OpenRice Index
  
siewweichaw
This is siewweichaw .
Member 28 First(s)
No. of Review115 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity534 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos123 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant101 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲14 Follower(s)
siewweichaw  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 103 Reviews in Malaysia
tea time! Smile Apr 27, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato | Desserts

Sakura food is all the rage in Japan, this time of the year. I came here for the Wagashi(s) and the seasonal tea for the momth, Sakura green tea (totally yums & therapeutic) here at TeaPress.

Japanese embraces Sakura in their cooking during Spring, hence many of their food this season integrates the use of these pretty cherry blooms.
I had a fair share of their seasonal green tea daifuku, Sakura mochi and Hokkaido tart and the Sakura mochi was my personal favourite! Think of savoury sweet pink coloured rice balls stuffed with adzuki bean paste and wrapped with pickled cherry blossom leaf!

I opined that the Hokkaido tart was slightly overdone as the original Japanese tarts have a wobbly center filling as compared to Malaysia's customary egg tarts. While the texture of the green tea daifuku was chewy as I had expected it to be. Thank goodness it was not sweet at all though!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 22, 2016 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ice cream treat! Smile Apr 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato

A blistering hot day warrants a visit to an ice cream store and here I am today at IDC. This ice cream cafe is inspired by New Zealand's Kapiti ice cream. Their variety of ice creams served is huge and different from the commercial kinds you normally find in Malaysia's market. Their flavours and name are interesting with words such as anzac, figs, vintage, black doris plum, creme fraiche and many more used in naming them. Their plenty of unique flavours are what interested me. They serve the ice creams in scoops, with cones, waffles, welsh cakes, and many more other offerings.

I decided to have my choice of ice cream in the Anzac Coconut cookies along with my waffles. The texture of the waffle was crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. While, the ice cream was luxuriously indulgent! Finished off with a chocolate ganache, it is the perfect combination! 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

coffee and cakes fare! Smile Apr 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches | Desserts

 
The coffee served here was refreshing to beat the heat and it was smooth, as I had my first sip down the throat. I taste notes of chocolate, followed by nuttiness, and it ended with a sweet finishing.
Mocha here wasn't too sweet either, as it had a good balance of espresso shot and chocolate.

Morningwood offers a variety of cakes, but my companions and I decided to give their matcha mille crepe cake and nutelle cakes a try, and oh boy, it was mind-blowing! The crepe cake was really moist with a good amount of cream in between the layers of crepe. While, the nutella cake's texture was close to of how a butter cake should be. The nutella glaze on top was a nice addition to the appearance factor and it adds an extra oomph to the already-chocolaty-cake.

All in all, Morningwood is a good place to hangout with your friends or study, as they operate till midnight on most days of the week.

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

soft serves! Smile Apr 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato | Desserts

Soft serve, as the name itself suggest, the texture was extremely soft and melts really fast! What more with this blistering hot weather that makes it melt ten times faster.

I had the opportunity to sample the hojicha and matcha soft serves.

Hojicha is basically roasted green tea. The distinct roasted flavour was apparent in this soft serve. The bitterness was well balanced with sweetness from the milk used in making this soft serve. The same also goes to the Matcha soft serve. Both were equally good and it is hard to pick and decide which is better.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

wholesome salads! OK Apr 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt

 
It is extremely difficut to eat clean whenever you're out or in this situation, when we are in this country when most food are sinfully yummy and delicious. 
Chai Bar not only offers healthy food such as salads, but also smoothies and juices for those looking for a good pick-me-up!

The toppings offered at Chai Bar is not only limited to those who love meat, but to those who are also vegetarian. 
What I adore is the fact that they have selections such as beans, pickles and many more.

Their dressing are all simply unique as they integrate ingredients such as wasabi and miso into it. Having salads won't be boring anymore!

 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0