OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3676 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

Finally, after a very long time of eyeing Elegantology Gallery and Restaurant at Publika, with its exclusivity, I got the golden opportunity to have my first fine dining experience here. It was a Christmas dream come true when I came here with my Nigerian friend on 25 Dec 2013!

Actually the space was quite small, just enough for like 4 tables inside the dining area where one of the tables is a family table for about 6 pax. The interior was nothing but sophistication. Very romantic and perfect for a couple or Valentine's Day or even a wedding anniversary celebration. All the chairs are coloured a light maroon. The setting is very classical with the classic looking standing lamps. The bar was great and look really elegant. The napkins were a deep maroon and there was full attention given by the attentive waitresses and waiters who were ever ready to snap photos and change the napkins I dropped on the floor, 3 times (I was too embarassed to ask for a 4th change).

There were very soft buns served to start up the our Christmas Dinner on 25 Dec. There were two small rolls of cheese with red spots which tasted so tasty. I also dipped it in black olive oil and also sandwiched it with chopped tomatoes. I am quite stingy on compliments for bread but this time round I did!

We were served with a special cocktails that lucky for me, was not too bitter and not overloaded with too much alcohol since I did not like too much alcohol.

The first course was Rudolf's Bites which consisted of Pomelo, Scallion, Home Cooked King Prawn. It was such an amazing fusion, the pomeloes offering the sour taste while the scallions was tasty to go with.

The second course was called 1st Flavour which composed of Fois Gras, Brioche Charcoal, Shallot Marmalade. It was my first time trying Fois Gras (unless you consider the one I had at Volkswagen Launch which was frozen tasty). My friend did not really know how to eat so I finished the last morsel on his behalf in order not to waste food. Somehow mixing it with charcoal piece and also basil leaves resulted in something amazing.

Thirdly, we had a crazily named course called "Gee Whiz, it's Christmas!" which consisted of Granny Smith Scented Pea Puree with Tomato Pearls. The special thing is that the puree was poured by the waitress from the teapot. It was not too smoking hot like conventional soup but it was ok. I definitely love the Tomato Pearls, something that looked like fish roe except that it did not pop.

Fourth course was Jingle Bell Rock. It consisted of Hokkaido Scallop, Black Olive Dust, Misa Galangal Goong, Homegrown Mustard Crest. The scallop was the fantastic when I cut it and the juice came out showing the succulence of the scallops. The misa sauce that has absorbed into it was also fantastic.

Suddenly, after that, we were surprised by a complimentary turkey which was so incredible! The turkey was so succulent and especially tasty and sweetened by the cranberry sauce.

By this time, my friend was saying that there was too much food and he was feeling so full that he only ate one slice of turkey and offered the other half to me! He was like, why is there so much food? But I was enjoying all the courses very much!

After that, we had the fifth course which was Frosty the Snowman that is Cauliflower infused milk based sorbet plum shave. Though I do not like milk, somehow this was quite alright for me, probably because the chef cleverly cooked it with high quality milk that does not have a strong taste. I did not even taste the cauliflower. The sorbet was cold and pleasing to the throat.

This was followed by the 6th Course which was White Christmas : Garoupa Under Pressure (Changed to seabass because they ran out of Garoupa) - Soy and ginger broth smoked Moscovy Duck Glutinous Rice Pillaf. The fish was quite soft and when paired with the soy and ginger sauce, the combination was incredible. The glutinous rice was quite soft and fragrant.

My sixth course was Holly Jolly Christmas which was actually Lamb Wellington, Mushroom Duxelle, Butter Flavoured Brussels Sprouts. I truly love the cute crunchy Brussels Sprouts which was not oily at all. The Lamb was cleverly hidden inside a crust as though it is a lamb kebab pie. The baked potatoes were quite tasty too. I love the sauce which was not as salty as it looks like.

Then, we were rewarded with pre-dessert where my friend's mouth was open agape as that means more food for the tummy. We had cute gingerbreadman (my first in my entire life) which probably was homemade and not as sweet as I thought. I do not fancy food that is too sweet. We also had something like a marcarpone which I dipped into my Vanilla Gelato dessert.

Dessert was Here Comes Santa Claus which consisted of Camerelized Tofu Brulee, Vanilla Gelato with Candied Wolfberries on top. It was my first time eating tofu as dessert but somehow when paired with caramel, it was a great combination. The fusion was just great, like a pair made in heaven. My personal favourite was the pink caramel under the Gelato which I initially thought was just a base and not to be eaten.
Here Comes Santa Claus dessert

Here Comes Santa Claus dessert

 
1st Flavour

1st Flavour

 
Gee Whiz, it's Christmas!

Gee Whiz, it's Christmas!

 
Jingle Bell Rock

Jingle Bell Rock

 
It is not christmas without turkey!

It is not christmas without turkey!

 
White Christmas

White Christmas

 
Frosty the Snowman

Frosty the Snowman

 
Holly Jolly Christmas

Holly Jolly Christmas

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkaido Scallop,Fois Gras,Seabass,Cocktail,Desserts
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM188

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yeast Atelier  Smile Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Sweets/Snack

 
When I first saw many blogs detailing the great French food at Yeast, I have kept a wish to try the food here one fine day. But it seems the price is quite expensive here till I decided to walk in today to check out the price, when my friend wanted to treat me for my belated birthday lunch. I was bored of Mid Valley that he wanted to go originally.

 

 

 
Cappucino-Hazelnut (RM 14)

They actually sell the best cappuccino I have ever tasted in my life. It is very dark full of chocolate taste.

 

 

 
Duck Confit (RM 36)

This duck confit is much better than the one at Alexis. It is so much more tender and the skin is also soft. The salad has light dressing too and not as thick as mayonaise or thousand island. There are a few pieces of roasted potatoes to eat together. There are also some deep fried onions, fried till crispy and fragrant.

 

 
Cocotte (RM 20)

The Filipina waitress recommended Cocotte to us. The boiled egg inside is so fluffy and soft. The egg tastes so well with the french bread albeit too hard to be bitten. The egg here is better than some others.

 

 

 

 

 
Chocolate Lava Molten Cake (RM 27)

This seems to be the only dessert in the menu that comes with pistachio ice-cream so I ordered it though I felt that molten chocolate lava cake is quite normal nowadays and not that great. Yeast has a lot of other pastries that are freshly made too. Nevertheless, the pistachio ice-cream was did much consolation for the normal cake as normally people only serve this cake with vanilla ice-cream.

 

 

 

 

 
Fancy hearing me say that what I like most about Yeast is the French music inside the washroom! The washroom also looks classical french!

 
The food is cooked fresh here. The small cafe is teeming with patrons all the time whether it is dinner or breakfast time as they have food for all timings.

The only disadvantage is that you pay for a high price but sit at hot humid cafe as the air-condition is not powerful enough also due to the open door concept.

 
Details:

Add: 24-1 Jalan
Telawi 2 Bangsar 59100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Tel: +603 2282 0118

Fax: +603 2283 3118

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM120

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Potion Factory  Smile Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Stall / Warung | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt


After finishing our high tea at Daan Daan, we went to Potion Factory which is right beside.

The decoration is quite special with potion bottles.

 

 

 
All the juices here are 100% cold pressed, 200% natural, with no sugar, preservatives and additives added.

All the juices here are made using the cold press method whereby coldpress is a revolutionary method of extracting nutrients and liquid out of raw fruits and vegetables. Unlike other extraction methods, cold press doesn't generate heat, which means extraction preserves most of the taste and essential nutrients. Every bottle of potion is concentrated with maximum amount of essential nutrients and bursting with living enzymes to provide instant health hit to the bloodstream.

 

 

 

 

 
The potions available are:

1. Bless - Detoxifier - with spinach, apple, wheatgrass, lemon

2. Orange - Boost Immune System - with 100% Valencia oranges

3. Energy-Energy Booster - with banana, pineapple, pear, chia seed.

4. Immunity Potion-orange, apple, carrot, lemon

5. Ice Potion-Guava, apple, lime, chia seeds.

- This is one of the best drink as the mix of sweetness and sourness was amazing.

6.Health Potion-Detoxifier - Beetroot, apple, lemon, ginger

-I also like this as beetroot has a lot of vitamins and nutrients. Ginger taste is quite strong so those who dislike ginger would not be able to stand this.

Details:

Add: EV-F-K07,Evolve Concept Mall, PJU1A/4 Ara Damansara, Petaling Jaya, Selangor Malaysia.

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM9.99

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Loewe and Sons  OK Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Stall / Warung | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato


This ice-cream cafe is located at LG and relatively new as I rarely see this brand in Malaysia.

From afar, it looks like the decoration for Penang Teo Chew Chendol with it's green and white colours.

 
Each scoop costs RM 9.90 and 3 scoops cost RM 22.90.

I tried 3 flavours which are coconut, raspberry and mango. The mango is so far the best whereas the coconut flavour is a bit too strong.

 

 

 
I am not really that comfortable with the chocolate and coffee flavours that had a little weird taste.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM9.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Daan Daan  OK Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Sweets/Snack


This is the first time I come to Evolve Concept Mall, a new mall discovered in the middle of the condo. The design is very unique that the washroom has yellow sink in the middle and also wall made of very special tiles.

Daan Daan is right at the first floor that is in yellow colour. There was no one when I first came but after we sat at a table, a whole load of customers came.

 
Before we came

 

 
After we came

Egg Wafflet (RM 6)

This is my first time trying egg wafflet (RM 6) despite seeing this many times in Sunway Pyramid. Many children like to eat here as the wafflet is not that sweet. One can enjoy eating the egg wafflet by nibbling piece by piece.

 

 

 
Wafflet (RM 6.80) [With Peanut Butter and Condensed Milk]

This wafflet, is quite tasty, cute and crispy. It was cut into small pieces.

 

 
Almond D'Light (RM 8.80) and Lemon Water (RM 3.60)

This is quite ok, made to be thick and one that many of us health conscious people will like as it is not sweet at all.

 

 
Red Bean Chiller (RM 5.50)

This is so far the best among the rest though I do not like red bean much. The drink is quite tasty and sweet.

 

 
Details:

Address: Lot EV-F-K02 First Floor Evolve Concept Mall, Jalan PJU 1a/4a

Tel: +60 12-336 6337

 
Recommended Dish(es):  red bean chiller
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend