OpenRice Index
  
siewweichaw
This is siewweichaw .
Member 28 First(s)
No. of Review115 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity492 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos123 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant101 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲14 Follower(s)
siewweichaw  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 115 Reviews in Malaysia
green with envy! OK Jun 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

We're green with envy over this matcha treat here at Thirdwave.
My sister and I are big fans of matcha, which is basically known as grounded fine green tea leaves.
Without fail, we will always be here to have the Hanako Hotcakes, which are fluffy tall matcha hotcakes filled with vanilla bean custard accompanied alongside with strawberry compote, rose petals, and matcha ice cream.
The matcha ice cream was churned in house. I gotta admit that it was a pretty yummy treat as the bitterness from the matcha balanced out the sweetness from the vanilla bean custard filing. The strawberry compote was also made in house by the chefs. I loved how it still has a texture to bite on without being too mushy. The addition of rose petals in this plated dessert lends a good crunch in the mouth and gives it a floral hint. Moving on, we also had the matcha latte to wash it all down. I love the slightly bitter and sweet taste of matcha, with a bit of sugar and blending in milk, it’s just perfect.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

toasting saturdayyyy morning! OK Jun 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Nasi Lemak

Toh Soon is famous for their good old kopi and essential charcoal toasted kaya butter toast.
A breakfast toast affair is incomplete without some good ol' kopi ping and half boiled eggs to go with it. They're essentials and complements the airy toasts so well!
The kopi ping had a good balance of bitterness and sweetness to it without being too overwhelmingly sweet.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 30 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 28, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM8(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fancy breakfast fare! OK May 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Desserts

The Butcher's Breakfast here is pretty much just like how any other breakfast are served. I was a famished lady after completing a run first thing in the morning, so I knew I had to have something heavier.

Every ingredient in the Butcher's Breakast came in a pair and if you are not a heavy eater, it's best to share this dish as the portion is generous. 

Next up, I managed to give their famous french toast, which goes by the name Drunken Frenchmen a try! The ingredients used in making it is interesting as they integrate the use of Guinesss into it. 

The french toast was crowned with a single scoop of Forty Licks vanilla ice-cream garnished with a mint leaf and surrounded by lashings of what might be a Guinness-based reduction.
OM NOM NOM.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

simple breakfast! OK May 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

 
The Hub is a new neighborhood cafe in OUG area and it also one of the few cafes which roasts and serves the coffee using their own roasted beans. The coffee was light, smooth and sweet. Aside from the usual espresso based coffee, they also do filtered coffee using different equipments as well as methods to get the best taste out of it.

I was here the first thing in the morning and I knew I had to get something to fill my tummy. So I went for their plain croissants which comes accompanied by plain butter and jam.  

The texture of the croissaint was flaky and crispy on the outside, but it lacked the fragrance and buttery taste that usual croissants possess. 

Moving on, I also had the simple basic breakfast which features toasted focaccia bread, fried omelette with bell peppers, baked beans and accompanied by a small serving of salad on the side. This simple dish was nothing to shout about.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

japanese food fare! OK May 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

 
in lieu of the Spring season in Japan, most Japanese restaurants will tend to integrate cherry blosoms in their food and drinks. As such, Sushi Tei also executed the job very well in their food.

I had the opportunity to try the Sansento Somen, which are noodles made out of wheat flour and is served cold. Sushi Tei serve 3 difefrent flavours of Somen, namely, Black Pepper, Egg and Sakura. The ingredients that are used in giving the flavours to the somen weren't strong enough as I could barely taste any of the mentioned flavours. Texture and appearance wise, they did a good job in it as the noodles were chewy and smooth as I take the first bite.

It should be eaten just like how soba noodles were eaten. Pick up the right amount of noodles off with the chopstick, dip it in the sauce and slurp it down fast!

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0