OpenRice Index
  
siewweichaw
This is siewweichaw .
Member 28 First(s)
No. of Review115 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity492 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos123 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant101 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲14 Follower(s)
siewweichaw  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 103 Reviews in Malaysia
banana leaf rice! Smile Mar 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Vegetarian

I usually have the basic banana leaf set lunch whenever I frequent Kanna Curry House.

And this time, I went for the curry fish to accompany the white rice and the the vegetables which are fundamental for a banana leaf rice meal.

I would normally douse my rice with the curry and dhal sauce. Both the sauces were good, so I decided to have both over my rice. The curry fish was not too spicy and was well-seasoned with the right amount of spices. Combine them altogether, they were simply delicious and finger-licking good. 

 
i just had to have a coconut water to complete my indian meal here.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

dim sum sundays! Smile Mar 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Dim sum | Porridge | Private Party

 
The variety of dimsum offered here in Jin Xuan is vast. They have many options of these delicate morsels of delight, being it steamed or fried.

My personal favorite to have here is the Golden Sand Bun which is basically salted egg yolk custard fillings encased in their soft fluffy steamed buns. Theirs are usually always fantastic!
It has a good balance of sweetness and saltiness, without either of the components being too overpowering.

Their egg tarts are mediocre as I find that the crust was not buttery and crispy enough but the custard filling was just nice.
Moving on, another dim sum worth ordering here is the Siew Mai which is basically a pork shrimp dumpling. Their version is especially plump and juicy with the sweetness, deriving from the shrimps. Another note-worthy dish is the Shrimp Crystal Dumplings, which are shrimps encased in translucent delicate skin which looks like crystal, as the name goes.

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2016 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

 
I decided to have something flavorful for lunch on that fine Sunday afternoon, so I decided to have the Kimchi pasta alongside with the salmon sashimis.

I love how the kimchi broth is thick and tasty from to the miso paste used. It contains mirin. Mirin is basically a quintessential condiment used in Japanese cuisine. It is a kind of rice wine similar to sake, but with a lower alcohol content and higher sugar content. The ingredients used in this pastas are a mixture of shitake, shimeiji and oyster mushroom, chopped cabbage, sliced carrot and onion. I actually love this as it was flavorful without being too spicy. The broth was too good that I finished it till the last drop and wiped the whole bowl clean.

The salmon sashimi was thickly sliced and fresh. It went well with the soy sauce and wasabi dipping. It was a definitely a delicious meal!

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hakka dinner fare. Smile Mar 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Private Party

Lei Cha (擂茶) or Thunder Tea Rice is a signature Hakka dish which consists of a variety of finely chopped vegetables ranging from leek, long beans, kale, string beans, cabbage, dried radish and aduki beans laid over a bed of rice with a choice of brown or white rice. Usually roasted peanuts will be used as a topping to finish it off.
The soup was fragrant in flavour and aroma as it was boiled using pounded teas, nuts and herbs. This meal was definitely healthy and wholesome.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sunday lunch date! Smile Mar 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta

This has got to be my utmost favorite place for my salad fix as they offer a variety of wholesome ingredients, ranging from quinoa, barley, edamame, mushrooms and many more.
Aside from salads, their menu mainly boasts pizzas and delicious sides such as pies, quiches and meatballs.

My personal favorite here is the Breakfast Pizza and the half roasted chicken with a side salad and roasted potatoes.

The Breakfast pizza is really generous in portion and it is advisable to have a big group to dine together. The pizza comprises of ingredients such as beef bacon, eggs, chicken sausages, finished off with a liberal amount of ketchup and mozarella cheese. It was just like how the name depicts, breakfast in the form of pizza bites. So delicious, addictive and wholesome. It's a complete meal in a pizza.

Moving on, the half chicken is roasted with herbs such as rosemary, garlic and paprika. The skin was roasted to a crisp texture and the meat delivered a juicy taste to it. I decided to order the mushroom with alfalfa sprouts salad to go with it. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0