OpenRice Index
  
carerynn
This is carerynn living in Johor Bahru Town. I am a Student, work in Bandar Sunway. I like to hang out in Subang Jaya, Bandar Sunway, Johor Bahru Town. Thai, Japanese, Chinese, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hotel Dining, Bar & Pub, Bakery/ Cake Shop and Juices & Smoothies / Bubble Tea / Tea, Seafood, Pizza/Pasta, Sashimi.
Member 13 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity78 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos27 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant13 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲72 Follower(s)
carerynn  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 Reviews in Malaysia
Authentic Egyptian Food Smile Jan 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

If you have not tried Egyptian or Arabian food, well, you should. The taste of their food marinated with various spices, is uncomparable. We found this place through Johorkaki's blog and found that it was not hard to find at all, if you're familiar with Taman Desa Rahmat. The restaurant used to be RHB Bank. From the outside it looks like a normal mamak but once you step in, you'll be shocked at how cozy and homely it is as it is carpeted from floor to ceiling. We opted for a private room, and there is outdoor dining option as well. Most of the seats are on the floor with cushions provided, but outdoor dining has tables and chairs. The chefs are from Egypt and the owner is really friendly and provides good service as well. Food was not as pricey as we expected, and for that price, everything was yummy! From the rice to the soup to the grilled seafood. Yums. I highly recommend the rice with grilled chicken or lamb as the meat is so tender and fragrant when paired with long rice. The soup they served it with looks like vege soup but tastes like lamb meat. Also, the grilled seafood platter is quite worth it as it comes with hummus, flat bread, fish, prawn and crab! Pair everything with Arabian tea with mint leaves for a refreshing twist for your tastebuds. Tea is refillable.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ chicken with rice,grilled seafood platter,seafood soup
 
Date of Visit: Jan 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Noodles

On this beautiful Saturday morning, we visited Toast Box to have our food tasting and breakfast. This is the largest branch of Toastbox in Southeast Asia as they are the first to accomodate two corner shoplots. The large French windows illuminates the place with natural sunlight and totally captures the feel of modern rustic decorations. All coffee here are roasted and blended with traditional Nanyang coffee beans to give it a fragrance and aroma beyond compare. The food uses the same recipe as in Singapore but is altered a little to cater to local tastebuds. The best seller, Butter & Kaya toast has a crunchy bread and just the right filling of smooth butter and sweet kaya. The best. For more filling options, you can opt for the curry laksa which is also a famous dish here and the mee siam, served Nyonya-style whereby it is drenched in tangy gravy. For more information, please read: http://extraordinarinn.blogspot.com/2014/01/eats-treats-toast-box-taman-johor-jaya.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Butter & kaya toast,curry chicken with rice,laksa mee tai mak,mee siam
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yummy Nasi Lemak! Smile Jan 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Stall / Warung | Nasi Lemak

Not only Malays love Nasi Lemak, but Chinese and Indians do too! This is proven by the crowd at Mana Lagi which serves nasi lemak with their awesome sambal and much coveted fried chicken! The parking space is relatively sufficient and the place is quite easy to find, just next to Unik Jaya. If you can overlook the cleanliness, the place is quite decent. I usually opt to sit outside. Please note that it is self-service here and you have to pick your condiments (tip: everyone goes for the chicken!), then queue to wait for them to serve you rice, sambal, egg and cucumber. Additional money is needed for extra ingredients. The rice is just so fragrant but at times they tend to undercook it. The sambal is just the right amount of sweet and spicy and I love the anchovy bits! No single customer goes without having the ayam goreng so you know how nice it is! The chicken is meaty, fragrant, crispy and although oily, you won't want to stop eating it once you start. The chicken is about RM3 so a plate of nasi lemak should cost you about RM5. Super syiok Malaysian favourite!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Lemak,Ayam goreng
 
Date of Visit: Jan 25, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Big Bowl of Goodness OK Jan 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

Just your regular shop lot interior, specialising in mee hoon kuay served in large bowls, hence the name. It is located near Sunway College so to avoid the working and student crowd, try not to visit during peak lunch hours. My personal favourite is the traditional soupy mee hoon kuay. The noodles are handmade and just so smooth compared to other places. The soup is quite normal, but when paired with condiments like anchovies, black fungus bits and vege, it is something to look forward to. Also, the fishball is really bouncy and yummy! Something I've never tried anywhere else that they have here is the green spinach noodles! A healthy alternative to regular noodles. They also serve mihoon, kuay teow and yellow noodles as mee hoon kuay alternative, and you can opt for it to be dry, or served in Tomyam soup. They also serve rice, porridge and mee hoon kuay paired with other ingredients. For a very reasonable price, you can have a filling and yummy lunch.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Traditional mee hoon kuay,fish porridge,fish slice soup noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jan 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Western Food Smile Jan 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Stall / Warung | Steaks / Chops

Who doesn't love Western food? But the problem with it is it can be expensive. At Anmour Cafe, they have an American diner concept whereby food is served hot and fast. The interior is simple and surprisingly large as it can accomodate many people. Everytime I visit, there are always people queueing to enter. Their famous food is the pork burger and mini burgers. For RM15 or less, there are 4 mini burgers so it is not expensive at all! The service is also quite acceptable. I like that they serve buns dipped with gravy before the main course for free. I personally like the cheese baked rice! Perfectly melted cheese atop soft white rice, with rich Alfredo sauce and topped with seafood or ham. Appetizers are also quite big in portion so make sure you have someone to share it with. Most of the appetizers are less than RM10! So if you're looking for a nice environment to enjoy affordable western food, please check out this place! There is also another branch at Mount Austin!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mini pork burgers,Seafood cheese baked rice
 
Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0