OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Xiao Long Bao @ Shanghai Ding  Cry Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles | Dim sum

Every time I return to Penang, I would never fail to come here for its Xiao Long Bao which is quite tasty. At the price of RM 8.80, the 4 pieces were quite ok. Somehow, this time, I felt that the skin is a little too thick. 

I also tried to order to the Chicken Mushroom Pao (RM 5.80) which was quite normal. But it was better than the normal pao. 

The Pu Er Chinese Tea only costs RM 2.40 for 2 pax. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Loh bak at Joo Hooi  Cry Aug 09, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

The Loh Bak at Joo Hooi is just ok. There are not many varieties there except normal stuff like tauhu, loh bak, prawn fritters. The prawn fritters are very crispy and cut into smaller pieces. 

Loh Bak has a little weird smell. 

The tauhu is so soft. 

The Loh Bak takes a long time to be made and sometimes they forget people's orders. 

Oh, and don't bother to order the cendol. I wonder why people queue up so long for it when the cendol was horrible. I personally don't like cendol as there is too much santan. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM4.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Laksa @ Joo Hooi Cafe  Cry Aug 09, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I wonder why Penang Road laksa (RM 4.50) is touted as the best laksa ever. I am so frustrated after going there because the laksa does not have any sour and spicy taste at all. I think any assam laksa in KL is way better than the one in Penang Road. I think they have become lackadasical due too much exposure about it. So all bloggers, please stop praising Penang Road laksa anymore and look elsewhere for it. 

There were so little ingredients inside too. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have never been made so angry and flustered by Char Koay Teow (4.50) till today. I went to Penang Road as I brought my mother's Sarawakian friend there. The Char Koay Teow hawker had the audacity to tell me I needed to wait at least 45 minutes and I agreed, thinking that good things are worth waiting. Boy was I wrong because it turned out to be so horrible. The egg was in balls and the egg yolk was still evident. The bean sprouts were dying and not crunchy. There were black parts of the wok stuck on the char koay teow. The only thing edible are the 2 big prawns which is fresh. The worst part is there was not a single cockle inside which totally made this a complete failure. Char Koay Teow without cockles is not char koay teow at all. Seriously, I wonder what is theget difference of the duck egg. Probably it is easier to just say, never be fooled by tourist attractions or food guides you get from the airport.  

All in all, I still prefer my all-time-favourite char koay teow with a lot of cockles and octopus at Sin Hwa coffee shop in Pulau Tikus. 

Zero star

Zero star

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

In my Penang Hawker food marathon, I brought my cousin for high tea and early dinner here. 

I ordered Pai Tee which was quite sweet and delicious. 

There was a dollop of chilli, just in a small amount and not too much to make you go har! 

Worth trying this here if you happen to come here. 

The worst item here to avoid is the seafood. I ordered the shells as in the picture and it turned out that the fillings were so difficult to dig out and we ended up wasting almost 15 shells! Mum was very angry and told the hawker and though she reboiled it, the fillings still was a great challenge to be dug out. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0