OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Pang's Kitchen  OK Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


This is a gathering of all food bloggers aka foodies for Chinese New Year 2016 on the eve of Hokkien CNY on Chor 8. We had it in Pang's Kitchen, Hong Kong one-Michellin star restaurant at Taman Desa. We started the dinner with Yee Sang, the typical CNY way. It costs RM 68 for half a plate.

 

 
This is followed by the dishes below all in very small portions:

1. Braised Beancurd with Fresh Mushroom (RM 18)

This came with Xiao Pai Chai and also too thick sauce with a lot of corn flour. The tofu are ok but I cannot agree with over thick sauce. Do you know corn flours makes you fat?

 
2. Crispy Chicken with Garlic (RM 38) - Half

The chicken is the smallest and driest I have ever tasted and loses to even the normal chicken at the chicken rice stall, for usual price of only RM 6 even for drumstick. The price is also too expensive.

 
3. Scramble Milk with Scallop (RM 38)

When this dish arrived, I was taken aback. I mistaken it for stir fried rubbery egg white as it tasted like this. I even tried to remove all the curdled egg as I am not use to it. To me, expensive delicacy like scallop should be served steamed/grilled to retain its freshness rather than having its taste being over enveloped by milk.

 
4. Sweet and Sour Pork Rib with Strawberry (RM 33)

By then, my friend was frantically looking for the strawberry. When I was not looking for this, the strawberry popped up. There were tiny preserved strawberries sprinkled all round the sweet and sour sauce. The pork rib was not bad, just that it was too sweet with all the sweet and sour sauce.

 
5. Stir Fried Kailan with Shrimp Paste in Claypot (RM 25)

I rarely order kailan in restaurants because I thought it is a cheap dish. But this time, the serving style in a claypot retained the taste, freshness, crisp and also the fragrance of the frying.

 
The Pu-Er tea costs RM 24.50 and also RM 12 for five bowls of white rice.

More story at http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/pangs-kitchen.html

Details:

Pang's Kitchen @ Voizsup

Ground Floor, Wisma Miramas, Jalan 2/109E, Taman Desa, Kuala Lumpur.

Opening Hours: Daily, 11am-10pm.

Tel: +6012-465-4147

 
Table Wait Time: 15  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM300

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yamagoya Ramen @ Setia Walk  OK Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba


We went to Yamagoya Ramen for dinner. Unfortunately, the restaurant was super hot and stuffy that I cannot fathom that we are paying service charge!

There was CNY Promotion of RM 48 for 2 bowls of noodles, 2 drinks and a side dish. Initially the promo included beer but they removed this.

Spicy Tobanjan Ramen

The ramen is not that spicy as it is for all Japanese ramen. Just that the soup looks reddish. It has black fungus, bean sprouts, spring onions and also thin slices of pork. It's quite ok and not too salty.

 
Mukashi Special Ramen

This is plain miso soup with black fungus, egg yolk, thin pork slices. Quite ok.

 

 
Gyoza

This tastes like normal gyoza.

 
More info and story at http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/yamagoya-ramen-setia-walk.html

Details: Address: C-8-G, Block C, Setiawalk, Persiaran Wawasan Pusat Bandar Puchong 47160 Selangor

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsim Tung @ Setia Walk Puchong  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant


We were rushing for my movie titled "Unbelievable" at 5.50 pm at TGV Setia Walk then I was hungry so I went to the nearest coffee shop style restaurant.

I ordered French Classic Sandwich (RM 7.88) which came in a big thick french toasted bread topped with an egg benedict, ham and cheese. The ingredients seem simple but it led to something spectacular in the form of the runny yolk egg on top of the bread/.

 
Details:

Address: No. D-06-Gm Block D Setia Walk, Persiaran Wawasan, 47160 Puchong

Tel: 03 58821307

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai Tanic at Elit Avenue  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant


We walked the whole round of the square, literally walk, seriously! Dad initially wanted to eat Korean food at KO BBQ then changed his mind as he did not want to eat Banchan. So we ended up eating thai food at Thai Tanic which I saw this afternoon.

The boss of this cafe is Chinese but all the waiters and waitresses are Thai people.

Eating 2 scoops of rice and too many dishes made me so full till 12.43 am whereby I had to go to the open air gym downstairs in the garden of my condo to exercise. I am someone who cannot sleep on a full stomach. Right now as I type out my blog, I am eating unripe mango to ease my digestion.

The place is a very simple cafe with a/c and tables and chairs and nothing fancy.

Thai Style 5 Combination (Small) - RM 28

This is our personal favourite and the most worth of the price. It has deep fried calamari which is tasty. There was also kong poh chicken with dried chillies, onions and carrots. 2 pieces of pandan chicken were quite ok and not too hard. The Kerabu mango is very spicy and sour just the way I like it. There were also a few slices of century eggs.

 
Claypot Glass Noodles with Crab - RM 39

This is the worst of the lot as the glass noodles are too soggy. I have never eaten anything like that.

 
Lemon Steamed Jin Fung Fish (RM 30)

The fish looks like flying fish and tastes good with lemon.

 
Thai Red Ruby (RM 5)

The Thai Red Ruby is quite ok except that there was too much santan.

2 glasses of Lemon Grass Tea costs RM 5.80

 
Details:

Address: 1-1-43A, Elite Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, 11950 Bayan Baru Penang

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Recipe @ Mid Valley Mall OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Ramen/Udon/Soba


We came here looking for food to eat and finally decided on this place because we were both heaty and it's cheaper here. My friend is very money conscious so we could not go to some expensive place to eat.

I ordered the Dumpling Ramen with 3 measly pieces of coloured dumplings. It has so few ingredients that I had to order the Warm Mixed Fruit Punch Tea (RM 12.90) which warmed out throats.

 
The hard boiled eggs (about RM 2.90) had runny yolk and was superb to be eaten.

My friend ordered the pork ball ramen with hard boiled eggs.

 
Details:

Address: T-023A,3rd Floor, Mid Valley Megamall, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 59200 Kuala Lumpur.

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0