OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Kodawari Menya  Smile Aug 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Kodawari Menya is a place I got to know from through the food voucher in The Star. I went there supposedly to use the 20% voucher but we were rushing to pay at the counter, that can you believe it, we forgot all about it when that is the main purpose I went there! Anyway, I was so caught up shopping at Pukka Beauty and Hair Accessories which had shocking discounts for the hair products but that is another issue all together. 

The ambience is quite cosy whereby the eating area is out in the open terrace. It is suitable for families and office people as well. 

Kodawari Menya's owner is so clever to make it like a food court way of buying food to save on wage and employing too many workers to take orders. It reminds me of Greenhouse at Muir in Ampang but at least I need not travel till 1 hour for this food court styled Japanese food. 

There is separate counter to take some garnishing like deep fried stuff to be sprinkled, spring onions, blended ginger, soya sauce, tempura sauce and also green tea. One must pay for green tea though. The ginger is quite tasty. 

The udons cost RM 12.90-RM 16.90 whereas side dishes like tempura karaage, fish cake, prawns, shitake, tofu etc costs RM 2.50 or 3 per piece. The tempura sauce is too diluted and not as dark as what the conventional tempura sauce should be. 

My friend ordered the Half-Boiled Egg Dry Udon with a side dish of tempura prawn and also a deep fried fish sausage. The deep fried fish sausage tasted horrible as expected. Well, he should have listened to me, no? Haha! 

I ordered the curry vegetable udon which cam with potatoes and carrot cubes for RM 16.90. I added in tempura ebi and also shitake. By the way, I dropped 1 shitake while trying to take it out from the stick and lost in it. The curry is very smooth and tasty and does not have any of the powdery taste of most Japanese curries. The curry coats the udon very perfectly and makes the taste even better. I would rate this curry udon 9/10 which is the highest I ever go for Japanese Curries! The tempuras are also so tasty. 

I ordered the Gelatomio Green Tea ice-cream (RM 7) which was a little dry. Luckily, it did not have the powdery taste of green tea powder. I guess Gelatomio gelato is not really famous for green tea. I still prefer its nutty and chocolate and coffee flavours sold at the counter. But then perhaps because it is boxed up, then it is dry. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  curry udon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nanyang Food Garden  Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant

The first time I came here was with my parents for our breakfast before flying to Bali in December 2014. The food here is quite reasonably priced and worth the price due to the big portions. 

I ordered the same thing like what I ordered when I first came here which was the Cantonese Noodles (RM 14). The sauce was incredible with a lot of eggs inside making it thick and rich. There were a lot of ingredients such as prawns, cabbage, and also octopus. The sauce was not too thick and gooey and not too salty too. I liked the fact that there weren't any pork meat inside. 

The warm water chestnut drink (RM 5.90) was a refreshing herbal tea to start the day especially with Malaysian heat. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Seafood

I was looking for my favourite Malaccan Nyonya restaurant for my parents but realized it was probably closed down. So in the end I decided to eat at Tanjung Bungah Penang Nyonya restaurant. I was a little sceptical because it was weird to bring my parents to eat Penang Nyonya food when they are going back to Penang the very next day. 

The Nasi Ulam (RM 7.50) was so delicious and fragrant. It really tasted like the one sold in Pulau Tikus market. The rice was just incredible and way better than the white rice. 

The Midin Paku-pakis (RM 15) was incredible. The best thing about this is that it was cooked with sambal and not that oily like what people normally cook outside. This is because they have used the proper nyonya sambal and did not use too much oil in the cooking. 

The Sambal Sotong with Petai (RM 15) has slightly more oil but the effect was not too oily. The big sotong was fresh with a lot of green crunchy petai. 

The fourth item is the best fish head curry (RM 29) I have ever eaten in KL which is even better than the one at the famous Puchong fish head curry kopitiam or the one at Jalan Puchong. There were a lot of ingredients inside the curry such as long beans, tau pok, cabbage and also brinjals. The combination was simply amazing. The curry is also thicker than the usual ones and not too watery. 

A pot of tea cost RM 1.60 per pax and I chose Jasmine tea. 

I am definitely coming back here to try the jiu hu char and otak-otak. This is the first time I found a true blue Penang Nyonya Peranakan food venue in KL. 
Best sambal with fresh ingredients and crunchy petai

Best sambal with fresh ingredients and crunchy petai

 

 

 
Fragrant

Fragrant

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  fish head curry,petai sotong,paku pakis,nasi ulam
 
Table Wait Time: 10  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM72.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Out of Africa  Smile Aug 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

The ambience here brings me to Africa. Despite not being there before, the decorations and ornaments and traditional sculpture settles that for you. There is also a Kudu bar inside, and the way it is done, it is very special and cosy. 

Since I was still feeling a little hungry despite eating granola bar earlier, I ordered Sarafina Pancake with cherries (RM 18) and I requested to change the vanilla ice-cream to chocolate flavour. The ice-cream were melted when it was served to me so I felt like eating the crepe in a flood of chocolate. I am definitely not ordering dessert here anymore.

The Kudu Bar has a tasty Singapore Sling cocktail. The ambience inside is very cosy and reminds one of those community pubs in KL residential areas of in London.  

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM21

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Voice  Smile Aug 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Restaurant | Desserts

I have never been to The Voice at Skypark in One City. My friend likes to go there so he brought me there to have a drink after watching Paper Town movie in Premium cinema.

I ordered the new cocktail range, which is the Pineapple cocktail with some milk. It was so incredible and served in a small pineapple. The drink was slightly sour and sweet and not too sweet. The best thing to do is to sip your cocktail while looking at the fireworks with your loved ones here. The drinks are not that expensive and cheaper than Elysium or some other clubs with good view in KL. 

My friend ordered the Shiraz red wine which was not bad too. It costs RM 22 per glass. 

After a while, my throat was a little dry so I ordered the Blueberry Illusion (RM 19) but I find it too sweet and too normal with just probably Blueberry Monin with soda. 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pineapple cocktail,red wine
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0