OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Oz Restaurant, Penang  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


My mother's birthday falls on 13th February every year and this time round it is a Saturday! We went to Elit Avenue, a relatively new shop lot at Bayan Lepas, which is my first time. we drove round the squarish avenue and saw about 20 plus cafes.

Finally I laid eyes on Oz with its prominent Australian styled art outside and when we walked closer, I was drawn by the super cheap price of only RM 15.50 for the set lunch (any choice of main meals) with a free drinks. The RM 25.50 sets consists of main dish, drink, mushroom soup and a dessert of either Chocolate Brownie or Puff with Chocolate Ice-cream. Each of the main item comes with non-mayonaise overloaded coleslaw, greens, original roasted potato wedges instead of the frozen ones.

 

 
Many varieties Mushroom soup

Fruit Punch

The fruit punch is quite special with bananas, pear and also dragonfruit. Talking about creativity!

 
Quarter Chicken with Mango Gravy, Potatoes and Salad

The chicken is roasted till very tender, soft and juicy. The sauce is superb as it is saucy, with a mix of sourish taste from the mango.

 



Queensland Pork Schnitzel with Pineapple Chilli Mayonaise, Potatoes and Salad

This is one big piece of pork deep fried with breadcrumbs. The sauce is simply amazing.

 
Fish Italiano with Tomatoes and Herbs




This is steamed dory fish with lot of tomato and herb sauce. The fish lacks the natural sweetness of fish probably because they threw away the first steamed juices. I do not know why chefs like to do that.

 
Since it was mum's birthday, I requested that the Warm Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ice-Cream be served together with a small candle. The owner went out of the way to even play a "Happy Birthday Mummy" song. Mum was all smiles when the song was played. I gave them some tips, for the kind thoughts. Definitely a good place for a family or friend gathering.

Cream Puff with Chocolate Sauce and Chocolate Ice-Cream

I guess the owner likes chocolate a lot because people rarely serve chocolate ice-cream for this and of course this is to my delight.

 
The Surprise Birthday Cake and Song by Restaurant and the Birthday Lady is all Smiles

 
We can't get enough of Australian food as Perth had mostly Asian food when we went there

 
Details :

Address: 1-1-3 Elit Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, Bandar Bayan Baru, 11950, Penang, Malaysia

Phone:+60 16-442 5472

Hours:

Open today · 11AM–2:30PM,5:30–9PM

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM66.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

DCova Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

This is one of the few times I go to a coffee bistro or cafe in Penang. The first time I went to such places was 3 years ago in China House and Bonjour in Summerton. Anyway, this time round, I was determined to find out more about stylish coffee places in Penang. At least, I could recommend places to my friends in future. This time round, I made a simple google search the last night, at about 1.30 am and decided on this place which looks retro and artsy.

The ambience is quite quiet so it is suitable for hanging out with friends and not noisy till one cannot hear the other's words. The place has limited tables and chairs and probably has less than 10 tables. 

Firstly, I totally recommend this place. I fell in love with the Caramel Sea Salt Macchiato (RM 9.50). The design on top of the foam was amazing, like a wheel of love made from sweet caramel. The sprinkle of sea salt on top was an amazing accompaniment. It was a match made in coffee heaven. Macchiato is usually not my favourite but they have succeeded in making this so well. The combination is like the marriage of the 2 best people in the planet. The salt was not overly salty and it matches the coffee totally.

The Yoghurt with a slice of kiwi (RM 9.50) and half a cup of muesli were quite ok. Thankfuly, the yoghurt did not have a strange yoghurt smell which some yoghurts have. My friend ordered it because she was hungry yet she was worried of getting fat. I would not have ordered this as it is something that can be bought at the mall.

My other heaven lies in the Grandpa's Chocolate Rum Cake (RM 15.90). Though it was quite costly for a cake, it transported me to heaven except it brings sins together. The rum taste and flavours were strong enough to permeate the cake. The chocolate was very rich and the combination of very little chocolate cream was to my delight. I hate cakes with lots of cream not because it is fattening but it just nauseating. I am a big fan of alcoholic cakes and this one has made me more than satisfied. The chocolate seems like a sheet of heaven coating the cake. 

If you like cheese cake, they are popular for rum and raisin and also Gula Melaka cheese cakes. I am not a big fan of cheese cakes so I cannot review it for you. 

The waiter and waitress are so friendly and kind. They did a terrific job in recommendations. The cute young waiter even told me that in between hazelnut coffee or toffee coffee and caramel sea salt macchiato, I should choose the macchiato and he was absolutely right and I recommend you do the same too! 

They use very creative looking bottles to store the water. The bottles come in green and pink colours. It was my first time seeing this. 

The best part is the afforable and reasonable prices of coffee and beverage here. They also sell spaghetti for less than RM 20 each which comes in big portions. 

Sinfully rich

Sinfully rich

 

 

 

 
Heaven made

Heaven made

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  grandpa chocolate rum cake,caramel sea salt macchiato
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Purrffect Cat Cafe Smile Feb 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

Me and my BFF went from one coffee cafe/bistro to another at 3 pm in the afternoon around the whole Georgetown but most seemed to be closed on the third day of CNY. So in the end we decided to try Muntri Lane. We were supposed to go to Muntri cafe but since our car was cruising along this road, my sharp foodie eyes spotted a creative name called "Purrffect...." so I decided to check it out. The downstairs turned out to be a shop selling every item about cats!

The best part is when we found out that there is a cat cafe hidden upstairs for real! The sweet and friendly Indian cashier told us all we needed to do was spend at least RM 18 per person in order to play with the cats at the samee time. Although I was not a fan of cats, in fact, I hated them, my BFF said why don't we give it a try. So we did!

We ended up spending 2 hours there engrossed with playing with the 7 persian and foreign bred cats in the middle of our food.

They only serve simple cakes and also coffee and tea. We ordered a Fruit Tea for RM 15.90 which was so tasty and fragrant and served in a cute little cat shaped teapot.

The almond cake which cost RM 12.90 was very worth it because it came in two pieces. At first I was hesitant to order it because the portion was too small and I thought it would be just served in a piece. The cake was so full of almonds and very rich and thin.

The Mushroom Quiche (RM 12.90) was quite delicious and they actually made it really hot and tasty.

Playing with the cats was a great past time. And the best part is no worries about bathing them!
Fruit Tea

Fruit Tea

 
Almond Cake

Almond Cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Almond Cake,Fruit Tea
 
Date of Visit: Jan 31, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Winter Warmers @ Auto City Smile Feb 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt | Sweets/Snack

This is my first time going to Auto City. The Shop in a park experience was incredible. Strolling through the park and shopping was a fun and green experience. The stuff here is quite cheap and reasonable too. There was also a sale for clothes and handbags everywhere.

Anyway, finally we ended up at Winter Warmers since my friend has never been here. The English ambience was great to pair with my white dress on that day.

We ordered the Rose Cocktail which my friend love so much. The drink had a nice fragrant taste and was not sour or bitter at all. My friend said the taste is addictive. Cocktail here is without preservative and not in syrupy form.

I ordered hot Irish Cream Latte which came in a very huge mug. The tea taste was also strong. The mug was very beautiful and had a drawing of old English women drinking tea stylishly. I would try to buy the mug for myself but not from this restaurant as the Barbie cup and saucer itself cost RM 99.

We ordered the Banana Chocolate Waffle with very dark chocolate ice-cream. The waffle was not crispy enough though.
Iced rose berry cocktail (RM12.90)

Iced rose berry cocktail (RM12.90)

 
Banana Chocolate Waffle (RM 15.90)

Banana Chocolate Waffle (RM 15.90)

 
Irish Cream Latte (RM9.90)

Irish Cream Latte (RM9.90)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rose berry cocktail,Irish Cream Latte
 
Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dining by the sea Smile Sep 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Malaysian variety | Western variety | Food court | Noodles

Dining by the sea, with the sea breeze entering your nose and the wind blowing your hair away like the movies, the salty sea a wonderful sensation and the sight of the sea delightful to the eye. All these sums up each experience to Northam Beach Cafe.

Especially incredible is the cheapest Chicken Pot Pie with thick mushroom carrot soup set meal with any choice of appetizers and cake desserts. They are famous for crepe cakes which I have tried several times. This time there was chocolate Paris Brest cake which was smooth. There was potato salad with croutons.

I used to like the seafood crab Nyonya mee but I guess it was closed down and sold to a stall selling Mexican fajitas which were not bad. I tried toastadas with salsa sauce and prawns at rm 12.80.

Mum was fascinated by the stall selling Conk Thing or Kacang Tumbuk (grounded peanuts) where one can see the stuff made live by the expert chef. Mum is definitely not a person easily fascinated!

An additional bonus would be frequenting this big food court makes one feel like eating everything, plus there are international cuisine from western to Chinese, Filipino, Mexican, German, Japanese, Sarawakian, Hong Kong etc...
Toastadas

Toastadas

 
[IMG:1

 
]
Chicken pot pie set, Paris Brest cake

Chicken pot pie set, Paris Brest cake

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken pot pie,Paris Brest,Mexican toastadas
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM22

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0