OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 6 Reviews in Malaysia
MODs Cafe Smile Nov 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt | Sweets/Snack

I read a blog about this being one of th must-visits in Jonker Walk and we took some time to lookg for it. Finally, we found it with the bicycle in front of the shop as described by the blogger. 

There was indeed a bright orange van inside the cafe as described and as seen in the pictures and blog. The coffee is all made at the bonnet of the van opened up. Inside the van, the coffee are kept. So it gives you a real environment and ambience as though you are really buying coffee from the van except that you were not standing on grass and there is a/c. It is really creative of the owner compared to the coffee cafes in KL which is more minimalist yet they charge exorbitant price. 

The ambience inside is great for hangout but the place can only fit less than 10 small tables. There are a red scooter hung on the wall with oven, saloon light and also a bunch of old stuff. 

I ordered the best cappucino (RM 12) in town which has nutty feel to it. It came together with a small cookie. 

My friend ordered his favourite mocha (RM 14) which to him, will determine the rise and death of each coffee care. It was incredibly thick and well-mixed perhaps because the barrista actually put in the cold Farmhouse Low Fat milk into a glass before mixing the coffee separately and pouring it into the milk to be stirred properly. 

I wanted to order Affogato but I didn't want to suffer from insomnia tonight. 

 
Coffee Van

Coffee Van

 
Cappucino

Cappucino

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mocha,cappucino
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM54

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Donald and Lily  Smile Nov 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles

We initially wanted to eat at the famous Amy's Nyonya and Heritage Cafe but by the time we reached at 2pm, the owner refused to serve us anymore. So when we were on the way to town, I chanced upon Donald and Lily's Cafe where I saw it brimming with people at this hour so it raised hopes that it was still open for late lunch. 

I saw many people ordering the Blue Rice with Rendang but my friend did not want it which was a good choice as we ended up so full with only Nasi Ayam Ponyeh (RM 7.80). The chicken  came served with 3 big pieces of potatoes. The gravy was simply awesome, thick and fragrant just the way I like it. 

The chendol's (RM 3.30) shaved ice is not cold and frozen enough and not that great and lacks gula melaka like how it should be. 

The Assam Curry Sting Ray is the most expensive at RM 35 for 1 single big slab of it. The curry is simply irresistible, totally fragrant, thick, with just the right amount of spice and sourness. It was so tasty and finger-licking that I finished every drop of it and ate so much rice that left me full till 8 pm. 

I ordered the original Pineapple Drink which came filled to 3/4 full of pineapple cubes. It was my first time drinking such a pure pineapple juice. 

The Mee Siam also looks tasty but I did not have room for it. 

 

 

 
Ayam Ponteh

Ayam Ponteh

 
Assam Fish

Assam Fish

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  assam curry fish,ayam ponteh
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yee Wat Taman Asean Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have always heard of how nice the dry koay teow here is but it seems that every time we were here previously, the shop was closed. 

I ordered the dry koay teow noodles set that came together with Yong Tau Foo as a set at only RM 5.50. We have to put the black sauce ourselves separately. 

I also ordered additional Fried Yu Char Koay which was served with dark rojak-like sauce. The Yu Char Koay was fried till super crispy so it was very tasty when my teeth sinked into it. These cost RM 0.80 per piece so I bought additional 10 pieces of it for my colleague. 

The Iced Coffee was very fragrant and tasty too. 
Koay Teow Mee Dry Style

Koay Teow Mee Dry Style

 
Fried Tofu Pok

Fried Tofu Pok

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  dry koay teow,yong tau foo,fishballs,yu char koay
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Ayamazz Frank Buns Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Stall / Warung | Pizza/Pasta

I arrived late in Equatorial Hotel Melaka. So the nearest place to go was to Dataran Pahlawan. My eyes were scouring the place for fast food since McD was too full of students whereas Secret Recipe may be too slow. 

At last, after a long while, I decided on sausage tomyam spaghetti at Ayamazz booth. The sauce was very thick and very strong with tom yam flavour. Absolutely amazing for the soul. It was served hot with the thick tom yam gravy and the noodles. It was quite reasonably priced at only RM 9.50! 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  tomyam spaghetti
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Anak Nyonya @ Malacca  Smile Jun 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant

We were searching for something to fill my unsatisfied tummy in Jonker Street. Then this became the first cafe that caught my sight. I thought, why not try cendol since it is touted to be the best in Malacca? So here we are tasting it inside the pretty cafe with decor here and there. There is even a humongous wall poster of A-Famosa Fort. They sell a lot of local biscuits, snacks and coffee for tourists on the shelf. 

The cendol strips of worms were so fresh and not frozen like some I have tasted in KL and from the lorry by the street. The red bean is round and fresh, tasty (I cannot imagine myself commenting red beans as tasty as I usually hate red beans). 

The ice is also refreshing and one can feel the chunks of ice. The Gula Melaka is the winner of the day as it is so thick and delicious, albeit a little too sweet for me. 

There is no overload of santan like the rest of the cafes. 

To me, I feel that the cendol here is better than the one at Jonker 88 as there is less santan, less creamy and fresher. 

The proof of the tastiness of the cendol is my Malay friend even ordered a second bowl! 

Oh, I just have to say this, the washroom is amazingly clean! Good for tourists! 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cendol
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 31, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0