit.Tomyam Set (RM 18.90)

Since we ordered the 1 pax set dinner of Tomyam and rice, it came together with a Tako Thai Pudding with coconut topping which was amazing. It even has corn inside the pudding.

 
The tomyam was spicy and sour enough with a lot of vegetables and big prawns and octopus.

It also comes with Lemongrass drink which was ok but not too fragrant.

 
Pad Thai (RM 9.90)

The Pad Thai is simply spectacular! It was spicy enough, moist enough but not too moist to the extent of being balled up, with a lot of nuts, bean sprouts, a few big prawns and octopus.

 

 
Surprisingly, my entire meal only came up to RM 30.53, not bad for an a/c place.

Details: Thai Kopitiam, 19G Plaza Danau 2, Jalan 4/109F Taman Danau Desa

 
Recommended Dish(es):  pad thai,tomyam,dessert
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30.53

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kaki Bola  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Seafood | Noodles


For me, the best fish head bihun soup can be found here. The best part is that they have fresh fish inside the soup instead of merely deep fried fish like the conventional ones.

I had the XO soup fish head noodles with rough noodles. The soup is clear and not oily. The price is quite reasonable at RM 9 only.

 

 
My friend had wantan mee for RM 6.50. The noodles are just normal but I preferred the wantan.Details:

Address: Kaki Bola fish head noodle

No. 23, Jalan 20/14,

Paramount Garden,

46100 Petaling Jaya,

Selangor

GPS:3.107316, 101.625090

Hours: daily 7.30am – 4pm, 6pm – 9pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  fresh fish head XO noodle
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM17.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hyotan Japanese Restaurant  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Group/Family dining | Private Party

It seems like our aim is to hit every single Japanese restaurant along SS15. Currently I have tried Jyu Raku, Kinpachi and Tomoe, and Hyotan on 10 January 2016.

Hyotan can be said to be the first Japanese restaurant in SS15 for year 2016....hahaha so much for statistics!

 
After my company ABO product fair today, I had to fulfill my long time craving for Japanese food, meaning great sashimi after the expensive Rakuzen at Tropicana which did not fulfill my desire enough. The price here is more reasonable than Tomoe.

Like all the rest of the restaurants along this road, there is an upstairs segment. Here there are private tables that make the dining experience better.

 
Before starting the meal, we are served a very unique appetizer of sweet beancurd skin that acts like a money bag containing of smashed egg, tomato, carrot, parsley and spring onions.

 
Hyotan is famous for the bento sets which can be combined in any way that you like.

Hyotan Bento A (RM 45) :

We were served a special chawanmushi with pumpkin sauce inside and the normal gingko, Japanese fishcake and chicken inside. Also, there were miso soup and also a small bowl of salad with sesame sauce over red and yellow capsicum, salad and cherry tomatoes. There were also two pieces of my favourite yellow pickles and a plate of watermelon and honeydew.

 
This bento is a combination of all my favourite food such as 3 pieces of thick fresh raw sashimi, a small portion of tempura (ebi, pumpkin, capsicum) etc. The main purpose I came here was to eat the unagi. There were 3 small pieces of unagi to satisfy my cravings. The unagi was a little too small, but nothing to complain since we paid RM 45 for so much variety.

The tempura was nicely fried and well-balanced in terms of coating, unlike the ones at Mid Valley food court.

There was also a mini tamago egg with octopus strips (bonito flakes) and stripped seaweed on top.

There was a tiny bowl with a bed of radish and fresh transparent eye-popping fish roe inside. This is laid next to the salmon sashimi.

Another item was the steamed octopus with 2 potato balls and a sweet pea.

There was also a bowl of wet seaweed done the way I like it.

 
Yaki Udon (RM 24)

The Yaki Udon is quite ok but the portion is quite small for this price. The udon has a weird smell that I suspects comes from preserved bamboo or preserved red chillies. There were also cabbage, bean sprouts, dried strips of octopus bonito flakes on top.

 
Green tea cost RM 2 whereas the wet tissue costs RM 1.

The total price came up to RM 72 with 10% Service charge totaling RM 7.20 and GST of RM 4.75

Details:

Address: No. 63, Jalan SS15/5A, 47500 Subang Jaya Selangor

Tel: 03-56360326

 
Recommended Dish(es):  hyotan bento A,tempura,unagi,sashimi,salmon,chawanmushi,udon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM83.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0