OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3664 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Taiwan Recipe @ Mid Valley Mall OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Ramen/Udon/Soba


We came here looking for food to eat and finally decided on this place because we were both heaty and it's cheaper here. My friend is very money conscious so we could not go to some expensive place to eat.

I ordered the Dumpling Ramen with 3 measly pieces of coloured dumplings. It has so few ingredients that I had to order the Warm Mixed Fruit Punch Tea (RM 12.90) which warmed out throats.

 
The hard boiled eggs (about RM 2.90) had runny yolk and was superb to be eaten.

My friend ordered the pork ball ramen with hard boiled eggs.

 
Details:

Address: T-023A,3rd Floor, Mid Valley Megamall, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 59200 Kuala Lumpur.

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hotel Dining | Seafood | Dim sum


Dad was thinking of eating Dim Sum so we came here though I wanted to eat steamboat. Dad is not much of a steamboat person as he thinks the food is not cooked enough.

The place is quite a distance from Sunway Pyramid. The short cut which I discovered on my way home is to go up to Pasta Zanmai and then use the specially constructed pedestrian bridge linked straight to Grand Imperial.

There were many people here for CNY lunch. We opted for dim sum. I was a little disappointed by the quality and variety. There wasn't the booth for special dim sum choices cooked by the chef as it was a weekday. The prices here are exorbitant. The steamed peanut titbit alone cost RM 5. Luckily the tea was RM 2 per pax.

Har Kau / Steamed Prawn Dumpling (RM 11)

Just so-so but most expensive of the lot!

 
Steamed BBQ Pork Pau (RM 8.30)

Mum said it is nice. As I did not try it, I could not give you my personal comments.

 
Steamed Glutinous Rice (RM 12.80)

The rice is soft but there are only few ingredients like 1 miserable piece of chinese sausage and mushroom.

 
Prawn Dumpling with Szechuan Sauce (RM 9.80)

This is actually nicely done prawn dumpling (better than har kau) with soya sauce with cut red chillies.

 
Shanghai Xiao Long Bao (RM 8.30)

This is basically expensive Xiao Long Bao whereby the skin is too hard, tough and not thin and translucent enough. Loses to Dragon-i. Price is still more expensive and not worth it.

 
La Mian in Szechuan Style (RM 12)

The peanut sauce with la mian is just a weird combination and spoils the original taste of la mian. I thought sze chuan style meant clear soup with chilli oil? Mum said it is ok but I beg to differ, and it would have been better with udon or cheap yellow mee.

 
Details:

Suite 101, First Floor, The Pinnacle Annex, Persiaran Lagoon, Bandar Sunway, 46150 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia.

Tel: 03-5888 7222

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 05, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM85.35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Oz Restaurant, Penang  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


My mother's birthday falls on 13th February every year and this time round it is a Saturday! We went to Elit Avenue, a relatively new shop lot at Bayan Lepas, which is my first time. we drove round the squarish avenue and saw about 20 plus cafes.

Finally I laid eyes on Oz with its prominent Australian styled art outside and when we walked closer, I was drawn by the super cheap price of only RM 15.50 for the set lunch (any choice of main meals) with a free drinks. The RM 25.50 sets consists of main dish, drink, mushroom soup and a dessert of either Chocolate Brownie or Puff with Chocolate Ice-cream. Each of the main item comes with non-mayonaise overloaded coleslaw, greens, original roasted potato wedges instead of the frozen ones.

 

 
Many varieties Mushroom soup

Fruit Punch

The fruit punch is quite special with bananas, pear and also dragonfruit. Talking about creativity!

 
Quarter Chicken with Mango Gravy, Potatoes and Salad

The chicken is roasted till very tender, soft and juicy. The sauce is superb as it is saucy, with a mix of sourish taste from the mango.

 



Queensland Pork Schnitzel with Pineapple Chilli Mayonaise, Potatoes and Salad

This is one big piece of pork deep fried with breadcrumbs. The sauce is simply amazing.

 
Fish Italiano with Tomatoes and Herbs




This is steamed dory fish with lot of tomato and herb sauce. The fish lacks the natural sweetness of fish probably because they threw away the first steamed juices. I do not know why chefs like to do that.

 
Since it was mum's birthday, I requested that the Warm Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ice-Cream be served together with a small candle. The owner went out of the way to even play a "Happy Birthday Mummy" song. Mum was all smiles when the song was played. I gave them some tips, for the kind thoughts. Definitely a good place for a family or friend gathering.

Cream Puff with Chocolate Sauce and Chocolate Ice-Cream

I guess the owner likes chocolate a lot because people rarely serve chocolate ice-cream for this and of course this is to my delight.

 
The Surprise Birthday Cake and Song by Restaurant and the Birthday Lady is all Smiles

 
We can't get enough of Australian food as Perth had mostly Asian food when we went there

 
Details :

Address: 1-1-3 Elit Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, Bandar Bayan Baru, 11950, Penang, Malaysia

Phone:+60 16-442 5472

Hours:

Open today · 11AM–2:30PM,5:30–9PM

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM66.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Nyonya Colors at KLIA 2  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Sweets/Snack | Nasi Lemak


Nyonya Colors has the best and cheapest food in the whole KLIA 2. In fact, one can eat the breakfast set at less than RM 10 before 10 am.

So as usual, we went there for a most hearty meal.

First up, if my favourite Half-Boiled Eggs. Mind you, I only take half-boiled eggs from this kopitiam as theirs do not have the yolk hardened. The egg white is fluffy.

 
Dad ordered Nasi Kunyit and Curry Chicken nyonya style. The curry is thick enough with delicious chicken thigh.

 
Yellow Laksa

This comes with bihun. The kuah is super thick and fragrant. There are many pieces of tender chicken drumstick and radish.Mee Rebus

Mum ordered this upon my recommendation with thick sauce and lots of ingredients.

Details:

Nyonya Colors

Lot no. L3-34 & L3-37, Level 3

Gateway@KLIA2

KLIA2 Terminal

 
Recommended Dish(es):  yellow laksa,mee rebus,nasi kunyit
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

NSK Citarasa Seafood Steamboat  Smile Jan 31, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Seafood | Porridge


We had a pre-Chinese New Year (CNY) gathering with my cell group on 29 Jan 2016, Friday. I have never heard of NSK having a steamboat restaurant. I did a quick search on some blogs and found out that this place is famous for fresh steamboat.

It is akin to a supermarket with even more varieties than the conventional market. All the items are shrink-wrapped. Whenever we ran out of food or ingredients for the steamboat, we would take a basket to go shopping for more.

 

 
The prices of food is very reasonable, whereby if compared to most places, eg Bone and Pot and etc, a small plate of mushrooms would definitely cost at least RM 8 but it merely cost RM 5 for all the types of mushrooms. The greens like yao ma, spinach, salad vegetables etc only cost RM 3.80 per plate.

 
Everything here is fresh, reasonably priced and have high quality.

There was even a deep fried fish head set with bihun, salted vegetables, tofu etc whereby the whole set only cost RM 10.90.

 
There was also a big fish set with cuttlefish costing only RM 23.90.

 
My favourite item is the yellow and white dome-shaped ball with fish roe inside. There is something similar but the outside is totally white in colour.

 
The quail egg (5 in a stick) costs RM 2 whereas the century egg costs RM 3 for a stick of 5.

Our Yee Sang has very fresh and thick pieces of raw salmon and costs RM 55. The salmon is so fresh and cost only RM 15 for 2 big slices and RM 10 for a smaller portion.

 
The scallops and mussels only cost RM 5 for five pieces! I felt like taking a basketful of those.

The only downside is the soup has too much MSG that caused me to be dehydrated. The worst was that the tom yam soup was tasteless and did not contain any taste of sour and spicy at all.

 

 
This is our final bill for almost 16 pax was merely RM 29 per person.Details:

Address: NSK Trade City, L 01, L 02, Jalan 1/127, Wilayah Persekutuan, 58200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-7980 0874

 
Recommended Dish(es):  dome shaped
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM29(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0