OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3661 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
D'Empire @ Main Place  Cry Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | French | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches


I have passed by this restaurant twice. We failed to eat at the tasty Dim Sum place in USJ which was closed on a Saturday morning, at about 11 am so we tried to look around and the other one opposite is horrible but they still charge RM 4.50-6 per plate for some meat with smell and not made properly whereby the seaweed is torn for the seaweed dim sum.

D'Empire has very artsy character with a brilliant painting on the wall. This restaurant seems to have been decorated by a great interior designer whereby the result was art on the wall. At certain corners and also near the entrance, are different types of sofa / lounges for chilling out. The ambience is amazing except that the food is too expensive and the taste didn't justify the price.

 
I was just drawn inside due to the set lunches which were not cheap from RM 19 for spaghetti bolognaise to RM 25-40-50 for lamb and meat.

Country Risotto Set (RM 26 - comes with drink and meal)

The risotto is so normal, somewhat like what I ate in Goose Bar, near Busselton Jetty, Perth. There was no seafood inside and only simple things like yellow and green zucchini, tomato and onion.

 
Spaghetti Cartocio Set (RM 37)

This set comes with a minestrone soup and also a soft drink. At least this is a little more special whereby they baked the spaghetti bolognaise inside an aluminium wrap. Inside, there are 2 pieces of mussels, big lala and big prawns. The spaghetti in Malaysia is never made al dente.

 
The minestrone soup is a little too watery according to my mother. It also lacks pasta as what minestrone soup is known for it.

 
Even the warm water costs RM 1 per glass here!

Details:

Address: Jalan USJ 21/10; Petaling Jaya, Malaysia.

Phone, +60 3-8021 5796

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM64

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsim Tung @ Setia Walk Puchong  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant


We were rushing for my movie titled "Unbelievable" at 5.50 pm at TGV Setia Walk then I was hungry so I went to the nearest coffee shop style restaurant.

I ordered French Classic Sandwich (RM 7.88) which came in a big thick french toasted bread topped with an egg benedict, ham and cheese. The ingredients seem simple but it led to something spectacular in the form of the runny yolk egg on top of the bread/.

 
Details:

Address: No. D-06-Gm Block D Setia Walk, Persiaran Wawasan, 47160 Puchong

Tel: 03 58821307

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Crab.B  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood


It's Chor 13 of Chinese New Year 2016 and we had a CNY Dinner Gathering at Crab.B. My friend had a hard time looking for the place. My friend kept making rounds around the ioi Boulevard and finally he listened to my advice to go to the area around the Pulau Ketam steamboat and found it after 2-3 rounds.The place is very crowded, something like Tak Fok but the price of crabs is more expensive here. It is difficult to even get the attention of the waiter. Do make a booking before you come as the restaurant is too small.

The Crabs' cost RM 166 for 2 kg of Tiger Crabs, French Bread Crab for RM 108 per kg and RM 98 per kg of Indonesian Meat Crabs. We had the Indonesian Meat XL Crabs for RM 98 per kg and RM 158 per kg for XXXL. For only crabs, we spent RM 413! I have never spent that much for a food item before. Anyway, here are some photos of the highlights of the day:

The mantou are normal, not that much to shout about, at RM 4.50 for 5 pieces.

 
Marmite Crabs

This is simply amazing, the way the marmite encover the entire crab so thoroughly, with some stickiness on it. The sweetness is just superb.

 
Cheese Crab

The cheese coating is something any cheese lover would love, thick and gooey and not that salty like how some others do it.

 
Curry Crab

This is served in a large claypot with the curry sauce underneath, not that thick but thick enough to go with bread with really thin pieces of onions. I saw quite a number of tables ordering this.

I had difficulty taking photos of this one due to my dirty hands from eating the crabs.

 
OK enough with the highlights which actually came last. Now let me get back to the first dish.

Naturally, we started the evening with Yee Sang, for the most expensive price and the worst taste, that I did not have a second helping. It was too sweet and sour in an artificial sense.

 
Sizzling Seafood (RM 38)

This is something unique - a combination style of the 4 Mixed Sambal Vegetables and also sizzling seafood like 3 big mussels, octopus, prawns, petai and long beans which was superb.

 
Sweet Potato Leaf (RM 15)

This is just normal but at least it changed my perception of potato leaves which I used to dislike due Malaysian kopitiams normally cooking it with chilli oil.

 
Lotus Leaf Tofu (RM 18)

This is served like a dim sum. The silky tofu is so soft and cooked with minced meat, prawns and thick corn flour and some spring onions. My friend preferred this tofu compared to the Shark's Fin Tofu (RM 30) but I think both are tasty too.

 
Shark's Fin Tofu (RM 30)

The tofu is soft and lightly fried and has thick corn flour sauce on top with some fake shark's fins. At the two ends were few flowers of broccolis.

 
BBQ Pork Ribs (RM 28 each)

We ordered two of these for RM 56 which is cheaper than Paradise Inn anytime. The taste is fantastic, not too hard, not too tender or oily and just nice. The best part is the fragrance and sweet taste of the sauce and marination. A side sourish sambal chilli paste is served but it is not that necessary because the meat is already sweet.

 
Squid (RM 28)

The squid is cooked in Thai Style with chilli and a lot of lime, whereby eating it seems to bring back memories of thai cuisine. This cafe must be well known for its spices and sauces which were all incredible. The seafood such as this squid is so fresh. Two lime were served to be add to the sourness.

 
Even the Chrysanthemum herbal tea (RM 2.50) is just nice, not that sweet.

The guys drank Carlsberg at RM 16 per bottle.

The receipt is :Details:

Address:

Restaurant Crab B, No. 85, Jalan Kenari 20, Bandar Puchong Jaya, 47100 Puchong, Selangor

Tel: 03 80708659

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sizzling seafood,marmite crab,cheesy crab,curry crab,lotus leaf tofu,squid thai style
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM798.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai Tanic at Elit Avenue  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant


We walked the whole round of the square, literally walk, seriously! Dad initially wanted to eat Korean food at KO BBQ then changed his mind as he did not want to eat Banchan. So we ended up eating thai food at Thai Tanic which I saw this afternoon.

The boss of this cafe is Chinese but all the waiters and waitresses are Thai people.

Eating 2 scoops of rice and too many dishes made me so full till 12.43 am whereby I had to go to the open air gym downstairs in the garden of my condo to exercise. I am someone who cannot sleep on a full stomach. Right now as I type out my blog, I am eating unripe mango to ease my digestion.

The place is a very simple cafe with a/c and tables and chairs and nothing fancy.

Thai Style 5 Combination (Small) - RM 28

This is our personal favourite and the most worth of the price. It has deep fried calamari which is tasty. There was also kong poh chicken with dried chillies, onions and carrots. 2 pieces of pandan chicken were quite ok and not too hard. The Kerabu mango is very spicy and sour just the way I like it. There were also a few slices of century eggs.

 
Claypot Glass Noodles with Crab - RM 39

This is the worst of the lot as the glass noodles are too soggy. I have never eaten anything like that.

 
Lemon Steamed Jin Fung Fish (RM 30)

The fish looks like flying fish and tastes good with lemon.

 
Thai Red Ruby (RM 5)

The Thai Red Ruby is quite ok except that there was too much santan.

2 glasses of Lemon Grass Tea costs RM 5.80

 
Details:

Address: 1-1-43A, Elite Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, 11950 Bayan Baru Penang

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Dami  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


I was so sick, having terrible sore throat and also flu on the first day of work due exhaustion from hectic CNY celebration and too much going out. So I had to come to the only clinic that would cure me - Mediviron in Bandar Puteri Puchong.

But before that, some dinner first! I decided to try out Taiwan Dami.

There were not many people today probably because it was a weekday. The place is quite cosy and airy.

Braised Beef Noodle (RM 14.05)

This is the best of the lot! We have never had any beef noodle as good as this. The beef bones permeates into the soup so thoroughly that the result is amazing. The carrots and radish were just nice.

 
Braised Minced Pork Rice (RM 6.13)

The pork is so fragrant and the sauce is incredible. There is a half-boiled egg and also salted vegetables on top.

 
S11: Egg, dry tofu, Japanese cucumber and Pig Ear (RM 8.95)

This is a big platter that has braised half-boiled egg, soft tofu, crispy Japanese cucumber and pig ears. All of these are fantastic!

They even gave us 15% discount out of the total price, in conjunction with CNY.

 
Rose Tea (RM 12.17)

The Rose Tea is fragrant and rosy.

 
Details:

Address: B-G-13A , IOI BOULEVARD , JALAN KENARI 5 , BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA , SELANGOR., Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-8074 8285

Hours:

Open today · 11:30AM–11PM

 
Recommended Dish(es):  beef noodles,pork rice,rose tea
 
Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM39.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0