OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Daan Daan  OK Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Sweets/Snack


This is the first time I come to Evolve Concept Mall, a new mall discovered in the middle of the condo. The design is very unique that the washroom has yellow sink in the middle and also wall made of very special tiles.

Daan Daan is right at the first floor that is in yellow colour. There was no one when I first came but after we sat at a table, a whole load of customers came.

 
Before we came

 

 
After we came

Egg Wafflet (RM 6)

This is my first time trying egg wafflet (RM 6) despite seeing this many times in Sunway Pyramid. Many children like to eat here as the wafflet is not that sweet. One can enjoy eating the egg wafflet by nibbling piece by piece.

 

 

 
Wafflet (RM 6.80) [With Peanut Butter and Condensed Milk]

This wafflet, is quite tasty, cute and crispy. It was cut into small pieces.

 

 
Almond D'Light (RM 8.80) and Lemon Water (RM 3.60)

This is quite ok, made to be thick and one that many of us health conscious people will like as it is not sweet at all.

 

 
Red Bean Chiller (RM 5.50)

This is so far the best among the rest though I do not like red bean much. The drink is quite tasty and sweet.

 

 
Details:

Address: Lot EV-F-K02 First Floor Evolve Concept Mall, Jalan PJU 1a/4a

Tel: +60 12-336 6337

 
Recommended Dish(es):  red bean chiller
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Taima Hokkien Mee  OK May 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


I really like Klang Bukit Tinggi Jaya Jusco and just found out that it is the biggest Jusco in the entire Malaysia! There are so many stores! Dad felt like eating Fried Hokkien Mee after a whole afternoon of shopping. It was raining too so a plateful of hot fried Hokkien Mee seems to do the trick, dad thought! We were feeling hungry due to early brunch in Klang at 11.30 am.

So I was in the car googling where to have this Hokkien Mee nearby in Kota Kemuning which has less jam compared to PJ area and voila, I found Taima Hokkien Mee at Bukit Rimau. When we reached there, at 5.31 pm, there was no dinner crowd yet and only had 1 table.

All the food here is quite cheap as it only costs RM 36 for all the 4 noodles and 1 pot of chrysanthemum tea!

Fried Hokkien Mee

This is by far, the only food item I find that is the best! I regretted not ordering more of the same thing! It was incredible! Fragrant from a lot of fried pork fats, tasty and strong in taste. In fact, it has changed my perception of Fried Tai Lok Mee as I previously hated this type of noodles! Fancy doing that to me!

 
Cantonese Hor Fun

The sauce is thick with egg.Loh Tai Lok Mee

This is thick but not as good as the one at Ulu Yam Loh Mee which has the noodles swimming inside the dark sauce.

 
Fried Sinchow Mai Fan (Singapore Fried Bihun)

I wonder how you call this SG Fried Bihun when the noodles are overly soggy and cooked with too much water? There is lack of vegetables and only had cheap white cabbage and some greens and pork meat. I had only 1 spoon and done, NO MORE! This is how terrible it is! My mother's fried bihun is 10 times better!

 
Details:

Address: Jln Sungai Burung AA32/AA,
Bukit Rimau, 40460 Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM36

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xenri OK Apr 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


Ever since I heard of Xenri from my mother's friend in Bandar Baru Bangi during university, I have been wanting to visit this place but simply didn't get a chance. When this thought came to me again during my birthday and father's day, the place is fully booked. A few weeks ago, we kept booking and canceling it due to my busy schedule. Then this weekend I am free from my work that was cleared up last week.

When I reached here today to celebrate my 3 Years' Anniversary at Work with my family, we were shocked. Perhaps because we were used by Jogoya or Shogun style whereby the food is displayed outside at the front pavement. All the cooked food are salty and does not look inviting. There is a small place whereby fruits, 3 types cakes, sashimi and sushi were displayed.

 
I was disappointed that there was no unagi or ebi at all! I mean that's the basis of Japanese food, or so I thought!I only seek solace from miserable oysters whereby the size is smaller than my last finger and cooked with with small mushrooms and cheese. The cooking method is good just that the oysters are not refilled fast.

 
It is undeniable that the sashimi is very fresh and served thick for the butterfish, salmon, maguro. One compliment is that the sushi are served in very small pieces like maguro, sweet beancurd skin, salmon etc.

 

 

 
Every once in a while, there would be new sushi such as triangular ones, fake crabstick and cheese. I like the small sizes of these sushi especially the mango ones.

 

 

 
For the salad bar (do you even call it this since this is not separated from the rest?), there are cheap vegetables like mashed potato with carrot, butterhead salad, cucumber, my other favourite which is jellyfish and green wet seaweed. The tomatoes are cut into too big sizes, in quarters! Seriously, such big sizes?

 
The Chawanmushi has only 2 pieces of miserable mushrooms.

The fish like grilled salmon, mackerel, gyoza and saba are normal. They also have the world's smallest mussels that are shrinked. So was the prawn tempura whereby it was no longer crispy and soggy. I like the vegetable karaage which was the only crispy item. All the cooked food are cold except for the stew.

 

 

 

 
There are 2 types of stew:

 
Salmon Fish Head Kimchi Stew Claypot with Glass Noodles.

 

 
Beef Stew Claypot with Glass Noodles

 
The only cakes available are the sweetest in the world such as Red Velvet Cakes with raspberries, Chocolate Cake and also some banana cake.Two drinks available are peach tea, orange juice green tea and cheap Nestle ice-cream.

As for the coffee, I never expected that people would serve such sweet coffee. Based on my experiences of hotel buffets in the whole Malaysia and certain parts of the world, including 4 and 3 star, normally they serve plain black coffee instead of 3-in-1 coffee!

I needed a drink to cool down so I ordered separately, Sakura Shochu (RM 14.30) which was served with very artfully with cute sakura flowers but the taste turned out to be too bitter for us.

 
The final price was RM 56 (before GST) and RM 68 after GST per pax. I guess the price is ok if we just forget about everything I have mentioned above and just come here to stuff yourself silly with sashimi and that would be worth it?

The Setting

-If you do come here, don't be fooled by the waiter to sit in the front area because later I discovered there is this Japanese Traditional setting to dine which is much cooler than the front portion.Details:

Address:
Xenri D'river View, 10, Lorong 4/137c, Bedford
Business Park, 58200 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Tel: 03 7783 8118

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kimmana Bento  OK Apr 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese

Nowadays, most of us are so health conscious. My male colleague even go to gym during lunch and went on a detox diet. My new colleague even went to the extent of cooking his own food consisting of salad, grilled chicken and things like that for lunch every day
for 2 weeks! He was so hardworking in that segment. No wonder I never get thin
because I kept going for food binges and cannot withstand myself from eating a
lot during a buffet.

Since I am already feeling guilty for not eating healthily and failing my slimming programme, I was so delighted when I chanced upon Kimmana Beauty Bento which focuses on healthy food in bento, format. The word Bento is the slang term for Chinese word 便当 or Bian Dang,meaning conveniently boxed.They have found that although there are similar form of box lunches in many countries, most of them are plain and simple. It is only in Japan, Korea and Taiwan where bentos had really flourished and aesthetically prepared. In their opinion, there is no reason why these great looking, healthy, convenient and time saving boxed lunch cannot be a hit among our Malaysia working class.

 
They had different range such as Gumiho Beauty Bento (RM 17.90), Club Bento (RM 9.90) and Dutch Bento Pizza. I admire the fact that they also have Veggie Club delivery to cater for the vegetarians.

It's very convenient to order a bento. Here are the steps:

1.Choose your bento meal at http://kimnanabento.com

2.Pay online or cash on delivery

3. Receive SMS when bento is about to arrive.
(I received my message the day before)

4. The delivery person will call you when he is arriving.

5.Meet the delivery person at the building entrance

When I brought my bento to my pantry, all my colleagues came to see what I was eating. They admired the pink packaging for my Anti-aging Gumiho Bento and separator for the food.

 
Some info on what is Gumiho Anti-Aging Bento;

GUMIHO
Anti-Aging Bento is a combination of many
super anti-aging and antioxidant foods that are jointly recommended by various nutritional experts and doctors. Famous Taiwanese nutritionist – Wang Hailing mentioned “Woman could become immortal by eating the right food”. The statement may be exaggerated but possibility of slowing aging does exist. Woman should start the action of anti-aging from 25 year-old because that is the critical point of a woman’s body.

Each Gumiho Bento comes with standard rice with sesame, corn and peanuts, Korean Brown Rice Tea.

I chose mine due to its grilled seabass that is lightly cooked with fresh oranges, tomatoes, grapes and other ingredients that resulted in a slightly sweet and sour taste. It fondly reminds me of how my mother cooks, which is the healthy Aussie Jamie Oliver way with natural ingredients.The side dishes are Japanese soft-boiled egg, Taiwanese eggplant cut into small slices, Japanese cucumber and cherry tomato and also boiled broccoli. The food is guaranteed not to be oily at all. But the point is that for bento, we have to ensure we get used to not so hot as in piping hot food unless we warm up using the microwave but do remember not to put the plastic cover over.
 
Delivery Wait Time: 30 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 31, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM17.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Gaga Western  OK Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Noodles


Today, the moment I finished my work, I dipped into the pool. After all, my colleague said I had a spare tyre and I could not fit into my black dress at all and my other dress today, kept unzipping itself.

We meant to go to Minamotonoya Cafe in Sri Petaling for dinner tonight but could not find the shop. When we finally found it, there was a signboard that says, "Closed on Sunday!" So finally I reluctantly went to the this cafe, that I thought was selling 'ciplak western food.' But the food taste soon proved me wrong. It's what we cantonese call, "Peng Leng Cheng" (Cheap, Tasty and Incredible) with a simple no-nonsense interior. They also have fusion that are Chinese stir fry food and also Western food so it's easier to find a place that suits friends who like both cuisine. All the Chinese food cost RM 8.90 or less than RM 10 per plate whereas Western food costs RM 13-24 per plate.

Hainanese Chicken Chop (RM 18)

This is better than the others elsewhere. The crispyness of the chicken chop remains and the best part is non salty but sourish tomato paste style sauce poured generously on top of the chicken with chunks of tomato seen. I have changed the french fries to mashed potatoes with goes well with the sauce. The chicken thigh is soft when cut with the knife, tender enough too.

 
Mixed Grill (RM 24)

We just ordered it because we are very hungry and didn't know this is another popular dish here till we saw the dishes on the counter!

This dish is very well worth the money paid as it contains a pork chop, lamb chop, grilled chicken, fried sausage and also deep fried fish with coleslaw and black pepper sauce served separately.

 
Watermelon Juice (S: RM 6.50, L: RM 8.50) 

The fruit juices are sold at RM 6.50 for small sizes and RM 8.50 for the big ones so I took the big one to share. 

Details:

Address: No. 108, Jalan Radin Anum 1, Sri Petaling, Wilayah
Persekutuan, 57000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0