OpenRice Index
  
Maple Kok
This is Maple Kok . I am a Student, work in Kampar. I like to hang out in Kampar. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, Pasar Malam and Dim sum, Desserts, Nasi Minyak, Cheese Cake,Chicken herbal soup.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review59 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity1027 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos662 Photo(s)
Upload Videos3 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews5 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant48 My Restaurant(s)
Follow34 Following
粉絲298 Follower(s)
Maple Kok  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 9 Reviews in Malaysia
Nam Heong White Coffee Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles | Dim sum | Coffee


updated on 15th dec 2014:

other food that I try

 

 
Hi~~ Today I like to let you to have a 2D tour of one of the must visit place in Ipoh.

It's an eatery, Yea, it's the long established don't know since how many years. Also it's the pioneer of Old Town White Coffee that basically available in every corner in Malaysia now.Namely

NAM HEONG old town White Coffee.

 
I always going there during the merry Sunday, which then I have to wait to seat as everytime there is a lot of people there. Not sure how it looks like during weekday.

Nam Heong White Coffee, different from the typical Old Town White Coffee. Here, it's a 7 stalls hawker centre. Each of the stalls selling different food that each has it's highlight! (No offence: I always eat economic rice , so I don't feel like want to order it anymore.)

 
Many come here of it's original Old TownWhite Coffee. Can you guess which one is the

coffee + milk tea

milk tea?

the price is less than Rm2....Rm1.70 is not mistaken

Since I am not a coffee person, I only ordered the milktea, I don't know how to describe it, slightly better than milk tea that you drink anywhere else. Differents in....the taste is just ngam ngam, (perfectly adjust) I guess, like it's has subtle taste of tea , and not too sweet overall.

Bf order this campur. It's nice though, smooth. Can quite geniune.....lost of word to describe it...why not you just try them yourself??

And now it comes to the highlight of this restaurant. (As I am not a coffee person, milktea is the highlight instead of the coffee). Actually there are quite many highlights! I feel like want to try every of the food there except the economic rice that selling at the front door there. Somehow, seeing how the food is served on table of others, the appearance, the aroma really make me think that every food here is worth to try! Like each of them is so damn delicious!

First highlight:

 
the super cruchy, condensed egg tart.

 
this make me drooling!

the filling is so full like you already full after eating one. But later on, you will crave for more.

And it is still edible after one day promising that you keep them in fridge. Just that the crunchiness all gone as time goes by.

Second highlight:

 
Curry mee Rm4.50

Special ler~~ haven seen curry mee with Chinese roast pork. The mint garnish the overall appearance as well as the taste. I personally perfer dry curry mee than curry mee. Dry curry mee mix with Kam lao also very taste good!

 
Dry curry Mee Rm4.50

Honestly, I prefer dry curry mee more than the normal one. I wish i could bring my family here~~

 
The curry mee, cry curry mee all come from this stall. I like to order from this stall, because their portion is suffice enough to make me full. Hehe

Third highlight

This Chao Keuy Tiaw is superb! Just that it's a small size serving. Should try this, the sambal is nice also.

 
Chaw Keuy Tiaw Rm4

I have yet to try other dishes in their dim sum stalls, the chicken hor fun...and the apam balik outside at the front door.

Oh yea, and there is this kedai kopi opposite the Nam Heong. And according to my bf, it is famous for their curry mee.

 
Address:

2, Jalan Bandar Timah, 30000 Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia.

Supplementary Information:
occupied and esp more congested during the weekend, has to find parking space before reach.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  eggtart,milktea,currymee,drycurrymee
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2015 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6(早餐)

Dining Offers: 團購


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

Just when I type this, a scene popped out in my mind. Free of Artificial White sugar does it means it put a lof of brown sugar too?

LOL~~

(maybe I can only answered you when I enter the kitchen)

Located in New Town Kampar, this air-conditioned restaurant is quite sought after during the dining time. I consider it's size is too packed to seated the foodies here. Why? Because it's a restaurant of one of it kind here in Kampar.

Free MSG

Less salt

No white sugar, and white salt.

Visited this restaurant a few times already. I like the environment here. Fair, clean and then air-conditioned. Though the restaurant can be quite packed during lunch and dinner time. It's not very spacious too. I would came back here to eat when I want to eat clean, or when I want to practice vegetarian. Haha. Seriously, each of the meal here is so delicious. With the price around Rm7-Rm10.

 

 
Vegan Bai Kut Tea Rice Rm7.99

My friend always order this vegan Bai Kut Tea Rice, it has a lot of mushroom inside. Button Mushroom, tauhu , and pair with Red cargo rice.

Best thing about eating here? Girls won't feel bad about taken too much oil! hahaha.

 
Vegan life Tom Yam Kung Rm9.99
A little spicy and ssweet as usual. But at first I thought it's laksa. For a person who can't stand too much of spiciness. It's good when you first eat it. After a few soup, you will started to sweat. But my friend seem enjoy it very much.

 
This one I really forgot their name ady. Pricing between Rm7.99-9.99 I could said =)

 
Jawa Padong Noodle Rm 9.99

This is definitely must try!! A bit spicy also. Same with the Tom Yam Kung above. Cannot stand anymore after a few spoons. So, bring along your friends who like spicy, then you can share a small portion with your friends!

 
French Pumpkin Mushroom Soup Rm9.99

Note that this is just a merely soup. So if you want to eat like Asian.,you can of course add on a bowl of rice.

 

 
Indonesian Style Fried Mee Hun Rm7.99

 
Green Curry Rice Rm7.99

The aronma of the Green Curry when it goes to your nose is ...oh...so heaven! But the fact is it's more spicy than your nose thought It would be. This might be favourite to spicy lover cause it's my favourite too! Keep drinking in order to eat this.

 
Basically, all the dishes here are so flavourful. You won't feel like you were eating something healthy but plain. Good for beginner, it was so appetizing! HOwever, for those who pursue a really healthy lifestyle, this is a bit too much. I believe you no need to be plain in order to healthy, just that I rather cook by myself as I know the amount of seasoning that I include. Will still come here to eat because I am quite busy to cook nowadays, also the dishes here got a lot of mushroom!

Vegan Life

2193, Jalan Timah, Taman Bandar Baru

31900 Kampar , Perak.

Ivan 012-5666044

Jason 010-9826408

Operating hour:

11am - 3pm

6pm -10pm

Disclaimer: THis is not a paid review, it's my own honesty review!

Supplementary Information:
Always get crowd, got it's cheap and delicious. Anyway, I visited before GST applied. Kindly check on their site for latest price update.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 16, 2014 

Celebration:  聖帕特里克節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ah Chai Bak Kut Teh OK Feb 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh

 

 
ONe thing that you will found in TEluk Intan during Chinese New Year in all those signature eateries is CROWED, seriosuly crowded until I get piss off of waiting for the dishes to serve. 

Previously located in a small hut, this restaurant serve one of the Best, aka the Best Bak Kut Teh in Teluk Intan. (My uncle stay in Teluk Intan, so far he hasn't mention any other place for Bak Kut Teh).

Their business is so good that they moved from a small hut (under a big shady tree at the roadside) to a well-looked restaurant. Open from 7am -2pm, it served not only Bak Kut Teh, instead I think that their Bak Kut Teh is not as nice as their steam fish. 
Delicious but the portion is a bit expensive for it's price

Delicious but the portion is a bit expensive for it's price

 
No comment as I didn't get to try this

No comment as I didn't get to try this

 
The broth itself is flavourful, however not much variety found

The broth itself is flavourful, however not much variety found

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  the steam fish,bak kut teh
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 19, 2015 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

De' exclusive Venue  Smile Feb 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

Talking about first fine dining, I didn't know it was actually fine dining until when I got shock by the price of our dinner. It was only Rm 65.10.(include 5% service charge , and no government tax! )

Before I venture more into the review today. I also thought that fine dining is something very sophisticated. It has to be

- consist of the appetizer, soup, main course, and dessert

- must be very expensive

- the environment must be very romantic and French style spacious

- Both the couple must wear like they were going to Prom night, well adorned.

- Must not only drink plain water. Either wine or the worst sparkling juice.

- Must book in advance

- The proportion must be very tiny. Cause you eat to enjoy rather than to be full.

Don't expect this is what you gotta see in this post. Cause it's some is totally opposite of it. We didn't plan to have any fine dining previously. It was just we went around the Tower Regency Hotel, looking for a quite decent place for dinner. I wanna to try something that is only found in Ipoh, like local delicacies, but at the same time I wanted the restaurant to have air-cond. There were some bars selling western cuisine as well, but the environment is just too noisy. In the end, we chose to dine in here.

 
This restaurant looking quite small from the outside. I usually like judge the environment of the place first before dine-in. But since there were really no more suitable place and I am so hungry already. So yea, we entered.

 
FOund more dining table at the back of the shop.

The service from this restaurant is quite satisfied too. The waiter ask whether she need to recommend anything for us. In the end, this is what we chose.

Also, after all the main course was served, the one that I believe is manager came up to sort of like greet and talk to us. She even offered to help me take photos of us! Thanks!

 
Aromatic Lemon Grass Chicken Rm 26

Served with salad, potato cutlet and mango salsa.

The chicken is so tender, don't think it is marinated before, but the aroma of lemon grass is so pleasant, at the same time, a bit of Thai style. I once thought the mango was from Thailand, it was so sweet! Later on, just realise that the mango maybe is can food. The potato cutlet is neither too dry or damp. And the dressing for the salad is enchanced and turned out a bit sweet..which I like!

What I like about this chicken chop and this restaurant is that they pay attention in every little particular.

 
Linguini Sausage & Mushroom Rm 24

Served in German Sausage and mushrooms, in white wine cream sauce.

The name is so long I prefer to call it mushroom carbonara. Their sauce is so far the best I ever tried. First try on it is O~MG, so heavenly nice. But later when the sauce is a bit cold already, you will started to feel the concentrated sauce is a bit overwhelm, though pleasant.

I suggest people to eat like this.

Don't serve 2 main courses at the same time. Esp when one of them is this thick sauce linguini. Then share among too, so that 2 of you can finish it before the heat gone.

 
Break & Butter FOC

I not sure they serve this so that I can pair with the cream sauce later on, or simply eat with the butter. BTW, I only eat with the butter. Usually , people would just serve without oven the bun, but these buns were served inside hot. So the butter melt immediately when we applied in the middle of bun. And the outcome is so yummylicious!

 
Crepe Suzette Rm 12

French crepe pancake filled with Vanilla Ice-cream and served with fresh orange Beurre suzette.

What I understand about crepe suzette is they typically flamed it with liquor- orange flavour cognac. But I don't taste any aroma of the cognac here. Still this dish is quite delicious in its own way. Didn't know it can serve with ice-cream. Such a delight surprise. The taste would be better if less zested orange is put. coz their zested orange is quite bitter.

This is the first time that i try on something that each dishes was so heavenly tastely. So I believe in the tagline of their restaurant.

 
Afforable. Quality. Service.

It really a hidden gem in Ipoh that I think people should know this. What I hope is that they can still remain their standard and passion in the serving people the best. I DONT GET PAID for doing this review, but sharing it for the notion of every single dishes is so delicious! What I hope is that when people all flood to this restaurant , they will still manage treat every single of their guest as VVIP =D Serving the best. Then my recommendation would worth it, haha.

Also, one of the reason that I don't know I was having fine dining is because the proportion given is quite ordinary. I mean it's not a tiny portion that you can finish in less than 5 gulps.

Actually, deep down in my heart, I still wishes for the real typical type of fine dining. But fine dining always consist of seafood, or duck breast, liver as main course. Something that I won't it. I also roughly know that for fine dining that is consider sophisticated, it's quite hard to localised. I mean if you know the core value of fine dining, you will not try to localised it. Must eat like white people. Quench your thirst with Wine. Oh yea, we didn't order any beverage for the meal. Although wine is sold in this place, but we don't feel like want to drink it at the moment.

Before we leave, the waiter recommend their valentine's package to us too. It was about Rm 270++ include wine. It just too much for us. But maybe it will suit you.

 
Taken from here.

Location:

79, Jalan Raja Ekram,Ipoh Perak

05-241 0882

016-5328779 (Manager)

Facebook

Food : 9/10

Service: 9/10

Environment: 8/10

P/S: My thought about fine dining is this is one of the western influence from the European cultural. So far, I could hardly appreciate the tiny portion food serve in big plate. But I really love the atmosphere for fine dining. As an asian, deep down in my heart, I will still carve for rice, noodle sometimes!

Supplementary Information:
all is found in my blog
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Pricey OK Mar 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

Went to a newly open restauran in New Town Kampar yesterday. Since my sis and me haven't have our dinner so the Mosel is it.

 
the menu at the entrance

 
yea, I really love the ambience, but it can be a little noisy during peak dinner time.And I like the music blasting all along too! =)

 
OH yea, took this pic because the Sommerby here cost Rm15, which is quite expensive for me lar~~

 
Complete with smoked area somemore~~~~

 
A glimpse inside

 
Honey Lemon Rm 4.50. The taste is ordinary, expensive.

 
Chicken Cheesy baked fried rice. Rm 12.90. Again, I would say this is another white elephant (an idiom mean the things doesn't worth the price).Because the plate is so shallow , the rice is only like 12 full spoons??

The fried chicken is nice, but the cheese is not that concentrate as I found in WongKok

 
Thai Style Chicken with Pineapple Fried Rice Rm 14.90

Initially, it is THAI STYLE SEAFOOD WITH PINEAPPLE FRIED RICE, but I can't have seafood, so I request to change it into Chicken cube. The chicken portion is generous. but ......but the rest is lower than expectation from the pic I have seen in the menu =(

First, the topping has chicken floss. I feel chicken floss doesn't match with the rice in both taste, it look nice , but it's just another ordinary pineapple fried rice.BTW, this is my first time having pineapple fried rice, I like the pineapple for being quite delighting sweet! =)

 
And average of Rm16 for one person! Seriously not for everyday dinner.

 
A price list on the beverage.you judge yourself~~~ FYI, acholic drink is available =)

 
And another inconvenient of eating here is the lack of car parking. As you can see in the picture above, it is side parking and just beside the road.

 
And yes, the restaurant which I have been mention since the start of this post =)

I would hardly visit this restaurant in future anymore, the price is the main factor. THe price is like something I found in 5star, 6 star resort. It would be worth if the food is of good quality, not only in appearance , but generous amount and tasty. The foods were quite ordinary. So, I would say it's a white elephant for student like me.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0