OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3664 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2046 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 26 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles | Dim sum

Every time any visitor or guest comes, we definitely bring them to Shanghai Ding as the dim sum is the best, especially the Xiao Long Pao.

I ordered the Scallop (Special Xiao Long Pao, RM 12.80) that were served in small aluminium cups. The soup was amazingly sweet.

We also ordered the Meat and also Crabmeat Xiao Long Paos (4 pieces each) which cost RM 8.80 for each. Each was very sweet and juicy.

This time round I ordered the Pockey Mouse Pao which had lotus cheesy filling. It was quite cute to take pics with.

I also ordered the Chee Cheong Fan but it was not that great and a bit too much flour and lacked filling.

The Fish Lamian is handmade was tasty as we like it. Smooth and clear. Nice for a heaty body.

The Prawn Dumplings were as tasty as I remember every time I frequent here whenever I am back in Penang.
Fish Lamian

Fish Lamian

 
Pockey Mouse

Pockey Mouse

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Xiao Long Pau
 
Date of Visit: Feb 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Khuntai Thai Restaurant  Smile Feb 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles

At first we came all the way to Raja Uda to eat the famous Koay Teow Ting at 7 Village Noodle but the shop was closed by 5pm so we ended up at Khuntai which has a very village feel. We ordered the spicy red seafood tom yam soup. The tom yam was very worth it as although it cost RM 23, the portion was very big and there was a lot of octopus inside.

I should not have ordered Steamed Octopus (RM14) I had known there was so much octopus inside the tom yam soup. But the steamed octopus sauce was incredible and sour.

Since we wanted to keep some space for supper later, we ordered the Prawn Claypot Glass Noodle (RM18) which was just ok. The noodles was cooked in quite dark sauce.

The Thai coconut was also very sweet. I ordered the warm chrysanthemum which luckily was not that sweet.

There were also an auto and also some decorations on display so patrons can take pictures.
The ambience

The ambience

 
Prawn Claypot Glass Noodles

Prawn Claypot Glass Noodles

 
Steamed Octopus

Steamed Octopus

 
Tom Yam

Tom Yam

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tom Yam,Steamed Octopus
 
Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM65

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Winter Warmers @ Auto City Smile Feb 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt | Sweets/Snack

This is my first time going to Auto City. The Shop in a park experience was incredible. Strolling through the park and shopping was a fun and green experience. The stuff here is quite cheap and reasonable too. There was also a sale for clothes and handbags everywhere.

Anyway, finally we ended up at Winter Warmers since my friend has never been here. The English ambience was great to pair with my white dress on that day.

We ordered the Rose Cocktail which my friend love so much. The drink had a nice fragrant taste and was not sour or bitter at all. My friend said the taste is addictive. Cocktail here is without preservative and not in syrupy form.

I ordered hot Irish Cream Latte which came in a very huge mug. The tea taste was also strong. The mug was very beautiful and had a drawing of old English women drinking tea stylishly. I would try to buy the mug for myself but not from this restaurant as the Barbie cup and saucer itself cost RM 99.

We ordered the Banana Chocolate Waffle with very dark chocolate ice-cream. The waffle was not crispy enough though.
Iced rose berry cocktail (RM12.90)

Iced rose berry cocktail (RM12.90)

 
Banana Chocolate Waffle (RM 15.90)

Banana Chocolate Waffle (RM 15.90)

 
Irish Cream Latte (RM9.90)

Irish Cream Latte (RM9.90)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rose berry cocktail,Irish Cream Latte
 
Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dining by the sea Smile Sep 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Malaysian variety | Western variety | Food court | Noodles

Dining by the sea, with the sea breeze entering your nose and the wind blowing your hair away like the movies, the salty sea a wonderful sensation and the sight of the sea delightful to the eye. All these sums up each experience to Northam Beach Cafe.

Especially incredible is the cheapest Chicken Pot Pie with thick mushroom carrot soup set meal with any choice of appetizers and cake desserts. They are famous for crepe cakes which I have tried several times. This time there was chocolate Paris Brest cake which was smooth. There was potato salad with croutons.

I used to like the seafood crab Nyonya mee but I guess it was closed down and sold to a stall selling Mexican fajitas which were not bad. I tried toastadas with salsa sauce and prawns at rm 12.80.

Mum was fascinated by the stall selling Conk Thing or Kacang Tumbuk (grounded peanuts) where one can see the stuff made live by the expert chef. Mum is definitely not a person easily fascinated!

An additional bonus would be frequenting this big food court makes one feel like eating everything, plus there are international cuisine from western to Chinese, Filipino, Mexican, German, Japanese, Sarawakian, Hong Kong etc...
Toastadas

Toastadas

 
[IMG:1

 
]
Chicken pot pie set, Paris Brest cake

Chicken pot pie set, Paris Brest cake

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken pot pie,Paris Brest,Mexican toastadas
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM22

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I have tried so many Char Koay Teow everywhere but I would say this is the best so far. At About RM 3.80, it is well worth the price as it comes with big prawns and octopus. This stall has also won many contests.

The Siamese laksa can be ordered mixed with sour laksa and the outcome is awesome. The laksa only costs RM 3 more or less. Also one could add in crispy fried popiah or prawn fritters. Today I discovered there was an addition of tasty kerabu bihun which has big prawns and the cheapest at only RM 2 which is cheaper than the one inside Pulau Tikus market.

Ever since I was young, me and mum would frequent this coffee shop. In the past, there were only three hawker stalls selling laksa, char koay teow and nyonya economy rice but now the number of stalls have increased to stalls selling chicken rice, wantan mee etc which I am yet to taste as I just stay loyal to the char koay teow and laksa.

Do note that it is only open from 11am till late afternoon.
Laksa and crispy popiah is a great combo

Laksa and crispy popiah is a great combo

 
Best seafood char koay teow

Best seafood char koay teow

 
Best seafood char koay kak - RM4.30

Best seafood char koay kak - RM4.30

 
Siamese laksa

Siamese laksa

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Char Koay Teow,Laksa
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM3(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0