OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 11 Reviews in Malaysia
Han Kee  Smile May 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Nasi Lemak | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

Every time we come to Batu Pahat, we always make it a point to have breakfast here. I would say this is the BEST and CHEAPEST place for breakfast. This place serve half-boiled eggs, traditional toast, coffee and also many choices of bread, cakes and jellies. 

We ordered 2 half-boiled eggs each. I am known for being the fussiest person when it comes to half-boiled eggs but the when I broke the eggs, they were watery and even the yoke could be broken, just the way I like it! 

Of course, 1 most important item is the Otak-otak and ham wrapped in omelette sandwich toasted with a lot of marjerin. This is indeed very special and unavailable elsewhere. I like dipping this into the eggs. 

The black coffee at small towns like this is always very fragrant and aromatic. I am one person who dislikes Nescafe but always go for traditional coffee and this, is does wonders for the soul. Somehow, Johor is very well-known for traditional coffee. 

My colleague likes the nasi lemak which they finished in minutes! 

I like the Ang Ku (Tortoise-shaped) jelly with corn filling. Very unique filling and tasty to end up as dessert. 

The price is very cheap here as the entire meal for 3 came up to less than RM 20! Even the Curry Bun was only RM 1, can you believe it? 

 

 
Otak-otak, ham and egg sandwich

Otak-otak, ham and egg sandwich

 
Most aromatic coffee

Most aromatic coffee

 
Corn Ang Ku Jelly

Corn Ang Ku Jelly

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cafe Para Para Buffet Breakfast Smile Mar 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

For this time's buffet breakfast for my seminar here, I went to this restaurant. I ate Teow Chew porridge with a lot of vegetables like preserved vegetables, century egg, ikan bilis etc. The porridge was incredible. 

I also dipped some soy Han Chin Peng into my black coffee. The kuih was very tasty and still crispy. 

The juices were very sweet and not suitable for me.

The beef bacon which I ate with the cheese baked tomatoes was so-so. The tomato was somehow too dry.
Porridge ingredients

Porridge ingredients

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

This is my first time staying at Thistle Hotel and I fell in love with the hotel the moment I reached. I love the exterior of the hotel in the shape of a staircase. 

Entering into the restaurant for breakfast a fresh feeling. No wonder this restaurant is named Fresh! 

I sat facing the glass window so I could have a wondrous view of the exterior. 
The best thing is there was raw thinly sliced salmon at the salad table. Since there were a few slices left, i immediately took all of it and ate it with salad and cocktail fruits and vinegar sauce! I also had raw maguro and tuna and mackerel which were all amazing. There was even turkey ham, chicken ham and also beef ham which were amazing. 

There were also a whole range of international cheese to choose from which one can spread on the crackers. 

The only thing one should avoid is eating the dim sum which is served al fresco as the dim sum is too cold especially the siew mai. It was a waste that it's cold otherwise the mini colourful pao with red bean or pandan filling would have been a waste. 

The Loh Mai Kai is the only dim sum which is served very hot. It is wrapped in lotus leaf and was quite ok. Not much ingredients inside though. 

The zucchini and cucumber cooked in tomato paste mediterranean cum Italian style was fantastic. I seriously fell in love with this dish that I had a second helping. 

The cheesy macaroni was just ok. 

There is also a special coffee machine to make any coffee your heart desire, be it, cappucino, machiato, coffee with milk, latte etc. The waiter was so kind that he kept asking me if I needed any help and I had 2 coffee : a chocolate machiato and also a cappucino! 

There is a special room just specially for sandwiches, danish pastries, fruits etc. For sandwich-making, one can choose any ingredient, be it chilli tuna flakes, mayo tuna, sardin, or any other items like ham and salad! There is also a very wide variety of danish pastries from chocolate to walnut, apple etc.

 

 
Lotus ride

Lotus ride

 

 

 

 

 
Raw Salmon

Raw Salmon

 
Cappucino and Danish is a great combo

Cappucino and Danish is a great combo

 
Al fresco smoking zone

Al fresco smoking zone

 
Sandwich, danish and fruit section

Sandwich, danish and fruit section

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Loh Mai Kai,Zucchini,Muesli salad,Salmon and Turkey Ham,Cappucino and Danish is a great combo
 
Date of Visit: Feb 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM70(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Anthony Fish Ball at Yong Peng Smile Feb 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

My friend asked, are you hungry? I was like, not really so we headed from JB to Yong Peng for late lunch. Unfortunately, his usual favourite kopitiam for Yong Peng fishballs was closed so we opted for another one.

I had dry Yong Peng noodles with small minced pork (RM 5). It also came with fishball soup with foo chuk and seaweed. The fishballs were great and tasty and soft and springy. The noodles were quite ok. The herbal tea was very cheap at only RM 1 only!

My colleague also ordered the fried fishcake which to me was just so-so as I tried better ones.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Nasi Lemak | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

It is very rare to see a kopitiam selling all in one from cakes, donuts, jellies, swiss rolls, bread and also serving small packets of nasi lemak, Chinese style sandwiches, small packets of fried bihun, half-boiled eggs and all things that Malaysians and Chinese call breakfast. Oh, and if you feel like having a Western style breakfast with bread, cakes and coffee, that options is always yours albeit in a Malaysian kopitiam. I guess this proved the "Malaysia Boleh" spirit.

Since we never go to Batu Pahat much, probably 3 times in a year, and most of the time do not have time for breakfast and usually ate at the hotel, we ordered almost everything that the kopitiam served. Nasi Lemak and Fried Bihun, of course in small packets, were ate while waiting for the others to come. I did not try them as the sambal looked too little to satisfy my chilli crazy tongue.

I absolutely loved the half-boiled eggs which were made just nice, and did not have the egg yolk hardened like the mamak stores. The egg dipped with toasted otak-otak/pork/egg sandwiches were heavenly.

The generous spread of butter in between the toasted buns made every bite sinful.

The coffee was thick and strong, and not too sweet for my palate!

I ended the meal with a tortoise-shaped pandan jelly with red bean paste filling, one which I was unable to resist when I first saw it.
Cake galore for a kopitiam - Very Novel

Cake galore for a kopitiam - Very Novel

 
The variety of cakes are so many

The variety of cakes are so many

 
The butter and egg bread

The butter and egg bread

 
Good old half-boiled eggs with black coffee

Good old half-boiled eggs with black coffee

 
Otak-otak and egg sandwich

Otak-otak and egg sandwich

 
Pandan Angku Jelly

Pandan Angku Jelly

 
The fusion of both worlds - Chinese mixed with Western

The fusion of both worlds - Chinese mixed with Western

 
Even Barbie doll cake was sold!

Even Barbie doll cake was sold!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Otak-otak sandwich,coffee,half-boiled eggs,Butter toast
 
Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0