OpenRice Index
  
iamthewitch
This is iamthewitch living in Seputeh. I am a Engineer, work in Bukit Jalil. Thai, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love and Pizza/Pasta, Seafood.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review14 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity728 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos101 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamthewitch  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 14 Reviews in Malaysia
Chilli Pan Mee Pioneer Smile Jan 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

There are only two options, either the dry or soup pan mee. To enjoy the complete satisfaction of Chili Pan Mee, order the dry one. It will come with fried shallots, anchovies, minced meat and a whole poached egg on a bed of noodles.
Chilli pan mee

Chilli pan mee

 
The chilli paste was stored in a separate container, so that you could control the level of spiciness you want your noodles to be. Just look at the chilli flakes – fiery red and shiny from the chilli oil, one can tell that it’s not going to be easy on the tummy!
Chilli flakes

Chilli flakes

 
You know you’ve got a good bowl of chilli pan mee when the poached egg is perfect, the golden yolk flows into the noodles and coats them evenly, and the chilli flakes give the noodles a bright red sheen with bits of minced meat attached. The first bite of the chilli pan mee is the most satisfying one – after all the work of tossing and mixing, the excessive salivating due to the absolutely glorious aroma of chilli and shallots – came the ecstasy of firing up your senses with spicy chilli and bouncy noodles. Oh yes, Kin Kin did live up to its expectations. The noodles were exceptionally firm and chewy, while the chilli paste was spicy, spicy, spicy! But with a hint of aroma apparently from the addition of tea leaves within. It’s really different from the other chilli pan mee I’ve tasted before.
Chilli pan mee

Chilli pan mee

 
We also tried the Soup Pan Mee for the fun of it. It came in a big bowl also with a poached egg and anchovies! On top of that, there were slices of pork fillet and vegetables within. Of course, eating this after the chilli pan mee, I felt it to be a little too bland. My palate was already accustomed to the tasty and spicy chilli so I can’t be a good judge.
Soup pan mee

Soup pan mee

 
Noodles made on the spot

Noodles made on the spot

 
It’s a bowl of noodles that’s worth sweating for! Literally!
Restaurant Kin Kin

Restaurant Kin Kin

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chilli pan mee
 
Date of Visit: Oct 16, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hailam Kopitiam Chicken Chop OK Jan 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches | Noodles

Hailam Kopitiam Bangsar may well be seen as another copycat restaurant but as the saying goes, “Never judge a book by its cover”. Indeed, that’s what we did not do, as we marched straight ahead inside, hoping to find something that makes this restaurant unique. And boy, were we glad we did! Firstly, their Toasted Sliced Bread with Butter & Kaya was oh-so-crumbly and light! I finished eating a piece only to find that my shirt was filled with fine crumbs, but it was so good! Eat it once it’s served, when it’s warm and the butter was just slightly melted within. What makes it different Instead of using the bread supplied by Hailam Kopitiam’s central kitchen, this cafe gets its supply of Hainanese bread from Ah Weng Koh in Imbi Wet Market. Yes, you can only find such brilliant toasts from the Bangsar outlet.
Toasted bread with butter and kaya

Toasted bread with butter and kaya

 
Their Nasi Lemak Special with Rendang Ayam came with the whole works – sambal, a whole boiled egg, fried anchovies, peanuts, chicken in curry gravy, slices of cucumber and fragrant santan (coconut milk) rice. I especially loved the rendang ayam (chicken) which was served with thick, coconut-y gravy that wasn’t overly spicy. It gave the rice that much flavour, while the chicken remained deliciously tender and moist.
Nasi lemak special with rendang

Nasi lemak special with rendang

 
The Hailam Tomyam Fried Rice did not look too enticing but it had all the elements of a nice plate of tom yam fried rice – sour, spicy, savoury and a hint of lemongrass flavour within.
Tom yam fried rice

Tom yam fried rice

 
The chicken chop was surprisingly tender and juicy, with no sign of dryness at all. In fact, it was not even oily – the skin was only lightly battered and very crispy. This was also when I found out that instead of using the frozen supply of chicken chop from Hailam’s central kitchen, they painstakingly get their supply of fresh chicken from the market daily, therefore these chops are not frozen. Highly recommended!
Chicken chop

Chicken chop

 
Traditional Hailam Roasted Coffee

Traditional Hailam Roasted Coffee

 
I was most certainly impressed by their toasts and chicken chop. Those are the two main reasons that make this kopitiam different, and the same reasons that would keep me returning for more.
Dining environment

Dining environment

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Toast,Chicken chop
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Croatian Cuisine OK Jan 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Steaks / Chops | Fine Dining

It was my first time dining in a Croatian restaurant and I had no idea what to expect. Our first dish was Marco Pollo Pasta, essentially penne pasta with mushrooms, smoked chicken and a dash of cream. I personally don’t fancy penne but this was done pretty well – al dente and very tasty. The flavour of mushrooms was distinct, and the very creamy base made this pasta so good that I did not even notice the chicken’s presence.
Marco Pollo Pasta

Marco Pollo Pasta

 
Sarma is a traditional Croatian dish that consists of sour cabbage rolls filled with minced beef and rice cooked in a light tomato gravy. On the side was a bed of mashed potatoes with a lightly charred top that gave it an aesthetically pleasing outlook without affecting its taste. The combination of sour and savoury gravy with minced beef was perfect with the smooth and velvety mashed potatoes. It’s comfort food indeed.
Sarma

Sarma

 
When the dish of Kobase or home-made chicken sausages was served, I was nothing short of amazed! Look at the brilliant hues of colour across the spiral sausage. It was almost too pretty to be eaten. Each piece was savoury and tender, served with sautéed potatoes and roasted capsicum on the side. Growing up in Malaysia, the sausages we have will never be enough as a complete meal, but this, this will fill us to the brim and more.
Kobase

Kobase

 
If there’s one thing Dubrovnik is proud of, it’s their signature dish of Lamb Peka. In fact, it is so good that they made a video out of it! A traditional way of cooking hailing from Croatia, Peka means cooking of meat with an open fire. In this case, the lamb was prepared and marinated with plenty of herbs (think rosemary, thyme, paprika, etc) before being baked up to 3 hours in their wood fire oven covered with an iron bell, until the lamb becomes juicy and tender.
Wood fire oven

Wood fire oven

 
Lamb Peka

Lamb Peka

 
This dish requires such patience and time to cook that we had rather high expectations especially after watching the video. Fortunately, our expectations were met and even exceeded when we took a bite of the extremely tender and juicy lamb. The burst of flavours from all the herbs, the ease with which it melted in our mouth, made the wait so worth it. It’s hard to describe how good it is so you’ve got to try it to know it!

Finally for dessert, we had the Royal Chocolate Cake which consisted of bitter chocolate top sitting on a crunchy hazelnut praline base, topped with a cherry. The chocolate top was dense and firm, almost like a hardened version of chocolate mousse but so much more chocolatey. Towards the bottom, the praline case and the hazelnut gave it a nutty crunch, one that I could not get enough of. Best of all, this was not overly sweet – just perfect.
Royal Chocolate Cake

Royal Chocolate Cake

 
The Crepe Suzette was served with 2 crepes cooked in a citrus orange sauce, flambéed with Cognac and topped with plenty of orange zest. The tangy and sweet flavours from the orange sauce made this quite an interesting dessert to complete our satisfying dinner.
Crepe Suzette

Crepe Suzette

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  lamb peka,Royal chocolate cake
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shabu-Shabu Buffet Smile Jan 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Noodles

One thing I dislike about buffets is the crowds. And the fast-disappearing food from the buffet line. Living in a predominantly kiasu land, it’s not common to find buffet tables to be nearly empty almost as soon as they’re served. Thankfully, I did not face this problem with Nagomi. Every time I went to the buffet line, the food was always at least half-full and the crowd was not that alarming. I always had time to leisurely walk around, observe each dish, decide whether I should choose one or the other, before moving on. What’s the rush
Fresh Seafood

Fresh Seafood

 
Frozen food

Frozen food

 
One thing that captivated me was the fresh mini lobsters that were still swimming in the tray filled with water! A few of them even managed to escape the tray, onto the table. When I tried to take a couple of them onto my plate, they started crawling and fell on the floor.
Fresh lobster

Fresh lobster

 
Crayfish

Crayfish

 
Apart from the lobsters, most of the other seafood offered were fresh, notably the fish slices, prawns and bamboo clams. The crayfish and crab were marvellous for the miso soup. I added them in at the beginning before anything else and they made the soup so much sweeter and delicious.
Shabu-shabu soup base

Shabu-shabu soup base

 
Apart from the raw food spread, there was also a section dedicated to Sushi and Sashimi. Yes, Salmon Sashimi to be exact – they are offered only from 8 to 9pm daily, signaled by the ring of the bell.
Desserts

Desserts

 
Of course, the main star of shabu-shabu is the thinly sliced meat. There were 4 choices to choose from: chicken, lamb, beef and duck. Duck It was my first time. Although I found the meat to be a little on the tough side, the aroma was unmistakable, and it was thankfully, fresh. My favourite had to be the lamb and beef slices though, just swish-swish for about 10 seconds in the bubbling soup, and they would be tender and juicy.
Lamb slices

Lamb slices

 
I enjoyed the Goma sauce the most especially with the sliced meat. For seafood, I preferred to eat them on their own or with spicy chilli sauce.
Sauces

Sauces

 
Even though the selection was not that extensive, the seafood and meat slices were definitely of top quality. This is the case where quality triumphed over quality, and I certainly have no complaints.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shabu-shabu,Mini lobster
 
Date of Visit: Oct 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Comforting Bak Kut Teh OK Jan 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh

I have always spotted Ah Wang Bak Kut Teh to be crowded with people. Situated just under the flyover next to Tesco in Old Klang Road, it was only minutes from where we stay. Perfect!
As usual, the place was packed to the brim again that night. We had to wait for about 10 minutes for a table to finish and be cleared. Thankfully, the ordering process was prompt and food was served in a jiffy.
Dining environment

Dining environment

 
Since there were 3 of us, we ordered a serving of 3 portions BKT with primarily lean meat. We did the mistake by specifically asking for lean meat in our BKT, because the pot came with ONLY lean meat! But I guess we learnt from mistakes. Apparently, you have to specify clearly what you want in the soup. Luckily I asked for beancurd sheets (fu chuk) during the order or the pot would just be filled with lean pork.
Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh

 
Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh

 
Don’t forget to order the Chinese Crullers which go hand-in-hand with the savoury soup. Dip them in for a short while and give it a good bite to experience the burst of flavours, literally.
Chinese crullers

Chinese crullers

 
Apart from the BKT, we noticed almost every table ordered fish. Following suit, we asked for recommendation and decided to order the ‘Si Chap Fish’ or translated to soy sauce fish. It was steamed fish topped with a spicy concoction of soy sauce, garlic and chilli among some, so it was spicy and savoury. What was more notable was the freshness of the fish – the flesh was smooth, firm and flaky. This went very well with rice too.
Steamed fish

Steamed fish

 
The vegetables here were fresh and cheap, priced at only RM5 per plate.
Vegetables

Vegetables

 
White rice

White rice

 
The BKT here is flavourful but still lacked of flavour compared to the ones in Klang. Of course, given the big difference in distance, I wouldn’t mind trading off a little in quality for convenience sometimes, especially when it’s a rainy Friday night and traffic is a nightmare. If you love the light and clear version of BKT soup, do give this a try!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  steamed fish,bak kut teh
 
Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0