OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Kinpachi Japanese Restaurant  Smile Sep 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

My friend told me that instead of Kampachi, there is one place called Kinpachi in Subang. He said that apparently there is a place in Subang with similar name but this place was established earlier than Kampachi even when he first came to PJ 20 years ago. The restaurant is located upstairs but there is a signboard to lead you upstairs. 

The ambience is very cosy and there are a few private corners. 

I ordered the Special Sashimi (RM 40) airflown from Japan, which I mixed together, the red and white one. The white one is a little rubbery whereas the red one melted in my mouth. For me, I liked both sashimi. 

The Salmon Avocado Roll (RM 23) was not delicious at all due to the rice was too soggy and had too much vinegar. The salmon and avocado were great though.

The Shime Saba Su (RM 14) which was fresh saba slices with a lot of lemon, vinegar, tomatoes, fresh wet seaweed and a sprinkle of sesame seeds. Overall, this is the second hero dish after the sashimi. I swore that I would duplicate this dish at home if I can get Japanese Vinegar at a low price! 

The Ebitama is the other star dish here at reasonable price of RM 18. The tempura is cooked with omelette and a sprinkle of seaweed in hot pot style, sizzling when it arrived. The ebi is very fresh and not too soggy. This is definitely a dish I would reorder. 

The whole meal cost RM 101.45 which was ok minus the horrible california roll. 

Do bring more cash if you plan to eat the sashimi which is quite expensive. But if you decide not to eat this, you can always eat the other items as there are so many varieties here. 
Best sashimi ever

Best sashimi ever

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM101.45

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Dim sum

I never fail to have craving for dim sum so my friend brought me to this great place. I initially thought he would bring me to kopitiam but thank god he didn't. 

The ambience of this place is very elegant and sophisticated which explains the cost of RM 9 per plate of dim sum. 

I ordered the Xiao Long Bao (RM 7.80) which is my first selection at any dim sum place. The sweet juice of the Xiao Long Bao erupted into my mouth when I bit the skin lightly.

My personal favourite is the Steamed Prawn Dumpling with mushrooms (RM 9.80) which was cooked in spicy and sourish sauce. The dumpling was filled to the brim with the ingredients and also mushroom. The meat was succulent and crunchy. I totally fell in love with this unique way of cooking har kau. 

There were also some signature dishes of the day displayed on the table at the back whereby the chef will make it when we order it on the spot so it took some time for the food ordered this way to arrive. I ordered the Octopus with Special Sauce (RM 9) which came in beautiful garnishing and a a cocktail glass with shreded carrots and parsley. The Japanese octopus was placed atop 4 zucchini cucumber with mayonaise inside. 

The other signature dish was the Deep Fried Custard Ball (RM 9) which was coated with cornflakes and had thick custard inside each ball. Since I do not like thick gooey stuff inside the balls, this is not a dish solely for a person's sole consumption but it would be great to share. 

The 3rd signature dish was the Deep Fried Banana Roll (RM 9) which was banana in the middle of the deep fried rolls. The result was awesome with the natural sweetness of the  banana permeating the dough. 

The Deep Fried Shrimp Wantan (RM 9) was the final dish I could not resist ordering. The wantan skin was so thin and inside the shrimp was fried together with chilli oil. The inside was so cleverly wrapped too. 

The good thing is that the food here is not over fried till black but you will notice that the skill possessed in frying is so good. 

My friend who loves pork ribs just had to order the Steamed Pork Ribs with Yam (RM 8) which was quite tasty. His father loved the sauce so much that he would order plain congee and pour it together. I did not like the yam but the pork was undeniably delicious. In the past, I would not touch this dish because I used to hate pork. 

The steamed groundnut for appetizer cost RM 5 whereas wet towel here cost RM 3. 

They tried to ask us to buy mooncake but I saw too many mooncakes in my company. Furthermore, they sell all the traditional flavours for mooncake. 

If you have more people eating at one table, you could have the private room whereby there is karaoke inside.

The service of the waiters and waitresses is impeccable. They poured tea for us non-stop and kept changing new plates without us asking. 

There is also ample parking at the basement so eating here is pretty convenient. Most of the shops here were closed probably because not many people come here. 

Many families and also businessmen frequent this place. Can you believe it that a Dim Sum restaurant actually have a wine cellar? 

 
Superb and unique

Superb and unique

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  steamed prawn dumpling spicy and sour,xiao long bao,deep fried shrimp wantan,deep fried banana roll,steamed pork rib with yam.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM83.10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pizza Uno  Smile Aug 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

My friend was so excited to bring me here. He said this place serve fantastic Italian food and I never really believed him till I came here today. It was my first time coming to Taipan. Can you believe it? 

The ambience is very elegant and sophisticated. The ceiling is very high and I like the pictures on the wall that creates the classic Italian feel. From the entrance, I was already taken by the warmth of this restaurant. It has a cosy feel inside out. 

The Cream of Mushroom Soup (RM 12) was very thick and rich and not too salty. The soup was not as watery as the other mushroom soups. The soup is so delicious but it was not hot enough. 

We ordered the signature dish which was the Slow Cooked Lamb (RM 38) which was amazing. It was so tender and soft. The thick tomato sauce is also delicious and rich. The lamb is simply superb. The sauce is great to go with any bread especially thick bread or even foccaccia. This is definitely one dish that you should order if you love slow cooked lamb like crazy. The great thing is that we need not wait too long for the  lamb to be cooked compared to other places. 

The Vongole Antipasti (RM 18) which were clams cooked with white wine must never be missed. The clams were awesome and I loved the yellowish sauce which was cooked with white wine. The great thing about this place is that most of the food comes with a lot of sauce which is how I like to eat. All the shells were not empty and every single shell was filled with clam. It was cooked together with onions. 

The Uno Tiramisu (RM 16) is the best I have ever eaten. I have never eaten any tiramisu as good as this one. The tiramisu is even better than the one at Marini's 57 whereby there is too much cream. It has even made me think that tiramisu only has cream and nothing else except for the beautiful decorations on top. This is the first time I ever finish one tiramisu. The chocolate powder is just heavenly on top. The tiramisu is very light and sinful. Every bite was splendid and made me float in heaven. 

The Sangria (RM 18) did not have enough red wine or alcohol which I felt that did not make it really taste like sangria. To me, it tasted more like ribena with cocktail mix like chopped orange and apple. It would have been better with more red wine inside. 

I am definitely coming here again to try the giant calzone and also the pizza which were quite tasty, according to my friend.

Superb and heavenly

Superb and heavenly

 

 

 

 

 
Awesome with white wine

Awesome with white wine

 

 
Tender loving

Tender loving

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  slow cooked lamb,mushroom soup,vongole antipasti,uno tiramisu
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Ramen/Udon/Soba | BBQ

Shunka started in 2010 as neighbourhood business due three friends from Penang, Edisson, Yee Chean (YC) and Elven's passion for the community. Their concept was to open the restaurant at the neighbourhood area than at the shopping malls. They felt the urge to introduce Japanese food to people in Bukit Mertajam (BM) becuase it was very hard to find Japanese food that was affordable there.  

In fact, the first outlet was started with very low capital and had very simple renovation costing only RM 200,000-300,000. That was quite normal for 3 young boys.  Since the residents in that town thought of Japanese food as being raw and having a lot of bacteria, they could not have sashimi in the menu at that time. In fact, the first menu contained only cooked food. The price was so low at RM 30 for 2 pax which contained 2 main course, 1 snack and drinks. At that time, they also served things like nasi lemak. The customers' feedback was very good that within 6 months the second outlet was established in Parit Buntar, followed by the third outlet in Kampar. 

In 2014, Shunka underwent rebranding for 3 years and its initial slogan of "Everyone can taste" was changed to "Reliving Tokyo." At that time, they combined all home based food to Japanese food that is a combination of ramen, gyoza, wagyu, takoyaki etc whereby in Japan, all these are sold separately. In the past, there was no sushi in the menu but currently, there is some sushi inside the menu. Currently, their target is on Japanese cuisine for middle to high end and also matcha. 

There are 2 areas with long wooden tables and beautiful Japanese background. The ambience is so wonderful for hanging out with friends and family. It is very cosy too. 

The Kimchi Steamboat (RM 17.90) was our personal favourite. It has small cubes of tofu,  big prawn, shitake and also straw mushrooms and my most favourite part are the two scallops. It is considered the Japanese recipe of kimchi made from homemade kimchi. The taste is mix of a little sourness, sweetness and a little bit of spiciness. In fact, all of us kept saying that this was the best kimchi steamboat we have ever eaten. We tried the Level 1 chili for the kimchi. There are actually 3 levels for kimchi steamboat. "Add on" spicy is a new concept that has just come out in Shunka's 2015 menu. At the end, we tried the original kimchi steamboat which to me, is not that great as I preferred spicy soup. But I guess, this is a good option who are not into spicy food. 

The Garlic Fried Rice (RM 10.50) is freshly fried with local garlic whenever customers order it. It is fried with local rice, shoyu sauce and very little pork meat. It just tastes normal for me. I felt that it would have been better if there is more taste of garlic. I am a garlic lover so I preferred a lot of garlic together. 

The Crispy Sushi (RM 13.90) was quite tasty. It is served in 4 pieces and with a big dollop of mayonaise on top of each sushi. There is a very small morsel of unagi inside with Japanese cucumber and the entire sushi is wrapped with seaweed. I like the entire crispy package and it is very suitable for serving in the 4 Seasons Dish for 8 Course Meals.

Tonkatsu Shoyu Ramen (RM 19.90): The soup was a tad too salty for me but my two friends seem to like the saltiness so much. The meat was a little too rough and harsh for my liking. I preferred the thinner sliced meat for ramen or udon that is usually done elsewhere. The noodles was quite ok. 

The Deep Fried Pork Belly with Iberico Pork Belly (RM 7.30) and addition of homemade recipe pepper salt was very crispy. It tasted a little better with a squeeze of lemon. I am very conscious about my weight so I did not eat much of it. After all, I did not favour deep fried fats as I felt it was akin to eating oil and fat. My friends who love pork kept praising this dish as it was so crispy and smelt so tasty. 

The Tamagoyaki Japanese Cheese Omelette (RM 10.90), was thankfully, not as cheesy as I feared. There was not much cheese inside. The omelette was made layer by layer. There was a wavy strip of cheese on top. I have a feeling that the Japanese Unagi Omelette (RM 25.40) would have been better as I am a big fan of unagi. 

The Pork Gyoza (RM 10.50) was quite ok for me as I am not that choosy on gyoza as long as it does not have a weird taste. For my friend, she feels that the meat lacks coriander and not tasty enough. 

The Spicy Pork Bulgogi (RM 17.90) or spicy pork stone rice was quite tasty. The half-boiled egg on top, was done just the way I liked it. The egg was soft and fluffy. The sauce, pork belly and a lot of onions-the whole concoction was reminiscent of the dark soya sauce pork with fatty meat that our grandmothers, or in my case, my babysitter used to cook. It was very fragrant and delicious. I could have just labeled the dish as Nostalgia. 

The Butter Grilled Squid (RM 22.90) was my other personal favourite besides the kimchi steamboat. They said it is best to be eaten with mayonaise to bring up the flavour and enhance the intensity. I like the tenderness of the squid and the fact that it was not rubbery or too difficult to bite. I finished every single part of the squid thereby proving it was amazing. 

The Japanese Omelette Noodle (RM 13.90) was average in taste. The ramen is placed inside the omelette and it reminded me of pattaya noodles.  I think it would have been better with more teriyaki sauce instead of mayonaise. Sorry I am not a fan of mayonaise.

The Hot Matcha (RM 7.30) was so delicious that my friend finished every single drop of it. It was very thick and milky too. It was made from Uji Matcha green tea imported all the way from Japan. Customers can also buy this Uji Matcha from them if they like it a lot. 

The Iced Matcha with Red Bean (RM 16.90) was so tasty as it contains 3 layers of green tea ice, smashed red bean and vanilla ice-cream. The result was just purely awesome especially for matcha lovers like me. Sinking my teeth into green tea ice, red bean and vanilla ice-cream was like sinking into 3 layers of heaven. It was pure joy eating this dessert. There seems to be some chocolate sauce on top as well which makes the dessert even better. 

Customers and fans can register as a member in Shunka Malaysia through Wechat group. 6% GST can be waived and credited into the Wechat loyalty member account. There are also deals inside the Wechat which we can scan the QR code or show the e-voucher of Shunka Malaysia to ge the deals. All you need to do is to show the deal to the staff of Shunka. 

The Marble Soda (RM 6.90) original flavour was special in the sense that it could pop and sizzle. It was fun watching the performance of popping soda done by Edisson. The soda itself is a tad too sweet for me like most Japanese sodas.  

The Magic Matcha (RM 16.90) was so incredible. The matcha cubes were designed to be melted in the mouth. This dessert is designed to have a lot of ice together and for the green tea taste to be stronger and time goes on. The green tea was so thick and strong. It was just awesome. 

It costs RM 11.90 ++ for weekdays lunch at 11.30 am - 6.00 pm and the price is very affordable with quite a lot of items inside. 

Would I come again? Definitely! The price is so affordable and for this ambience, it is a "YES!"  In fact, my colleague has already planned another BFF or girls' meeting here! Till then! More reviews coming ya! 

 

 

 
Superb

Superb

 
Quite ok

Quite ok

 

 

 
Tender and amazing

Tender and amazing

 

 
Matcha Heaven

Matcha Heaven

 
Awesome ice in the mouth

Awesome ice in the mouth

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  magic matcha,hot latte,iced matcha with red bean,butter grilled squid,kimchi steamboat
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Butter + Beans @ OUG  Smile Aug 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

I was running out of places to go with my friend, especially since I only had an hour to have high tea before going for a food review session at night. So I decided to go to Butter + Beans at OUG which is a very cosy place and had more space than the one in Happy Mansion. The ambience is very warm and cosy. There are sofa and cushions at the side. The chandeliers are very quaint and unique. On the window, facing the pathway, there was a string of light bulb with tiny pieces of notes hanging. The baristas were very friendly. 

The coffee here is slightly towards the expensive types. I ordered the Cappucino (RM 16) which was so amazing. Very refreshing despite being hot. 

My friend ordered the Americano (About RM 8) which was very thick and strong and smelling it has made me feel good. 

I found the best Mocha Mille Crepe Cake here. It tasted of strong mocha and anything that smells of strong coffee will definitely make me happy. I can simply say, if you are a hot mocha lover, then this is the definitely your place! 

I definitely recommend coming here if you are residents of this area. A really great hangout place! 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Best mille crepe cake

Best mille crepe cake

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mocha mille crepe cake,cappuccino
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0