OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Character De Coffee  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops


What better way to start the new year with coffee to keep one awake. So here I am at Character De Coffee which is again, obviously my first time here.

Character de Coffee is a small coffee place, 1 shop lot, in Kuchai Lama. Inside, you find yourself in an environment whereby a few teddy bears welcome you. On the wall are decorations that are vintage and reminds one of childhood or the scene in the old classic English movies.The food here is very reasonably priced. Can you believe it that the price of Western Food only costs RM 13-15 per plate?

I ordered the Seafood Aglio Olio for a whopping RM 13.90, which is a difficult deal to get nowadays. The spaghetti is not overly oily like how people normally do it. There are three big prawns, 2 pieces of octopus and some small dices of capsicum inside. The taste is just ok.

 
My friend ordered Hainanese Chicken Chop (RM 13.90) which came in the smallest portion ever. My friend was not very happy with the portion but then again how much can one expect from a RM 13.90. As for me, I like the sauce which is thick and sweet and sour and have a lot of capsicum and tomatoes.

 
The Avocado Juice (RM 9.90) seems to be more expensive than the food here. The taste is not strong enough and has too little avocado inside, and incomparable to Avocado Juice in Philippines.

 
The Flat White (RM 8.90) has too little coffee taste inside. The leaf design is very beautiful on the foam. The Flat White has very little flavour inside too. I think it is safer for me to have cappuccino.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hainanese chicken chop
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sukiya  Smile Nov 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

I have passed by Sukiya countless times previously but never went in. My ex-boyfriend said it looks expensive as he has the impression that every Japanese food is expensive. Now that I come today, I had the shock of my life when I saw the prices of food here at only RM 6.90-RM 7.90 for a don or any rice item with chicken or beef etc! 

There were quite a number of customers even though it was only 11 am. Probably it is due to the low prices of food which makes it affordable for families. 

I ordered the Gyudon Japanese Curry Rice with seasoned beef which cost RM 12.40. I only had to add RM 5.50 to make it a set with side dishes of preserved cabbage and also seaweed, both of which are amazing as appetizers. There is not a tinge of curry powder taste in this dish, unlike the japanese curry I ate in franchise restaurants. 

My friend ordered the Oyakadon chicken with egg rice at only RM 9.90. In this day and age, there is still a Japanese restaurant that sells food at less than RM 8, with awesome taste! We added RM 6.90 for a Kara-ague Set of Miso Soup and deep fried chicken. I am not a proponent of deep fried items so I only ate a piece of this. 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  gyu japanese curry,oyakodon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM34.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seoul Garden Hot Pot  Smile Nov 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Halal

Initially I thought that Seoul Garden only sells steamboat but it turned out there is a new concept of selling hotpot and korean food, only in Main Place and also Cyberjaya. 

I was attracted to the cheapest and most worthwhile glass noodles in the world, at only RM 8.90! The best part it that it consists of so many ingredients inside such as shredded carrots, fresh mushrooms, 4 big prawns, 3 mussels, spring onions, onions. The glass noodles are thoroughly mixed with a lot of flavours and has absorbed the soy sauce to make it blackish, done just the way I like it as it was not oily at all, unlike those that I have eaten elsewhere. 

My friend ordered the Beef Bulgogi Kimgaru Rice (RM 16.90) which comes with a beautiful bull's eye egg on top. The dish is very simple yet delicious. It is almost like eating in a Korean home. With a top up of RM 5.90, one can get 3 banchan of your choice. I chose the Spinach Namul, Bean Sprouts Namul and also Marinated Cold Clams. The banchan are filled to the brim. 

There was a promotion of Sparkling Sour Plum juice, whereby the original price is RM 5.90 but there was a RM 2 discount. The juice is normal and taste like any plum juice at the coffee shop. 

It is better to order the free flow Hot Korean Bailey Tea or Cinnamon Tea which have strong flavour and taste and also nutritious. 

I am definitely coming back due to the affordable and tasty food. 
A MUST-TRY

A MUST-TRY

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  glass noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45.60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cubs & Cups  Smile Nov 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Desserts

Cubs and Cups is a community cafe that is very unique as it is catered for those with dogs. Not many cafes and restaurants allow dogs to be brought in. There are many house rules on the wall, such as owners need to pick up after their pets and are not allowed to bring in aggressive pets and that if dogs are unleashed, they need to be guarded by the owners.
There are two big husky dogs, Nachos and Mocha that are owned by the Korean owners. They roam around as the cafe is their playground and home. One of them wear a diaper, to prevent them from pooing everywhere. They roam on the upper ground and mingle with all customers who are definitely dog lovers. The darker fur husky that is older has less energy and lies in the middle of the place.
I like playing with the puppies and dogs here. I especially like the puppies belonging to other customers such as terriers, pomeranians, spaniels and shih tzu. They all roam around freely but some are a bit shy because they do not know who are the customers.
The other good part about this place is the tasty food at affordable prices. When it comes to taste, we can be rest assured if we have a team of Koreans at the kitchen and as barrista. The Hazelnut Latte (RM 13) was quite delicious with hazelnut taste inside. The heart on the foam is slightly not that perfect. There was a special offer of a free pink lemonade with any LIKE on their Facebook page and order of any drinks.
We love the Churro Waffles (RM 20) that are coated in sugar and served with little caramel and chocolate sauce. The waffles are sweet, crispy and delicious to be eaten like finger food.
The Avocado Pizza (RM 28) is also quite special. Since to me, avocado is tasteless, I requested for them to add in pepperoni at RM 3 which made it more filling. The pizza is very thin and crispy and was still tasty even after it was cold. It was done like classic Italian pizza.
I am definitely coming back here as it is a fantastic place to make friends and to get rid of loneliness.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  avocado pizza,hazelnut coffee,churro waffles
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM64

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Olive Garden  Smile Nov 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Seafood

I just discovered the Olive Garden Restaurant in Mid Valley mall. I was drawn inside by the waiter who informed us that any main dish can get free unlimited soup or House Salad. Everything is served together with grated cheese. 

I ordered the Five Cheese Ziti Pasta (RM 29.90) which is very cheesy with tiny minced meat sprinkled on top with grated cheese. The pasta is simple yet quite good. 

With this al dente pasta, we could get a free soup that comes together with soft bread. The bread is even better than the one at Dominos and Pizza Hut. The best part is also the bread is not oily. 

We could have a choice of 3 soups but of course me being the food reviewer, I tried all of them that are Pasta e Fagioli, Alfredo Chicken and Gnocchi and also Minestrone. If not for this promotion, each soup would have cost RM 11.80 per soup. The Pasta e Fagioli is a tad too salty for me with beans, onions, beef, tomato and pasta. 

Alfredo Chicken and Gnocchi soup is just normal with a bit too much cream. There are pieces of chicken and carrot inside with cream. 

The Minestrone is so delicious with no cream. There are shell type pasta inside together with capsicum, carrot, carrot. The soup is not as salty as the first one. 

I thought that every Italian place has great coffee so I ordered the Cappuccino (RM 8.90) but it turned out to be terrible that I could not even finish it. There was simply too much foam and bubbles inside and not taste of coffee at all. 

The other main dish I ordered is the Shrimp Aglio Olio (RM 28.90) which was done al dente and not even oily. There are cooked it together with capcicum cubes and has 4 big prawns. 

With this main dish, we could order the unlimited House Salad which comes served in enormous glass bowl. The salad contains fresh green salad vegetables and croutons, shredded carrots and purple cabbage. 

The Hot Chocolate looks tasty but I was not sure about the taste because I have no chance to try it. The Lipton Iced Tea (RM 9.90) was too sweet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM87.10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0