OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Oz Restaurant, Penang  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


My mother's birthday falls on 13th February every year and this time round it is a Saturday! We went to Elit Avenue, a relatively new shop lot at Bayan Lepas, which is my first time. we drove round the squarish avenue and saw about 20 plus cafes.

Finally I laid eyes on Oz with its prominent Australian styled art outside and when we walked closer, I was drawn by the super cheap price of only RM 15.50 for the set lunch (any choice of main meals) with a free drinks. The RM 25.50 sets consists of main dish, drink, mushroom soup and a dessert of either Chocolate Brownie or Puff with Chocolate Ice-cream. Each of the main item comes with non-mayonaise overloaded coleslaw, greens, original roasted potato wedges instead of the frozen ones.

 

 
Many varieties Mushroom soup

Fruit Punch

The fruit punch is quite special with bananas, pear and also dragonfruit. Talking about creativity!

 
Quarter Chicken with Mango Gravy, Potatoes and Salad

The chicken is roasted till very tender, soft and juicy. The sauce is superb as it is saucy, with a mix of sourish taste from the mango.

 



Queensland Pork Schnitzel with Pineapple Chilli Mayonaise, Potatoes and Salad

This is one big piece of pork deep fried with breadcrumbs. The sauce is simply amazing.

 
Fish Italiano with Tomatoes and Herbs




This is steamed dory fish with lot of tomato and herb sauce. The fish lacks the natural sweetness of fish probably because they threw away the first steamed juices. I do not know why chefs like to do that.

 
Since it was mum's birthday, I requested that the Warm Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ice-Cream be served together with a small candle. The owner went out of the way to even play a "Happy Birthday Mummy" song. Mum was all smiles when the song was played. I gave them some tips, for the kind thoughts. Definitely a good place for a family or friend gathering.

Cream Puff with Chocolate Sauce and Chocolate Ice-Cream

I guess the owner likes chocolate a lot because people rarely serve chocolate ice-cream for this and of course this is to my delight.

 
The Surprise Birthday Cake and Song by Restaurant and the Birthday Lady is all Smiles

 
We can't get enough of Australian food as Perth had mostly Asian food when we went there

 
Details :

Address: 1-1-3 Elit Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, Bandar Bayan Baru, 11950, Penang, Malaysia

Phone:+60 16-442 5472

Hours:

Open today · 11AM–2:30PM,5:30–9PM

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM66.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have been coming here since I was a small kid. My entire family are seafood lovers so we like to come here to eat the seafood porridge and bihun soup. The kopitiam is open at night for seafood porridge and bihun and also other hawkers like the legendary and best satay in Penang and also sotong kangkung. It is open in the morning selling only roti bakar and also half-boiled eggs. 

One could choose any ingredient such as bird eggs, fish maw, cuttlefish, prawns, fish head, fish fillet, frog etc to go with bihun or porridge or instant noodles. 

This place can be found when you are driving from Penang island to the airport. 

I haven't been here for more than a year. In the past, I used to come here on Saturdays after tuition class in Bayan Baru. I decided to come here because I have been eating heaty food for the past 3 days of Penang food marathon. 

Today I ordered the porridge with fish fillets, fish maw, cuttlefish, half a frog and 2 bird eggs. The eggs are always cooked to a perfect oval shape. The fish fillet (what is called "Pek Chiao" in Hokkien) were so thinly sliced and tasty and soft. The fish maw were edible and not rubbery though I am sure it was not the real one. The frog was so juicy, tender and delicious. The soup is so sweet, coming from all the seafood used to cook this. 

The food here has gone through many generations hence the place is always packed. 

The satay does not contain any chicken fat like what most satay in Klang Valley are made of. The chicken is so succulent and tender. It was cooked with kunyit which lent it the fragrant smell. The satay sauce has a lot of peanuts and the oil cannot be seen, unlike the conventional onces we usually see. The cucumbers were not soggy and the onions were perfectly cut into thin slices. 

I would always come here for generations to come whenever I am in KL. It is a place that reminds me of my family times in Penang. If I come with my father, it is customary for us to order the toasted bread, that is cooked using charcoal. 

I did not order sotong kangkung because I wanted to save room for french crepes later. 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sotong kangkung,satay,seafood porridge
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hammer Bay Ikan Bakar Special  Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Restaurant

I wanted to try the Le Paris Crepe at Hammer Bay but the French chef went back to his country. So I was disappointed as I planned to eat the cheapest and most original crepe in the world! Anyway, just when I was turning back, I noticed the crayfish swimming alive and bomb, I knew I had to have that! They said it costs RM 18 per 100 gram and mine was about RM 27 for 1 small crayfish. 

I had it steamed and it only arrived at 9.40 pm, which meant the cooking took almost 30 minutes! Alright, I might have exaggerated but then as the Spanish said, it is 'mas or menos 30 minutos!' When the crayfish or Udang Lipan finally came, it was steamed perfectly with lime, small chopped cili padi and it was lying on a bed of raw cabbage. The flesh was so succulent and juicy and fresh. After all, at Hammer Bay, all the freshest seafood are sourced directly from the ocean. One can sit facing the ocean and this is what I call pure enjoyment of life. There were not much flesh inside so I sucked most of it with my mouth. Then I drank the entire soup till it was dry! I am a big fan of anything sour and spicy so the soup was done just the way I liked it. It was sweet from the eggs of the crayfish too. I love the sourish sambal belacan too and the best thing was that it was blended smoothly. 

Any seafood by the sea is never complete without drinking coconut juice and they served me a Thai Coconut without me asking as though they knew I liked that type of coconut. The drink was very sweet and fragrant. 

But a note for you, please do ensure you do not come on an empty stomach because the cooking takes a very long time. You can pretend you are on an island relaxing (not a city island like Penang). 

 

 
Seaview at night

Seaview at night

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM31.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

DCova Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

This is one of the few times I go to a coffee bistro or cafe in Penang. The first time I went to such places was 3 years ago in China House and Bonjour in Summerton. Anyway, this time round, I was determined to find out more about stylish coffee places in Penang. At least, I could recommend places to my friends in future. This time round, I made a simple google search the last night, at about 1.30 am and decided on this place which looks retro and artsy.

The ambience is quite quiet so it is suitable for hanging out with friends and not noisy till one cannot hear the other's words. The place has limited tables and chairs and probably has less than 10 tables. 

Firstly, I totally recommend this place. I fell in love with the Caramel Sea Salt Macchiato (RM 9.50). The design on top of the foam was amazing, like a wheel of love made from sweet caramel. The sprinkle of sea salt on top was an amazing accompaniment. It was a match made in coffee heaven. Macchiato is usually not my favourite but they have succeeded in making this so well. The combination is like the marriage of the 2 best people in the planet. The salt was not overly salty and it matches the coffee totally.

The Yoghurt with a slice of kiwi (RM 9.50) and half a cup of muesli were quite ok. Thankfuly, the yoghurt did not have a strange yoghurt smell which some yoghurts have. My friend ordered it because she was hungry yet she was worried of getting fat. I would not have ordered this as it is something that can be bought at the mall.

My other heaven lies in the Grandpa's Chocolate Rum Cake (RM 15.90). Though it was quite costly for a cake, it transported me to heaven except it brings sins together. The rum taste and flavours were strong enough to permeate the cake. The chocolate was very rich and the combination of very little chocolate cream was to my delight. I hate cakes with lots of cream not because it is fattening but it just nauseating. I am a big fan of alcoholic cakes and this one has made me more than satisfied. The chocolate seems like a sheet of heaven coating the cake. 

If you like cheese cake, they are popular for rum and raisin and also Gula Melaka cheese cakes. I am not a big fan of cheese cakes so I cannot review it for you. 

The waiter and waitress are so friendly and kind. They did a terrific job in recommendations. The cute young waiter even told me that in between hazelnut coffee or toffee coffee and caramel sea salt macchiato, I should choose the macchiato and he was absolutely right and I recommend you do the same too! 

They use very creative looking bottles to store the water. The bottles come in green and pink colours. It was my first time seeing this. 

The best part is the afforable and reasonable prices of coffee and beverage here. They also sell spaghetti for less than RM 20 each which comes in big portions. 

Sinfully rich

Sinfully rich

 

 

 

 
Heaven made

Heaven made

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  grandpa chocolate rum cake,caramel sea salt macchiato
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I really like Siamese laksa and I have been coming here to eat Siamese laksa every Saturday after my extra curricular activities during my school years. I see the same old auntie serving drinks till today and found out that she is 80 years old. After over 20 years, I find out that this coffee shop belongs to her. 

Eating here is amazing and brings one back a few decades. The tables are old and the kopitiam is inside an old shop lot. The food is also very cheap at RM 3.50 for a char koay teow. 

There were a lot of ingredients inside the laksa like thinly shredded cucumber, fish, onions, pineapples. The soup is thick enough. One can even opt to mix the 'lemak' (what we call siamese laksa soup) with assam laksa soup. I usually like to eat laksa with crispy fried popiah. Here, the popiah has the crisp to the highest degree. Sometimes, there are crispy prawn fritters to be eaten together too. I notice that they also sell delicious looking nasi lemak with a small assam fried fish and lots of other ingredients too. 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  laksa,popiah,nasi lemak,char koay teow
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM4.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0