OpenRice Index
  
alanlktan
This is alanlktan .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity158 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos85 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲138 Follower(s)
alanlktan  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Reviews in Malaysia
Detox Programme @ Juus Smile Oct 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt

I collected the 6 bottles of juices on Monday 5 October. As per instructions, I kept them in the fridge immediately.

On Tuesday 6 October 2015, I got up at about 7 am and took a glad of warm water with lemon. I immediately moved my bowel.

The 6 bottles of juices are to be consumed starting at 8 am with 2 hours intervals.

At 8 am, I drank the first bottle- Power COT - a combination of carrot, orange and tumeric.
The orange coloured drink is very pleasant. It tasted sweet and slightly tangy with fragrances of carrot and orange. There was no hint of tumeric!

At 10 am, I took the 2nd bottle-Delight Green- a conbination of coriander, celery, apple, lemon and ginger. The greenish drink is also sweet and slightly sour with the green flavours of celery and coriander. No ginger smell or taste. In 5 minutes, I moved my bowel again. This time it is watery. I was a bit worried that the diarrhea may continue through the day.

At 12 noon, I consumed the 3rd bottle-Beat the Beet - a combination of beet root, pineapple, carrot, ginger, pear, lemon and orange. It is redish in colour. It is also sweet and tangy. No diarrhea. Great!

At 2 pm, I drank the 4th bottle- Green Machine - a combination of apple, bell pepper, cucumber, kate, lemon, lettuce, spinach, parsley and pineapple. The juice is greenish in colour. It is also sweet with flavours of vegetables. It is actually quite nice to drink. No diarrhea follows.

At 4 pm, I took the 5th bottle- Pick me up - a combination of agave nectar, cucumber, lemon, lime mint and akaline water. This greenish drink has a strong mint flavour but it is sweet and slightly sourish. Not bad taste wise. No diarrhea! The diarrhea at noon was probably a quick clensing!

At 6 pm, I drank the last bottle- Almond Joy- a combination of cinnamon, dates, maple syrup, raw almond, sea salt, vanilla and alkaline water. This milky looking drink is sweet too and has a strong almond flavour. No diarrhea! So I survived all 6 bottles!

I wasn't feeling hungry, tired, weak or any other sides effects during the day while on the fluid diet but by 9 pm, I began to feel hungry. By 10 pm, I needed to eat a bowl of oat as I felt too hungry already.

Generally, the detox programme is pretty good. I didn't have any problem but I didn't feel energised, etc too. My body would have benefited but did not show any effect. During the current haze situation, it is good idea to embark on this detox programme.

To avoid eating any other food for the whole day, I would recommend a 7th bottle at 8 pm. Even an 8th bottle at 10 pm for those who sleep past midnight because the hunger pangs will set in later at night.
The 6 bottles of fruits and vegetables juices

The 6 bottles of fruits and vegetables juices

 
Supplementary Information:
For further information on the above detox programme and other juices available, please visit www.juus.my which is also linked to their facebook. You can like them to get updates.
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM79(其他)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Seafood

Two Cute Thai Dolls Welcome You at the Entrance!

Two Cute Thai Dolls Welcome You at the Entrance!

 
The entrance to Thai Syok @ Wisma Central may not be very impressive as it is by the side lane. Though Wisma Central has been around for many decades but it remains a very vibrant shopping centre. It certainly stands proudly competing with the new neigbouring imposting KLCC Petronas Twin Towers.

Two cute nearly life-sized Thai dolls welcome you. A simple sign board boasted that they have welcomed 9870 visitors since its opening in March 2015! Indeed an impressive achievement.
Chic Interior Decor with a Tradition Touch

Chic Interior Decor with a Tradition Touch

 
Once you enter the interior, you will be pleasantly impressed by the chic yet traditional Thai decor. Yes, the airconditioning is superbly cool. There are also low tables if you rather want a feel of kampong style dinning!
The General Interior Dining Area

The General Interior Dining Area

 
This was the scene at 12.30 pm on Tuesday. It was almost full! The customers were mostly the office workers, both young and old, from the nearby offices.
Refreshing Green Mango ...

Refreshing Green Mango ...

 
This refreshing green mango salad has tomatoes and long beans garnished with peanuts and dried shrimps. It was indeed a great starter. They are all very fresh and crunchy with taste of sourness, sweetness and savoury. It does improve your appetite!
The Tom Yam

The Tom Yam

 
This is one of the best tom yam soup I ever tasted. Not too sour or spicy. I could taste the lime not the vinegar! The seafoods; squids, prawns, fish meat and clams are very fresh and succulent.
Crispy Red Wine Duck

Crispy Red Wine Duck

 
The crispy duck is garnished with kailan. Its skin is slightly battered and pan fried to give its crispy texture. May be because of the frying, the duck meat tasted a bit dry. But it is hard to ensure duck meat stays juicy because of their gamey nature. Though it is called red wine duck there is no 'alcohol'! The sauce is more like sweet and sour!
The Fried Pineapple Rice

The Fried Pineapple Rice

 
I like this fried pineapple rice served in a pineapple and garnished with all sort of seafoods and chicken cubes. It is favourful and aromatic! It is spiced with both yellow and green curry powders!
Curry Seafood Rice

Curry Seafood Rice

 
The curry seafood is very tasty. It is both creamy and favourful with coconut milk and curry powder. Added with the other garnishings like cucumbers and fried scrambled eggs making it a full meal.
The Mango and Pulut Desert

The Mango and Pulut Desert

 
The mango pulut desert drenched with rich coconut milk is heavenly. It gave a very satisfying feel overall!
Supplementary Information:
Thai Syok is pork free and its opening hours are from 11.30 am to 9 pm, Monday to Saturday. It is closed on Sunday. There is no worry about traffic and parking. Just take the lrt to KLCC, it is just 2 minutes walk away. This place is not only for business lunches but for family gatherings too. It also has distal corners for those who want a more romantic atmosphere for dinners!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yelow curry seafood rice,Mango Pulut with coconut milk
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM28.50(午餐)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Buffet | BBQ | Group/Family dining

Rocku Yakiniku was indeed a great BBQ experience with a surprise! The environment is not only smokeless, it is odourless. You really can bring your mum and granny there. Promise them that they need not wash their hair after the meal! Haha! They may never believe you but it is true!

Rocku is a buffet restaurant and entry is between RM40 to 50++ on weekdays and weekends respectively. It is really good value. There are sumptuous and variety of seafoods, meats and vegetables. Plus live shows every afternoons and nights. Every Wednesday is Jazz and Friday is Magic Show by Zlwin!

The seafood, meats and vegetables are really fresh. The beef is airflown daily from Australia. Although it is buffet, the seafood and meats are served on order and freshly cut. You may order as much as you like. So you won't see bloody drippings all over!

There are a variety of inhouse homemade sauces. I like the miso sauce best. Goes very nice for BBQ.

Besides the above seafood and meats for BBQ, there delicious fried Japanese fried rice and noodles. There also ready fired fish and chicken too. The seaweeds are well seasoned with sweet sauces. There are chawan mushi too and they are delicious.

The charcoall grills are specially designed such that all smoke and oil from grilling are sucked into a duct immediately and out through tall filters and then expelled outside.

There is a disappointment for the sweet tooth, there being no free deserts. The Last Polka ice cream is the only desert and it is RM3.90 per scoop extra. But they are yummy. I tried the coconut flavour and it is worth the price. It is aromatic and creamy! I need to go back for the mango and deep dark chocolate!

It is indeed a very satifying dining experience! A great place to celebrate any event like birthdays and also just to impress your date!

The easy to spot 'Entrance'

The easy to spot 'Entrance'

 
Modern Smokeless Environment

Modern Smokeless Environment

 
Fried Rice/Noodles, Vegetables, Corns and More!

Fried Rice/Noodles, Vegetables, Corns and More!

 
Fresh Vegetables for Grilling

Fresh Vegetables for Grilling

 
llop and Shishamo!

llop and Shishamo!

 
Beef and Pork

Beef and Pork

 
Lamb Shoulder

Lamb Shoulder

 
BBQ in Action - See No Smoke!

BBQ in Action - See No Smoke!

 
Choices of Coconut, Mango and Deep Dark Chocolate!

Choices of Coconut, Mango and Deep Dark Chocolate!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Gem in Imbi Food Haven! Smile Oct 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh

This Bak Kut Teh restaurant is different. Besides the traditional bak kut teh, it has several other authentic Chinese dishes on the menu. The Tham family started their food business way back in early eighties. Like many Chinese businesses, it was a humble beginning. They were just doing their business manning a roadside stall along Old Klang Road then. Today, they have four restaurants in and around Kuala Lumpur. Besides Imbi, they have branches in Old Klang Road, Puchong and Jalan Kuching.
The Facade of the Restaurantant

The Facade of the Restaurantant

 
The restaurant is humbly located on the ground floor of the 4-storey building with flats above. It is at the end of Jalan Barat off Jalan Imbi.
The Interior of the Restaurant

The Interior of the Restaurant

 
The restaurant interior is bright and clean with pictures of celebrities including 'Laughing Ko' on the walls. The toilets are very clean too.
Mr Tham, the Friendly Boss!

Mr Tham, the Friendly Boss!

 
Mr Tham, the owner and boss of the restaurant is most friendly and would let you in on some of the secrets in their food preparations!
YuYi  special Long Bean Rice

YuYi special Long Bean Rice

 
The Long Bean Rice is the best I have eaten so far. Mum had been feeding us with this when we were little but not so good like this one. Its taste is really great. The texture of the rice is firm but not hard and it is flavourful. This is Mr Tham's special. He said the reason it tasted so special is because the rice has been prefried with the other ingredients like dried shrimps, long beans and onions before it is cooked!
YuYi special Bak Kut Teh in Claypot

YuYi special Bak Kut Teh in Claypot

 
The Bak Kut Teh in claypot is great. The soup tasted slightly sweet and has a nice strong herbal fragrance. The meat texture is just nice and succulent.
Steam Fish Head with Minced Ginger

Steam Fish Head with Minced Ginger

 
The Steam Fish Head is very fresh with no earthy smell normally with a fresh water fish. The fish meat is both sweet and succulent.
Drunken Chicken in Huangjiu

Drunken Chicken in Huangjiu

 
The Drunken Chicken in Huang Jiu is excellent. It can make you drunk too! Chicken is cooked with 100% Huangjiu with no water added! The wine is imbued into the chicken meat which is succulent and flavourful. I strongly recommend this dish.
Pork Stomach in Peppery Soup

Pork Stomach in Peppery Soup

 
The Pork Stomach in Peppery Soup is good too. The pork stomach is clean and there is no smell. It is just nice to the bite and not rubbery at all. It is certainly well done.

Generally, the prices of the dishes here are reasonable. Bak Kut Teh in claypot is RM25 per person and is RM13 per bowl only. The Steamed Fish in a variety of sauces is RM25 for small and RM30 for large. There are homemade jeoung jing, ginger, soy, assam or just simply fried crispy styles. The Drunken Kampong Chicken in wine is RM28 or drumstick style s RM20. Kidney in wine is RM20. Liver in wine is RM16. Stomach in peppery soup is RM20. Pork leg in thick soy sauce is RM16. Yong Tau Hakka style is RM1.60 per piece. The filling fish paste is very good like Ampang Yong Tau Fu! So now you don't have to go all the way to Ampang village! There is a variety of greens done different styles too. They are priced small RM10, medium RM14 and large RM18. Long Bean Rice per bowl is RM2.50 large which is worth it! Plain rice is RM1.50 large.
There is a variety of drinks from sky juice to beers! Beers are at RM8.

The cooking style is basically homestyle with no trace of ajinomoto. I didn't have to drink a lot of water later in the night which happened with some other restaurants. Thus it is one place you can go everyday. Bring your dad and mum there, they will be delighted with the Long Bean Rice and Kampong Chicken in wine!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Long Bean Rice,Drunken Chicken in Huangjiu Wine
 
Date of Visit: Oct 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Restaurant Dong Yi Shun Smile Oct 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Group/Family dining

The Restaurant  Entrance.

The Restaurant Entrance.

 
The entrance is like any typical Chinese restaurant except for its green colour scheme which signifies it is a Muslim restaurant. This is indicated in smaller characters below the restaurant name.
The Interior

The Interior

 
The interior with its dark wood furniture decor excludes a very oriental feel especially with its carved cupboard and wooden hangings.
Walls are decorated with Islamic Calligrahy

Walls are decorated with Islamic Calligrahy

 
There are also Islamic calligraphic pictures on the walls giving it a very calming and peaceful feel.
A Surau for your Convenience!

A Surau for your Convenience!

 
Most interesting is a homely little room set aside as a surau so you can do your prayers too.
Golden Empress Fragrant Fish

Golden Empress Fragrant Fish

 
This our first dish of the night. Indeed it is fragrant and crispy. The fish is fresh and the sauce is sweet, sour and spicy. Very appetising!
Golden Salted Pepper Prawns

Golden Salted Pepper Prawns

 
The prawn dish is great too. The prawns are not shelled and give it a crunchy feel. You can actually consume the whole thing including the crunchy head. The shell will give you lots of calcium good for your bones and skin! The prawn meat is fresh and tasty. The sauce is peppery but tasted good.
Spicy Chicken

Spicy Chicken

 
I like this spicy chicken. Highly spiced and fried to quite dry. The spices are totally imbued into the meat. Very good to eat with a glass of beer! Oops! Sorry not in a Muslim restaurant la!
Spicy Sliced Potato

Spicy Sliced Potato

 
This sliced spicy potato dish is excellent. It is strongly spiced and the potato remain crunchy. It may be too spicy for some though.

Besides the above dishes, the restaurant served a host of other dishes including Beef Ramen, Xiao Long Pao, Pan Fried Dumpling ( As in 'War Tip' at the Esquire Kitchen) and Sweet and Sour Soup. All tasted very typical of any Chinese restaurants. Thus if you are Muslims and really want to eat authentic Chinese Cuisine, you should come here.

A warning for those who may not used to eating hot spicy foods, just tell the waiter that you prefer less spicy.

The first Dong Yi Shun Restaurant is in Hangzhou, China where there are a significant number of Muslims. In Malaysia, besides the Kelana Jaya branch, there are branches in Summit USJ and Kota Damansara too. Every branch has an imported Chinese Muslim chef. The other cooks and waiters/waitresses are local Malays but trained by the imported chefs or in China.

Chicken, beef, mutton and seafood dishes are priced from RM9 to RM28. Soups good for 5/6 people are about RM10. Vegetable dishes are from RM7-10. Ramen selections are about RM8. The ramen is made in-house. Other fried noodles and rice are about RM7. There is an array of drinks and fruit juices ranges from RM3-5 only.

So if you are entertaining your Muslim friends or Malays entertaining your Chinese clients, this is one restaurant you can bring them and you will not regret.

Happy Dining!

Assalammualaikum!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Spicy Chicken,Spicy Sliced Potato
 
Date of Visit: Oct 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0