OpenRice Index
  
siewweichaw
This is siewweichaw .
Member 28 First(s)
No. of Review115 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity492 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos123 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant101 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲14 Follower(s)
siewweichaw  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 115 Reviews in Malaysia
hainanese lunch fare! OK Mar 16, 2016   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Malaysian variety | Noodles | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

 
I liked how their food was unpretentious. This is the definition of simple food which satisfies the soul.

Bakeri Joy does not only bake cake, pastries and cookies, they have a hot kitchen which whips up authentic and decent Hainanese hot food such as toasts, noodles and nasi lemak.

After looking through the menu, I decided to have the the Hainanese thick toast and Nyonya Mee, which is basically a plate of simple hearty noodles topped off with strips of egg, chilli, lettuce, finished off with a squeeze of lime juice, and there you have it, a wholesome addictive meal. 

Moving on, their Hainanese toasts are perfectly toasted with a good crunch on the outside and the kaya butter spread was aromatic and fragrant. It was neither too sweet nor oily.
I liked this rendition of toasts, even better with half boiled eggs. 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

coffee night! OK Mar 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

 
A rainy Friday night warrants a visit to a cafe nearby my dinner place to get my cup of coffee.
Ss15 area has been known to be packed with school, college and university students which are located around the corner. So most of the cafes are opened till midnight or the wee late hours to cater those who are in search of an inspiring place to get their alone time or just to complete their assignments.
And there I was, at Flingstones cafe which is situated just opposite Taylor's college.
The flat white was just what I needed to perk me up for my board games session along wit my friends at Meeples. The foam was velvety and smooth and the coffee had a nutty finishing aftertaste. Flingstones cafe serves good coffee in a cosy environment and the rainy weather is making it much tougher for me to get out of my seat.
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ramen fare! OK Mar 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Marutama’s specialty is their thin chewy Japanese noodle – ramen – in their variety of four soup bases (chicken, spicy chicken, prawn or nuts).
My personal favourite would be their basic ramen, the Ajitsuke Tamago Ramen which is basically a bowl of thin Japanese wheat noodles accompanied by sliced pork, seaweed, seasoned egg and topped off with spring onions sitting in chicken soup.
I find that their chicken soup was just perfectly flavoured as it was not as salty in comparison to the usual pork broths.
I have a habit of layering my bowl of ramen with plenty of white sesame seed before savoring it. The addition of it has indeed made it taste much nuttier. Their chicken soup base was brimming with flavours and heavily rich, yet not overly salty. I would say try not to take your time to savour or don’t finish the stock as it may become over-powering and heavy-going towards the end.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 18, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

cheesecake frenzy! OK Mar 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Stall / Warung | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

 
I love love love light cheesecakes and the fact that Uncle Tetsu has a new flavour attracted me to give the chocolate flavor a try. 

Freshness is assured as the cakes are made upon order and most run out at peak hours.

Their cheesecakes are different in terms of texture, sweetness and cheesiness in comparison to American Cheesecakes. The cheesecake was fluffy, airy and light with a slight hint of sweetness to it. It did meet my expectations for a cheesecake but I was not entirely blown away by it. 
The difference between the chocolate cheesecake and original cheesecake is the bare hint of chocolate flavored cheesecake and chocolate chips sitting atop of the cake as a garnishing.
The whole package didn't spell fantastic and my verdict is the wait wasn't worthwhile at all. 

 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

HoneyCreme soft serves! OK Mar 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato

 
I had each of the famous signature Honeycomb soft serve as well as the Comb Honey.
The soft serves at Honeycreme were much milkier and creamier in texture in comparison to those churned by other soft serve joints.

However, the whole combination was a tad bit surprisingly too sweet for my liking. 
The soft serve sundaes are already enough sweet, and in addition to it, are the honeycomb and honey drizzles which levels up the sweetness.
If I were a diabetic, I would definitely lay this off and opt for a healthier option such as the froyos from Llao Llao. 
In terms of the portion, it was generous, but the sweetness was too overpowering to an extent that it turned out to be super cloying in the end, making it hard for me to finish the whole thing on my own.
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0