OpenRice Index
  
Maple Kok
This is Maple Kok . I am a Student, work in Kampar. I like to hang out in Kampar. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, Pasar Malam and Dim sum, Desserts, Nasi Minyak, Cheese Cake,Chicken herbal soup.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review59 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity1027 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos662 Photo(s)
Upload Videos3 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews5 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant48 My Restaurant(s)
Follow34 Following
粉絲298 Follower(s)
Maple Kok  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 59 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta


Date visited: 31st August 2015 @One Utama Shopping Mall

It was a date of my bf and me.

Went to Pasta Zanmai because boy friend favour the food there.

So my first and second time visit Pasta Zanmai was with WS!! Believe it or not? The Chicken Teriyaki rice & The short neck Clam pasta soup come with a package, and it cost only Rm 29!! I was thrilled to see the huge portion on the chicken teriyaki rice!!

 
A huge plate full with delectable chicken teriyaki, it's so juicy, succulent, moist and sweet with the Teriyaki sauce!

 
Despite the name mini Short neck clam pasta soup, the portion is not mini at all! 4 clams ler~~ and top on with 2 different type of mushroom!

When the food is served, I thought the waiter serve the wrong table, never thought it would be full size like this.

I guess this is the speciality of Pasta Zanmai

Heartily full & Huge portion

Fresh ingredients

Extra added (mushroom!! my favourite mushroom! )

Which is also the reason of him, who save money all the time, would like to dine in Pasta Zanmai once in awhile. (and I glad that he always choose the occasion I was there! )

Yes, this package is exist in the menu. I forgotten to take the pic of the menu. But somehow it's located at the page, after pasta and all the main food. and come various combo food. YOu will understand after you flip through the menu.

 

 
Got one expression that my face twitched because the tasco sauce is unexpectedly spicy~~ Not really spicy~~ but I put too much tasco.

 
I expect nothing from their chicken terikayi. Chicken seem so common everywhere. So even their most common dish was delicious too! Decided to take a look on the terikayi sauce, taste sweet.. yum yum~~~

 
And the great thing about dine in One Utama is that you get to buy some real authentic Japanese imported snacks. food at their Japanese outlet here in One Utama!

VERDICT

Overall, the service here is not as friendly as Paradigm Mall. Both my bf and me would agree that we would prefer to go Pasta Zanmai in Paradigm Mall because their service is more friendly, and more welcomed. Anyway, we undestood the reason of them being less friendly. The crowd in One Utama never stop flowing in. But the service crew were quite attentive.

Just that I don't like to see that their beverage bar was stacked full with drank cups..

But the arrangement of the seat...One Utama is more spacious!

Service: 3/5

Environment: 5/5

Food: 4.5/5

Worthy: 4.5/5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 31, 2016 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh, Flavourful & Delicate rice Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Porridge

Initially I thought the name of the restaurant is 芙蓉生鱼, but nope, it is the name mention above. 芙蓉生鱼 is to show that the original restaurant is from Seremban, and this is their 2nd franchise. 

Overall, the foods were satisfying! We wish to come back for their porridge! 

 
As the porridge was sold out when we ordered, we ordered Chinese meal instead. This fresh Yum Mak , seasoning with fried onion and their sauce. Satisfying. 

 
This is steam snakehead fish, it known to has a speciall healing effect on the wound, surgery wound. Something worth to mention is that this fish has it's bone removed, so we just grabbed and munch! 

 
Curry Fish , no head. we didn't choose head part, because we like to have more flesh. 
Their curry is so fresh, so as their fish, can feel that the curry has been meticulously prepared , due to it's flavourful sensation, and not too spicy. 

 
Last but not least, this is the interior of the shop. 

Verdict:
LIterally fresh food served, efficient table waiting time. Wish to come back for their porridge
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

That Comma Cafe Setia Alam Smile Dec 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Desserts

That Comma Cafe is one of the cafe located in Setia Alam, Shah Alam. It served really delicious western cuisine such as pizza (I tried Hawaian Chicken and Comma Canadian, both are real awesome! ), big breakfast, hot platter that has variety of pork mixing with some sweet potato and salad.

Comma cafe set up by a trio of the same enthusiasm . They were designers and using their own magic, turning Comma Cafe into a place where you love to hang out! Despite the fact it is located at First Floor, the ambience in the cafe is colourful and warm in a minimalist way. Don't get what I mean?

Picture talk will do =D

 

 
I esp like this photo. See what I mean colourful and warm in minimalist way~~

 
The cozy ambience inside.

 
Even for seat, there were 3 types of different seats that you can choose. This one of them. England vintage style cushion~~ like it!

On the other notes, thank you boy friend to be my driver! And thanks for accompany me throughout the food review! It means a lot to me!Another type of seat, by the window~~

 
That is decorate with several cute plush toys and cushion~~ You were so tempt to take some nice photos!One of my favourite photo too!

 
There is never ending of design when you really have enthusiasm on it!

Alright, here come the first beverage, Mint Latte

 
A mix of refreshing and coffee. If you have try various type of coffee, you might have try this too!

 
4 season drink

Literally from Left to Right is Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter.

Gemmint Rm 11

Sparkling Mint Rm 11

Lemon Glade Rm 11

Tropicana Banana Rm 13

I like the salt & sugar at the brink of the glass. The way it resemble magarita give extra twist to the Gemmint! Of all the flavour drink, I like Tropicana Banana the most, it is coconuty tropical and fulfilling at the same time. Would recommend you to order something citrus so that you will have some place for their parfait, which you wouldn't want to miss!

 
That yum yum cheesy pizza~~~

Savory Pizza 9"

Hawaiian Chicken Rm 18.50

Comma Canadian Rm 15.90 (with olive ring)

 
Comma Canadian Rm 15.90

The formula is simple (Pork Bacon, Fresh olive ring, and generous amount of Austrialian cheese) . The crust is neither too thin and it's crunchy! A pizza and cheese lover should really try this. Cause you will back with happy belly~~

 
Thin crust

 
Hawaiian Chicken Rm 18.50

Hawaiian chicken has it all. Pineapple cubes, succulent chicken slide, savory tomato puree. The munchy of Hawaiian Chicken is a mix of crunchy and juicy, thanks to the pineapple and chicken slides. Yummy!

 
When they baked to the perfection and serve it hot, the first thing that you want to do is just to grab one piece of it, pull it out to watch how those cheesy pull apart, and have it warm in your tummy. This is when you know the next time you come Comma Cafe, you will have this in your order. Everything is just perfect, neither too salty, or slumpy but the perfect!

 
Grilled Chicken with Tomato Puree Rice Rm 19.50

I kind of regret that I keep taking photo until the cheesy is coolen. Make sure that you mix the Tomato Puree Rice with the cheesy before eating. I tasted the mild tomato puree rice and the chicken seperately. And it seems normal.

 
Carbonara with Pork Bacon, Sauteed Mushroom & Herbs Rm 16.50

The carbonara here is neither too creamy or dilute. The boss here always listen to the feedback from customer, and this is why I guess. It just nice. I mean it might be dilute for ang moh. But this is the type of carbonara sauce that I like. Homeade sauce topped with bacon and slided button mushroom. Best it when hot.

 
Pork Bacon Aglio Olio Rm 16.50

The Aglio Olio is less spicy to my taste bud. But fret not, you can request to have more spicy in the dish, because they would accustom the dishes to customer's spicy tolerance level. On the other side, it would means that this would be prefect for those who don't eat spicy too! Instead, this Aglio Olio was garnished with ginger powder to enhance the overall taste.

 
Signature Breakfast Rm 27.50

I feel like one of the speciality here is about the pork. Because I learnt that some of the regular customers here like to have pork. They even suggest Bak Kut Teh flavour for Pizza. Yea~~ this is where they came out with creative dishes from customer feedback!

Pork bacon, Pork ham, 12 inches Pork Sausage from Taiwan. This signature Breakfast served all day and is enough for 2 people.

 
Hot Platter

Pork knuckle in German style, Smoked pork ribs, Pork meat ball, and the 12 inches long Pork sausage appeared as salty dishes. The garlic bread, Caramelise sweet potato , Mash potato and some blanching long beans, carrots and potato wedges and Fried Onion Ring. The meatball here is something to try.The rib has been marinated with special homemade sauce before grilled.

And the combination of salty and sweet here make everything standout! This is a must try in Comma Cafe!

 
我们这群吃货~~~

Even the BBQ sauce is tasty! Perfect consistency, and flavourful in taste.

If Pork lover come here for the Hot Platter, the meatball and the pizza, then dessert lover would be here for their parfait.

 
Coffee Parfait Rm 13.90

A look at it might not give a second thought to order it. It turned out to be a surprise and among the dessert, I like this the most. The layering of different ingredients create the multiple level of textures on it. Vanilla ice-cream, coffee, Oreo biscuit crust turning this coffee parfait into a special twist!

I am not a coffee lover, but somehow the sweetness in the vanilla ice-cream balanced out the bitter in coffee. As you savour it, you get to try all the sweet, combination, and bitter in this coffee parfait and the next thing that you realise is that you already empty the glass.

 
Strawberry Parfait Rm 16.90

The strawberry is not less delicious compare to the coffee parfait. But somehow the bitter in coffee giving me the unexpected surprise, that win my heart and tummy, haha. This strawberry parfait make it's presentation in a real big juicy strawberry, with sweet vanilla ice-cream and Oreo biscuit.

There were still 2 other flavours of parfait which is Apple Crumble and Green Tea. Both sounds appealing to me. Will try both of them during my next visit!

You might want to order the most popular choice of parfait, but each of this parfait has their own supporters that shouldn't be compare also. It can be conclude in people who love strawberry would chooce strawberry, people who adore coffee would go for coffee parfait , same goes to Green Tea and Apple Crumble.

 
Signature Brownies Rm 19.90

Now, present you the Brownie! Doesn't look like Brownie? Yeah~~ there is a trick on how to it eat. Watch this video then you will understand.

Signature brownie 2.0 from #thatcommacafe , it's quite torturing to watch this video when you are hungry ... omg, I miss the super packed-with-chocolate flavour!! P/s: my boyfriend act as the hand model. #setiaalam #hungry #chocolate #brownies #chocolatelover

A video posted by @maple2772 on Nov 8, 2015 at 9:11am PST

 
Tadaa~~~ This is when you get to solve over the magic and savour it! The trick is do is as soon as it's served. The chocolate here is quite overwhelming. People who like it will like it.

 
Banana Crepe?

This hasn't on the menu yet, nor it has it's officially name during our food review. Could someone inform me if you know the dish's name? Created with banana, shredded coconut flakes and kaya.Simple and fulfilling dessert but it is so delicious! Would be a prefect choice for Yum Cha-ing~~

Last but not least, thanks to Mr Leong for the invitation! It's my first time having to handle a food review, and I am glad that it was in a nice cafe!Thanks to the boss for actually serving us so many dishes, because most of them are so so delicious!

Recommended:

Hawaiian Chicken Pizza

Comma Canadian Pizza

Hot Platter (esp when you like to eat pork)

Coffee Parfait (I don't drink coffee, but I love this)

If you visit this cafe few months later, you may or may not see the same food again. Because Comma cafe update and change their menu every 3 to 6 months depend on the popularity of the foods. But their meatball in the hot platter is something to try. Which I believe they will reserve that cause it's too delicious!

I also feel like the food that you see here is so different from any other cafe, because they take times to think, create and re-create a new choice of foods, and absord customers' feedback at the end of day. This is what makes their food so delicious.

Last but not least, I hope you enjoy reading this post as much as I enjoy eating the food here! =D

That Comma Cafe

17, Jalan Setia Prima A U13/A

Shah Alam, Malaysia

03-3358 4456

Opening Hour

11am - 11pm daily

Closed on Tuesday

Saturday until 7pm. (There is a Pasar Malam just in front of the shop on Saturday night.)

Supplementary Information:
The shop is at the First floor, so look up to the shop lot while looking at your waze, be careful while driving.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  banana crepe,hot platter,hawaiian pizza,Comma canadian
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2015 

Celebration:  聖誕節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35(午餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Café | Restaurant | Seafood

 
Cafe 9 is a Thai restaurant, that establish itself in Jalan University, Petaling Jaya, since May 2014. It's a family restaurant that hired local Thai chef for the cooking. Here, you got to savour the authentic thai food without need to purposely go Thailand.

 
You may have heard about Cafe 9, if you were active in PJ area, if you haven't then you should checked this out. A restaurant serving delectable Thai cuisine.

 
Found this right after the entrance, they do serve this beverage in Cafe 9.

 
I am absolutely love their welcome soup. It's a sour in an appetizing way, serve hot, soup but in a cup. I actually request for 2nd cup cause I like this kind of taste. By the way, it is subject on the invidual, I felt like I am the only one who is cray cray about the welcome soup. This soup also has a taste of Thai Fish Sauce inside. I personally don't like the taste of fish sauce, but this is good.

 

 
Boy friend ordered Latte, and it comes with cute Latte Art! Using Thai Coffee Beans

 
Guava Asam Boi

 
Miang Kam (Betel Leaf Appetiser) - RM15.90

Perhaps this is my first time trying some thai leaf appetiser, I didn't expect much on the appetiser. When I saw the presentation, I thought that the salad is not as crunchy as expected. But this appetiser was surprising delicious!

Sauteed dry shrimp, roasted peanut, coconut flake are all fried before serving. Using the Betel Leaf put all the rest of the element, chili padi, lime,ginger, onion and homemade special sauce, wrapping it all, and put into your mouth, munch it and you find assortment of various texture inside! The raw onion is not that spicy as I expected. The homemade special sauce(serving hot) (the lady boss told us different chef would make a different Miang Kam sauce)totally enhance the wrapping.

1.

 
Coriander Lala Rm 16

I couldn't stop eating this , cause it's a choice of less spicy, and feel like more healthy in someway, haha.

 
Thai Hot Basil Fish Rm 40 (4 pax). Rm 49 (6-8 pax)

I not sure if Basil has a lot of bones to pick up or not, but this dishes is certainly a delight to see. Simply take the fish pieces, take some of the vege that come along if you like it. It's so delicious!

 
Thai Omelette Rm 10.90

Looking ordinary, but I enjoy each of the dishes including this plain looking omelette. Initially, I thought the chef has putting some milk into the omelette, but no milk is putting. The way the chef fry using big wok and toss it while frying made this omelette extra fluffy.

VERDICT

Overall, all the dishes serving to us on the day are so delicious. We can really see how the chef is customise each of the dishes that give me surprise, like the crunchiness in the salad, and how much effort they use to prepare the Basil fish. I feel like the description that I put after each food photo is really an understatement. You should really give this restaurant a try, and ask for more spicy if you like it. There is some extra delicious in each of the dishes. Even the plain-looking omelette is so fluffy that it surprise me.

You can scroll to the bottom of this post, to see one of the offer that is Rm 40 for 2 person which is quite attractive for me. Come have a try on their food with this damn worthy combo.

Environment

 
Open daily, except Tuesday.

This restaurant also accustom to customer. You can bring fish from outside, to let the chef cook. It's a pork free restaurant, if you were muslim who is not too particular, this is where you can try on authentic Thai Food. Fret not, even the Thai Fish sauce they used is certified halal.

Whereas for those who drink wine, you can bring your wine here, cause there already have the wine to cater your wine drinking session.

 
Wifi , equipped, come here for a taste of Thai , for family, corporate catering or just couple to have lunch, dinner. This has nothing much to do with us, the people who come here to eat, It's actually the place where the waitress prepare beverages. Photo taken by boy friend, Cafe 9 is so easy to find, and it's located at the corner of shoplot.Found out this before I left. It's only Rm 35-45 for 2 person, which is damn worthy, esp after I tried their fish cake, and Tom yum,I know the price is damn worthy~~

Cafe 9 Facebook Page

Wifi: Available

Address: 27, Jalan 17/45, Seksyen 17,
Petaling Jaya, 46400 Selangor.

Contact no: 03-79322899

Business Hours:

11.00am – 4.00pm

6.00pm – 10.00 pm

(Open daily, except Tuesday)

Supplementary Information:
Wifi available, NO GST during Nov 2015.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fish cake,Basil Fish,Welcome soup,Fried Chicken Salad
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Celebration:  聖誕節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(晚餐)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

SS2 Restoran Loong Seng Dim Sum Smile Oct 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Dim sum | Porridge

 
Prety or not? My camera really did a good job.

Talking about the past raya weekend. Usually our family went to travel during raya. This time my parents came to KL because I was having internship there. We stayed in hotel nearby, Hotel 99. And the next morning, we have our breakfast here. A good place to have some dim sum in SS2 area. Overall, the food was delicious, I not sure about the price, because we were not given a receipt upon paying then.

 
It was a Saturday morning. and what draw us here is the amount of crowd. The amount of people was too much, not only several tables were lining up on the roadside, some of the big group still have to wait, and it has first floor space for dining too.

 
I actually quite like this food heater, It contain the flaky crispy egg tart! Egg tart available at Rm 1.80 for 1.

 
Wu Kok (Deep fried Yam Puff) with flavour peas and minced pork inside. Rm 2 per pieces.

Most of the food here, were priced at RM 3.80 for a mini metal plate.

 
Nom Nom Nom Nom Nom~~~ Since there was too much people at the ground floor, we were placed at the first floor. I feel like eating at the ground floor is better, because you get to eat the fresh from overn food, like the first floor.

The waiter will come with a huge palate of dim sum for you to choose. Which it might not be the entire range of food. =(

 
Their pan fried raddish cake, sesame ball were all perfectly make. Though it's fresh from oven. Serving hot as well. Aubergine stuff with fish cake.

I am a porridge person, their porridge were not bad too. With salted egg , century egg, minced pork and other. Their rice is boil to real smooth texture. Remind me the rich and mushy porridge from KTZ in SS2 as well.

 
It's enjoying to have a chill Longan Tou Fu Fa while having hot dim sum as well. This dessert is pleasantly sweet, available at Rm 3.80 per bowl. Now, there is another choice of place for breakfast in PJ area. Definitely , I will not come here alone. Perhaps going with a brunch of friends? And this restaurant open until 2.30pm (3.30pm on Sat & Sun), so it's a good news even if you wake up late too. Came even make a lunch here.

Restoran Loong Seng

No. 50, Jalan SS2/66,

47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

Tel: 03 7876 2349 Operation Hours:

Monday – Friday 5.30am - 2.30pm

Sat & Sun 5.00am - 3.30pm

Contact Number : 03-7876 2349

Supplementary Information:
NO GST or service Charge, but having problem to find parking, which is normal is SS2 business area.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  porridge,longan toufufa,egg tart
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2015 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(宵夜)

Dining Offers: 信用卡優惠


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0