OpenRice Index
  
WendyLee
This is WendyLee living in Kuala Lumpur City Center. I am a MIS, work in Kuala Lumpur City Center. I like to hang out in Kuala Lumpur City Center, Petaling Jaya (North). Korean, Chinese, Western variety, Arabian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel Dining, Bar & Pub, Café, Sporting and optimistic life philosopher and Desserts, Any delish food that is cheese-related.
Member 352 First(s)
No. of Review1826 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended10 Recommended
Popularity7895 View(s)
Replies in Forum6 Comment(s)
Upload Photos8052 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant160 My Restaurant(s)
Follow3 Following
粉絲6887 Follower(s)
WendyLee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 1826 Reviews in Malaysia
RAKU PIZZA  Smile Sep 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta

 

 
Ogengideska!

Finally made another round of return to try out some several newly launched pizza menu from none other than the inventive and playful RAKU PIZZA 楽ピザ located at the brisk SS15 neighbourhood.

 
Previous fun tasting session had us seen some pretty mind boggling mix-and-match ingredients on your baked dough which includes soft shell crab, ebi katsu and many more. For more pizza visuals, please click here.

 
So what’s the catch for today?

 
HARU

For this spring-themed creations, the baked bread is served with Raku’s Teriyaki Sauce, accompanied by various drooling ingredients.

SAKURAJIMA LAVA (MYR 12.90)

Teriyaki sauce, cheese, grill chicken, sweet onions, onsen tamago, japanese mayo and shredded seaweed

 

 
NATSU

For summer feel, be prepared to whet your palate with pizzas spreaded with Raku’s Japanese curry sauce

OKINAWA DELIGHTS (MYR 12.90)

Curry sauce, cheese, crab stick, pineapples, sweet corn, Japanese mayo and shredded seaweed

 

 

 
FUYU

As for winter, anticipate the cockles of your heart to be warmed by Western fusion recipe, that is served with Raku’s wasabi mayonnaise. This is my all-time favourite sauce at RAKU PIZZA 楽ピザ.

AMERICAN SUMO (MYR 12.90)

Cheese, beef pepperoni , sweet onion, sweet corn, wasabi mayo and shredded seaweed

 

 
Raku specialty’s pizzas

FUJIYAMA SUNRISE (MYR 12.90)

Cheese, egg, Japanese mayo, okonomi sauce, rice seaweed, and with choices of chicken sausage, chicken ham, karaage chicken or beef pepperoni

 

 
AKI

Autumn at RAKU PIZZA 楽ピザ reenergizes you with Raku’s special miso sauce incorporating into your tantalizing pizza. Worry not as we got it covered under our fun-play attempt (=

Our Personalized DIY Pizza:

Dough + Sauce + Cheese start from MYR 7.90

Choose your crust from plain, charcoal or herb. My favourite pick has always been herb smile

 
For the ever adventurous and sheer spirited in you, why not try experimenting your own selections of customized pizza instead?

A3 with B2 & B4, D1, D2, D3, D13, D20

Herb Crust + Wasabi Mayo & Miso + Soft Shell Crab + Ebi Katsu + Beef Pepperoni + Bonito Flakes + Japanese Mayo

 

 

 
A2 with B3 & B1, D4, D14, D22

Charcoal crust + Japanese Curry & Teriyaki + Karaage Chicken + Mushroom + Shredded Seaweed

 
So much so we enjoyed the fun and light moment in choosing which ingredients and sauces to pair with, before ended up looking somehow miserably on our ‘tested’ menu, we eventually agreed unanimously that we better stick with the recommended ones by RAKU PIZZA 楽ピザ. Hahaha…………

Some soothing hot beverage to clear the throat and also the well-pampered tummy amidst the gleeful camaraderie (=

SOYA MILK (MYR 3)

 
In a nutshell, we akin it to be the safest by going with the recommended pizza composition as the chosen relish and toppings really complement\ each other very well. But of course having said that, don’t be discouraged not to give your curiosity a try (at least once) in designing your very own pizzas, spreaded bounteously with all your fave nosh. Who knows it could be your unexpected springboard to another endeavor such as a career or newly found interest in baking right? (=

 

 
Go ahead and get crazy with your own personal pizza creation. Be adventurous and explore the varieties of signature dough, sauces and fresh ingredients to create your very own perfect pizza. Start building your own pizza today! Available in 8.5”,personal size only.

Cheers for now and Carpe Diem! ❤ℒℴѵℯ❤

 

 
Location: 80, Jalan SS 15/4d, Ss 15, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Contact: +603 5631 2188

Business Hours: Mon-Thurs (11am-330pm, 5pm-10pm) ;
Fri-Sun (11am-10pm)

Website: https://www.facebook.com/rakupizza

 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

JO'S FAMILY KOREAN RESTAURANT  Smile Sep 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant

During one lazy weekend, we stumbled upon this new Korean restaurant when we are looking for Korean Wang BBQ as we were craving for the its homey Sundubu Jigae and would love to be back again.

 
No wonder how hard we try to locate back the same route that we used previously, we can’t find it and eventually, we realized that it has been taken over by another new owner of
this Jo's Family Korean Restaurant. Similarly operated by a Korean man in his late 30’s, this sajangnim could converse better in English, thus communication is made easier then, hehe.The interior has been slightly modified, while still retaining the bright hue of the environment. Apart from the usual Korean food and snacks, BBQ meat is also available for
meat lovers.

 

 
There was a promotion on going too where all dishes are priced at MYR 10 nett, except BBQ poultry. Then we think, why not give this new eatery a try then?

 
And so, we sat down and flipped through the menu (not too much choice but decent). Oh by the way, the kimchi is homemade by sajangnim. Be prepared for some sourish kick from his recipe smile Banchan(Korean side dishes) to go with the Korean staple, Sundubu Jigae.

 
Bean curb were bounteously served with silken texture, cooked together with clams, squid and egg in the mild spicy broth. I like my soup to be more spiced up with kimchi, and so I added in more for extra flavours.

 
Korean seafood pancake coming up next- Haemul Pajeon. 

Dished up with light crispiness on the crust. Adequately sapid and not too floury. Makes a hearty snack still.

 

 
Subsequently rounded up with a fusion plate of Tonkatsu.

The pork chop was thoroughly marinated and deep-fried till golden brown. It’s crispy on the outside with the tickling breadcrumbs while remaining juicy and tender in the inside. Served with salads as the side.

 

 
Tea is the best choice to clear up the well-fed tummy.

We had this soothingly aromatic Rose Tea instead of the usual Corn Tea as the latter has just run out of stock. Therefore, sajangname made us some chilled Rose tea to accompany our quick lunch. In fact, we love this more as it’s much more fragrant and palatable. Kamsahamnida.

 
For a price of MYR10 nett per dish currently, we couldn’t ask for more as the food served were good enough to make a wholesome meal, a much more wiser and better alternative than indulging in desserts all the time. Some break from the sugar rush may be?

Cheers for now and Carpe Diem! ❤ℒℴѵℯ❤

 
Location: 44,
Jalan SS 2/66, SS 2, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

 
Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

NOSH UP  Smile Sep 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant

 
Your friendly neighbourhood café, Nosh Up, has now called Atria Mall as its latest home after Jaya One. Started on 28th May right after the official opening of the new mall, this cozy and vibrant café has now expanded its service to cater the crowds further down the SS2 locality conveniently and continue to whet the palate of the nearby folks with mouthwatering dishes.

 

 
Diners could still expect the chic and lively ambiance at this second outlet, coupled with some warm lighting to get you into the mood.

 
Elaine, who is a baker herself, also has a keen interest in cooking, hence decided to also introduce an array of hearty repast besides her promising cakes to further tantalize foodies around wholesomely with house signature dishes.Let’s have a quick rundown on what’s in stored for us, shall we? (=We startedoff with some spicy red soup that also greets the palate with some appetizing zest and garlicky kick too.
 SPICY FISHERMAN’S SOUP (MYR 14) 
Mild spicy and tart soup served with
assorted seafood such as mussels, squids, prawns, fish and also tomatoes.
Traces of coarsely chopped garlics are noticeable and its pungency blends in
quite well.

 

 
LAMB PIE (MYR 24)

Oven braised lamb with vegetables, served with potato rosti, puff pastry and side salad

 
Makes an ideal light snack that goes easily with a cup of joe. The puff pastry particularly deserved a mention for its extremely ethereal cloud-light and flaky at the same time. Goes really well with the tender meats without much gammy taste.

 
Here come the mains.

SMOKED DUCK MISO PASTA (MYR 22)

Spaghetti with smoked duck, cherry tomatoes, nori flakes and poached egg.

 
Pasta is good, done al dente, tossed in light miso instead of dark miso for the humble tinge of subtle fragrance to go along with the slightly sweet smoked duck meats.

 

 
DUCK LEG CONFIT WITH ORANGE SAUCE (MYR 35)

Slow poached duck leg served with citrus sauce over roasted potatoes and sturdy salad greens.

 
Duck confit- the unmistakable stellar dish of the day. Duck meat has been slowly cooked at a very slow simmer to ensure thorough flavor penetration, rendering the duck meat is tender and can be easily pulled from the bone.

 
CONFIT OF SALMON WITH HOLLANDAISE CAPERS SAUCE (MYR 42)

Generous cut of salmon fillet prepared and marinated the confit way. Juicy from inside out and easily flacked off , packed with sweetness juice that got complemented by the tasty capers sauce. I like how the potatoes sliced with the skin intact and roasted with some dashes of herbs.

 

 
Top up MYR 12 for the mains and thou shall get a complete combo of soup, mocktail and dessert!

 
For Asian flavours, try out this zesty squid menu.

GRILLED SOTONG SUMBAT WITH RICE (MYR 19)

Essentially rice-stuffed squid served with chef’s special dip sauce and Asian Salad.

 
Very interestingly presented, reminds me of gimbap and sushi too, except that this rendition by Nosh Up is spiced up with a toothsome thick gravy, epitome of our local flavours. Slurps! Might wanna go easy on it as it’s rather filing, so best for sharing.

 

 
And last but not least, some chilleddrinks and tea to clear down the throat. 
ROSY RASPBERRY LYCHEE (MYR 12)

A cheerful ‘berry’ thirst-quencher indeed.

 
RONNEFELDT GREEN LEMON TEA (MYR 10- TEA POT FOR ONE)

Sencha with mango-lemon flavor served in a tea pot, easily unwind your day rejuvenatingly.

 

 
Cheers for now and follow us at Carpe Diem for more ‘food-ful’ discoveries! ❤ℒℴѵℯ❤

EAT | ENJOY | SATISFY

 
Location: Lot C33 Concourse Floor, Atria Shopping Gallery, Jalan SS 22/23, Damansara Jaya, 47400 Petaling Jaya

Contact: +603 03-77338238

Business
Hours: 10am -10pm

Website: https://www.facebook.com/noshupcafe

 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

KOTARO SUSHI RESTAURANT  Smile Sep 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

 

 
Set within the shopping mall of Pearl Point at Old Klang Road, Kotaro Sushi Restaurant is bound to steal your attention and perhaps also capture you palatably with its sumptuous range of traditional Japanese menu as well as omakase sushi, all maneuvered under a pair of experienced hands over 20 years.

 

 

 
Drifting patrons and those with a palate for the orient feast on flavours from the Land of the Rising Sun, could drop by for a comfy feast set within a cozy yet vintage environment that resembles the sushi bars atmosphere back in Japan. Decorations are kept simple where the interior is aesthetically livened up with many brands of sake bottes, koinobori, lattern, wooden table setting and et cetera.

 

 

 
From donburi to noodle and sushi-sashimi to yakimono, there is always something for everybody.

 
First and foremost, warm up your tummy with the silky steamed egg curd while waiting for the mains to arrive.

CHAWANMUSHI (MYR 5)

As the cliché has it, the velvet egg is served alongside mushroom slice and Kamaboko.

 
For yakimono, we tried one of the popular and staple Japanese side; grilled Saba fish.

SABA SYIOYAKI (MYR 18.80)

Grilled pacific mackerel with salt. Simple and packed with wholesomeness. I have always love saba fish and would called for it every time dining at Korean or Japanese restaurants.

 

 
Remember to squeeze some lemon juice for extra zest.GYUDON ( MYR 13.80- SMALL | MYR 22.80- LARGE )

For the rice dishes, we were served with this juicy and tender beef laces, laid atop a bed of warm rice in a dainty ceramic. It taste as awesome as its vibrant presentation.

 
Remember to mix the whole bowl evenly with the golden egg yolk before consuming for an extra silken nuance.

 
NABE YAKI UDON (MYR 13.80)

Another signature recipe from Japan, here you go the hot pot udon dished up in a clear and flavourful broth, together with tempura and other accompaniments. The soup was saporous as fish bone is also incorporated during the soup boiling process.

 
ZARU SOBA (MYR8.80)

Some grubs to chill you off awhile apart from the hot plates served so far. Cold green tea soba served with house special crafted savoury relish. All the elements served alongside quail egg are meant to be mixed in and stirred thoroughly as a whole, before enjoying it chillingly dipping the soba noodles into in.

 

 
Finally, the much said omakase sushi greets us with colorful assortment, added with some artsy touch.

 

 
A stair made up of nigiri sushi and sashimi combination. Choice of the morsels differ each day, depending what is deemed best of the day by the chef, hence the price changes relatively. The salmon was fresh and thickly cut, and my favourite goes to the inari tuna with fried salmon skin. Conveniently mouth bite-sized and tastefully promising.

 

 

 
Kotaro Sushi Restaurant does not serve pork, but offers alcohol on its menu. For more new menus and dishes coming up in the pipeline, remember to check out their page every now and then.For more omakase refined treats, do check out Kurata as well as Yuzen too.

Cheers for now and follow us at Carpe Diem for more ‘food-ful’ discoveries! ❤ℒℴѵℯ❤Location: 1st Floor, Pearl Point Shopping Mall,5th Miles Old Klang Road, 58000 Kuala Lumpur

Business Hours: 10am -10pm

Website: +603 7972 9633

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kotaro-Sushi-Restaurant-Sdn-Bhd/777118412308471

✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿*゚¨゚✎・✿.。✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿*゚¨゚✎・✿.。✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿

To stay updated, Like & Follow Carpe Diem for more sharing of what’s in vogue and happening in town.

You can also follow me on Instagram (@lwinwenli) and Twitter (@lwinlee) for more photo sharing or just to say Hi.

✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿*゚¨゚✎・✿.。✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿*゚¨゚✎・✿.。✿*゚¨゚✎・ ✿.。.:* *.:。✿

 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

EAT @ J'S  Smile Sep 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

 

 
Nestled in the neighborhood of Taman Sea is where Eat @ J’s located and has been greeting the patrons nearby for 3 weeks now by the time we visited it.

 
A soothing and calming ambiance oozes through the contemporary atmosphere upon stepping in the vintage yet artsy decorated interior.

 
Savory dishes are mainly helmed by Nicholas himself, whilst the pastries side are left under the good hands of Sue, a devoted gastronome who enjoys food and baking at the same time. The passionate baker has actually purposely gone to Australia for 2 years, to master and get herself certified in baking professionally, wow!

 
From the farm, enjoyed the crafted poultry plates that easily conjure up gemütlich memories

HONEY BALSAMIC CHICKEN WITH MASH POTATO AND ROASTED PUMPKIN AND GREEN BEANS ON SIDE (MYR 19)

The complementing chemistry that works best between honey and chicken meat has seen them collaborating even better with balsamic vinegrette, further unleashing the sweetness of the poultry meat, served atop the nicely cubed pumpkins that are fragrantly pan-fried till a medium-soft nuance.

 
GRILLED STEAK WITH GREEN BEANS AND CARROTS, PAIR WITH HASSELBACK POTATO (MYR 28)

Sirloin grilled after brushed with house special seasoning oil that creates that luscious thinly caramelized layer on the meat exterior while remaining juicy and tender within.

 

 
Sauce upon request but I think the meat is already good by itself. Sometimes, I think it’s better to uphold the legacy of enjoying true and honest food au naturel, rather than smothering it heavily with other gravy which at times might drown its veritableness.Nevertheless, the accompanied black pepper sauce is aromatic as the peppercorn is freshly grounded, together with mushroom sauce crafted with shitake and demiglaze.

 
From the sea, we have this juicily grilled salmon.

 
GRILLED SALMON ON BED OF SAUTÉED SPINACH, ROASTED POTATO, PEARL BARLEY AND CHERRY TOMATOES (MYR 24)

Salmon is nicely pan grilled with skin intact, rendering uber juiciness packed within the toothsome fish meat that is rich in Omega-3. Albeit I might prefer a crispier and slightly browned fish skin, can’t deny the fact that it’s actually equally healthy and mouthwatering dish showcasing simplicity as its best. Holland mashed potato has also undergone straining process for a finer texture, enriched with some unsalted butter, served with sautéed aragula, cherries tomato and barley.

 
Now let’s make way for some delectable home baked pastries!

 
BANANA CREAM PIE & KEY LIME PIE (MYR 10.50 each)

Pies are lovesome here, namely Banana Cream and Key Lime. Contrasting with the tartness of the calamansi themed confectionary, I personally love the former one as the banoffee-like pastry is house-crafted just nice, not overly sweet nor soggy, which more often than not, is kinda saccharine after the banana got caramelized as encountered elsewhere. So whenever now am craving for some sweet fix, I’ll literally ‘Eat @ J’s’! (✿◠‿◠)

 
And little Jayden is seen enjoying his favourite lime pie mirthfully. The toddler is also the gem of the café’s owners, hence the significant and meaningful name given to the shop, J’s!

 
With that happy face behind, it’s already a beautiful mass but a yummy one smile

 
To wind down the scrumptious night, what’s better than to sip some decent cup of joe?

 
LATTE (MYR 10) Greet your palate with a robust flavor

 
COLD BREW LATTE (MYR 12)

Clean nicety and sleek aftertaste.

 
Each coffee beverage here is served double shot, using 100% Arabica beans from the blend of Brazil and Columbia, dark roasted for the nutty but smooth finishing.

 
All food here is priced nett and lunch set is available on weekdays only from 12pm – 3pm from MYR 9.90 onwards, so what are you waiting for? But it is advisable to reserve earlier as limited portion is available daily while stock last to ensure the optimum quality and money-for-value meal are served.

Cheers for now and follow us at Carpe Diem for more ‘food-ful’ discoveries! ❤ℒℴѵℯ❤

 
Location: 28, Jalan SS23/11, Taman Sea. Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Contact: +603 7886 4072

Website: https://www.facebook.com/eatatjs

 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0