OpenRice Index
  
florencehrl
This is florencehrl living in Kepong. I am a STUDENT, work in Damansara Utama. I like to hang out in Damansara Utama, Kota Damansara. Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt, Buffet, Pizza/Pasta.
Member 13 First(s)
No. of Review33 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity854 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos82 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲146 Follower(s)
florencehrl  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 33 Reviews in Malaysia
Father's Day Celebration Smile Jun 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Hotel Dining

Spices Restaurant is located inside the Concorde Hotel. Situated right infront of the swimming pool of the hotel. The location is quiet and tranquil. The staffs were friendly. They served our needs very well. We went on a Saturday night and there was a pianist playing songs. The environment was romantic. smile You can also see the Petronas Twin Towers right above if you sit outside of the restaurants. Very good view.

 
First, the waitress served us the buns politely. Really fresh buns! Comes with garlic cheese and olive oil.

 
The staff refilled the basket once we finished the buns. smile They are very considerate!

Next, I shall introduce the appetizer. Appetizer served were 1. Salmon Tartar with Crispy Tatami and 2. Smoke Duck Breast, Grilled Vegetables, Feta Cheese and Raspberry Vinaigrette. [Photos referred to my blog link at the end of the post]

We don't like both dishes. The salmon tartar were too raw! Maybe we are used to cooked food and we don't like it. It tasted extremely weird. The smoke duck breast tasted okay at first but the more I eat, the more I feel not nice. I don't recommend both of this.

After the appetizer, we were served with soup. There were 2 soups served, which are Cream of Wild Mushroom Soup and French Onion Soup with Cheese Crouton. The mushroom soup as picture below tasted very nice. The ingredients were fresh and the taste of the soup is not very spicy and many many types of mushrooms inside. The French Onion Soup was not that good. Whole bowl of onions~ The soup was too little. And the taste was not really good.

 
The main course! We ordered 4 different one. Spaghetti Alio Olio with seafood. The seafood served were really fresh. Very big and fleshy prawns. Fresh and big scallops too! Other ingredients such as squids and mussels. This portion is very big, I cannot really finished it.

 
My sis's main course was Roasted Spring Chicken, Foie Gras, Garlic Cream and Ponzu Soy Sauce. This was quite nice. The setting of the food was very nice also. smile My sis likes it very much~ The square shaped thingy is the potato which were sliced and baked with cheese layer by layer. It looks like mille crepe cake.

 
My dad ate this Steam Halibut, Black Olive, Trio of Mushroom in Lemon Grass Nage. The western style of cooking steam fish is without ginger unlike the Chinese people. So, the fish tasted a bit weird, maybe because no ginger was used. My dad says, this costs RM100 per kg in the market! The Halibut was fresh.

 
There is still one more main course, which is Duck Confit with Braised Gobo, Porcini and Orange - Umeshu Glaze. It tasted so-so only. [Photos refer to my blog link at the end of the post]

Lastly, our desserts were served. We chose the Balsamic Strawberries with Gelato and Ginger Creme Brulee with seasonal Fresh Berry.

Balsamic Strawberries are me and my sis's favorite. The ice-cream served was very smooth and nice. Absolutely not ordinary Nestle's ice-cream.

 
The Ginger Creme Brulee with seasonal Fresh Berry tasted like egg tart~ Haha, But it was nice too. the top part tasted crispy.

 
The whole meal costs about RM280+ for 4 persons.

We also ordered 2 mocktails. Sky Love and Al Fresco. Al Fresco tasted like vitagen as it contains yogurt. I like this.

Overall comment, the food were nice and the service was excellent! And of course it is a bit pricey. But it is worthwhile for the price at such environment. smile

Blog Link for more photos: http://piiinkandgreeen.blogspot.com/2012/06/spices-restaurants-concorde-hotel.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Balsamic Strawberries with Gelato,Roasted Spring Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Jun 16, 2012 

Celebration:  父親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch at Fat Spoon Cafe Smile Jun 13, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Noodles

Yesterday went to the Fat Spoon with my colleagues. This shop is situated at Damansara Uptown. This is my first time here. It is a special shop with old style decoration and home like feeling.

They use this story books as their menu booklet. The list are pasted on the pages. Very special! They serve fusion food and more to home cooked style.
Great!The Food Menu~

Great!The Food Menu~

 
We ordered Claypot Lou Shu Fen and Fat Spoon Noodles (RM9.90). The Claypot Lou Shu Fen's noodles are apparently cooked separately from the greavy as we feel that the taste of the noodles and the greavy are different.

Well, the Fat Spoon Noodles are actually kuew teow soup (RM9.90). The soup is nice. I like it a lot. It tasted fresh and not oily. I love this home cooked feel. But it is a bit expensive as I don't feel full enough.

 
The shop's interior design as picture below. For example, a table with 4 different type of chairs. Old chairs and tables in the shop. There is also a huge blackboard written with the list of the food available in the store.

The ambience is tranquil and nice. However, I felt that the choices of food are too little. It is a special shop but I don't think I will visit again.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fat Spoon Noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jun 12, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch with colleagues Smile Jun 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

I went La Bodega with my colleagues and that was my first time here ^^

 
Environment: The environment is very calm and nice, the people are friendly. The service is very good. When my friend's dish is not available, they come and suggest other materials to be included in her dish.

All of us have ordered spaghetti for lunch! They serve their pasta in two sizes (small and large) All the size below are small ones.

This is mine! The Penne Puttanesca with Grilled Mediterrenean Vegetables. I love it a lot! Their homemade tomato sauce is really awesome. It costs RM20. I think it is worthwhile! It is not spicy but sweet and sour. The special taste is hard to get it at any other shop!

 
My colleague's Penne Smoked Salmon. Not bad. As she loves salmon. smile RM26!

 
This is Chilli Linguine Aglio E Olio. This is spicy! I don't like this very much. It is supposed to serve with hamachi fish. But the chef suggested prawns as they felt that their fish was not fresh that day and decided not to serve that for my colleague. (that's why I say they are friendly)

 
Lastly, I cannot remember which dish is this. But my colleague said it was not bad. She likes it too! smile

 
Overall comment: Their food is nice and good environment. Price are reasonable too . It is suitable for fine dining! smile

Blog link: http://piiinkandgreeen.blogspot.com/2012/06/la-bodega-empire-subang-gallery.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Penne Puttanesca with Grilled Mediterrenean Vegetables
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tang Yen 甜汤圆 Smile Jun 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Stall / Warung

This is the Penang's Famous Tang Yen! I always like to go to this stall for supper after mid night movie! They are not always open and I always need to try my luck to get the Tang Yen. *I think Saturday night usually don't have.

This bowl of Tang Yen costs RM3. It comes with two with fillings and few smalls one without fillings. What makes this stall so famous is they do the Tang Yen and sell it upon your order. It tastes really fresh and very chewy. You can hardly find this at other place.
甜汤圆

甜汤圆

 
They have very limited seats for dine-in. And this stall is right opposite the Penang's Trader's Hotel. If you are there, sometimes u need to wait beside the road for seats. Many people come here all the way to take away too. The location of by the road side makes u feel like as if the old stalls in the old days.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tang Yen
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

French Vanilla Mille Crepe Smile Jun 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

Happy Mothers' Day!
I have ordered Mille Crepe for my mum!
I booked this online via http://myshop.humblebeginnings.com.my/

 

 
Humble Beginnings serves nice mille crepe, cheese cakes and sponge cakes!
Their cakes range from RM72 onward (Mille Crepe)
I added toppings (u can choose up to two) and it costs RM10
*I think adding the toppings is worthwhile!*

And to have it delivered to my house (RM15 delivery charge)
Total = RM97 for this 0.9kg Mille Crepe

They also customize make your cakes according to your needs.
Is very easy to book online with their website.

I have added Dark Chocolate Shavings and Strawberries as toppings.
The mille crepe is French Vanilla.
Taste just nice! Not too sweet and very yummy.
They cut the cakes properly in 16 pieces.
*So I do not have to cut them myself as I will mess it if I do it myself!*

I like their service a lot! smile)
They will call to confirm your order and you can actually choose the time you want your cake to be delivered.
They offer their service in JB, Spore, Penang and KL~

Usually if you eat outside, it costs at least RM9/10 per piece!
I have asked the other shop which I always patronize
They offer two sizes which are 7 inch whole cake is RM 85, and 8.5 inch whole cake is RM108 without toppings*
>.<
So, the price and cakes offer by Humble Beginnings actually quite reasonable! smile)

Blog Link: http://piiinkandgreeen.blogspot.com/2012/05/humble-beginnings-mille-crepe.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  French Vanilla Mille Crepe
 
Date of Visit: May 13, 2012 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM75(其他)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0