OpenRice Index
  
Pyqa
This is Pyqa living in Ampang. I am a Executive, work in Ampang. I like to hang out in Ampang, Bukit Bintang, Damansara Utama. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Sweets/Snack, Pizza/Pasta, Steaks / Chops.
Member 45 First(s)
No. of Review99 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity491 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos206 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant99 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲30 Follower(s)
Pyqa  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 95 Reviews in Malaysia
Its time to try their pasta Smile Jan 31, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

I used to eat sushi zanmai which i like a lot but i realize they have pasta zanmai as well. So after i finished buying clothes for my turkey trip that time, me and my friend went to pasta zanmai for dinner. Luckily my friend wanted to treat me for my belated birthday hehe.

The environment is just like sushi zanmai but it was slighly smaller as what i remember. It was fullhouse tho. We managed to get a seat at the corner, nearby their kitchen (and you can smell all the food when you sit here). 

Both of us ordered the same dish which is salmon pasta. It is not cheap as what i remembered , around RM30++ . So the services is quite fast actually. After less than 10 mins, we got our food. I can tell their specialty is salmon because when i ate their sushi before, the salmon doesn't taste raw or smelly, same goes to this pasta. They grilled the salmon quite well. A plus for that! 

 

 
Then, we ordered this green tea parfait for dessert. Look at the picture, it really does look yummy! they put some jelly, cornflakes, nuts, cream and of course the green tea ice cream. We mixed it all together and it tasted delicious. lol 

I wish everyday is my birthday so that someone can treat me with some good food everyday ;p

Overall: japanese environment, awesome dessert 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  green tea parfait
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nyonya Cuisine Smile Jan 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

My bestfriend is a big fan of this Sepiring. They serve you different menu with some baba nyonya taste, just like Lima Blas but this shop have some western mix. We were looking for this shop for about an hour (because my friend has not been to Sepiring for quite sometime  -.-").  And finally! We found it ( The shop that my friend been pointing all the time when i asked "what is this nyonya shop look like?" and she pointed Sepiring 3x but she insisted the name was different, and it is actually this one since 1 hour ago,lol) .

So, we were very hungry since we have been walking non-stop since morning, we finally got a chance to sit down and relax a bit. My friend ordered her fav weird dish called Spicy smoked beef (which is actually Spaghetti masak chili api) that cost RM16.90 which inclusive of dessert and drinks. As for me, i was craving for Ipoh Hor Fun so i ordered that set (RM16.90).

 

 

 
The list of the food here is definitely weird and interesting. Have you ever heard of spaghetti masak lemak chili api? definitely not for me! There are some other western dishes are mixed with Nyonya delight. For example, they have this tea time set which will cost you RM40-RM60 and you will get all the old dishes but presented in a modern way (such as sagu gula melaka, pengat pisang and etc). I can say this shop is quite creative.

Okay enough of that, lets try the food. The spaghetti was actually tasted good. They are not too spicy tho (try to eat my grandma's masak lemak chili api, you are going to scream lol ) . As for my Ipoh Hor Fun, too bad the soup didn't tasted the way i wanted. In this case, Old Town Ipoh Hor Fun win. As for the dessert, they served you pulut hitam and bubur cha cha. Bubur cha cha they use santan and some fruits jelly (i don't know the exact name). As for Pulut hitam, it is actually just a bubur kacang. Both tasted good.

I am in love with this shop already! will come again to try other dishes. lol

Overall: Unique dishes, delicious, reasonable price
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My 1000++ visit to food foundry!  Smile Oct 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

Food foundry was actually the shop that introduced me to this crepe cake. This shop located at Jalan Happy Mansion and it was around flat area, the least expected place to search for some hipster cafe. When food foundry starting to build up its name, i can see that more hipster cafe were open from time to time at jalan happy mansion.

The first time i was here, they only selling their crepe cakes and the flavors changes overtime. My most fav flovor was the blueberry and vanilla. But now, there are too many flavors to choose from! From small cake shop to a big cafe and very well known! i am so proud to have eaten the cake when the shop was only have 10 seats back then. 

Enough said, as they have expanded, i would like to try some dishes that they are having here. Well, i tried the salmon carbonara that cost less than RM20 and of course the crepe cake but this time i tried salted caramel and of course i ordered my favorite blueberry ( RM10 - RM15)

 

 

 
Well, the salted caramel is actually intrend now the reason for me to try and my friend is accompanying me for my craving  tongue .  The tasted was actually really good. Definitely a new favorite. As for the salmon carbonara, i would really like to give 12/10 as the taste doen't get bored. the salmon is a bit salty but in combined, the taste is delicious.

This cafe has never disapoint me since the first time i came in year 2010/2012 if i am not mistaken. So there goes my most favorite crepe cake shop that has turned into a cafe. 

Overal: The best crepe cake ever! , western food was good
Supplementary Information:
Definitely a growing cafe
 
Recommended Dish(es):  crepe cake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Alexis birthday dinner! Smile Oct 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

Well it was my dad's birthday that day. So we don't really want to go somewhere far for a fine dining experience. Me and my family decided to bring my dad to Alexis. I think it is a perfect place to celebrate a birthday!

So as always, i will order the western dishes here because they are superb delicious. I ordered sirlion steak. It does look small but trust me, it will fill up your dinner plus supper lol. Then my mom ordered her normal spaghetti bolognese and as for my dad, he ordered Nasi Kerabu, he wants some asean taste for his birthday. 

 
Spaghetti well of course it doesn't taste anything special just some plain spaghetti. For sirlion steak, it is very tender and can you believe me i was very full once i finished it all? haha. Then as for Nasi Kerabu, my dad said the rice is not as what he expected and the kari is definitely a no. But overall everything else was good. 

Well, the most important mission is to have our most favorite pavlova! We ordered 2 by the way as my dad would like to have one all for himself (you can't just reject birthday boy wishes right? ). So yes, i admit, the pavlova is not too creamy or too soft or too hard. It was just nice. Definitely worth it for something less than RM15. 
The best pavlova in town

The best pavlova in town

 
The total bill was around RM100 plus if i am not mistaken. The most expensive one is the sirlion steak that cost around RM28. Nasi Kerabu is just less than RM20 so as the spaghetti.
As for drinks, we just ordered ice lemon tea that cost around RM10.

While enjoying your dinner with some entertainment (live band), definitely worth it for someone's special night. Well dad, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! May your wishes come true.

Overall: nice environment with live band, western food, the best pavlova 
Supplementary Information:
The best pavlova in town !
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pavlova
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

It's all about the flavors Smile Sep 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato | Sweets/Snack

We just got back from the grumpy cyclist and table talk so we would like something light to end our food hunting day. Luckily we found this small little shop called Inside Scoop.

The inside scoop is definitely a very unique ice cream shop. Who doesn’t love ice-cream? Well, try to remember those days when you were a kid and your parents will always offer you ice-cream to shut you up? lol . That’s when it all started with me to loving ice-cream.

This Ice-cream shop got a lot of different flavors such as durian, cempedak, teh tarik and etc (all those weird flavors!). We tasted some of the flavors there but the one that interest us was cempedak, coffee, and dark chocolate. There were 3 of us, so each pick their own favorite flavor. Each flavors cost around RM8 per scoop.
RM8 per scoop

RM8 per scoop

 
To be honest, my flavor which is dark chocolate taste is very strong and for me, it doesn’t really taste sweet and milky (7 out of 10 for this flavor). Then, coffee flavor is not our favorite. The taste is really strong that you don’t really enjoy the taste of milky ice-cream (maybe some people like it). So we can give only 5 out of 10 for this. Next is Cempedak flavor. The taste is really delicious and it is purely cempedak taste! So, my friend’s flavor won! (we bet which one taste the best) . The rate should be 10 out of 10!

By the way they also told us that there are some flavors got some alcohol. So, for muslims, you need to check with them which one is non-alcoholic and alcoholic flavors.

Overall: can’t sit for long, small shop, fantastic weird flavors, the best pure ice-cream flavors
Supplementary Information:
fullhouse on weekends
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cempedak flavor
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0