OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Desserts | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

I was here for my friend's birthday celebration. Since he chose this cake, I surprised him with this matcha cake with red bean. I felt the cake is just normal and not that great. There is a special service provided by the cafe whereby you can inform them and show them the cake receipt and they would bring the cake upstairs and surprise the birthday person and the team of waiters will stand around and sing a birthday song. It is something like what TGI Fridays do but one need not spend that much. 

The ambience here is ideal for any special gatherings with friends and family. They have many waiters around and one can call them at anytime. All the waiters are Chinese and there is only 1 Malay. At the ground floor, there is a bakery where the style is somewhat like Tous Les Jous. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Poon Kee  OK Nov 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Café | Desserts

We were looking for something light as brunch was too early so I discovered this place in Main Place and the newspaper cuttings on the wall show it is quite famous. 

Since I had a craving for Ginger Tang Yuen Tong Sui (RM 5.80), I ordered this but was disappointed when the tong sui came and the sesame balls were too small and the flour was coming out showing that the workmanship is not good. 

The Chee Cheong Fan has a few options of yong tau foo at RM 1.80 for vegetables, RM 2.80 for Sotong, RM 0.90 for fishballs etc. I ordered a fishball (RM 0.90), kangkung (RM 1.80),cuttlefish (RM 2.80),  and chee cheong fan all at a total of RM 7 with curry. The chee cheong fan is not bad. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soul in Seoul  OK Nov 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant

This time round I am on a verge of food hunting around Sri Petaling. Today I discovered this unique place called Soul in Korea where one restaurant is split into 2 whereby one shop lot has Winter Feel of skis and snow mountains on the wall and the whole wall decked with skis. 

On the other hand, the other shop lot has a traditional ambience even to the extent of the whole Korean history and olympics record on the wall, like dining in a museum. The creativity is attributed to the Korean owner. 

As usual, I was excited to see Bulgogi Rice Burger (RM 7.50) but the rice turned out to be too soggy and the filling too little. The best rice burger is still from MOS and the last time I ate was at Singapore. 

My friend ordered the Vegetarian Bibimbab with Spicy Sauce (RM 15.90) which was not that spicy. The side dishes of kimchi, spicy fish cake, tauge, purple cabbage and also zucchini were quite ok. 

The whole meal came up to a mere RM 28.30 which was quite reasonable as it covered 2 pax. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM28.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles

I was so hungry. My friend warned me he did not feel like eating Japanese food today. I wonder what is wrong about eating Japanese food except that it is quite expensive usually. Anyway, finally he chose this place. 

My friend chose the Pattaya BBQ Chicken (RM 15.90) whereby the Kampung Chicken disappointed my friend as Kampung Chicken is too small. To me, it is better because it is healthier option than the normal chicken with all the fats. The chicken comes served with sweet sambal and kerabu onion and cucumber. I feel that the sambal here is somewhat too sweet for me as I prefer the sambal to be spicier. 

We also ordered the Kerabu Mango salad (RM 9.90) which turned out to be the worst and weirdest mango salad I have ever eaten. I have never seen kerabu salad in black sauce. Probably it was because they mixed it with the blackish sambal. I think my mother can make much better kerabu mango salad. 

The 5 Treasures Stir Fried vegetables with corns, kailan, tofu, french beans and asparagus (RM 11.90). The corn starch is too much which spoilt the dish totally. 

My friend could not resist not ordering tom yam so finally after deliberating, he finally ordered the Oyster Mushroom Vegetarian Tom Yam Soup (RM 9.90) which was quite tasty albeit it lacks the sourness of tom yam. The straw mushroom inside made it a bit special and different from the normal tom yam. 

I felt that Thai Express has too much of a Malay feel in the food instead of the normal Thai food I have expected. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM64.25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pat Kin Pat Sun Cafe  OK Oct 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Steaks / Chops | Noodles

I came here to Kuchai Lama initially to eat conveyor steamboat but finally ended up eating here since I was out of time. I discovered this place is 24 hours too and serve delicious food. The prices of food and drinks here are at about RM 12.90 to 15. 

I ordered the Szechuan handmade noodles which is actually a slab of chili paste with the noodles in the soup. The noodles was not spicy enough and not Szechuan enough for me. 

The Fake Shark's Fin Dumpling (RM 4.80) was quite ok and not as hard as the normal dim sum in fast food places or cafes like this. 

The Roasted Pork and Prawn chee cheong fan was just normal, and too much pork and meat for me so I could not give a fair comment. The skin is too thick compared to the original Hong Kong Chee Cheong Fan. 

Sze Chuan Dumpling was quite tasty too. I think I am a victim of any sui kow but this is quite tasty.

The Passionfruit Juice was very sour and sweet at the same time and the portion is quite big. 

After eating all that, I still feel hungry and we ordered stir fry kai lan (RM 13.90) which made me feel cheated because it was chai sim instead of kai lan. 

The price of dim sum costs about RM 6 - 9 which is quite expensive because usually this cost is for high end restaurants. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0