OpenRice Index
  
siewweichaw
This is siewweichaw .
Member 28 First(s)
No. of Review115 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2003 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos123 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant101 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲14 Follower(s)
siewweichaw  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 115 Reviews in Malaysia
caffeine fix! OK Apr 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

A sleepy afternoon calls for a visit here to podgy to get my caffeine fix. I was also interested in giving their chai latte a try, in which they had an option of soy milk as an alternative to dairy milk for those who are lactose intolerant. Presentation wise, their chai tea latte was served in a fancy teapot and accompanied alongside with a small cup of honey for those who need that extra sweetness. Taste wise, it was delicious and aromatic from the blend of black tea and Indian spices used.
I was piqued by their salted egg yolk brownie which was crispy on the outside but soft in the interior. It was simply decadent however I felt that the saltiness could be enchanted a tad bit more.
Moving on, the saving grace was that piccolo latte which I found amazing! That piccolo was sufficient to give a caffeine jolt to my body. The coffee delivered a medium body, nuttiness and chocolaty finish.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

hakka noodles Smile Apr 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

The Hakka noodles were well seasoned with flavours without being too salty. The Hakka noodles were thick and smooth too! Doused with a good amount of soy sauce, those black looking noodles were delicious. It was also finished off with a garnishing of diced spring onions to give it an extra oomph. Aside from that, our bowl of dry Hakka noodles were accompanied by a bowl of minced pork and pork balls in soup. The pork balls were really juicy and sweet.
Besides that, we also had a plate of stir fried Hakka yam abacus which are basically made out of tapioca flour and pumpkins. The texture is chewy and it is once again, delivered with the right flavours from stir frying with ingredients such as black fungus, minced pork and spring onion.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

banana leaf rice! Smile Mar 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Vegetarian

I usually have the basic banana leaf set lunch whenever I frequent Kanna Curry House.

And this time, I went for the curry fish to accompany the white rice and the the vegetables which are fundamental for a banana leaf rice meal.

I would normally douse my rice with the curry and dhal sauce. Both the sauces were good, so I decided to have both over my rice. The curry fish was not too spicy and was well-seasoned with the right amount of spices. Combine them altogether, they were simply delicious and finger-licking good. 

 
i just had to have a coconut water to complete my indian meal here.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

dim sum sundays! Smile Mar 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Dim sum | Porridge | Private Party

 
The variety of dimsum offered here in Jin Xuan is vast. They have many options of these delicate morsels of delight, being it steamed or fried.

My personal favorite to have here is the Golden Sand Bun which is basically salted egg yolk custard fillings encased in their soft fluffy steamed buns. Theirs are usually always fantastic!
It has a good balance of sweetness and saltiness, without either of the components being too overpowering.

Their egg tarts are mediocre as I find that the crust was not buttery and crispy enough but the custard filling was just nice.
Moving on, another dim sum worth ordering here is the Siew Mai which is basically a pork shrimp dumpling. Their version is especially plump and juicy with the sweetness, deriving from the shrimps. Another note-worthy dish is the Shrimp Crystal Dumplings, which are shrimps encased in translucent delicate skin which looks like crystal, as the name goes.

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2016 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

caffeinated Mondays OK Mar 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

Keeping my Monday caffeinated with a Guatemala pour over and a latte on their blend, not forgetting their soft baked giant dark chocolate almond cookie.

The soft baked giant dark chocolate almond cookie crumbles easily as I take my first bite in. It was decadent and delicious. I opine that it goes well with a cup of white.

A good amount of time is needed if you were to have a pourover coffee as compared to espresso based coffee. The Guatemala tasted juicy and citrusy, just as what the barista had mentioned to me. It was smooth and syrupy, easy to drink for regular coffee drinkers like me.
Moving on, the latte that I had was sweet and nutty with a good chocolaty finish from the house blend that they used.
The couple who had opened this place used to sell coffee on a cart for a year before shifting in to their new place. They both had a long experience in serving coffee to the Klang coffee snobs. So most of their coffee would taste a bit more bold and it is the perfect recipe for a comforting coffee fix for the Klang people. 

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0