OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3684 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 66 to 70 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Our Daily Bread at Publika  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers / Sandwiches | Bakery / Cake / Kuih


I would never have known this place if not for my best friend who recommended me to come here. This is a very small cafe next to Tonkatsu in Publika.

There are a few spaghetti ie Aglio Olio, Carbonara, and Bolognaise and only a few drinks to be chosen.

I ordered the most famous spaghetti here that was Aglio Olio (RM 15.90) which is so spicy with a lot of chilli flakes, tuna flakes and a lot of chillies. The spaghetti is superb with the amazing spice inside.

 
My friend ordered the other popular spaghetti that is the carbonara (RM 15.90) with ham slices and also button mushrooms. The carbonara is not that thick and just average for me.

 
The Blueberry Almond Cake reminds me of the cakes my mother makes except it is a little dry and not as moist as the one my mother makes. The blueberries are dried ones too. My friend seems to like this cake a lot. I also tried the chocolate cake which is quite ok.

 
The Cappucino is quite ok, very simple and straight cut and direct without the coffee art that most people expected.

 
Details:

Address: UG-55, Level UG, Publika Shopping Gallery, No. 1, Jalan Dutamas 1, Solaris Dutamas, Kuala Lumpur, Sri Hartamas, 50480

 
Recommended Dish(es):  aglio olio
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tokyo Kitchen at One City USJ  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

 
I thought I did not want to eat at Tokyo Kitchen because I have a habit that once i have dined at a particular restaurant even the branch, I would not pay a second visit unless you have a lot of varieties. This time round, we just finished watching Star Wars : The Force Awakens at One City on 28 Dec 2015, as the other mainstream mall cinemas may not have a good seat for this blockbuster. Since we were still full from our late lunch of duck rice, but I have still a little hunger pang, we opted for a small set.

We ordered the Salmon Burger with Curry Udon (RM 29.80)

It was the first time for me to eat Salmon Burger which was not bad. The salmon meat is fresh and tender yet not too oily like the one at Fat Boys or Fat Man or even Tony Romas. There are shredded purple cabbage and cucumber too.

 

 
The mini udon with curry is very clear with beancurd and some seaweed and Japanese fishcake. The curry is just nice, not too thick, a little diluted but most importantly, minus the powdery taste of curry powder.

 
The soft tofu-like deep fried tofu whereby the deep frying still retained the softness of the tofu, was simply amazing.

I love the salad with non-creamy sauce. I always like Japanese salads because there is no thousand island or mayonaise but sesame sauce or non-fattening Japanese salad dressing.

The Chawanmushi and miso soup are also delicious.

 
Details:

Address: One City (Lot D-GF-06), Jalan USJ 25/1, 47100 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Tel: +603-5115 0056

 
Recommended Dish(es):  salmon burger,curry udon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM37.55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Good Batch for New Year 2016  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches


Coming here makes me reminisce about my last New Year 2015 whereby me and another single friend attempted to come here for New Year lunch which falls on a weekday, at 1 pm. We were too late as there was a long queue outside and me being the principled person who never queue up for anything, moved to Frisson Cafe a few shops nearby which turned out to be a disaster with hardened baked eggs that are not runny and also coffee with the heart shape incomplete that kinda caused me to be heartbroken the whole year through.

So I guess it was safer to come here on 2 Jan 2016. Initially I was worried of the queue but it seems that most customers patronize this place for brunch and lunch due to the amazing brunch and all-day breakfast menu.

The interior is very simple, similar to most coffee places but the cocktails here have price labels of RM 25 above. There was a deal of RM 60 for 3 cocktails.

We ordered the Cranberry Juice (RM 8) and also Marrakesh Mint Tea (RM 9). The hot tea is just a white mug with the tea sachet but the tea is very fragrant and of top quality.

Angmoh (RM 29)

This is actually a big breakfast, named in a cute way. It consists of a lot of food such as a small bowl of canned beans, tender sausage, 2 pieces of ham, tiny chopped potato wedges (ok, this is the first time I see people dicing the potato wedges which made me like this place even more!), fresh mushrooms, half a baked tomato, a slice of baguette which is made without oil in sight, and runny scrambled eggs done just the way I like it. If you like big breakfast, then this is THE PLACE.

Portobello Road (RM 25)

This is a very special dish because I expected the mushrooms to be served just like that, without thinking that they would serve the mushrooms on top of hashbrowns and having runny egg benedict on top of the mushrooms. What an awesome combo for a person like me who loves every item involved in the combination! The mushroom is large, sweet and juicy and cooked without an overload of olive oil. There is also a special mustard and parsley sauce on top of these and fresh non-sweet blueberry at the side. I never thought people eat blueberry with this but it is amazing - not sweet or sour, just perfect. When the runny yolk burst out, it was akin to the burst of happiness for me.

Norwegian (RM 25)

I was busy browsing the entire menu for the Egg Benedict that The Good Batch is famous for and finally asked the waitress who pointed to this. There were fish roe, followed by cheese, salmon, egg benedict and lastly, toasted baguette from top to bottom. When the egg benedict popped, it signifies the fireworks in myself, whereby I have been living my 2-3 years dreaming of coming here, but always having a challenge to come to this place like my friend thinking it was too expensive etc. I have harnessed that dream ever since I saw The Good Batch published in a local residential newspaper featuring food outlets in Solaris.

I am coming back here for the popular coffee using Fei Hong Beans was tonight I do not want to risk having insomnia. Also since, I was going to Nadeje later, I stopped myself from ordering the banana cake or lychee cake which looks amazing.

The service was very good from the waiter and waitress who attentively poured plain water for us.

There is also a corner for latest magazines such as Female, Women's Weekly, etc. 

So I guess if you want to come here without having to queue up, try coming at night at about 6.30 pm even on weekends. 

Details:

Address: No. 53, Jalan SS21/1A, Damasara Utama, Selangor, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-7733 2303

Opening Hours: 10 am - 1 am

 
Recommended Dish(es):  norwegian,portobello road,angmoh
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM111.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nadeje at One Utama  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack


This is a fun fact : Catherine has never been to Nadaje before! OMG seriously?

Alright, I admit previously I tried Nadaje's famous crepe cake at the office but to me, it was just normal perhaps because I was too fussy over cakes. Anyway, this time round, I was in 1 Utama and decided to try Nadeje there in the old wing.

The open air style cafe in the middle, is very inviting. I like the blue font of the signboard. There were quite a number of customers on a Saturday night tonight.

Seeing the alcoholic menu, my eyes was awe struck. I like alcohol in food. I immediately stopped my friend from ordering the Gula Melaka cake which was under the non-alcoholic category.

All cakes cost RM 12.60 per slice, much cheaper than another well-known franchise which I would not mention here.

1 kg : RM 95, 1.5 kg : RM 137, 2 kg : RM 158 Cafe Mocha

I fell in love with this cake. If you ever ask me which mille crepe cake is my favourite, this is definitely THE ONE! The taste of mocha is rich together with chocolate chips, and when coated with the layer of cream, shall we call this THE DESSERT for every occasion, be it for good times with friends and family, or a binge-eating time for girls after a break up (seriously? kidding), or just plainly for enjoying cakes.

 
Strawberry Chocolate

This cake has a special thin layer of jelly and thin slices of strawberry on top. The bottom are full of lovely black chocolate crepe and cream alternate layers.

I am definitely coming back for the Rum and Raisin and Tiramisu alcoholic cakes, Nadaje, you wait for me!

 
Details:

Nadeje 1 Utama Petaling Jaya, Selangor. GK 101 Ground Floor, 1 Utama Shopping Centre, Lebuh Bandar Utama, 47800 PJ, Selangor

 
Recommended Dish(es):  cafe mocha
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25.20

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tek Kee Noodle House at USJ  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


We went around USJ Taipan searching for rice places. Our initial stop was at Simon's Nyonya House but the shop was closed so we tried going to the famous Malay nasi lemak which was closed as well. So finally we relented and I came here since there were noodles as well. Moreover, Tek Kee seems to be very famous amongst the locals and nearby residents.

I ordered the Herbal Duck Meat Wantan Mee (RM 10.60) which turned out to be wantan mee instead of mee sua that I usually have in Penang. The herbal taste is very fragrant and the meat tender.

 
My friend ordered the Roasted Duck and Pork Fats rice (RM 10.50) whereby the pork skin is super crispy. For a non-pork lover, I actually ate the skin!

 
I could not have any meal without vegetables so I ordered bean sprouts (RM 4.25) which were not bad just that the portion was too much for both of us.

Details:

Address:

39 & 41, Jalan USJ 9.5s Subang Business Centre, 47610 Subang Jaya, Selangor

 
Recommended Dish(es):  herbal duck noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM29.65

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0