OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3680 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Estilo Spanish Tapas  Smile May 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

I googled and found this great place. But in future, I would know that I need to make a booking before coming otherwise we would end up sitting al fresco in the hot area. Otherwise, I would have gotten the chance to enjoy the ambience in cooling area. 

The Champinones (RM 18) mushrooms were cooked in creamy concoction together with white wine. They also serve complimentary white and brown slices of bread with butter. I really liked the 3 sauces especially the avocado salsa which goes well with bread.

We ordered the my all time favourite which is stuffed octopus or called Calla Rellenos (RM 20). They serve 2 octopus in one plate. I do not know what was stuffed inside but perhaps it was some chilli mixed with the octopus eggs. 

The Corderos Asado (RM 46) was beef slices cooked with spices. There was a side dish which could be chosen and we chose Peas with broccolis which were buttery. There was a whole tomato that was deep fried too, which was quite tasty but too sinful. The green leaves that came with it, together with vinegar was so delicious. 

One can never eat tapas without drinking wine or better, to be more originale, have Sangria a la Espanola! There are many Especial Sangria to choose from here. I chose the Very Berry Sangria (RM 34) which was so delicious, not too bitter like the Pineapple Sangria (RM 32) that my friend ordered. My friend also agreed that the Very Berry is better. 

The place is full of expatriates because they serve true blue Spanish food, but a little toned down in terms of the amount of salt. In Spain, all the food is too salty.

Superb

Superb

 
So tasty and creamy!

So tasty and creamy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Incredible spices

Incredible spices

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  champinones,corderos asado,pineapple sangria,very berry sangria,cala rellenos
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 16, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM175

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shabu Garden Smile May 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Seafood

We initially planned to go to Pot Steamboat but there were so many people inside and we could not get a table. Finally, I gave up waiting and decided to find another steamboat place. 

We went to Shabu Garden instead whereby though it was quite full, it still has an empty table for us. I ordered the Seafood Set which costs RM 36.80. It was well worth the price because it included a lot of seafood such as big lala, 2 prawns, mussels, fish slices and also a lot of yong tau foo stuff. 

The Vegetables Platter (RM 11) was a small platter that came with a lot of straw mushrooms, dried mushrooms, oyster mushrooms and mini xiao pai cai. 

I chose the Ginger Wine Soup (RM 3) and also Pork Bone Soup (RM 3) for dad. Both soups are fragrant and sweet. The best soup is the wine soup which has a thick soup base and I like my soup to have strong base. 

The Bacon Enoki (RM 10) was so tasty. I have always had a fancy on bacon enoki because it is the combination of my two favourite items in the world. 

The Mee Sua (RM 3) was so cute as it came in two ribbons. 

I still feel hungry after everything so I ordered thinly sliced Lamb Slices (RM 13) which were so tasty. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  seafood shabu set,enoki mushroom,ginger wine soup,vegetables platter,lamb slices
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM89

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quar Tet at TTDI  Smile May 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches

I was so tired from the night before so I wanted to take a rest today. However, I have a friend who thinks that waking up late is so unproductive and he wanted to go to Penang for a cycleton in the afternoon. The fact that he made time to meet me on 1 May since I was busy on most of the other days meant that I had to wake up at 8 am on a public holiday just to go out for breakfast with him. Early breakfast is definitely not my usual practice but I had to it by force. Hence, I decided not to go so far till Yellow Brick House in Bukit Damansara but opted for somewhere I know like TTDI and searched for some coffee places in TTDI since both of us like coffee like crazy. 

As described by bloggers, the place has a very hippy feel to it, with pictures of rock star and abstract pictures on the wall. I felt like I have transported myself to the times of the 50s. There is also one cosy corner where there are a lot of old records. 

The counter for coffee is right smack in the middle. If we download the Quar Tet app in our phone, we can get 15% discount for an order of the day. 

My friend ordered the Salmon Bagel which is not bad although my friend said that the bagel at Yellow Brick House is much better. I am not a big fan of bagels anyway and am ok with any. The salmon is quite fresh too. 

I liked my Eggs Hemingway which was actually Egg Benedict which doesn't look that pretty with Hollandaise Sauce on top. But the egg is delicious as it really pops out. There were small pieces of baked potatoes around my eggs too. The 2 eggs are placed on top of muffins that are non-sweet, instead of what I thought earlier. There also 2 asparagus that came together. 

The Flat White is just normal for me. I guess I am not much of a Flat White person. 

I like the Raspberry Latte which has a tinge of raspberry infused into the coffee. 

Simply delicious and great place for a hang out with friends, dates or gatherings and reunions. I am definitely coming back for sure! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  raspberry latte,egg hemingway,salmon bagel
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM78

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Verona Trattoria Smile Apr 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta

We were supposed to go to Bistro A Table but when we went inside, my friend said, "Wow the price is VERY CHEAP!" (meaning too expensive). So I told him we could just go next door whereby the price is slightly cheaper and I already knew the price range of Verona Trattoria. 

My friend ordered the Spaghetti Olio (RM 37.90) which was quite delicious. The best part is that it is not as oily as how Plan B or any other place cook the olio. I do not know why people like to cook olio with oil overload. Anyway, the al dente way that they use here is incredible and it results in the spaghetti not being overly soggy or soft the way Asians normally cook spaghetti and pasta, overcooked. The bacon is also cut in small pieces and are not too oily or hardened like how some places cook it. 

I could not stand not ordering risotto even though I usually never order rice at night, especially at 9.30 pm as it is unhealthy to ear rice at such a later hour. I finally decided to throw caution to the wind and ordered the Cheesy Risotto (RM 39.90) which was cooked with a lot of shitake and mushrooms. The result is the best risotto of all, which is super cheesy and definitely something any cheese lover can never say no to. One thing is that the portion of the risotto is too big for a girl like me. I think I have put on 2 kg extra after that meal. 

I ordered the San Pellegrino black orange (RM 15.90) soft drink which was contained in the smallest bottle in the world. The colour of the drink is crimson red, which is the colour of blood. It was not too sweet like most orange juice and also not too sour. 

I always enjoy eating as it is like bringing Italy to my door step because the fat chef is an Italian who hails from Verona. The paintings on the wall also evoke my memories of Italy. 
Cheesy

Cheesy

 
Amazing and  not too sweet

Amazing and not too sweet

 
Non-oily olio! Yeah!

Non-oily olio! Yeah!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  risotto,spaghetti olio,san pellegrino black orange
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM110

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Owls Cafe  Smile Apr 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

I have wanted to go to Owls Cafe ever since I saw it in some blogs. I wanted to go with my friend who stays in Bukit Jalil but we were not inclined to go because many bloggers say that patrons have to wait for almost 45 mins to 1 hour to get a table. I figured this usually happens only on weekends and since I am on leave today, I decided to give it a shot with my friend. I was taken aback to see such a big crowd there on weekday which is a Wednesday. It was a little difficult to look for the place  because it was located at the second floor and is facing the main road. We only found the place after taking 2 rounds around it. Even the sign board is so small. I wonder why these popular or themed coffee places like to have small signboards and are located in places that are difficult to find like at the second floor etc. 

The ambience is so cosy and great for hanging out with friends and family. A lot of youth are there. Even families  have gatherings here. There is a small cosy corner with sofa and pillows right at the end, corner, hidden away. There are pictures and figurines of owls everywhere on the shelves, wall, floor etc. On the floor, there are also big owl soft toys. This place is famous for cakes, waffles and lattes. 

I ordered the famous Rose Latte (RM 10) which is so fragrant. The shape of the heart on the foam is perfect. I love the finishing of rose petals on top, just like how Winter Warmers does it. The latte blend is amazing. 

The Rebecca Waffle (RM 18) is fantastic. The flower shape of waffle is so unique and creative. I liked the fresh blueberries and sliced strawberries on top together with very little maple syrup, that is not too much that it would drench the entire thing. The waffle's crispiness is maintained and that is a plus point for me because I hate non-crispy waffles. The best part is the scoop of my all-time favourite Earl Grey ice-cream on top which was so blissful. It reminds me of the real Earl Grey. 

The States Bagel (RM 18), according to my friend, is the best he has ever tried. He said the bagel, even being eaten alone, was so tasty and even tastier compared to the bagels in Morning After. For me, I liked the soft and jelly-like bull's eye egg on top of the bagel. To me, the bagel here is too hard and chewy. I also liked the fresh European salad with just the right amount of sauce and an overload of mayonaise like how some other places usually do. The sausage salad with corn kernels and also capsicum were wonderful. The freshness of very vegetable could be felt. Later I saw people ordering the beef Waffle which looks so tasty and beautiful. I think that would be mine for the next round. 

The washrooms are very clean and the waitresses have good service. 

I was so surprised that the entire meal came up to only RM 48 which is much less than the one charged by coffee cafes in TTDI and PJ combined. In fact, I expected the bill to come up to about RM 100. 

 

 

 
Fantastic salad and egg

Fantastic salad and egg

 
Owl galore

Owl galore

 
Owl decoration everywhere

Owl decoration everywhere

 
Cakes and owls

Cakes and owls

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  rose latte,beef waffle,states bagel,rebecca waffle
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM46

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend