OpenRice Index
  
alyssajaren
This is alyssajaren .
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review5 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity51 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos27 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲82 Follower(s)
alyssajaren  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 Reviews in Malaysia
Christmas Buffet with Aria OK Jan 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta

Last December I had the opportunity to attend a Christmas dining experience with Aria Traditional Italian Dining.

I've been an absolute fan of Italian food, although sometimes I need to watch the waistline with all the pastas and cheese but Italian food never fail to amaze me to bits. I'm still on the hunt for that perfect Melanzane alla Parmigiana all over KL tho.

 
Ambiance-wise, Aria was pretty impressive. It was cosy and dimly lit, but nevertheless true to it's name it definitely speaks Italian fine dining. I could foresee myself spending a dinner date here, sharing pastas over candle light dinner enjoying a couple of wine. And since it was Christmas season at that time the restaurant was tastefully decorated with Christmas spirit.

Aria was introducing it's Christmas menu, a Christmas style buffet serving a variety of bruschetta platter canapés, roast turkey, spaghetti aglio-olio, roasted tenderloin and crème brûlée for desserts. Sounds like a normal Christmas dinner to me, but what made my heart sank was when they announced it was a buffet instead of a beautifully plated dish. But if it's a buffet, then a buffet it is.

 
First up was the canapés, a variety of Bruschetta platter with the selections of sautéed mushrooms, tuna and tomato with generous sprinkling of basil. While the tuna was excellent (despite it was served on crackers instead of bread), the mushroom and the tomatoes on the other was lacking flavor. And to be honest I love my bruschetta to be nicely toasted, with a hint of garlic and olive oil and this one was point bland. The Italians made them nice and simple, it's the perfect party food and for you to mingle around but this doesn't exactly live up to it's standard.

 
Moving on to the mains, I had the spaghetti aglio-olio shortly right after. Although it was meant to be light and simple it was definitely nicely seasoned. I enjoyed this one more than the rest of the mains, the spaghetti was a definite al dente and the mushrooms were really nice.

But the for rest of the main, I had a mixed review on it.

 
First up was the roasted tenderloins. It was definitely on the dry side, but the mushroom porchini sauce kinda save the day, so it's in my good book. I never actually liked beef before, because I'm picky with my meat but this one was alright. Presumed that you topped it off with generous servings of the porchini sauce.

 
But the main star of the night - was actually the mixed vegetables. It was nicely seasoned, perfectly tossed with olive oil and vinaigrette dressing and I can actually have heaps of servings of this. And them brussels sprouts! Total mouth watering. The carrots were really nice too.

 
The roast turkey on the other hand was...uhh. To be honest, I didn't finish my portion. Not too sure whether it's the buffet style, or maybe the food was left out a little bit too long while waiting for the rest to arrive, or maybe that's just how they like their turkey? For me, no, I don't like dry turkeys. The problem with turkey is that they can get a little bit too dry if you dont prepare them nicely. It was just too chewy, and unlike the roasted tenderloins where the porchini sauce came to save the day, the turkey sauce did not. I was deeply disappointed because I was actually looking forward for this one when they revealed their Christmas menu for the night.

 
The turkey stuffing was alright, nothing much to rave on although they did complement the turkey well. I only wish the meat was slightly moist instead of chewy and dry, and I most probably would have enjoyed the turkey more.

 
For desserts we had crème brûlée and despite the disappointing main for the night, the crème brûlée was the bomb! I enjoyed this a lot, and was secretly wishing for another serving but cant be too greedy no?

All in all, it was a pretty decent meal for a Christmas menu, although in great honesty, I had better Christmas buffet with the family back in Borneo. Maybe the Christmas theme was not their strong point as the turkey and tenderloin was just so-so, but the pasta and the Italian salad was superb so do not be disheartened with Aria.

Aria still lives up to it's traditional Italian food dining so I would definitely love to come back to check out their Italian menu, and the wide array of house wine that I'm definitely keen to try out.

 
Date of Visit: Dec 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Charcoal Noodle Smile Nov 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Noodles

Had Little Wonton noodle while attending an event for lunch, and it was my first time having charcoal noodle. It was supperrrrrr GOOOOOD. Just thinking about it makes me drool tongue

 
What sets it apart from other noodles is the fact that the noodle is charcoal black, topped with eggs, shredded chicken, ham, and little pieces of tofu. And you can choose your sauce - either a terriyaki sauce or a spicy thai sauce.

 
I went with the terriyaki sauce as I wasn't feeling like having anything spicy that day and it was gooooooodddddd. Though wee bit salty as the terriyaki sauce does get a little bit overpowering if you pour too much.

Definitely a must try! Hoping that they will open a branch near my place, and the noodle's DAMN CHEAP. RM4 if I wasn't mistaken, and for something that good? Triple yes! lol
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Restaurant | Seafood

If you’re up for some good Vietnamese food, and doesn’t mind to pay a hefty price for it, then this the right place to go.

 
I have been craving for some good cafe sua da (Vietnamese Iced Coffee), the infamous Spring Rolls and some good hardcore Vietnamese baguettes! Imagine my excitement when a friend first brought me to this place!

 
Its actually a Vietnamese Fine Dining restaurant – they had a wide assortments of house wines pricing around Rm180++ and above.

 

 
Vietnamese coffee (RM10) – portion is pretty small. They do serve Chon coffee (similar to kopi luwak) but I haven’t got the guts to drink civet’s dung coffee yet.

The only bad thing about this place is that they dont serve cafe sua da (iced Vietnamese coffee) on the menu – but its not a big deal. You can always ask for a glass of ice, and just pour the coffee inside. Tadaa – Iced Vietnamese Coffee.

 
Ordered Vietnamese pancake – I don’t remember seeing this at Ho Chi Minh but damn the pancake is huggggeee!!! It has a crunchy texture, almost similar to crepe. We ordered mushroom and chicken pancake I think, and it was nice smile Definitely a must try.

 
A star on its own – Vietnamese Spring Rolls!! I tell you, this is the bombbbb!! Tastes EXACTLY like the ones I had in Ho Chi Minh smile All wrapped up in rice paper goodness. I love this stuff. Honestly its goooooood.

 
Vietnamese Braised Duck with Tamarind Sauce. This was featured on the menu so we decided to give it a try. It was nice – has a tangy sweet sour flavor, the meat is tender and I loooveee steam carrots hahahaha.

Honestly I would definitely come back. It was soo gooood! Recommended! Pricey, but damn worth it.
 
Date of Visit: May 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tea Time Smile Nov 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Desserts

One of the favorite place to chill after a hardcore day shopping around Bukit Bintang, and I love their tea time promotions!

 
Chose a tea time set consisting of a choice of warm toasted sandwich, 2 freshly bake scones/muffins or 1 patisserie from the trolley and a choice of 3 macarons. Served with a teapot from the TWG Tea list. (RM55+)

 
And tried their Silvermoon tea. Tastes like...tea but I love the smell! smile

 
I dont normally eat foie gras, since it's a fattened goose liver but this foie gras sandwich is exceptional! The sandwich itself was crisp and with the smooth buttery foie gras and salads on top it was simply perfect.

 
And Eggs Benedicts. Beautiful poached eggs with hollandaise sauce and smoked salmon on toasted English muffins, I prefer my poached eggs to be a little runny, but this was okay.

All in all it was pretty good, if you have an extra cash to spare as this place is pretty expensive, but I love the environment, and service was good. Perfect for a perk me up and a place to chill.
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Salted egg crabs Smile Nov 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Seafood | Porridge

 
SIMPLY THE BEST. I love having crabs and I like mine cooked with salted eggs, and Lutong Cafe served just the perfect blend of smooth buttery salted egg sauce over delicious fleshy crabs, and their seafood is always fresh! Just thinking about this making me salivating, and it's reasonably priced too! I always came back for more, and they never disappoint tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Porridge,Salted egg prawns,Japanese sizzling tofu,Deep fried pork leg
 
Date of Visit: Nov 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0