OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3661 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Malaysia
Kluang Rail Coffee Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Halal | Nasi Lemak

I went to the original Kluang Rail Coffee at the railway station but unfortunately, the shop was closed again. So I had one old man from the railway station who borught me to the other branch which was brimming with so many customers. The food here is halal as there were many Malays here too. 

I ordered the famous Kluang Coffee (RM 1.70) which was so aromatic and fragrant. I love the thick coffee which was served hot. 

I also ordered the Mihun Rebus (RM 4.50) which was said to be the signature dish here. There are so many ingredients inside the mee rebus and that makes me love the dish even more. The shreds of cucumbers make it very crispy and tasty. 

The 2 half-boiled eggs (RM 1.60) is just normalbut not as tasty as the one at Elephant Bean Muar. Quite tasty and delicious to be eaten with the noodles as it makes it eggy. 

The 3 Fried Otak-otak Popiah (RM 2.30) were so tasty and crispy. The taste of the otak-otak inside was incredible, the burst of this taste at every bite. I finished every item and by that time, I was so full to the brim.  

The food here is quite affordable because I ate so much yet it cost only RM 10.70 whereas in KL, it would have cost RM 10 for a bowl of noodles at this kind of shop. The service here is also very efficient. 

The ambience is very nostalgic of old railway stations and there are also funny cartoon drawings on the wall. 

 

 

 

 
Otak-otak Popiah

Otak-otak Popiah

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  coffee,otak-otak popiah,mee rebus,half-boiled eggs
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Elephant Bean Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

I have never tasted any half-boiled egg done the way I really like it till I come here. To tell you the truth, I am absolutely picky when it comes to half-boiled eggs. The best  half-boiled eggs only cost RM 2.20 for two kampung eggs. It is done very watery and the egg yolk is not hardened like what I have usually tried and would have vomited. 

The garlic bread was a disappointment because it came in the shape of normal buns with some garlic spread. Very old-school and looks like the one we make at home. I expected the normal bruchetta type of garlic bread. So not worth the RM 4 paid. 

The Elephant Bean Special Coffee is truly unique and the best coffee I have ever tried at the cheapest price of only RM 5.50! For the same type of coffee in places liek Publika in KL, I would have to pay at least RM 12 and above! The chocolate used to make the design on the foam was fantastic. 

The entire meal cost only RM 15.30, really cheap, whereas it would cost almost RM 15 for merely the coffee alone in KL or Penang. 

Elephant Bean Special Coffee

Elephant Bean Special Coffee

 

 

 

 
Garlic Bread

Garlic Bread

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  special elephant bean coffee,half-boiled egg
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kedai Bebola Ikan Jing Too Smile May 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Yong Tau Fu

Every time we come to Johor, we definitely make it a point to drop by at Yong Peng for lunch on the way home. Our usual place, Yuen Yuen is always not opened, perhaps it was not our luck. So we tried somewhere else today. 

This place has very few choices, only dry style or soup wantan noodles with a bowl of soup containing homemade fishballs, fried taukua, seaweed and a fried yong tau foo. My colleague loved the noodles so much that they even ordered a second bowl while the portion is too big for my small tummy. 

They then ordered the Curry Laksa Noodles but the soup was said to be too diluted and they can feel the water inside. The ingredients were special as it included small cockles and also ladies fingers for curry mee! 

The fish cake is very fresh and you can even taste the fish inside, very unlike the conventional fishcake which you can feel the processed filling. 

The special grounded green chilli is so wonderful and when added with the limey garlic was a great finish! 

The black coffee was amazing. The aroma so fragrant and the taste remarkable and not sweet but not bitter, just perfect. The coffee lasted me to drive 3 and 1/2 hours from Yong Peng to PJ! 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Han Kee  Smile May 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Nasi Lemak | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

Every time we come to Batu Pahat, we always make it a point to have breakfast here. I would say this is the BEST and CHEAPEST place for breakfast. This place serve half-boiled eggs, traditional toast, coffee and also many choices of bread, cakes and jellies. 

We ordered 2 half-boiled eggs each. I am known for being the fussiest person when it comes to half-boiled eggs but the when I broke the eggs, they were watery and even the yoke could be broken, just the way I like it! 

Of course, 1 most important item is the Otak-otak and ham wrapped in omelette sandwich toasted with a lot of marjerin. This is indeed very special and unavailable elsewhere. I like dipping this into the eggs. 

The black coffee at small towns like this is always very fragrant and aromatic. I am one person who dislikes Nescafe but always go for traditional coffee and this, is does wonders for the soul. Somehow, Johor is very well-known for traditional coffee. 

My colleague likes the nasi lemak which they finished in minutes! 

I like the Ang Ku (Tortoise-shaped) jelly with corn filling. Very unique filling and tasty to end up as dessert. 

The price is very cheap here as the entire meal for 3 came up to less than RM 20! Even the Curry Bun was only RM 1, can you believe it? 

 

 
Otak-otak, ham and egg sandwich

Otak-otak, ham and egg sandwich

 
Most aromatic coffee

Most aromatic coffee

 
Corn Ang Ku Jelly

Corn Ang Ku Jelly

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cafe Para Para Buffet Breakfast Smile Mar 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

For this time's buffet breakfast for my seminar here, I went to this restaurant. I ate Teow Chew porridge with a lot of vegetables like preserved vegetables, century egg, ikan bilis etc. The porridge was incredible. 

I also dipped some soy Han Chin Peng into my black coffee. The kuih was very tasty and still crispy. 

The juices were very sweet and not suitable for me.

The beef bacon which I ate with the cheese baked tomatoes was so-so. The tomato was somehow too dry.
Porridge ingredients

Porridge ingredients

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0