OpenRice Index
  
AmandaLaurenLee
This is AmandaLaurenLee living in Mont Kiara. I am a Personal AssistantI like to hang out in Mont Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Bangsar. Japanese, Italian, European are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Seafood, Burgers / Sandwiches, Fine Dining.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review163 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2063 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos468 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant133 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲58 Follower(s)
AmandaLaurenLee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 106 to 110 of 149 Reviews in Malaysia
Tea time. OK Sep 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant

The Tranquerah had been a new discovery for my friends and I. It was unfortunate that we only found the place very much after lunch as there were many things on the menu which caught our eye. But we were too full from lunch and was only looking for a nibble - also wanted some nice desserts.

Since this was a traditional nyonya style cuisine, the only choice we had were local kind of desserts which I was not that against honestly.

 
Since the weather was blazing hot, we decided to try the Cendol and priced at Rm6.90 is a little steep for something where we can usually get for about Rm2 or Rm3. But I guess when you take the interior decor into account and their air conditioning then it's alright - plus it was a good portion size too although a little less on the actual cendol slithers. 

 
Another thing that caught my attention was their Gula Melaka Sago and it was the first thing that I wanted to try. It's oddly not too sweet but a little heavy on the santan and the sago were nicely chewy which is to my liking.

Though after a few mouthful of this, I could no longer try anymore as the coconut cream was a little too cloying. Even if the combination did taste pretty good.

 
Me being someone that needs something savoury to nibble on, ordered the Mango Kerabu salad priced at Rm18.00. This was disappointing especially considering the price - the portion was small and lacked any sort of sour or spicy kick that is usually associated with this salad. 
It's Rm1.50 each.

It's Rm1.50 each.

 
Something else that was a must try on the menu was their Pai Tee. It's a very cute snack that resembles a popiah, only it's shell is shaped like an overturned top hat. Tranquerah makes this very well as the filling is nicely seasoned ad has a good crunch to it on top of many different kinds of flavours. And priced at Rm1.50 each, it was pretty good of an offer.

There's many other dishes on the menu that sounds very tradition peranakan which is something I have yet to have a chance to try. So we will definitely be back here to try all of those. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cendol,Pai Tee
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting Smile Sep 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

This restaurant came highly recommended by my mom's childhood friend and seeing as I had a day off, they decided to venture to Taman Midah to try the food here. 

Maybe it was because it was during the afternoon of a working day, there were not many people so the staff wasn't too busy. Surprisingly they were all very attentive and no one was looking slightly frustrated. So I was super pleased by that. 

 
The first dish that we ordered was the Tsui Hing Braised Chicken. This was really really good because it came in a claypot that's where it's cooked so by the time it arrived to our table, it was still sizzling and bubbling. An exciting sight and also really helped in making the sauce thicker with time which enhances the flavour I presume. 

The smell of this was amazing and the sauce was delicious! Although I am not a fan of chicken at all regardless of how it's cooked, I definitely had my fill of this especially having the meat doused heavily in the thickened sauce. 

 
Another thing that was a must order apparently is their Vegetarian Stew which is also served in a claypot. Usually I always shy away from anything that is labelled 'vegetarian' because it is often times not too pleasant tasting. 

But this was good and it didn't feel as if I was missing any sort of meat at all. 

 
As always we need a veggie dish and because this was one of my favourites, we ordered the stir-fried bean sprouts with pickled radish and minced meat. This was new because the crunch from the radish and extra flavour from the pork made the sole vegetable that much more interesting. Great dish! 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mama Kwan's Smile Sep 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

After an appointment, mom and I decided to drop by Pavilion for a little walk because it has been a while since we were there. Plus we were already out on the weekened so thought to use the time we have wisely.

For lunch we decided to stop by Madam Kwan's and it has been years since I last ate there, but mom has been really liking it so that's where we dined in. As always we would order dishese to share since our appetite could only take so much plus I wasn't in the mood to be eating so much.

Maybe it was because lunch hour was over, but there were only a handful of table that was occupied when usually it would be packed to the brim. Thankfully so too because a staff led us to the table and was all smiles. So I was pretty pleased with that because I have heard negative remarks regarding their wait-staff before and expected the worst.

 
The first thing we ordered was the Nasi Bojari. This was highly recommended by my mom and I can honestly see why. The tri-coloured rice was incredibly fragrant and the sambals that was served with complemented the flavours nicely.

And that fried chicken had the crispiest skin I have ever eaten and was not very oily which made me very happy. Plus the size of it is bigger than any I have ever received in other restaurants. 

 
As always we would always have a vegetable dish because its something I absolutely enjoy eating. Again this dish was recommended by mom so it was Kangkong fried with belacan and... Nothing too much to shout about, but I do like the nice flavour from the belacan. Though you can definitely get better elsewhere. 

 
Oddly enough I was in the mood for some dessert so we ordered the Cendol to share. I was surprised by how much red bean they gave and also the actual slippery green cendol. There was more of those toppings than the ice which was a good change because it's usually more of the latter.

This was pretty good though the portion was a wee bit small for the price. Though I think for a non-dessert eater like myself, it's just good enough.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Bojari
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Lobster dinner  Smile Sep 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

It was a good friend's birthday that month, so everybody gathered and decided to enjoy a really good dinner to celebrate those that were born in the same month's birthday together.

As a result, we all decided to splurge on a good meal since it is considered a 'big' celebration. Everybody opted for seafood so the first choice to go to is South Sea Seafood Restaurant.

When we arrived, we were ushered to our pre-booked table almost instantly and the staffs were incredibly attentive. No plate was left dirty after we were done with one course and there was no need for us to be waving our hands like mad person whenever we eneded something. Nobody had a sour face safe for maybe one but that is pretty much acceptable. 

Already we were starting our dinner great and we were soon lead to the place where many kinds of live seafood were kept in tanks. Some we have been familiar with and then there were some that we never even thought existed, but we had one seafood in mind. 

 
Lobster is on the menu priced at Rm51.80 per100gms! This is huge one too which was still moving about and living it's own life in the tank with many other of it's own kind, until one of the staff plucked this crustacean out and served it to our table. Enough to serve a table of almost 10 people.

There were several ways which was given to us to have it cooked - cheese baked, stir-fried, sang har noodles style, sashimi style and the list goes on. The first option sounded the best, but because we wanted to enjoy the sweetness of a formerly live lobster, eveybody went with sashimi style instead. 

Which is interesting because they serve it in two ways. 

 
First, the tail meat of the lobster is cut up into nice thin slices and put over ice to keep it's freshness while everyone tucks into their meal. Perhaps the chef was quick in his dissection but the lobster head left on our plate would occasionall twitch as if it were still alive. An interesting feat! 

The meat is absolute juicy and sweet on it's own. Although they provide some soy sauce and wasabi for you to dip the sashimi in, I opted to ignore it just so I can enjoy the natural flavour of the lobster and was surprised at how good it was just raw without any form of seasoning. This is only available if the seafood is super fresh like it is as South Sea. 

Midway through devouring our super delicious sashimi, the waiter brought out a portable stove and claypot where there's broth in it plus the other parts of the shell of the lobster and also rice. They left it there to boil while we finish up our meal.

 
Turns out they made sort of like a rice porridge with the stock and shells, maybe even extra crabs too from what I remember. It was incredibly delicious as it was bubbling hot and exploding in the taste of seafood.

 
Just think of how you'd eat rice with soup as a child, only times that by ten in luxuriousness with the two crustaceans used to boil the stock. Even though most of us were quite full by the times this was properly ready for us to enjoy, we did not miss the opportunity to enjoy two bowls of this at the very least. 

At the end of the night, we were almost rm100 lighter in our pockets but our bellies were well satisfied with the meal. As much as we like the food from this restaurant, prices are a little bit too high for us to be dining here on a weekly basis. But for a special occasion, then this is a better choice amongst many other seafood restaurants. 
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Of Cubs & Cups OK Aug 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Desserts

Being in a Muslim dominated country, it is rare to find a place for dog-lovers to go to with their fur babies (aside from Desa Park City) for a cuppa. Which is why Cubs & Cups at Desa Sri Hartamas is a place to go if you are an owner of some pups and would like to meet other dog owners. 
Interesting welcome.

Interesting welcome.

 
I had read a review about this new cafe and was instantly attracted to it. Being a dog-lover myself, I thought it would be a nice place to hang with friends who too adore the four legged fluffs. So that's where we headed to on the weekend for some coffee and chats.

To no surprise that the place was rather busy around 1pm-2pm as it was time for people to get their fix of caffeine. There were also many pet owners there with their furry friends which are on leashes so no chaos would ensue. Thankfully many of them were friendly and if asked politely would allow people to pet their dogs. A witty caption that would greet you as soon as you enter the cafe. They also have a wooden picket fence and door to keep any fur babies from running out, so it would be greatly appreciated if everyone remembered to close it upon entering. 

We waited about 10 minutes for a table as it was rather busy considering that it was a weekend. But the interior is incredibly cosy with minimalist decoration and warm lighting. A pleasant place to hang out, grab a drink and chat with friends. 
Too much milk.

Too much milk.

 
As always, my coffee beverage of choice is always Cafe Latte priced at Rm13.00. Upon paying at the counter, I spotted many different types of coffee making machine that looked very fancy which in my mind meant that they will have good drinks. Only when I received my drink I was left feeling disappointed before even tasting it.

Firstly the colour in itself told me that the Latte has more milk than I am used to. Perhaps some people prefer it that way however for me, being a coffee lover, I would prefer if I could taste to coffee. Which I did not get from Cubs & Cups. 

Furthermore I tried my friend's Americano and was also disappointed at how diluted it tastes. Usually I'm cringing at how bitter the coffee is, to a point where it's borderline sour, because I'm not used to drinking it that way. But the Americano from Cubs & Cups did not get any sort of reaction.
Not the best. But not the worst

Not the best. But not the worst

 
Another friend's order of Green Tea Latte priced at Rm12 was slightly more promising. However it is not the best that we've had before despite it being a step or two higher than the standards of Starbucks. No surprise as the brewery method and beans used differs.

 
Do not be surprised if there are pups wandering around the store, greeting you with excitement as the owner's huskies and pomeranian are occasionally allowed to wander around the store. 
A little too expensive for a sandwich.

A little too expensive for a sandwich.

 
Finding ourselves slightly peckish, we ordered a Chicken Club sandwich to share. This looked and smelled promising. The sandwich consist of a nice crusty bread, a portion of pan seared chicken breast which was not dry, some bacon, lettuce, tomato, fried egg, cheese and lots of mayo. Not bad at all. 

As good as it tasted, I was definitely shocked by the price. This cost Rm26 and for a sandwich with some side of fries, it's definitely more expensive than I would have ever thought to pay. Though considering the many ingredients, I guess that's the standard price?

Rather disappointed by the coffee and food, but it is a nice place to go to on the weekend especially if you like dogs. 
Haven for pups & humans

Haven for pups & humans

 
Supplementary Information:
Only go if you have a love for dogs and do not fear them. Otherwise, this cafe is a very cosy place to be just to hang out with friends.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0