OpenRice Index
  
Maple Kok
This is Maple Kok . I am a Student, work in Kampar. I like to hang out in Kampar. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, Pasar Malam and Dim sum, Desserts, Nasi Minyak, Cheese Cake,Chicken herbal soup.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review59 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity1027 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos662 Photo(s)
Upload Videos3 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews5 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant48 My Restaurant(s)
Follow34 Following
粉絲298 Follower(s)
Maple Kok  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 59 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

It's raining just now, so we choose to have some warm food. And we have choosen Chilli Pan Mee in Taman Bahagia, Petaling Jaya. 

I am a UTAR Kampar student, and there is actually 2 or 3 f Pan mee shops in Bandar Baru Kampar (New Town). Their selection is more variety compare to the Pan mee here. Yet we still make out way here , because I just want to have the traditional Pan Mee, and that's all. 

 
Traditional Pan Mee Rm 7.50 
Pleasing as usual. 
Appropriate amount of minced pork, dry salty anchovies, sayur manis and half boiled egg. 
The soup is pretty plain.
I saw shitake mushroom slide in the menu, but how come don't have shitake one??? WHere gone my mushroom???!!huffy

I miss the chewiness of mee hon kuey. Which i think is the best part of this Pan Mee. 

 
Chilli Pan Mee (Dry) Rm 7

The restaurant's signature. 

As usual, consider tasty anyway. 

But do you wonder why there is no chilli on top of it?? Here come the tips. On how to eat Chilli Pan Mee. 

 
eat it plain. 

 
or top up with chilli flakes. Adjust the amount according to your preferences. 

One thing that I not used to it, compare to the Pan Mee shop in Kampar , they have variety of sauce, chilli, chilli flakes to choose from. But here only 1 and only type of chilli flakes. 

Anyway, this is my second time here, and I will still come again. Because it's cheap, and it has all I want. 

Supplementary Information:
GST is included in the price of the food. Consider cheap
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM8(晚餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

Just when I type this, a scene popped out in my mind. Free of Artificial White sugar does it means it put a lof of brown sugar too?

LOL~~

(maybe I can only answered you when I enter the kitchen)

Located in New Town Kampar, this air-conditioned restaurant is quite sought after during the dining time. I consider it's size is too packed to seated the foodies here. Why? Because it's a restaurant of one of it kind here in Kampar.

Free MSG

Less salt

No white sugar, and white salt.

Visited this restaurant a few times already. I like the environment here. Fair, clean and then air-conditioned. Though the restaurant can be quite packed during lunch and dinner time. It's not very spacious too. I would came back here to eat when I want to eat clean, or when I want to practice vegetarian. Haha. Seriously, each of the meal here is so delicious. With the price around Rm7-Rm10.

 

 
Vegan Bai Kut Tea Rice Rm7.99

My friend always order this vegan Bai Kut Tea Rice, it has a lot of mushroom inside. Button Mushroom, tauhu , and pair with Red cargo rice.

Best thing about eating here? Girls won't feel bad about taken too much oil! hahaha.

 
Vegan life Tom Yam Kung Rm9.99
A little spicy and ssweet as usual. But at first I thought it's laksa. For a person who can't stand too much of spiciness. It's good when you first eat it. After a few soup, you will started to sweat. But my friend seem enjoy it very much.

 
This one I really forgot their name ady. Pricing between Rm7.99-9.99 I could said =)

 
Jawa Padong Noodle Rm 9.99

This is definitely must try!! A bit spicy also. Same with the Tom Yam Kung above. Cannot stand anymore after a few spoons. So, bring along your friends who like spicy, then you can share a small portion with your friends!

 
French Pumpkin Mushroom Soup Rm9.99

Note that this is just a merely soup. So if you want to eat like Asian.,you can of course add on a bowl of rice.

 

 
Indonesian Style Fried Mee Hun Rm7.99

 
Green Curry Rice Rm7.99

The aronma of the Green Curry when it goes to your nose is ...oh...so heaven! But the fact is it's more spicy than your nose thought It would be. This might be favourite to spicy lover cause it's my favourite too! Keep drinking in order to eat this.

 
Basically, all the dishes here are so flavourful. You won't feel like you were eating something healthy but plain. Good for beginner, it was so appetizing! HOwever, for those who pursue a really healthy lifestyle, this is a bit too much. I believe you no need to be plain in order to healthy, just that I rather cook by myself as I know the amount of seasoning that I include. Will still come here to eat because I am quite busy to cook nowadays, also the dishes here got a lot of mushroom!

Vegan Life

2193, Jalan Timah, Taman Bandar Baru

31900 Kampar , Perak.

Ivan 012-5666044

Jason 010-9826408

Operating hour:

11am - 3pm

6pm -10pm

Disclaimer: THis is not a paid review, it's my own honesty review!

Supplementary Information:
Always get crowd, got it's cheap and delicious. Anyway, I visited before GST applied. Kindly check on their site for latest price update.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 16, 2014 

Celebration:  聖帕特里克節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Japanese Ramen Smile Aug 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba


Visited on 23th July 2015

 
It was during THursday weeks ago, I insist to watch Paper Towns, so my boyfriend and me went for a movie date in Jaya SHopping Centre, as Jaya SHopping Centre has TGV Cinema, on which Maybank card user would enjoy the offer of buy 1 free 1 promotion!

Our movie was on 9.30pm, so we went here to have dinner. It has the ramen that is recommended by my housemate, and it rarely goes wrong when it comes from the mouth of the housemate.

SO here it is, we went to this Ramen eatery, Bari Uma, in Level 3. FYI, Level 3 is full of eateries.

 

 
NOt bad ler, got nice view overlooking the not-so-high skyscraper also.

 
And the interior design also.

Do you know that this Bari Uma is actually a franchise in Japanese? It's so famous in Japanese, and slowly spread to Singapore, Thailand before it came to Malaysia. It also open it's second franchise in Mitsui Outlet in KLIA Sepang recently.A sweet moment of us. I not sure if you are interest on this pic. But these are the muka of whom eating the food below. OK? so must show a bit also.

 
Ajitama-Uma RM 28

Ajitama meaning flavoured egg in Japanese. This ramen is a pork flavour shoyu (soy sauce) soup with thick slides of BBQ pork (chaoshu).

Honestly, it is expensive. It reminds me of how expensive the food in Japanese is. I tried to find the highlight of this ramen. But basically, every single ingredients here are the highlights!

BBQ pork- tender and juicy. I guess you can see from the pic also .

Ajitama-According to my bf, all the Ajitama in Japanese Ramen outlet should be above average, then only it can be the standard of Ramen. It doesnt surprise him that it is delicious, but he just can't stop praising them.

Shoyu Soup- my favourite!!! I don't have must experience of eating Ramen. Probably this is my 2nd time, but I could tell / I think it is delicious. Flavourful as usual. I litterally slurp the soup until to the last drop.

 
Noodles- Homemade one, slighly taste the difference, forgotten in which way.

 
Salmon Chaofan Rm 15.90

From the photo in menu, I thought it's a smoked salmon. also I thought the portion would be big, judging from the price. Mana tahu, this is the size (as compare to Asus Zenfone 5)

 

 
A food pornographic of salmon. My camera did a good job!

But it actually quite dry, as it served on hot stone bowl. Trust me, you won't be full with only such humble size. The main focus here is basically the Salmon, which also tasteless. LIke how all cooked salmon taste lar.

Even though it has 2 big chunks of salmon, but its basically just the salmon and the Japanese rice. Would not recommend this to you.And you can add on to your soup and noodle also!Bf has a soft spot for egg. So, I make a plan to make Ajitama for him. And hey, we use the Wifi here to surf youtube, looking on the making of Ajitama, and planned to buy egg in Cold Storage at Lower Ground floor. But we didn't buy in the end, cause we were going to cinema at 9.30pm.

Sevice charge 10%

GST 6%

our total bill of the dinner is Rm 51.20

expensive I would say, but it's on bf's treat, so not an issue! Hahaha.

Bari Uma Website

Jaya Shopping Centre

L3-11, Level 3,

Jalan Semangat,

46100 Petaling Jaya,

Selangor.

Reservations +603-7932-2958

Monday-Sunday 10am-10pm

Supplementary Information:
might be less people going on weekday.

Wifi available
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ramen
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2015 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

 
Grilled Salmon on bed of Sauteed Spinach, Roasted Potato, Pearl Barley, & Cherry Tomatoes Rm 24

I let this dish become the main photo of this post, because I personally like this the most!! Normally, I prefer to eat smoked salmon than cooked one, because the cooked one less flavourful compare to smoked.

Fresh salmon grilled to tenderly bitten, yet so flavourful, that it bring out it's own aroma, and further complemented by homemade seasoning oil around it. This is the first cooked Salmon that I quite like.

 
Of what making Eat @ J's so different from other cafe, is that their ingredients are more healthy concious. As you can see, the grilled salmon came with cherry tomato, pearly barley (something that you don't see everyday), and roasted potato.

What make this worth to mention is that , not only the side-food is healthy, it is well-cooked too. So vege make this more refresh!Squeeze some fresh anti-oxidant fresh lemon to spice up the grilled Salmon!

 
Honey Balsamic Chicken with Mased POtato, roasted Pumpkin and Green Beans aside Rm 19

The signature in Eat@J's cafe. This sweet and sour chicken has been well marinated,

 

 
Aside from providing premium quality of coffee, their food has the best quality too.

 
Grilled Steak with Sauteed Green Beans & Carrots, , pairs with Hasselback Potato Rm 28

Sirloin steak imported from New Zealand, so tender , though it is still consider hard to me, as I think all the beef are hard. Smear with a layer of homemade secret sauce before grill.

The potato was roasted with a layer of buter, oh so delicious.

 
Dessert of the day

Banana Cream Pie(Left)

Key Lime Pie (Right)

Rm 10.50

You would like Key Lime pie with your like soury-tangy, oh yea, with a tinge of sweet taste.

And their banana was not bad too, suitable for people with Diabetes, as the banana wasn't added any sweetener or colour, hence explain the yellow-brown colour.Their crust is crunchy hard, and feel with butter taste, like it!

 
Latte Rm 10

suitable coffee lover , it's very pure, and thick!

 
Cold Brew Latte Rm 10

I am not a coffee lover, but you can adjust the sweetness by control the amount of syrup. Cold brew coffee was soak in room temperature water for more than 24 hours, so that the extract from coffee beans would yield a less bitter but concentrated coffee.

~~Environment ~~

 
a cozy warm ambience, chill and chitchat in alfresco or air-conditional area.

 
With a corner decorated making this cafe quite instagram-worthy.

 

 
And this brilliant cafe is found by Sue Cheah (left) and Nicholas Tham (right)

Sue Cheah learnt pastries-making in Melbourne, and was making cake before. Hence you can imagine her cake would be exceptionally dellicious. Nicholas Tham has about 17 years of cooking experience in this 17 years, he has worked in 5 star hotel , then provide catering services and now focus on Eat@ J's cafe. With each of them juggle their expert foodies section, I can assure you the exceptionally delicous pastries and main course here.

Cafe Information

Facebook

Address:

No 28, Jalan SS23/11, Taman Sea, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Malaysia.

Contact number:

Sue Cheah (Pastry Chef) 012-5314009

Nicholas Tham (Hot Cooking Chef) 019-2208818

Opening Hour:

9am - 9pm

(Closed on Monday)

Supplementary Information:
Not GST and Service charge during my visit (31st July), as they just newly open, visit their facebook

https://www.facebook.com/eatatjs?fref=photo

for the latest infor
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 31, 2015 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch in Lala Chong OK Aug 02, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

 

 
my first time to be there. This is a shop located in quite a desserted business center in Ara Damansara, this restaurant is one of the sign to mark the existance of the business center inside. Everytime when I come here, this is the only shop that i see was open. 

 
fried bihun Rm 8/per person

would not recommended this. Not salty enough. But the things is this bihun come with 5 or 6 prawns inside! 

 
Lala Hor Fun Rm 10

serving with generous amont of Lala, I guess this is the most signature among the personal set. 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2015 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0