OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3665 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Gaga Western  OK Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Noodles


Today, the moment I finished my work, I dipped into the pool. After all, my colleague said I had a spare tyre and I could not fit into my black dress at all and my other dress today, kept unzipping itself.

We meant to go to Minamotonoya Cafe in Sri Petaling for dinner tonight but could not find the shop. When we finally found it, there was a signboard that says, "Closed on Sunday!" So finally I reluctantly went to the this cafe, that I thought was selling 'ciplak western food.' But the food taste soon proved me wrong. It's what we cantonese call, "Peng Leng Cheng" (Cheap, Tasty and Incredible) with a simple no-nonsense interior. They also have fusion that are Chinese stir fry food and also Western food so it's easier to find a place that suits friends who like both cuisine. All the Chinese food cost RM 8.90 or less than RM 10 per plate whereas Western food costs RM 13-24 per plate.

Hainanese Chicken Chop (RM 18)

This is better than the others elsewhere. The crispyness of the chicken chop remains and the best part is non salty but sourish tomato paste style sauce poured generously on top of the chicken with chunks of tomato seen. I have changed the french fries to mashed potatoes with goes well with the sauce. The chicken thigh is soft when cut with the knife, tender enough too.

 
Mixed Grill (RM 24)

We just ordered it because we are very hungry and didn't know this is another popular dish here till we saw the dishes on the counter!

This dish is very well worth the money paid as it contains a pork chop, lamb chop, grilled chicken, fried sausage and also deep fried fish with coleslaw and black pepper sauce served separately.

 
Watermelon Juice (S: RM 6.50, L: RM 8.50) 

The fruit juices are sold at RM 6.50 for small sizes and RM 8.50 for the big ones so I took the big one to share. 

Details:

Address: No. 108, Jalan Radin Anum 1, Sri Petaling, Wilayah
Persekutuan, 57000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Artisan Coffee @ Section 13  Smile Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack


Today, being Easter, I planned to go to DUMC church Easter service in the morning despite sleeping so late last night due to my work. Since Artisan Coffee is nearby, I came here for breakfast. There are a few tables having breakfast here. I figured the owner must be very clever to have everything self service including the food and drinks pick up area as it saves on additional manpower for waitress. The place has some ventilation issue so it was not that cold. They are also clever in turning a plain warehouse into a sleek contemporary and artistic coffee place.

 

 
Egg Benedict (RM 10)

Egg benedict is my favourite so I never fail to order this wherever I see this on the menu. The 2 big eggs pop out, running all over a piece of ham and muffin. There is Hollandaise sauce spread on top of the egg, fooling me into thinking it was egg yolk. At least the muffin is softer than the one at AMPM. The 2 eggs kept me full till lunch time at 12.30 pm! The price of this is quite reasonable compared to those sold in other coffee places. Toast Butter & Jam (RM 7) and Scramble Eggs (RM 3)

My friend ordered this as he is a big fan of scramble eggs. If we were in my house, I would have said, save the money and I would cook the scrambled eggs. But this one is made soft and runny and quite ok. Dolce Mocha (RM 13)

Dolce Mocha is differentiated from conventional mocha by using white chocolate. Coffee here is made at room temperature so I have specially requested for it to be made hotter so that it is still hot after my breakfast.

 
Iced Chocolate (RM 12)

The chocolate is so thick that even though there was a lot of ice, one could still taste the chocolate.

 

 
Details:

Address: Jalan 13/2, Seksyen 13, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Tel: 03-79318978

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fushou Lou Nyonya Curry Mee  Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


We happened to be in USJ this morning on 6 March and finding a place for healthy and cheap breakfast is quite a challenge. Suddenly, I suggested my friend bring me to try the famous curry mee. It's called Fushou Lou Nyonya Curry Mee. My first spoon of the soup, that has a sourish taste, I can tell me was simply fabulous. Since young, I never drink soup of curries for the noodles and also laksa soup because I was worried about the MSG inside.

The Curry Mee (RM 6.50) reminds me of photo of Selayang Curry Mee that my blogger friends went to eat. I did not join because I could not wake up at 4 am to reach there at 6 am to queue up! Both curry mee are similar in the sense of having Siew Yoke, sliced into small pieces to ease eating. They also have long beans, 3 pieces of chicken and 2-3 pieces of Tau Pok. Adding Siew Yoke cost RM 2.

This one is so awesome that I finished every morsel!

 
There is also a Seafood Nyonya Curry Mee for RM 20 that includes sting ray and lala of all things! I did not try that as I could not imagine spending so much for a bowl of curry mee.

 
Nyonya Curry Mee in USJ 2

VSSelayang Curry Mee

Details:

Address: Kedai Makanan USJ 2, Jalan USJ 2/2c 47620 UEP Subang JayaGPS: 3.057137, 101.591065Hours: 10 am – 2 pm

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Restoran Simon's Cafe Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood


I have been wanting to come here like 3 thrice but failed each time. I later deduced that probably the owner closes on Sundays in order to go to church. Today is a Saturday and I came here to try my luck again and discovered I was half right because they are opened only after 5 pm every Sunday.

When I did a quick google check, I realized this is very famous and have been frequented event by journalist from The Star. (URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/food/eating-out/2012/09/24/homecooked-nyonya-and-thai-dishes/ )

It has even been operating in Taipan for the last 14 years! Now I learn how long and 'historical' Taipan is! I think the main feature that draws in a lot of regulars and enables it to face the stiff competition from so many other restaurants and food chains in Taipan are the reasonable price and of course tasty food! The cook also do not stinge on ingredients.

Since the Claypot Curry Fish Head is the most famous dish here, I did not hesitate to order it in small portion for RM 35. At least the amount of ingredients did justice for the price tag compared to the Fish Head Curry in Jalan Puchong or in Bandar Puteri which charges the same price a few morsels of fish head parts, a lot of tofu pok and not many varieties of ingredients. The curry is also thicker than the other two mentioned and so full of flavour too. There were a lot of thinly cut eggplant, long beans, ladies' fingers and tofu pok that leaves me so satisfied. The special claypot retained the heat till the last morsel of rice was finished.

 
Sambal Petai with Prawns (RM 16)

The sauce is so tasty, thick and flavoursome. This is way better than the petai in Melaka which was so oily comparatively. This is also not that spicy. There are many Petai to be seen together with prawns, onions and fresh tomatoes.

 
Melaka Cendol (RM 5)

Is it over the limit if I sat that this is by far, the best cendol in my life? Even beats the ones at Jonker 88 and any of those in Jonker Street or the supposedly famous cendol near Kelana Jaya LRT station and the cendol at Penang Road in Penang or Penang Road Famous Teochew Cendol franchise everywhere ! I used to dislike cendol as I am not a big fan of santan or the frozen cendol they usually use. I also dislike overly sweet food. This one is just nice, and the cendol is fresh and soft, for the first time in my life! The Gula Melaka are generously poured all over yet not overdone as it was not overly sweet.

Both of us could not finish these two dishes so we Tapao the petai as I planned to cook for dinner.

At least now I know I need not travel 2 hours to Melaka and undergo traffic jam for the weekend food journey as the food here beats the Nyonya food I had in Melaka or my very own Penang!

(Call me Penang traitor if you like but I don't seriously care! After all, convenience matters!)

Details:

Address: Restoran Simon's,

4 Jalan USJ 10/1B,

Taipan, Subang Jaya.

Tel: 03-5636 7466

Business hours: Mondays to Saturdays

(noon to 2.30pm, 5.00pm to 10.30pm),

Sundays (5.00pm to 10.30pm),

closed on alternate Tuesdays).

Pork-free.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  claypot curry fish head,petai prawn,cendol
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM59.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Doors Cafe Smile Feb 29, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café


I have found this great place in a secret enclave in Taman OUG. It has very beautiful and creative art painting on the wall. There are doors painted on the wall too.

 
The front entrance has a bar with earphones for customers to listen to music from their phone.

 

 
Hot Chocolate

This is very thick and tasty with a few small marshmallows sprinkled on top.

 
Big Breakfast

This contains sausages, stir fried button mushrooms, fresh wedges cut into quarters, smashed pumpkin, and garlic bread. There is also scrambled egg cooked in milky way.

 
Grilled Chicken

On top of the chicken slices are cream sauce and at the side is salad. The chicken is just normal and not that great.

 
Snapshots of myself shooting at this cafe: 
http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/doors-cafe.html

Details: Address: 51, Jalan Hujan, Taman Overseas Union,
58200 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hot chocolate,big breakfast
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0