OpenRice Index
  
pigletthehunter
This is pigletthehunter .
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review33 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity323 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos413 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant33 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2 Following
粉絲91 Follower(s)
pigletthehunter  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 33 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant


By : Chha

So you have heard of The Library where all the awesome books were kept and you probably know about The Library Bar at Straits Quay, Penang. Now how about The Library Coffee Bar ?

 
Unlike the other Library in Penang, The Library Coffee Bar serve food and coffee. Located at Summerton, it is at the same row of building as the Thai Boat Noodle and C'est La Vie. The environment there is dimly lit for a relaxing and comfortable time to enjoy coffee and hanging out with friends. It is rather cold inside as they blast their air condition to a really low temperature even at night, haha, but you can ask the waitress to turn it off if it gets too cold, no problem, hehe ..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
If you feel that sitting inside is not your thing and want to find a place outside to enjoy the wind blowing at night (if there is any,haha !), you can also choose the seating outside The Library Coffee Bar.

 
To make order, you will have to order at the counter, then pay and they will serve the food to you once ready.

 
The food is just ok, by looking at the menu, there is not much main course choice to choose from. They are actually serving more on coffee, some salad and some waffle.

 

 
Spicy Tuna Linguine RM 15.00

(Spicy tuna flakes, classic tomato sauce)

The pasta is a little bit spicy just as the name stated but when we eat, we feel that the taste of the tuna is really mild, don't feels like we are eating Tuna Pasta, its more like Tomato Pasta or something. Still acceptable.

 

 
Spaghetti Carbonara RM 15.50

(Grilled chicken slices, creamy bechamel sauce)

The spaghetti is very very very creamy. The carbonara is so thick that we are like actually full by only eating the carbonara, we can't finish the spaghetti, hahaha .. there is a layer of cheese sprinkle over it making it even more creamy and think .. yet, the taste is still good.

 
Iced Chocolate RM 12.80 (Regular), RM 14.80 (Large)

Ice Chocolate at The Library Coffee Bar is nice ! Not so thick with chocolate, its soft in the mouth and feels good in the tummy, hehe ! yummy (^.^)v

Piglets Rating :
Food : 7/10

Environment : 8/10

Service : 8/10

Hygiene : 8/10

Price : 6/10

Address :

The Library Coffee Bar

Summerton Bayan Indah.

110-01-20, Persiaran Bayan Indah, (Summerton),

11900 Bayan Lepas,

Pulau Pinang.

Telephone :

016-2290176

Business Hours :

10:00am - 12:00am

Posted Date : 16 June 2015

Posted Time : 4.56 pm

 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Restaurant


By : Chha

Koo Boo Cafe, at first we thought that this is a new western food cafe opening in Penang but after really look into it, we were surprise that this Koo Boo Cafe is actually a malay food restaurant or something like a food stall which is located by the road side of Jalan Tun Dr Awang at Bayan Lepas. So another HALAL food to add to our list. Koo Boo Cafe may looks like any other ordinary restaurant serving rice with few yummy dishes like Curry Chicken, Fried Chicken, Fish, Egg and few other drinks but what make Koo Boo Cafe special is the 7 different type of rice with different colour serve on one single plate, they name it Nasi 7 Benua ! Wow, awesome right the name ?

 
It is simple, really ! To order, you just have to walk up to the rice counter next to the place where they place all the ready cook dishes. Tell the waiter your order, if you just want to eat nasi putih with some lauk, then just tell them, 'nasi putih satu' ! haha .. But we went for the Nasi 7 Benua, so our order basically goes like 'Bang, Nasi 7 Benua satu' .. haha, simple right ?

 
The Nasi 7 Benua is actually served with only the 7 type of rice on it and a vegetable by the side. The chicken and egg were later added by us. So it is always recommended that you add some other side dishes to the Nasi 7 Benua from the ready cooked dish or else you will only be eating 7 different type of rice which tasted almost the same. The reason why we feel that way is because the rice comes in a small portion like a size of a small 'chinese tea' cup, that is why the taste of the rice does not differ much from one another. The different is only very mild unless, maybe if they come in big size then it will have a lot of different in term of taste.

This Nasi 7 Benua is tasty. The chicken and egg that we took is tasty too, as a Malaysia, how can we say no to rice right ? hahaha ! It is worth trying ..

 
There are few types of drinks which is Free Of Charge if you dine in here at Koo Boo Cafe, one of it is this Teh O' Ice and Air Syrup. The waitress will tell which drinks is free when you order for drinks.

 

 

 
Finding Koo Boo Cafe is actually not hard but you will have to look carefully in order to find it. If you are driving from Bukit Jambul Shopping Mall then you will drive through the junction into Relau area which is opposite of sPICE Arena. Then you will come to the first traffic light, drive straight until the second traffic light and make a u-turn on the right. Drive for about 100 meters, then you will see Koo Boo Cafe on your left. It is directly in front of the Sungai Ara football field near to Seri Delima Flat housing area.

Piglets Rating :

Food : 7/10

Environment : 6/10

Service : N/A (Self-Service, except rice, they will put on the plate for you)

Hygiene : 6/10

Price : 7/10

Operating Hours :

Sunday Off

Monday to Saturday : 11 am - 11 pm

Facebook Page :

https://www.facebook.com/KooboCafe

Posted Date : 15 June 2015

Posted Time : 10.45 pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi 7 Benua
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Asian Variety | Café | Noodles | Desserts


By : Chha

 
鷄蛋仔 (Gai Daan Jai) is a type of waffle that looks like there is a lot of those round but small size egg on it, haha ! That is probably the reason why it is call as the eggette or the egg waffle. Famous in Hong Kong and Macau, now the HK Triplemilk at Golden Triangle, Relau is bringing eggette in to Penang. HK Triplemilk is serving mainly the eggette with some other side dish like, noodles and coffee.

 
Pineapple Yogurt Egg Puff + Passion Fruit Jelly + Chocolate Hazelnut

There are two type of eggette that they are serving.

HK Egg Puff - RM 5.90
Egg Puff With Yogurt - RM 12.90 (1 Topping + 1 Sauce)

The HK Egg Puff is the original eggette which is serve only the eggette. While the second option is serve with yogurt and 1 topping plus 1 type of sauce. There are a few type of topping and sauce to choose from :

Topping :

Red Bean

Aloe Vera

Peanuts

Colour Rice

Yogurt Jelly

Passion Fruit Jelly

Mango Pop Ball

Strawberry Pop Ball

Coco

Lychee Coco

Brown Sugar Jelly

Green Tea Jelly

Rainbow Agar

Chocolate Chip

Strawberry Pop Ball

Sauce :

Caramel

Strawberry Sauce

White Chocolate

Dark Chocolate

Chocolate Hazelnut

To add extra of each item will be charge RM 1 each. The taste of the Yogurt Egg Puff is yummy. While for the Ham & Egg Noodles that we order taste normal but the price of the noodles is kinda expensive considering the type of noodles they use and the ingredient they put in it (the egg and ham).

 
Ham & Egg Noodles RM 7.90

The environment in HK Triplemilk is nice, nothing fancy, but its clean and comfortable.

 

 

 

 

 
Piglets Rating :

Food : 7/10

Environment : 8/10

Service : 8/10

Hygiene : 8/10

Price : 7/10

Business Hour :

Monday - Friday

10 am - 3 pm

6 pm - 10 pm

Saturday, Sunday, Public Holiday

12 pm - 10 pm

Every Tuesday Off

Address :

29-1-63,

Golden Triangle,

Jalan Paya Terubong,

11900, Bayan Lepas,

Penang.

Contact Number :

0179671105

Posted Date : 15 June 2015

Posted Time : 5.32 pm

 
Date of Visit: Jun 13, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Western variety | Café


By : Chha

 
It is always hard for us to start write a blog post, we have all the photos, all the information but we just don't have the words to pour it out in here, haha !

Hmm, ok ! so let us do it this way.

Place :

Macallum Connoisseurs Coffee Company

Address :

No 1, Gat Lebuh Macallum,

Georgetown,

10300 Pulau Pinang,

Malaysia

GPS Coordinate :

5.407927, 100.331882

Now since you already where this place and the location is, let us show you how the place looks like.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Macallum Connoisseurs is a huge place, it is even possible to have a mini concert in here. We feel this is the largest cafe available here in Penang Island. There is a lot of seating place and it is comfortable to dine here because though the place is huge but it is not hot even if it is a hot sunny day out side. So the place is awesome now lets see what is on the menu.

 
By looking at the menu, there is a lot of things they are serving at Macallum Connoisseurs but because we only have a small stomach to fill up, so we only order a few food to try.

 
Classic Grilled Chicken RM 20.00

(Marinated With Macallum's Herb Recipe Served With Avocado)

The Classic Grilled Chicken does not taste bad but it is a little bit dry and the taste of the Macallum's Herb is only at the outer layer of the chicken, it taste a bit plain as we bite into it.

 
Creamy De Pesto With Smoked Salmon RM 26.00

(Served With Creamy Pesto Sauce With Smoked Salmon Topped With Walnuts)

This is tasty ! Creamy De Pesto With Smoked Salmon ! It is recommended, the pasta taste good, the salmon is nice too ..

 
Banana Kiwi Smoothies RM 13.00

Drinks is yummy too, the banana taste in the smoothie is not too strong making it mix well with the kiwi, we can actually taste both the banana and kiwi together without one covering the taste of another, which in short, they both mix well .. hehe !

 
There is also cake to eat !

 
And plain water, haha .. !

Piglets Rating :

Food : 7/10

Environment : 8/10

Service : 8/10

Hygiene : 8/10

Price : 6/10

Operating Hour :

Daily

9.00 am - 12.00 am

Posted Date : 9 June 2015

Posted Time : 5.04 pm

 
Date of Visit: Jun 06, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Desserts


By : Chha

 
There is this hidden gem in Gurney Paragon or should we say, the hidden durian in Gurney Paragon, haha ! Taste Better is selling the One Bite Durian Puff of which we feel that it is really tasty especially for durian lover like us. The Durian Puff is made with daily fresh baked high gluten flour to golden crispy and fill with fresh durian paste which might leak and dripped out when you bite on it. Still not making your taste buds go crazy yet ? Maybe these pictures will, haha !

 

 

 
The taste is freaking awesome ! We stuffed the entire puff into our mouth and it feels like as if the durian paste exploded inside our mouth, haha !

 
The durian puff come in a pack of 6.

Piglets Rating

Food : 9/10 (Strictly for durian lover only, haha !)

Service : 7/10

Hygiene : 8/10

Price : 7/10

Location :

Basement, Gurney Paragon Mall

Posted Date : 8 June 2015

Posted Time : 3.35 pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durian Puff
 
Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0