OpenRice Index
  
alljoy33
This is alljoy33 .
Member 27 First(s)
No. of Review29 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity114 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant29 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲9 Follower(s)
alljoy33  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 29 Reviews in Malaysia
Vegetarian anyone? OK Jun 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Vegetarian

Idealite has recently opened up two outlets in kuching. One in the bustling shopping center of Viva City and the other in the suburbs of Rock Road. Having had a wonderful experience dining at the outlet in Viva, I decided to bring my dad to the one at Rock Road. My old man has very high standards for good food mind you. If he says it's good then you will have to 'die die also must try'. If he says it's not so good then it'll probably be mediocre. So here's our review on the food we ordered:

1. The best-selling bak kut teh
6/10 stars. Taste wise it was good. The broth was thick and rich in flavor and the ingredients were provided in generous amounts, from the toufu, wolf berries, cabbages, soft boiled egg and needle mushrooms. But the problem with this otherwise aromatic dish was that the ingredients though generous did not absorb the flavor of the soup/broth. It was as if they were just dumped into the soup for a few minutes prior to being served.

2. The white fungus and pear soup
A well known delicacy meant to promote beautiful looking skin. And boy was this dessert good! It was subtly sweet (sweetness which I think naturally came from the pear) and the white fungus was soft and chewy. Perfect for consumption on a hot day.

3. Bibimbap
5/10. Perhaps I am a meat lover so without the marinated beef this dish somehow seemed incomplete. Plus the cucumbers and carrots were not very finely cut. A bit too rough for my liking. Also, I think they could have improved on their hot sauce as it didn't taste very authentic. I couldn't feel a Song Joon Ki in it haha.

While it might not be the best place to dine at, I appreciate their concept of cooking healthy food so no harm in giving this place a try. It's not the best but it's definitely not too bad.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ohayo from Oishi ! Smile Jun 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood

My BFF recently treated me to a birthday lunch and boy was it Oishi! We ordered a simple potato salad, the avocado dragon roll and teriyaki chicken rice.

The potato salad was served chilled. A nice touch especially if you eat out on a hot day. The texture of the potatoes was soft and the salad sauce was very light. Not top heavy on the tongue. The sprinkles of little red fish eggs added a poppy and juicy flavor to the salad too.

The avocado dragon roll. What I liked about it. The crispy deep fried prawns which oozed a juicy and succulent flavor with every bite. What I didn't like about it. The avocado though layered neatly on top of the sushi was a little too warm for my liking. I had expected it to have a yin and yang theme whereby the avocado would be chilled while the prawns and sushi rice warm but that was not the case.

The teriyaki chicken rice. I love the fact that they have us a free bowl of miso soup to go with the fluffy fat rice. I'm a sucker for freebies mind you so an definitely giving them huge points for this. Add the fact that the chicken was tender and the gravy thick and sweet. Oishi all the way!

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches | Halal

The king of burgers has finally graced the shores of Sarawak, nestling itself in the heart of Viva City.

For this visit, I filled my belly with the grilled chicken burger, fries, Pepsi and their vanilla ice cream.

1. Grilled chicken burger
Burger King once posted, " Why eat with a clown when you can dine with a king?". This is obviously Burger King taking a dig at their rival, Mc Donalds. But I have to say, this burger wins hands down. Even Mc Donalds Big Mac and their GCB cannot compare to the taste that Burger King's grilled chicken burger exudes. They somehow manage to preserve the tenderness and are able to keep the burger moist and juicy without being overly burnt.

2. Fries
The fries were a disappointment though. Perhaps the operator was in too much of a hurry to do a QA/QC check on the fries before serving them. They looked pale and soggy, a truly sorry sight. I stopped eating after 2 sticks of fries.

3. Ice cream
Again! Burger King's ice cream wins hands down! Not only is it soft and creamy, the texture is thick and smooth too. Somehow I prefer this ice cream over Mc Donalds, Sunny Hills, etc. This ice cream to me ranks as THE best soft serve ice cream in kuching.

So what are you waiting for? Go grab your burger, like right now!
Needs  alot  of  improvement

Needs  alot  of  improvement

 
Da  best  Eva!

Da  best  Eva!

 
Tastes  better than it looks.  Believe me

Tastes  better than it looks.  Believe me

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  The ice cream
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 08, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bulgogi oh bulgogi! Smile Jun 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Noodles

Korean food lovers listen up! There's an authentic Korean Restaurant at Premier 101 Kuching that serves wonderful and mouth watering Korean dishes. The name of the shop? 'Koreana' ( it's a smack in your face name just in case you didn't know they sell Korean food).

This time, my dad and I ventured to this restaurant for a Bulgogi lunch and boy was it gooooooooooood!

At less than RM50, we were treated to a hot plate of sizzling beef marinated in sweet soya sauce and tossed with caramelized onions. 5 (read refillable) side dishes accompanied the bulgogi and they were boiled sweet black beans, the spicy but refreshing cabbage kimchi, steamed egg plants with a generous dose of ikan bilis and chilli, spinach with sesame seeds and crunchy but sweet radish kimchi. Mix all these with with their sweet and spicy bean sauce, scoop them into the freshly washed green leafy lettuce, place a few pieces of their juicy beef and wrap it up. Done? Pop the whole 'bulgogi wrapped in lettuce' into your mouth and be prepared to be blown away. It was thumbs up all the way.

For those of you who don't like the idea of popping raw veggies into your mouth (for fear of e coli and whatnots), you can order a steaming bowl of fluffy white rice that comes in a stainless steel bowl. The combination of the bulgogi and refreshing side dishes with rice is also wonderful. It was so good I finished 2 bowls of rice.

And since the side dishes are refillable you can just request for add ons and have them with your rice without the bulgogi. They are awesome one their own too!

So if you're in the vicinity of premier 101, why not try out Koreana? You'll definitely be back for more. A note though, do not confuse Koreana with the other Korean Restaurant situated 2 blocks away. They belong to two different owners.
Heaven on  earth!

Heaven on  earth!

 
They're refillable!

They're refillable!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bulgogi!  Bulgogi!
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Gula Apong Ice Cream at Amigo! Smile Jun 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Mexican | Restaurant

Well whadya know....nestled in the heart of the Giant supermarket at Stutong is a little stall called Amigo Churros selling churros (of course) and their specialty....the gula apong ice cream.

Yeap. You read it right folks. Gula Apong. I've had ais kacang with gula apong before but with ice cream? It was a first for me and bit did it leave an impression.

You can purchase the ice cream at either rm3 or rm5. The ice cream which comes in a very very big serving comes in a plastic paper cup and you get to choose a maximum of 3 toppings to go with the ice cream. I chose chopped peanuts.

So, chopped peanuts generously sprinkled on the towering gula apong ice cream with a drizzle of melted gula apong. The taste? Heavenly! I've never tasted gula apong incorporated into ice cream before so this was a refreshing change and taste.

The ice cream is thick and creamy and the gula apong taste is strong but not too overwhelming. The peanuts give a very complimentary chewy taste to the ice cream but if you're not a peanut fan, you can opt for crushed oreos or chocolate sprinkles instead.

A must try!
Heavenly!

Heavenly!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0