OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Malaysia
Kluang Rail Coffee Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Halal | Nasi Lemak

I went to the original Kluang Rail Coffee at the railway station but unfortunately, the shop was closed again. So I had one old man from the railway station who borught me to the other branch which was brimming with so many customers. The food here is halal as there were many Malays here too. 

I ordered the famous Kluang Coffee (RM 1.70) which was so aromatic and fragrant. I love the thick coffee which was served hot. 

I also ordered the Mihun Rebus (RM 4.50) which was said to be the signature dish here. There are so many ingredients inside the mee rebus and that makes me love the dish even more. The shreds of cucumbers make it very crispy and tasty. 

The 2 half-boiled eggs (RM 1.60) is just normalbut not as tasty as the one at Elephant Bean Muar. Quite tasty and delicious to be eaten with the noodles as it makes it eggy. 

The 3 Fried Otak-otak Popiah (RM 2.30) were so tasty and crispy. The taste of the otak-otak inside was incredible, the burst of this taste at every bite. I finished every item and by that time, I was so full to the brim.  

The food here is quite affordable because I ate so much yet it cost only RM 10.70 whereas in KL, it would have cost RM 10 for a bowl of noodles at this kind of shop. The service here is also very efficient. 

The ambience is very nostalgic of old railway stations and there are also funny cartoon drawings on the wall. 

 

 

 

 
Otak-otak Popiah

Otak-otak Popiah

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  coffee,otak-otak popiah,mee rebus,half-boiled eggs
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Elephant Bean Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

I have never tasted any half-boiled egg done the way I really like it till I come here. To tell you the truth, I am absolutely picky when it comes to half-boiled eggs. The best  half-boiled eggs only cost RM 2.20 for two kampung eggs. It is done very watery and the egg yolk is not hardened like what I have usually tried and would have vomited. 

The garlic bread was a disappointment because it came in the shape of normal buns with some garlic spread. Very old-school and looks like the one we make at home. I expected the normal bruchetta type of garlic bread. So not worth the RM 4 paid. 

The Elephant Bean Special Coffee is truly unique and the best coffee I have ever tried at the cheapest price of only RM 5.50! For the same type of coffee in places liek Publika in KL, I would have to pay at least RM 12 and above! The chocolate used to make the design on the foam was fantastic. 

The entire meal cost only RM 15.30, really cheap, whereas it would cost almost RM 15 for merely the coffee alone in KL or Penang. 

Elephant Bean Special Coffee

Elephant Bean Special Coffee

 

 

 

 
Garlic Bread

Garlic Bread

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  special elephant bean coffee,half-boiled egg
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

This is my first time staying at Thistle Hotel and I fell in love with the hotel the moment I reached. I love the exterior of the hotel in the shape of a staircase. 

Entering into the restaurant for breakfast a fresh feeling. No wonder this restaurant is named Fresh! 

I sat facing the glass window so I could have a wondrous view of the exterior. 
The best thing is there was raw thinly sliced salmon at the salad table. Since there were a few slices left, i immediately took all of it and ate it with salad and cocktail fruits and vinegar sauce! I also had raw maguro and tuna and mackerel which were all amazing. There was even turkey ham, chicken ham and also beef ham which were amazing. 

There were also a whole range of international cheese to choose from which one can spread on the crackers. 

The only thing one should avoid is eating the dim sum which is served al fresco as the dim sum is too cold especially the siew mai. It was a waste that it's cold otherwise the mini colourful pao with red bean or pandan filling would have been a waste. 

The Loh Mai Kai is the only dim sum which is served very hot. It is wrapped in lotus leaf and was quite ok. Not much ingredients inside though. 

The zucchini and cucumber cooked in tomato paste mediterranean cum Italian style was fantastic. I seriously fell in love with this dish that I had a second helping. 

The cheesy macaroni was just ok. 

There is also a special coffee machine to make any coffee your heart desire, be it, cappucino, machiato, coffee with milk, latte etc. The waiter was so kind that he kept asking me if I needed any help and I had 2 coffee : a chocolate machiato and also a cappucino! 

There is a special room just specially for sandwiches, danish pastries, fruits etc. For sandwich-making, one can choose any ingredient, be it chilli tuna flakes, mayo tuna, sardin, or any other items like ham and salad! There is also a very wide variety of danish pastries from chocolate to walnut, apple etc.

 

 
Lotus ride

Lotus ride

 

 

 

 

 
Raw Salmon

Raw Salmon

 
Cappucino and Danish is a great combo

Cappucino and Danish is a great combo

 
Al fresco smoking zone

Al fresco smoking zone

 
Sandwich, danish and fruit section

Sandwich, danish and fruit section

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Loh Mai Kai,Zucchini,Muesli salad,Salmon and Turkey Ham,Cappucino and Danish is a great combo
 
Date of Visit: Feb 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM70(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Nasi Lemak | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

It is very rare to see a kopitiam selling all in one from cakes, donuts, jellies, swiss rolls, bread and also serving small packets of nasi lemak, Chinese style sandwiches, small packets of fried bihun, half-boiled eggs and all things that Malaysians and Chinese call breakfast. Oh, and if you feel like having a Western style breakfast with bread, cakes and coffee, that options is always yours albeit in a Malaysian kopitiam. I guess this proved the "Malaysia Boleh" spirit.

Since we never go to Batu Pahat much, probably 3 times in a year, and most of the time do not have time for breakfast and usually ate at the hotel, we ordered almost everything that the kopitiam served. Nasi Lemak and Fried Bihun, of course in small packets, were ate while waiting for the others to come. I did not try them as the sambal looked too little to satisfy my chilli crazy tongue.

I absolutely loved the half-boiled eggs which were made just nice, and did not have the egg yolk hardened like the mamak stores. The egg dipped with toasted otak-otak/pork/egg sandwiches were heavenly.

The generous spread of butter in between the toasted buns made every bite sinful.

The coffee was thick and strong, and not too sweet for my palate!

I ended the meal with a tortoise-shaped pandan jelly with red bean paste filling, one which I was unable to resist when I first saw it.
Cake galore for a kopitiam - Very Novel

Cake galore for a kopitiam - Very Novel

 
The variety of cakes are so many

The variety of cakes are so many

 
The butter and egg bread

The butter and egg bread

 
Good old half-boiled eggs with black coffee

Good old half-boiled eggs with black coffee

 
Otak-otak and egg sandwich

Otak-otak and egg sandwich

 
Pandan Angku Jelly

Pandan Angku Jelly

 
The fusion of both worlds - Chinese mixed with Western

The fusion of both worlds - Chinese mixed with Western

 
Even Barbie doll cake was sold!

Even Barbie doll cake was sold!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Otak-otak sandwich,coffee,half-boiled eggs,Butter toast
 
Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasty eggy noodles Smile Oct 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Food court | Seafood

After organising a night seminar at the Grand Paragon, we walked next door to the Taman Sri Tebrau food court. Although it was so late and there looks like there was not many stalls opened, there were quite a few that still cater to those who have supper. I usually avoid supper but not when I am outstation. After all, we go outstation to try their local delicacies so it would be a waste going there and not eating their local food but stick to solely hotel food.

The first dish we ordered was very mouth-watering and heaty. It was fried koay teow with a runny yolk in the middle, which was something I have never tried in my entire life. This meant the koay teow was hot enough to cook the raw egg! The taste? Amazing!

We tried the Fried Mee Sua which was also fabulous. It did not have the over fried and burnt parts like what some hawkers do.

The Sambal Petai was a tad too oily for me but it seems to do fine for other colleagues palate. Probably I am towards the health conscious.

There was a side dish of green vegetable which just tasted normal.

I so desired to try the beggar's chicken which I saw heavily promoted but my colleague said it was probably not available at such a late hour though I doubted it. Anyway, such a big chicken was too much for the three of us.

The price of the food was quite cheap at only RM 48 for all these including herbal tea and also fresh coconut juice!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Koay Teow with Runny Egg Yolk
 
Date of Visit: Sep 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0