OpenRice Index
  
sebrinah.yeo
This is sebrinah.yeo .
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review18 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity105 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos101 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant18 My Restaurant(s)
Follow45 Following
粉絲58 Follower(s)
sebrinah.yeo  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 18 Reviews in Malaysia
Nyonya Makko Restaurant @ Malacca Smile Oct 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Seafood


After visiting Malacca for more than 5 times over the course of 5 years; I realized I never actually had a good nyonya meal from Malacca.

Today I finally managed to enjoy the real nyonya food in Malacca.

(Real or not, I dunno but definitely cannot find in KL la)Restoran Nyonya Makko serves really good nyonya food. I know there are many others out there but I managed to try this one first!

Actually, I noticed every table the orders taken are almost similar. It's like these are the main few recommendations for every tourists that walks in. Hence the taking order part was fast and swift, the serving was pretty quick and served together. It's like they know what we're going to order already.

 
This yummy potato snack is really yummy. For RM3, it's a great appetizer for the family. You can even buy a packet home if you like.

 
Paku belacan, RM 8, tastes yummy. Not so spicy and very crunchy! I hate veggie but I finished this baby up!

 
Cincalok Eggs, RM 8, something different and very local. I won't say it's yummy because it's unique because to be honest, I can't taste the cincalok... So it's like any fried egg omelette la... But I am an egg lover so I let this dish pass! It's fried crispy enough and not too oily, just right! Just I don't know where's that cincalok.....

 
Sambal Sotong Petai, RM 20, tastes good. Fresh petai, fresh sotong. Chewy & crunchy sotong. Nice blend of sambal. I give this dish from a scale of 1 to 10 (1 is lousy and 10 is awesome), a good 8!

 
Jenak Goreng Chilli, RM 57, this dish has the taste of fresh blended chilli dressed over the fried fish. The fish lacks in flavor though... Definitely can be better... I should try the assam fish next time.

 
Lemak Nanas Udang, RM 30, this is superb! Fresh big fat prawn in lemak nanas sauce! I definitely never tried this dish before and I certainly did not regret coming here for this too. (Except for the fish...) I give this dish from a scale of 1 to 10 (1 is lousy and 10 is awesome), an almost awesome 9!

 
Pong Teh, RM 12, must TRY! Thick brown gravy of chicken and potato nicely mixed together. This is one dish you have to order when you're in town!

 
Cendol, RM 3.50, is a must-order item here! The gula melaka is just so fragrant over the santan and ice shavings. The beans and jelly inside are generously huge with every bite. I love this the most! Completes every meal without words!My total bill came up to RM161.75 for 4 pax. Okay~lah for the portion and the meals were almost satisfying except for the fish dish... I should've have tried "Assam Fish" instead! Btw, I can't stand spicy meals, but the dishes here weren't so spicy. It was just right for me. For spicy lovers (like my mom & my hubby) it was more flavorful then spicy to them lolx...

Find out more here.

Restoran Nyonya Makko

Address : 123, Jalan Merdeka, Off Jalan Parameswara (Bandar Hilir), Taman Melaka Raya, 75000 Melaka.

Tel : +606 284 7037

Fax : + 606 283 7490

Email : makkonyonya@hotmail.com

Opening Hours :

Lunch: 11.30am to 2.45pm

Dinner: 6pm to 9.30pm

*Closed on Tuesdays

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemak nanas udang,cendol,paku belacan,pong teh,sambal sotong petai
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam


Poh Piah! An all-time favourite snack food. My parents love this so much that it's really tough to find a good poh piah in town.

Thanks to Malacca & Penang, there are still great tasty poh piah that's available in Malaysia.

I've never really tried Penang but have heard about it's legacy. Malacca on the other hand, I have tried it on my first visit there and it was along Jalan Bunga Raya stall. It left a very very deep mark in my heart. Because it is YUMMY!Today, let me tell you about "Poh Piah Lwee" located just along the shoplots (on the right) before turning in to Jonker Walk.

 
Passing by here for many times, I always tend to miss this shop. Until now.

 
The poh piah, RM3, here is really yummy! The jicama is nicely marinated and boiled in a way that it is not too dry, not too sweet and best of all it's just right! Crunchy, fresh, sweet and mix really well with all the other ingredients in the poh piah. What I love most about Malacca poh piah is that you can actually find fried pork lard oil inside! The one I tried at Bunga Raya was very wet and oily, they were really generous on the pork lard oil and sauce but it was abit overwhelming. At Poh Piah Lwee, the amount is just right, just perfect!

 
See the insides aren't too oily nor dry. Just at the right texture!

 
This is the Nyonya Dumpling, RM4.80, is a must-try dish here! I love the presentation of it. That color and also the inside fillings were really good! Not too sweet and very tasty! Got pork lard oil also!!

 
Rojak, RM6, was considered acceptable. Nothing too special except for the difference in the sauce versus the one back in KL or in Penang. However, the crackers were crispy like most rojak. Worth to try as well, sauce tastes somewhat unique.

 
Minced Meat & Mushroom Noodle, RM4 (small portion) / RM5 (big portion), this is really unique! Very yummy! Very tasty! Very appetizing! Mouthwatering even! The sauce and the noodle is really a match made in heaven! Seriously!

 
Nyonya Laksa, RM4 (small portion) / RM5 (big portion), we came here also for this! That creamy broth of nyonya laksa. It's not so spicy and it was just perfect! So creamy, so tasty and so delicious! I almost drank the whole soup but I didn't wanna get sore throat lolx... Very fragrant also!Serving portion was really good! We shared all the above portion for 4 pax. Was really full because we had this at tea time lolx... Our total bill came up to RM63 and it was worth every $ spent!

Find out more here.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poh Piah,Nyonya Laksa,Nyonya Dumpling
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kedai Kopi Chung Wah @ Malacca Smile Oct 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam


Hainanese Chicken Rice has always been super awesome at delivering the best chicken rice dishes! And everytime someone mentions hainanese chicken rice, I immediately remember the one and only chicken rice that I love so much from Malacca.

 
Kedai Kopi Chop Chung Wah, almost everyday also got Q without fail. Reason being, their chicken rice ball(s) and their chicken is delicious!!

 
I prefer this place better than the one next to "San Shu Gong". Their chicken is rich in flavour, the chicken rice ball(s) also very fragrant and when you dip them in the chicken sauce and add a lil chilli, it is spectacular! Like melt in your mouth!

 
Very moist, juicy, tender, flavorful and fulfilling!

The total bill amount was RM70 for 4 pax portion + drinks + extra rice ballsUpon entering got rules stuck unto the wall at the entrance on the left.And on the right.What I like about this place is they roughly know how many portions you will need based on the quantity of pax at present. Or you can also choose to order the quantity to your liking.

Their menu is simple :

Hainanese Chicken : Whole (RM44.60), Half (RM22.30)

Chicken Rice Ball : RM0.40 each rice ball

I always drop by here everytime when I'm in Malacca. And I always aim to be here at 9am/10am to beat the looooong Q. But it's worth the wait! They also offer takeaway (even heading back to KL, with specific guidelines to adhere to maintain freshness).

Kedai Kopi Chop Chung Wah

Address : 18, Jalan Hang Jebat, 75200 Melaka

Opening Hours :

Weekdays from 8.30am to 3.00pm

Weekends/PH from 8.30am to 4.00pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken rice ball,hainanese whole chicken,hainanese half chicken
 
Table Wait Time: 6 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Hock Chin Restaurant @ Malacca Smile Oct 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood


Hidden gem in Malacca are rare finds! And this is one of those precious gem that I found (from Rebecca Saw's blog).

I've been to the Longkang Siham / Tong Bee Stall behind at the back alley of Melaka Raya. That experience of sitting on the stool with friends & families, eating siham and other seafood / sea shells delicacies (lala, balitong, sotong and etc). Situated at the back alley, you will expect a very unique sense of fragrant coming from none other than the "longkang" lah! (aka drain) Hard to find this experience anywhere else in KL, lolx...At Kedai Makanan Dan Minuman Hock Chin, the experience is that of an ordinary hawker restaurant where you get to sit inside or outside at the roadside (with similar table and stools, in terms of height). What's special here is the "Tauhu Bakar" dish! As you can see the fresh fish ball(s) and bean curd sheet(s) grilled over the open grill at the side of the stall.

 
This brings out the full flavorful aroma of the Tauhu Bakar and that charcoal fragrance that accompanies with it! They serve this dish with other ingredients and sauce that is actually like eating rojak!! The tauhu aka bean curd sheet(s) are exceptionally crispy!

 
I ordered the Tauhu Bakar (Medium) TWICE because it was just too delicious.

 
The Kepah/Lala is awesome!! Fat and juicy and FRESH!

 
The Pahat/Bamboo Lala is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! It's really huge, juicy and fresh. The best!

 
Siput Sedut Goreng is quite spicy but no empty shells and best of all, so easy to sedut/suck those lil siput out! (This is also known as Balitong. btw)

 
Bendi aka Lady's finger, was surprisingly good! It's boiled and the sauce with chilli and lime is just a match made in heaven. I "hate" vegetables but I have high praises for this Lady's Finger! Must try!

Total came up to about RM52.60. Price is reasonable for it's generous portion and freshness. Worth travelling up here out of town just for this!!

Kedai Makanan Dan Minuman Hock Chin

Address : 38A Jalan Jasa Merdeka 2, Batu Berendam, 75350 Alor Gajah, Melaka

Tel : +60 12 205 7795

Opening Hours : Monday to Saturdays from 6pm - 12am (Closed on Sundays)

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bamboo Lala,Siham,Lala,Tauhu Bakar
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant


Everytime without fail, I must have my quick fix of "Pork Satay" whenever I'm in Malacca!

Sun May Hiong Satay House @ Malacca! My 2nd favourite place to be. 1st is Restaurant Xiang Ji (because near Jonker Street).

 
The thing with "Pork Satay" is the way the satay is being marinated and then grilled perfectly with tender loving care. They'll serve you the freshly grilled pork satay that is juicy, succulent and really tender. Not too much of the fatty layer of the pork and not too much of the dry meat of the pork. Just perfect! Is like eating 5-layered pork at every bite!

 
However, in Sun May Hiong Satay House, you can order of the internal organs of the pork such as the liver and the intestines. As every satay dish is served along with rice cubes, cucumber, onions and the best satay sauce ever!

 
Why the best satay sauce? Simply because this is not your ordinary peanut sauce. It's with a mixture of pineapple sauce (you can even see the strips of pineapple in the sauce, I call them the Pineapple misai! Lolx)

But this mixture actually brings out the full potential flavor of the pork satay to its fullest satisfaction!

Hence, I must always get some "Pork Satay" either dine-in or on-the-go.

You can get your fix here too:

Sun May Hiong Satay House

Address : 50/50A Jalan Kota Laksamana,

Taman Kota Laksamana,

75200 Melaka,

GPS Coordinates: N2 11.523 E102 14.655

Tel: 06-2817281

Opening Hours: 10am – 7pm (Mon – Sun)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Satay,Pork Intestines,Pork Liver,Satay Sauce
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0