OpenRice Index
  
Maple Kok
This is Maple Kok . I am a Student, work in Kampar. I like to hang out in Kampar. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, Pasar Malam and Dim sum, Desserts, Nasi Minyak, Cheese Cake,Chicken herbal soup.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review59 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity1027 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos662 Photo(s)
Upload Videos3 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews5 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant48 My Restaurant(s)
Follow34 Following
粉絲298 Follower(s)
Maple Kok  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 59 Reviews in Malaysia
Large portion & variety Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt


On one free weekday, I make my way, I have been long for their salad everytime when I saw chai bar. Since It was offpeak time, I use an apps knowns as offpeak to get cheaper price. 

Instead of getting a small salad for Rm 13.90 , I got it at Rm 11.80. Save on Rm 2.10

 
Here, you can choose to make you own salad or choose from the existing creation. There is total 10 combination recommended by the restaurant. 

Small Rm 13.90
Regular Rm 17.90
Large Rm 22.90

 
I chose grilled chicken for the protein, so here it is, serving hot grilled chicken. THe one that I have gotten is chicken breast, not sure everyone got the same or not, but it is fat free for my grilled chicken
it is assortment of all the healthy snacks, and abundant

it is assortment of all the healthy snacks, and abundant

 
make-your-my own salad Rm 13.90

you can choose to mix and match the salad by yourself. Below is the ingredients that I chose for my own salad

Base: Romaine Lettuce

Supplements: Raisins, TOmato, Hard boiled egg, beetroot, baby potatoes

Proteins: Grilled Chicken, (initially, I wanted to add on Salmon, but luckily I didn't, it is too much I almost couldn't finish.)

Toppings: Roasted Seaweed

Dressing: Roasted Sesame
the roasted seaweed make me drool

the roasted seaweed make me drool

 
I think variety is the reason why people make their way here. You can choose among so many ingredients. that make it easier to mix and match. Not forget that the portion is very huge. 

Needless to comment on the dressing, cause they used the japanase roasted sesame sauce you can't go wrong with it's savoury aroma. 
quite a big chunks for each of the part and parcel

quite a big chunks for each of the part and parcel

 
I whine a big for their big chunks size of each ingredients, would prefer to take the staff there to cut it smaller. Imagine that when you want to consume it, then you need to cut it smaller before entering your mouth~~ 
and to pair up with roasted sesame sauce!

and to pair up with roasted sesame sauce!

 
Overall, it's a recommended place for a wholesome salad. No worry, it's not only for snack, but main meal also. Considering the one that I order is small size, so you can imagine that big size would be fit for 2 people. 
Supplementary Information:
NO GST, NO Service Charge, Wifi available
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salad
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 04, 2015 

Celebration:  聖帕特里克節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(下午茶)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nam Heong White Coffee Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles | Dim sum | Coffee


updated on 15th dec 2014:

other food that I try

 

 
Hi~~ Today I like to let you to have a 2D tour of one of the must visit place in Ipoh.

It's an eatery, Yea, it's the long established don't know since how many years. Also it's the pioneer of Old Town White Coffee that basically available in every corner in Malaysia now.Namely

NAM HEONG old town White Coffee.

 
I always going there during the merry Sunday, which then I have to wait to seat as everytime there is a lot of people there. Not sure how it looks like during weekday.

Nam Heong White Coffee, different from the typical Old Town White Coffee. Here, it's a 7 stalls hawker centre. Each of the stalls selling different food that each has it's highlight! (No offence: I always eat economic rice , so I don't feel like want to order it anymore.)

 
Many come here of it's original Old TownWhite Coffee. Can you guess which one is the

coffee + milk tea

milk tea?

the price is less than Rm2....Rm1.70 is not mistaken

Since I am not a coffee person, I only ordered the milktea, I don't know how to describe it, slightly better than milk tea that you drink anywhere else. Differents in....the taste is just ngam ngam, (perfectly adjust) I guess, like it's has subtle taste of tea , and not too sweet overall.

Bf order this campur. It's nice though, smooth. Can quite geniune.....lost of word to describe it...why not you just try them yourself??

And now it comes to the highlight of this restaurant. (As I am not a coffee person, milktea is the highlight instead of the coffee). Actually there are quite many highlights! I feel like want to try every of the food there except the economic rice that selling at the front door there. Somehow, seeing how the food is served on table of others, the appearance, the aroma really make me think that every food here is worth to try! Like each of them is so damn delicious!

First highlight:

 
the super cruchy, condensed egg tart.

 
this make me drooling!

the filling is so full like you already full after eating one. But later on, you will crave for more.

And it is still edible after one day promising that you keep them in fridge. Just that the crunchiness all gone as time goes by.

Second highlight:

 
Curry mee Rm4.50

Special ler~~ haven seen curry mee with Chinese roast pork. The mint garnish the overall appearance as well as the taste. I personally perfer dry curry mee than curry mee. Dry curry mee mix with Kam lao also very taste good!

 
Dry curry Mee Rm4.50

Honestly, I prefer dry curry mee more than the normal one. I wish i could bring my family here~~

 
The curry mee, cry curry mee all come from this stall. I like to order from this stall, because their portion is suffice enough to make me full. Hehe

Third highlight

This Chao Keuy Tiaw is superb! Just that it's a small size serving. Should try this, the sambal is nice also.

 
Chaw Keuy Tiaw Rm4

I have yet to try other dishes in their dim sum stalls, the chicken hor fun...and the apam balik outside at the front door.

Oh yea, and there is this kedai kopi opposite the Nam Heong. And according to my bf, it is famous for their curry mee.

 
Address:

2, Jalan Bandar Timah, 30000 Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia.

Supplementary Information:
occupied and esp more congested during the weekend, has to find parking space before reach.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  eggtart,milktea,currymee,drycurrymee
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2015 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6(早餐)

Dining Offers: 團購


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mixed rice is a MUST TRY Smile Aug 31, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Noodles | Mixed rice

My friends and me went to join DC Justice League Run in Penang on 30th August. We actually went Kasim mustafa to eat twice. Early breakfast before we run. And going for lunch after we bath, & rest post -8km running. One point to remember is that Kasim Mustafa open 24 hours, that is the first point! Haha.

2. Second point to remember about Kasim Mustafa is that it is located in Chulia Street, in the midst of street art drawing, and hustle bustle of the crowd. 

3. Third point also the most important point is that their mixed rice is a MUST. A MUST for THEIR MIXED RICE! With the fried chicken and various homemade curry  (fish curry, chicken curry, lamb curry).

Each of the curry definitely has each own distinctive pleasant taste, that is extra-ordinary delicious, and fragant. 

4. Forth point to remember is that I seldom review about mixed rice. Not that I don't want to review, but it is just ordinary. But this is the special one that it attract long queue even in the midnight 1am. 

 
Mixed rice  Rm 7 -10
You opt for plain white rice or nasi lemak. I prefer nasi lemak. I mean their rice has lemak. Not the nasi lemak that has peanut, egg, anchovy that nasi lemak. 

And NEVER MISS THEIR CURRY or you will deem never been there. Their curry in fragrant to be honest. and top up with a protein chicken, you will found yourself satisfied, and cannot stop compliment on their meal after that. 

 
Since I tried mixed rice in the morning already, I would like to try theirRoti Naan ayam tandori, something you can only found in Muslim indian mamak stall. (THis is consider a restaurant btw)

 
Roti Naan Ayam Tandori Rm 8.50

So far I have tried this in 3 different places. The ayam tandori is delicious as always, but I dun like the sauce come in minimum amount =( 

hmm, would recommend you the mixed rice in this restaurant rather than Roti Naan Ayam Tandori. And the best place about this, even the environment is so hot, and narrow gap between seat. But you will get your stomach full within RM 10 typically. Not only full, but pleasantly tasty. This is the reason why I would recommended you all to go Restoran Nasi Dalcha Kassim Mustafa. 

Supplementary Information:
1. GST available.

2. Have to find parking when you about to reach, it's located in art street centre, so it normally lack of parking.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mixed rice
 
Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2015 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(午餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Average price and quality OK Aug 31, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

 
Ginger snack. My boss like to eat something spicy but not that spicy. Hence this is our snack =D 
THe chicken slide is delicious!

THe chicken slide is delicious!

 
Chicken Ramen Rm 10.50

The chicken slide is delicious! I yearn for more of this. Basically, every part and parcel here is pretty normal. 

Taste:  Normal shoyu taste
Ingredients: Chicken slide, black fungus, raman egg, japanese fish cake (Narutomaki)

Environment: Air-conditional. With ample of seat. 
Charge: THe price above is nett price, not GST & no service charge. 

Parking: It's located in Oasis Square,

 weekend (Sat & Sun): charge Rm 1 per entry. 

Weekday                     : Free 1st hour, but Rm 1 for every hour. 

Overall, it's nothing impressive, but another choice of place for Japanese cuisine. 

The environment of the voice c

 
Last but not least , follow me on the trail of My voice cafe. ENvironment, hehe 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 28, 2015 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(午餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

 
My friend that this restaurant served gigantic bowl of ramen.  There have 3 outlets in Penang btw. The enviroment inside is full of British Garden vintage style. 

 
Mainly decorated in white. OH yea, with an elegant piano! I quite like the environment, as it is cozy and warm. I would expect the food would be delicous since they invest so much on their environment too. 

 
left: Winter Melon Tea Rm 4.90
Right: Green Tea Rm 2

 
Buta Kakuni for 2 pax Rm 36. 
日本扣肉拉面
Japanese Braised Pork Ramen 

 
Serving in big bowl which is literally just a gimmick for me. It would be nice if a brunch of friends go there together and eat from the same gigantic bowl for fun. 

 
Serving in a lot of cabbage,  malaysian egg, nori (seaweed), Japanese fish cake, and Buta Kakuni. 

 
this is to let you see how big is the bowl. 

 
The close up of the food. I like their noodle! I tis so springy. The soup is normal shoyu (soy sauce taste). 

 
And one thing that make me a bit dissapointed is the egg. When I heard about the ramen, I would expect the egg is the  japanese type of half boiled egg. aka Ramen egg. But this is just a typical half boiled egg, without any seasoning also. Quite dissapointed lar. 

Supplementary Information:
6% gst & 10% SERVICE CHARGE
 
Recommended Dish(es):  ramen
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2015 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(午餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0