OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3688 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Taiwan Dami  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


I was so sick, having terrible sore throat and also flu on the first day of work due exhaustion from hectic CNY celebration and too much going out. So I had to come to the only clinic that would cure me - Mediviron in Bandar Puteri Puchong.

But before that, some dinner first! I decided to try out Taiwan Dami.

There were not many people today probably because it was a weekday. The place is quite cosy and airy.

Braised Beef Noodle (RM 14.05)

This is the best of the lot! We have never had any beef noodle as good as this. The beef bones permeates into the soup so thoroughly that the result is amazing. The carrots and radish were just nice.

 
Braised Minced Pork Rice (RM 6.13)

The pork is so fragrant and the sauce is incredible. There is a half-boiled egg and also salted vegetables on top.

 
S11: Egg, dry tofu, Japanese cucumber and Pig Ear (RM 8.95)

This is a big platter that has braised half-boiled egg, soft tofu, crispy Japanese cucumber and pig ears. All of these are fantastic!

They even gave us 15% discount out of the total price, in conjunction with CNY.

 
Rose Tea (RM 12.17)

The Rose Tea is fragrant and rosy.

 
Details:

Address: B-G-13A , IOI BOULEVARD , JALAN KENARI 5 , BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA , SELANGOR., Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-8074 8285

Hours:

Open today · 11:30AM–11PM

 
Recommended Dish(es):  beef noodles,pork rice,rose tea
 
Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM39.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Oz Restaurant, Penang  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


My mother's birthday falls on 13th February every year and this time round it is a Saturday! We went to Elit Avenue, a relatively new shop lot at Bayan Lepas, which is my first time. we drove round the squarish avenue and saw about 20 plus cafes.

Finally I laid eyes on Oz with its prominent Australian styled art outside and when we walked closer, I was drawn by the super cheap price of only RM 15.50 for the set lunch (any choice of main meals) with a free drinks. The RM 25.50 sets consists of main dish, drink, mushroom soup and a dessert of either Chocolate Brownie or Puff with Chocolate Ice-cream. Each of the main item comes with non-mayonaise overloaded coleslaw, greens, original roasted potato wedges instead of the frozen ones.

 

 
Many varieties Mushroom soup

Fruit Punch

The fruit punch is quite special with bananas, pear and also dragonfruit. Talking about creativity!

 
Quarter Chicken with Mango Gravy, Potatoes and Salad

The chicken is roasted till very tender, soft and juicy. The sauce is superb as it is saucy, with a mix of sourish taste from the mango.

 



Queensland Pork Schnitzel with Pineapple Chilli Mayonaise, Potatoes and Salad

This is one big piece of pork deep fried with breadcrumbs. The sauce is simply amazing.

 
Fish Italiano with Tomatoes and Herbs




This is steamed dory fish with lot of tomato and herb sauce. The fish lacks the natural sweetness of fish probably because they threw away the first steamed juices. I do not know why chefs like to do that.

 
Since it was mum's birthday, I requested that the Warm Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ice-Cream be served together with a small candle. The owner went out of the way to even play a "Happy Birthday Mummy" song. Mum was all smiles when the song was played. I gave them some tips, for the kind thoughts. Definitely a good place for a family or friend gathering.

Cream Puff with Chocolate Sauce and Chocolate Ice-Cream

I guess the owner likes chocolate a lot because people rarely serve chocolate ice-cream for this and of course this is to my delight.

 
The Surprise Birthday Cake and Song by Restaurant and the Birthday Lady is all Smiles

 
We can't get enough of Australian food as Perth had mostly Asian food when we went there

 
Details :

Address: 1-1-3 Elit Avenue, Jalan Mayang Pasir 3, Bandar Bayan Baru, 11950, Penang, Malaysia

Phone:+60 16-442 5472

Hours:

Open today · 11AM–2:30PM,5:30–9PM

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM66.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


After trying the food here during a food review with Open Rice, I was so amazed that I brought my friend's family here today. We initially booked a tatami room but changed to the other room at the end and joined 2 tables together.

Ramen Salada (RM 16.90)

The Ramen Salada here has very fresh combination of vegetables like shredded cucumber, omelette, carrots, cherry tomato, bacon ham and seaweed. The ramen is perfectly boiled and not soggy at all.

 
Okonomiyaki (RM 17.90)

This is the Japanese version of pancake with pork and bonito flakes and fried till crispy. I kind of ordered the wrong one because I wanted to order the Tonpeiyaki that was omelette with cabbage and without rice.

 
Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura (RM 15.90)

The tempura giant octopus with bonito flakes are simply fabulous. The flour are just nice and enough and not too much. There was overload of mayonaise on top too.Hokkai Kamameshi (RM 36.90)

This rice inside a stone pot requires 20 minutes of cooking. The ingredients are crab legs, scallops, seaweed. It was quite delicious and not cooked till overly burnt.Nagashi Somen Setto (RM 27.90)

This is the highlight of the night. In Japan, they usually have the soba flowing down the bamboo. The soba is to be placed inside the machine to make it icy cold and eaten with the soy sauce and also chopped spring onions, shredded cucumber, baby mandarin oranges, cherry tomatoes and also sliced cucumbers that are made to so thin to be crispy. I think the price is very reasonable as it includes tempura containing 2 ebi, eggplant and another item.

 

 
Jumbo Kakiage (RM 9.90)

This is vegetable tempura which are fried till very crispy. I love this as it contains a lot of vegetables such as carrot, lotus root, greens and onions. It is way better than the one made by the Pisang Goreng Stall Hawker.

 
Dashimaki Tamago (RM 12.90)

I am not a big fan of tamago but this is served warm instead of cold like what the Koreans do. It is cut in smaller slice than the ones I had before. Very simple to please a simple person.

 
Torikawa Chicken Skin Skewers (RM 7.80)

This is done in a yakitori style resulting in crispy feel of oil.

 
Pork Belly with Spring Onion (RM 9.80)

The pork belly is quite ok though not as tender as expected but thank god it was not towards the oily side.

 
Potato Mentaiko Yaki (RM 13.90)

Despite not being a potato fan, surprise, surprise, surprise, this has become one of my favourite grilled potato. Probably because they grill it together with cheese and fish roe which when melted together, is a delight to the soul.

 
Salmon Teriyaki (RM 17.90)

We are a big fan of salmon so naturally we cannot avoid salmon in a Japanese restaurant. The salmon teriyaki is quite delicious and not too coarse or too dry. The tenderness is maintained. It is also not too salty.

 
Yuzu Shabetto (RM 9.90)

Whenever I frequent this restaurant, I cannot miss my favourite citrus sherbet. You can be assured there was no colouring used as the ice-cream is white in colour. I like the taste of the pieces of citrus inside which opened up the senses.

 
Matcha de Roru (RM 14.90)

I tend to like to eat anything in crepe so this is again one of my favourites. It is rice cake containing red bean and green tea ice cream. The folds are done very neatly and it goes nicely into my small mouth.

 
Our entire bill came up to RM 240.85 only with so many dishes! Definitely saved more money than eating elsewhere and leaving this place more than satisfied with the variety.Details:

Address: A2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala LumpurA2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala Lumpur

Tel (Reservations) :+603 6206 5526 , +6017 669 0060 (日本語可)

Opening Hours: MON - SUN : 11.30AM till 3PM, 5.30PM till closing



 
Recommended Dish(es):  ramen salada,Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura,Hokkai Kamameshi,Nagashi Somen Setto,Jumbo Kakiage,Potato Mentaiko Yaki,Yuzu Shabetto,matcha de roru
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM240.85

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Carpenter's Daughter  Smile Jan 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih


I have passed by this small cosy-looking cafe a few times whenever I am in USJ Taipan. This time round I decided to google and find some blogs about this place to check out what is cooking here.

The moment I entered this cafe, I was mesmerized. At the front is a bakery whereas the back side is converted in a cosy restaurant that is vintage and also has a mix of old British look with the paneling at the sides fully decorated with teapots, frames and photos and some knick-knacks and decorative items.

 

 
The tables are ladden with minnie mouse inspired white polka dots on red backgrounds, instead of the conventional red and white chequers. At the right side are a few comfortable and soft velvet sofa sets with lamp and lamp shades that were so inviting I had to make it a point to take a photo there after filling my tummy. According to the story, the owner is indeed a carpenter's daughter and all the wood work here is made by her father, The Carpenter.I actually spotted the carpenter's daughter, going around like a tauke. There was a young girl baking bread and slicing bread using the bread slicing machine at the end of the dining area. This shows how fresh the bread here is. After seeing this scene, I made it a point to buy a fresh half loaf of soft fluffy French Brioche bread for RM 6. Moreover, all the bread here are said to be baked daily which means there are no preservatives. Since I saw a lot of newspaper articles talking about the carbonara and cream soup here, due to the fresh cream used by the owner. I did not hesitate to order one too. Furthermore, the owner would not use flour to thicken the soup but used potato and cream instead, which means everything used here are original natural ingredients.

Carbonara with Smoked Salmon (RM 23.90)

The carbonara is the thickest I have ever eaten and beats those served in local franchises. I could not believe how generous the cook or owner in putting in so many pieces of salmon with oyster mushrooms and 2 types of capsicum to add some colour and crisp. The sauce is super thick, hence coating the spaghetti really well and would have been great with fettuccine too.

 
Quiche of the Day (RM 15.90)

My friend was just about to order this at Ben's Grocer on New Year's Eve as he loves quiche so much but since I told him not to order as RM 23 for a small piece of Quiche is not worth it. This time round, they gave us a big round of leek quiche. It was my first time having leek quiche instead of the ubiquitious spinach quiche. The ingredients are a lot. One can see a lot of leek inside. Most importantly, the crust is very crispy despite being a little thick.

 
Red Berries Tea (RM 8.90)

The tea was served in a very tiny tea pot that could not last more than 2 refills and started discolouring. The Red Berries Tea reminds me of Winters Warmers' Tea which is sourish and has a lot of ingredients to come up with the beautiful berry tea aroma.

The total price came up to RM 54.70; and RM 4.87 Service Charge, and 6% GST of RM 3.21 which means the nett price was RM 62.80.

They also have Tea Party Set at tea time that includes British scones, tea, cakes and pastries.

 
Details: Address: 46, Jalan USJ 10/1E, Taipan Business Centre, Subang Jaya, USJ.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM62.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fatty Chong Restaurant  Smile Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


Nowadays, ever since we discovered this incredible place, we always come here whenever I have a lot of work to rush at home. The speed of cooking, the reasonable price and the amazing taste are the combination of reasons. Can you believe it that I had the below curry and 2 vegetables for merely RM 40 and RM 3 for 2 rice and RM 5 for 3 herbal drinks? It is even cheaper than the nearby kopitiam that is stuffy with very long duration of cooking taken.

 
Fish Head Curry (RM 25)

The portion was so big with so many ingredients such as ladies fingers, tofu pok, fish head etc. The curry is also thick enough to satisfy my fussy palate and managed to score very high in me. The best part is that all this great taste is attainable at less than RM 30, much cheaper compared to a diluted version in a supposedly famous Fish Head place in Puchong.Paku-Pakis

My top favourite vegetables are definitely Paku-Pakis / Midin except that they always put in too much salt.

Tofu with Pumpkin Sauce

Though the portions are smaller, the tofu are super soft and delicious. It is swimming in pumpkin sauce, a delight to even pumpkin-haters like me! I dislike eating steamed pumpkin or pumpkin in its original form but discovered I am ok with it in soup or sauce or deep-fried tempura-style.

Details:

Address: Fatty Chong Restaurant, 39-41, Jalan Sri Sentosa, Taman Sri Sentosa Jalan Klang Lama, KL

 
Recommended Dish(es):  curry fish head,paku pakis,tofu
 
Date of Visit: Dec 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0