OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Xiao Long Bao @ Shanghai Ding  Cry Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles | Dim sum

Every time I return to Penang, I would never fail to come here for its Xiao Long Bao which is quite tasty. At the price of RM 8.80, the 4 pieces were quite ok. Somehow, this time, I felt that the skin is a little too thick. 

I also tried to order to the Chicken Mushroom Pao (RM 5.80) which was quite normal. But it was better than the normal pao. 

The Pu Er Chinese Tea only costs RM 2.40 for 2 pax. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Loh bak at Joo Hooi  Cry Aug 09, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

The Loh Bak at Joo Hooi is just ok. There are not many varieties there except normal stuff like tauhu, loh bak, prawn fritters. The prawn fritters are very crispy and cut into smaller pieces. 

Loh Bak has a little weird smell. 

The tauhu is so soft. 

The Loh Bak takes a long time to be made and sometimes they forget people's orders. 

Oh, and don't bother to order the cendol. I wonder why people queue up so long for it when the cendol was horrible. I personally don't like cendol as there is too much santan. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM4.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Laksa @ Joo Hooi Cafe  Cry Aug 09, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I wonder why Penang Road laksa (RM 4.50) is touted as the best laksa ever. I am so frustrated after going there because the laksa does not have any sour and spicy taste at all. I think any assam laksa in KL is way better than the one in Penang Road. I think they have become lackadasical due too much exposure about it. So all bloggers, please stop praising Penang Road laksa anymore and look elsewhere for it. 

There were so little ingredients inside too. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have never been made so angry and flustered by Char Koay Teow (4.50) till today. I went to Penang Road as I brought my mother's Sarawakian friend there. The Char Koay Teow hawker had the audacity to tell me I needed to wait at least 45 minutes and I agreed, thinking that good things are worth waiting. Boy was I wrong because it turned out to be so horrible. The egg was in balls and the egg yolk was still evident. The bean sprouts were dying and not crunchy. There were black parts of the wok stuck on the char koay teow. The only thing edible are the 2 big prawns which is fresh. The worst part is there was not a single cockle inside which totally made this a complete failure. Char Koay Teow without cockles is not char koay teow at all. Seriously, I wonder what is theget difference of the duck egg. Probably it is easier to just say, never be fooled by tourist attractions or food guides you get from the airport.  

All in all, I still prefer my all-time-favourite char koay teow with a lot of cockles and octopus at Sin Hwa coffee shop in Pulau Tikus. 

Zero star

Zero star

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

DCova Smile Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

This is one of the few times I go to a coffee bistro or cafe in Penang. The first time I went to such places was 3 years ago in China House and Bonjour in Summerton. Anyway, this time round, I was determined to find out more about stylish coffee places in Penang. At least, I could recommend places to my friends in future. This time round, I made a simple google search the last night, at about 1.30 am and decided on this place which looks retro and artsy.

The ambience is quite quiet so it is suitable for hanging out with friends and not noisy till one cannot hear the other's words. The place has limited tables and chairs and probably has less than 10 tables. 

Firstly, I totally recommend this place. I fell in love with the Caramel Sea Salt Macchiato (RM 9.50). The design on top of the foam was amazing, like a wheel of love made from sweet caramel. The sprinkle of sea salt on top was an amazing accompaniment. It was a match made in coffee heaven. Macchiato is usually not my favourite but they have succeeded in making this so well. The combination is like the marriage of the 2 best people in the planet. The salt was not overly salty and it matches the coffee totally.

The Yoghurt with a slice of kiwi (RM 9.50) and half a cup of muesli were quite ok. Thankfuly, the yoghurt did not have a strange yoghurt smell which some yoghurts have. My friend ordered it because she was hungry yet she was worried of getting fat. I would not have ordered this as it is something that can be bought at the mall.

My other heaven lies in the Grandpa's Chocolate Rum Cake (RM 15.90). Though it was quite costly for a cake, it transported me to heaven except it brings sins together. The rum taste and flavours were strong enough to permeate the cake. The chocolate was very rich and the combination of very little chocolate cream was to my delight. I hate cakes with lots of cream not because it is fattening but it just nauseating. I am a big fan of alcoholic cakes and this one has made me more than satisfied. The chocolate seems like a sheet of heaven coating the cake. 

If you like cheese cake, they are popular for rum and raisin and also Gula Melaka cheese cakes. I am not a big fan of cheese cakes so I cannot review it for you. 

The waiter and waitress are so friendly and kind. They did a terrific job in recommendations. The cute young waiter even told me that in between hazelnut coffee or toffee coffee and caramel sea salt macchiato, I should choose the macchiato and he was absolutely right and I recommend you do the same too! 

They use very creative looking bottles to store the water. The bottles come in green and pink colours. It was my first time seeing this. 

The best part is the afforable and reasonable prices of coffee and beverage here. They also sell spaghetti for less than RM 20 each which comes in big portions. 

Sinfully rich

Sinfully rich

 

 

 

 
Heaven made

Heaven made

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  grandpa chocolate rum cake,caramel sea salt macchiato
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0