OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
La Coffea Smile Aug 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

Recently, I discovered the Food Court at KL Sentral which has a lot of different cafes inside which are mostly not really franchises but are eateries established uniquely on its own such as Mee Tarik Warisan (Chinese Muslim handmade noodles), 2 mamak stalls, La Coffea, some Arabian food, Durian Belanda juice stall, Coconut Shake/Ice-cream etc. 

I noticed La Coffea's special promotion such as 2 slices of pizzas (chicken and pepperoni) for RM 10.90, 1 slice of pizza plus light portion of spaghetti for RM 12.90 and solely spaghetti bolognaise for RM 12.90. All the promotions come with a tea served hot or cold. 

I opted for one slice of pizza plus light portion of spaghetti for RM 12.90 set. The pepperoni pizza was such a huge slice. The cheese was very thick and delicious. The spaghetti was more than light portion and was too much for me. It came served with a lot of ingredients of minced meat, button mushrooms and sausage. It was slightly spicy and I love the thick sauce. 

I really recommend everyone to dine here and opt for pizza and spaghetti as it makes your money well worth it. Definitely 5 star food at 1 star price. 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pepperoni pizza,spaghetti
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kodawari Menya  Smile Aug 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Kodawari Menya is a place I got to know from through the food voucher in The Star. I went there supposedly to use the 20% voucher but we were rushing to pay at the counter, that can you believe it, we forgot all about it when that is the main purpose I went there! Anyway, I was so caught up shopping at Pukka Beauty and Hair Accessories which had shocking discounts for the hair products but that is another issue all together. 

The ambience is quite cosy whereby the eating area is out in the open terrace. It is suitable for families and office people as well. 

Kodawari Menya's owner is so clever to make it like a food court way of buying food to save on wage and employing too many workers to take orders. It reminds me of Greenhouse at Muir in Ampang but at least I need not travel till 1 hour for this food court styled Japanese food. 

There is separate counter to take some garnishing like deep fried stuff to be sprinkled, spring onions, blended ginger, soya sauce, tempura sauce and also green tea. One must pay for green tea though. The ginger is quite tasty. 

The udons cost RM 12.90-RM 16.90 whereas side dishes like tempura karaage, fish cake, prawns, shitake, tofu etc costs RM 2.50 or 3 per piece. The tempura sauce is too diluted and not as dark as what the conventional tempura sauce should be. 

My friend ordered the Half-Boiled Egg Dry Udon with a side dish of tempura prawn and also a deep fried fish sausage. The deep fried fish sausage tasted horrible as expected. Well, he should have listened to me, no? Haha! 

I ordered the curry vegetable udon which cam with potatoes and carrot cubes for RM 16.90. I added in tempura ebi and also shitake. By the way, I dropped 1 shitake while trying to take it out from the stick and lost in it. The curry is very smooth and tasty and does not have any of the powdery taste of most Japanese curries. The curry coats the udon very perfectly and makes the taste even better. I would rate this curry udon 9/10 which is the highest I ever go for Japanese Curries! The tempuras are also so tasty. 

I ordered the Gelatomio Green Tea ice-cream (RM 7) which was a little dry. Luckily, it did not have the powdery taste of green tea powder. I guess Gelatomio gelato is not really famous for green tea. I still prefer its nutty and chocolate and coffee flavours sold at the counter. But then perhaps because it is boxed up, then it is dry. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  curry udon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nanyang Food Garden  Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant

The first time I came here was with my parents for our breakfast before flying to Bali in December 2014. The food here is quite reasonably priced and worth the price due to the big portions. 

I ordered the same thing like what I ordered when I first came here which was the Cantonese Noodles (RM 14). The sauce was incredible with a lot of eggs inside making it thick and rich. There were a lot of ingredients such as prawns, cabbage, and also octopus. The sauce was not too thick and gooey and not too salty too. I liked the fact that there weren't any pork meat inside. 

The warm water chestnut drink (RM 5.90) was a refreshing herbal tea to start the day especially with Malaysian heat. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

DCova Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

This is one of the few times I go to a coffee bistro or cafe in Penang. The first time I went to such places was 3 years ago in China House and Bonjour in Summerton. Anyway, this time round, I was determined to find out more about stylish coffee places in Penang. At least, I could recommend places to my friends in future. This time round, I made a simple google search the last night, at about 1.30 am and decided on this place which looks retro and artsy.

The ambience is quite quiet so it is suitable for hanging out with friends and not noisy till one cannot hear the other's words. The place has limited tables and chairs and probably has less than 10 tables. 

Firstly, I totally recommend this place. I fell in love with the Caramel Sea Salt Macchiato (RM 9.50). The design on top of the foam was amazing, like a wheel of love made from sweet caramel. The sprinkle of sea salt on top was an amazing accompaniment. It was a match made in coffee heaven. Macchiato is usually not my favourite but they have succeeded in making this so well. The combination is like the marriage of the 2 best people in the planet. The salt was not overly salty and it matches the coffee totally.

The Yoghurt with a slice of kiwi (RM 9.50) and half a cup of muesli were quite ok. Thankfuly, the yoghurt did not have a strange yoghurt smell which some yoghurts have. My friend ordered it because she was hungry yet she was worried of getting fat. I would not have ordered this as it is something that can be bought at the mall.

My other heaven lies in the Grandpa's Chocolate Rum Cake (RM 15.90). Though it was quite costly for a cake, it transported me to heaven except it brings sins together. The rum taste and flavours were strong enough to permeate the cake. The chocolate was very rich and the combination of very little chocolate cream was to my delight. I hate cakes with lots of cream not because it is fattening but it just nauseating. I am a big fan of alcoholic cakes and this one has made me more than satisfied. The chocolate seems like a sheet of heaven coating the cake. 

If you like cheese cake, they are popular for rum and raisin and also Gula Melaka cheese cakes. I am not a big fan of cheese cakes so I cannot review it for you. 

The waiter and waitress are so friendly and kind. They did a terrific job in recommendations. The cute young waiter even told me that in between hazelnut coffee or toffee coffee and caramel sea salt macchiato, I should choose the macchiato and he was absolutely right and I recommend you do the same too! 

They use very creative looking bottles to store the water. The bottles come in green and pink colours. It was my first time seeing this. 

The best part is the afforable and reasonable prices of coffee and beverage here. They also sell spaghetti for less than RM 20 each which comes in big portions. 

Sinfully rich

Sinfully rich

 

 

 

 
Heaven made

Heaven made

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  grandpa chocolate rum cake,caramel sea salt macchiato
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Seafood

I was looking for my favourite Malaccan Nyonya restaurant for my parents but realized it was probably closed down. So in the end I decided to eat at Tanjung Bungah Penang Nyonya restaurant. I was a little sceptical because it was weird to bring my parents to eat Penang Nyonya food when they are going back to Penang the very next day. 

The Nasi Ulam (RM 7.50) was so delicious and fragrant. It really tasted like the one sold in Pulau Tikus market. The rice was just incredible and way better than the white rice. 

The Midin Paku-pakis (RM 15) was incredible. The best thing about this is that it was cooked with sambal and not that oily like what people normally cook outside. This is because they have used the proper nyonya sambal and did not use too much oil in the cooking. 

The Sambal Sotong with Petai (RM 15) has slightly more oil but the effect was not too oily. The big sotong was fresh with a lot of green crunchy petai. 

The fourth item is the best fish head curry (RM 29) I have ever eaten in KL which is even better than the one at the famous Puchong fish head curry kopitiam or the one at Jalan Puchong. There were a lot of ingredients inside the curry such as long beans, tau pok, cabbage and also brinjals. The combination was simply amazing. The curry is also thicker than the usual ones and not too watery. 

A pot of tea cost RM 1.60 per pax and I chose Jasmine tea. 

I am definitely coming back here to try the jiu hu char and otak-otak. This is the first time I found a true blue Penang Nyonya Peranakan food venue in KL. 
Best sambal with fresh ingredients and crunchy petai

Best sambal with fresh ingredients and crunchy petai

 

 

 
Fragrant

Fragrant

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  fish head curry,petai sotong,paku pakis,nasi ulam
 
Table Wait Time: 10  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM72.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0