OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Thai Tanic at Elit Avenue  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant


We walked the whole round of the square, literally walk, seriously! Dad initially wanted to eat Korean food at KO BBQ then changed his mind as he did not want to eat Banchan. So we ended up eating thai food at Thai Tanic which I saw this afternoon.

The boss of this cafe is Chinese but all the waiters and waitresses are Thai people.

Eating 2 scoops of rice and too many dishes made me so full till 12.43 am whereby I had to go to the open air gym downstairs in the garden of my condo to exercise. I am someone who cannot sleep on a full stomach. Right now as I type out my blog, I am eating unripe mango to ease my digestion.

The place is a very simple cafe with a/c and tables and chairs and nothing fancy.

Thai Style 5 Combination (Small) - RM 28

This is our personal favourite and the most worth of the price. It has deep fried calamari which is tasty. There was also kong poh chicken with dried chillies, onions and carrots. 2 pieces of pandan chicken were quite ok and not too hard. The Kerabu mango is very spicy and sour just the way I like it. There were also a few slices of century eggs.

 
Claypot Glass Noodles with Crab - RM 39

This is the worst of the lot as the glass noodles are too soggy. I have never eaten anything like that.

 
Lemon Steamed Jin Fung Fish (RM 30)

The fish looks like flying fish and tastes good with lemon.

 
Thai Red Ruby (RM 5)

The Thai Red Ruby is quite ok except that there was too much santan.

2 glasses of Lemon Grass Tea costs RM 5.80

 
Details:

Address: 1-1-43A, Elite Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, 11950 Bayan Baru Penang

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nada Lama  OK Nov 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel Dining | Buffet

I was here for a company event and had the chance to enjoy the buffet breakfast which has a wide array. 

I particularly like the cheese and salad corner with a lot of international toppings. There are also breadsticks and parmesan sticks to go with the imported salad like basil leaves, carrots, small greenish beans, alfalfa. There are different types of dressing like Italian, French, balsamic vinegar, mayo, thousand island etc. 

There are many varieties of cereals from chocolate ones to koko krunch, bran and cornflakes. 

The half-boiled egg is delicious and watery enough for me. It goes well with the croissant. 

The strawberry scones were a big too hard and sweet. 

The waffles have a wide variety of toppings. One could also add in blueberry, strawberry, nutella and whatever fruits available such as canned peaches, orange, grapes, blueberry and chocolate rice. There are also a wide range of dried fruits like apricots, dried mangoes and papaya and also walnuts and sunflower seeds. 

There are also Japanese food like grilled salmon, miso soup etc. 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Roti Babi @ Pulau Tikus Market OK Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung

Frankly, I have never eaten roti babi for ages, ever since my grandmother was around. My grandmother used to cook this at home when she was still alive. I am not really a big fan of his as I dislike minced pork. Anyway, since my uncle from UK has never tried this before, we ordered this for his sake. 

The roti babi is deep fried bread with egg sandwiching minced pork. But this stall mixed the minced pork together with sengkuang hence making me feel that I was eating jiu hu char or stir fried sengkuang. So for both mum and I, this is not really what roti babi is. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

Being a Penangite, I am a little embarassed to say that I do not know much about the hawker centres here whenever my KL friends ask me for recommendations. So this time, for my Penang trip, I decided to make it a voyage to my heritage of food. So here I am at this food court for the first time in my life, after 'forcing' mum to bring me to somewhere I have never been! (cheeky grin!) 

Since I have never eaten loh bak yet, I decide to try it. Alright, I admit I ordered it due to the inviting octopus that I love. Of course, I added in one century egg, 1 short roll of loh bak. 

The loh bak is just normal, shall I say, edible? Haha...

As for octopus, quite ok and great that they sliced it into smaller portions, for my small mouth and to make it more palatable. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

7 Village Noodle Koay Teow Ting OK Feb 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

My friend said this place is very famous for Koay Teow Ting. In fact, we came twice. The first time, we reached at about 6 pm but it was closed and we found out it is open from 7.30 am till 5 pm only. So the next morning, on the way home from Penang to KL, we stopped up to fulfill my friend's craving. The cafe was teeming with people that we had to share tables and wait for a seat. In the end, we got two seats.

When I saw the person opposite me eating the Signature Koay Teow Ting, I was shocked as it contained a bunch of pork lard and a few fishballs. I did not like minced pork so I quickly ordered the Kwan Jiang (two rolls) which was quite oily and the filling was quite sticky.

I also ordered a plate of Vegetables which was just ok.

The Barley Drink was just ok.

I did not like the half boiled egg which turned out hard! I am very picky when it comes to half boiled egg!
Koay Teow Ting, Large

Koay Teow Ting, Large

 
Big vs small

Big vs small

 

 
Kwan Jiang

Kwan Jiang

 

 
The whole meal cost RM 17.50
 
Date of Visit: Feb 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0