OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3661 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Thai Tanic at Elit Avenue  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant


We walked the whole round of the square, literally walk, seriously! Dad initially wanted to eat Korean food at KO BBQ then changed his mind as he did not want to eat Banchan. So we ended up eating thai food at Thai Tanic which I saw this afternoon.

The boss of this cafe is Chinese but all the waiters and waitresses are Thai people.

Eating 2 scoops of rice and too many dishes made me so full till 12.43 am whereby I had to go to the open air gym downstairs in the garden of my condo to exercise. I am someone who cannot sleep on a full stomach. Right now as I type out my blog, I am eating unripe mango to ease my digestion.

The place is a very simple cafe with a/c and tables and chairs and nothing fancy.

Thai Style 5 Combination (Small) - RM 28

This is our personal favourite and the most worth of the price. It has deep fried calamari which is tasty. There was also kong poh chicken with dried chillies, onions and carrots. 2 pieces of pandan chicken were quite ok and not too hard. The Kerabu mango is very spicy and sour just the way I like it. There were also a few slices of century eggs.

 
Claypot Glass Noodles with Crab - RM 39

This is the worst of the lot as the glass noodles are too soggy. I have never eaten anything like that.

 
Lemon Steamed Jin Fung Fish (RM 30)

The fish looks like flying fish and tastes good with lemon.

 
Thai Red Ruby (RM 5)

The Thai Red Ruby is quite ok except that there was too much santan.

2 glasses of Lemon Grass Tea costs RM 5.80

 
Details:

Address: 1-1-43A, Elite Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, 11950 Bayan Baru Penang

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Oz Restaurant, Penang  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


My mother's birthday falls on 13th February every year and this time round it is a Saturday! We went to Elit Avenue, a relatively new shop lot at Bayan Lepas, which is my first time. we drove round the squarish avenue and saw about 20 plus cafes.

Finally I laid eyes on Oz with its prominent Australian styled art outside and when we walked closer, I was drawn by the super cheap price of only RM 15.50 for the set lunch (any choice of main meals) with a free drinks. The RM 25.50 sets consists of main dish, drink, mushroom soup and a dessert of either Chocolate Brownie or Puff with Chocolate Ice-cream. Each of the main item comes with non-mayonaise overloaded coleslaw, greens, original roasted potato wedges instead of the frozen ones.

 

 
Many varieties Mushroom soup

Fruit Punch

The fruit punch is quite special with bananas, pear and also dragonfruit. Talking about creativity!

 
Quarter Chicken with Mango Gravy, Potatoes and Salad

The chicken is roasted till very tender, soft and juicy. The sauce is superb as it is saucy, with a mix of sourish taste from the mango.

 



Queensland Pork Schnitzel with Pineapple Chilli Mayonaise, Potatoes and Salad

This is one big piece of pork deep fried with breadcrumbs. The sauce is simply amazing.

 
Fish Italiano with Tomatoes and Herbs




This is steamed dory fish with lot of tomato and herb sauce. The fish lacks the natural sweetness of fish probably because they threw away the first steamed juices. I do not know why chefs like to do that.

 
Since it was mum's birthday, I requested that the Warm Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ice-Cream be served together with a small candle. The owner went out of the way to even play a "Happy Birthday Mummy" song. Mum was all smiles when the song was played. I gave them some tips, for the kind thoughts. Definitely a good place for a family or friend gathering.

Cream Puff with Chocolate Sauce and Chocolate Ice-Cream

I guess the owner likes chocolate a lot because people rarely serve chocolate ice-cream for this and of course this is to my delight.

 
The Surprise Birthday Cake and Song by Restaurant and the Birthday Lady is all Smiles

 
We can't get enough of Australian food as Perth had mostly Asian food when we went there

 
Details :

Address: 1-1-3 Elit Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, Bandar Bayan Baru, 11950, Penang, Malaysia

Phone:+60 16-442 5472

Hours:

Open today · 11AM–2:30PM,5:30–9PM

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM66.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Nada Lama  OK Nov 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

I was here for a company event and had the chance to enjoy the buffet breakfast which has a wide array. 

I particularly like the cheese and salad corner with a lot of international toppings. There are also breadsticks and parmesan sticks to go with the imported salad like basil leaves, carrots, small greenish beans, alfalfa. There are different types of dressing like Italian, French, balsamic vinegar, mayo, thousand island etc. 

There are many varieties of cereals from chocolate ones to koko krunch, bran and cornflakes. 

The half-boiled egg is delicious and watery enough for me. It goes well with the croissant. 

The strawberry scones were a big too hard and sweet. 

The waffles have a wide variety of toppings. One could also add in blueberry, strawberry, nutella and whatever fruits available such as canned peaches, orange, grapes, blueberry and chocolate rice. There are also a wide range of dried fruits like apricots, dried mangoes and papaya and also walnuts and sunflower seeds. 

There are also Japanese food like grilled salmon, miso soup etc. 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have been coming here since I was a small kid. My entire family are seafood lovers so we like to come here to eat the seafood porridge and bihun soup. The kopitiam is open at night for seafood porridge and bihun and also other hawkers like the legendary and best satay in Penang and also sotong kangkung. It is open in the morning selling only roti bakar and also half-boiled eggs. 

One could choose any ingredient such as bird eggs, fish maw, cuttlefish, prawns, fish head, fish fillet, frog etc to go with bihun or porridge or instant noodles. 

This place can be found when you are driving from Penang island to the airport. 

I haven't been here for more than a year. In the past, I used to come here on Saturdays after tuition class in Bayan Baru. I decided to come here because I have been eating heaty food for the past 3 days of Penang food marathon. 

Today I ordered the porridge with fish fillets, fish maw, cuttlefish, half a frog and 2 bird eggs. The eggs are always cooked to a perfect oval shape. The fish fillet (what is called "Pek Chiao" in Hokkien) were so thinly sliced and tasty and soft. The fish maw were edible and not rubbery though I am sure it was not the real one. The frog was so juicy, tender and delicious. The soup is so sweet, coming from all the seafood used to cook this. 

The food here has gone through many generations hence the place is always packed. 

The satay does not contain any chicken fat like what most satay in Klang Valley are made of. The chicken is so succulent and tender. It was cooked with kunyit which lent it the fragrant smell. The satay sauce has a lot of peanuts and the oil cannot be seen, unlike the conventional onces we usually see. The cucumbers were not soggy and the onions were perfectly cut into thin slices. 

I would always come here for generations to come whenever I am in KL. It is a place that reminds me of my family times in Penang. If I come with my father, it is customary for us to order the toasted bread, that is cooked using charcoal. 

I did not order sotong kangkung because I wanted to save room for french crepes later. 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sotong kangkung,satay,seafood porridge
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hammer Bay Ikan Bakar Special  Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Restaurant

I wanted to try the Le Paris Crepe at Hammer Bay but the French chef went back to his country. So I was disappointed as I planned to eat the cheapest and most original crepe in the world! Anyway, just when I was turning back, I noticed the crayfish swimming alive and bomb, I knew I had to have that! They said it costs RM 18 per 100 gram and mine was about RM 27 for 1 small crayfish. 

I had it steamed and it only arrived at 9.40 pm, which meant the cooking took almost 30 minutes! Alright, I might have exaggerated but then as the Spanish said, it is 'mas or menos 30 minutos!' When the crayfish or Udang Lipan finally came, it was steamed perfectly with lime, small chopped cili padi and it was lying on a bed of raw cabbage. The flesh was so succulent and juicy and fresh. After all, at Hammer Bay, all the freshest seafood are sourced directly from the ocean. One can sit facing the ocean and this is what I call pure enjoyment of life. There were not much flesh inside so I sucked most of it with my mouth. Then I drank the entire soup till it was dry! I am a big fan of anything sour and spicy so the soup was done just the way I liked it. It was sweet from the eggs of the crayfish too. I love the sourish sambal belacan too and the best thing was that it was blended smoothly. 

Any seafood by the sea is never complete without drinking coconut juice and they served me a Thai Coconut without me asking as though they knew I liked that type of coconut. The drink was very sweet and fragrant. 

But a note for you, please do ensure you do not come on an empty stomach because the cooking takes a very long time. You can pretend you are on an island relaxing (not a city island like Penang). 

 

 
Seaview at night

Seaview at night

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM31.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0