OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3680 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Fatty Frog Porridge @ OUG  OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food court | Porridge


My colleague, Sally once brought me to this area for frog porridge. I am very grateful she brought me that day as it helped me to discover this new area which has a lot of cafe and kopitiam which spells FOOD.

I came here for a revisit of the porridge as it was quite late and we were hungry. We ordered a plain claypot of thick congee and ginger with black sauce frog that was very fragrant.

 
You can come here if you are not scared of eating along the drain which is not bad at night.

Details: Address: 2, Jalan Hujan Rahmat 2, Taman OUG, Kuala Lumpur, Seputeh, 58200

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 07, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

myElephant Thai @ Happy Mansion Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


Till now, after trying several thai restaurants around PJ area, I and many PJ residents are adamant that Elephant Thai serves one of the best Thai food in many varieties.

We came her at 11.50 am for an early lunch with Singaporean colleagues as there is another meeting later. We ordered at least 5 dishes whereby the bill came up to about RM 160.

I think they are one of the only Thai restaurants that serve brown rice which makes it very healthy to eat here.

 
Pomelo Salad

The price is less than RM 20 and yet there are so much pomelo inside served with fried shallots, spring onions, a lot of peanuts and a few prawns. The tangy feel makes it a great appetizer.Green Curry Chicken

Am I allowed to repeat the word "one of the best" again? Anyway, people should never be stingy with praises. The chicken is tender whereas the curry has enough flavour and spice without tasting like we have just poured a lot of milk or santan inside that would have diluted it. Luckily it didn't end up tasting like the super creamy green curry chicken I had in Chiang Mai.

 
Tomyam Seafood

When the tomyam came, I almost fainted looking at the sheer size of the large bowl! It was kind of my first time seeing such a large bowl of tomyam containing seafood inside with big prawns. octopus, fish and thai green beans.

 
Paku-Pakis

If I were not mistaken, this costs RM 16.90. The paku-pakis were fresh, raw and deliciously cooked with belacan.

Deep-fried Squid

The squid was done just right and goes well with sweet Thai chilli. The squid lacks the crispiness but then it was ok when we were hungry.

 
Details:

Address: CG-4 Happy Mansion, Jalan 17/13, Petaling Jaya 46300, MalaysiaTel: 6-010-2201283

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM160

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tokyo Teppan  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


I have not been here for a long time. I think the last time I came here was with my ex-boyfriend, or so, I think...so it must have been a godzillion years.

Anyway, since my friend asked me to recommend a place here at Tokyo Street to eat fast, this seems to be the only one with the price a little reasonable. This restaurant is also child-friendly with the baby chairs provided for babies and the plastic cutlery included.

Teppanyaki seems to be the popular thing here since the name itself has the word "teppan".

Since we were too busy choosing food and talking, sorry I did not have much time to record down the names and prices of the food and it was a treat, so I could not take the receipt.

The Scallop Bento

 
The photo has 1 scallop missing so there were initially 6 huge scallops cooked Teppanyaki style which are tender and fresh.The teppanyaki stir fry cabbage and bean sprouts were delicious too. It was not too salty like how most people like to cook teppanyaki. There is also crispy fried sliced garlic that is fried till super crispy.

The small bowl of garlic rice is also fragrant. I think it was gazillion years ago that I ate garlic rice in my life. The last time I recall eating it was when I was a child in a japanese cafe near my house. At that time, even the set lunch at Japanese restaurants at the mall, had garlic rice as a package.

There were 2 small pieces of cold salmon as appetizer which was quite ok. At least it doesn't have a weird taste.

A slice of orange is served with each bento that costs about RM 37-39.

The chawanmushi is smooth with 2 slices of my favourite black mushrooms and a piece of tender chicken.

 
The salad with mango style or citrus taste sauce was amazing and something different compared to the conventional salad with sesame sauce.

 
Giant Squid (RM 27.60)

My friend's mother like squid a lot, and so do I but I refrained from ordering this due to the expensive cost involved. The squid is not as rubbery as the normal ones. There is a clever touch of chopped radish on top to make the squid less heaty. At the corner is a small dollop of mayonaise to be dipped. It is clever to put the mayonaise away because people like me do not like mayonaise much.

 
Bento with Sushi and Seafood Teppanyaki (RM 37-39)

There are salmon, cuttlefish, maguro, sweet beancurd and also california roll with avocado and crabstick filament. Also included are 2 pieces of tamago.

The teppanyaki consists of octopus, chicken and salmon. I truly like the chicken teppanyaki which is tender and soft. The salmon was just ok.

 
Details: Level 6, Pavilion 168 Jalan Bukit Bintang Kuala Lumpur

 
Recommended Dish(es):  teppanyaki scallop
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM200

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kim Lian Kee OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


Do you know there is a cafe specializing in selling KL style Hokkien Meein Sunway Pyramid? Well, I didn't know till I came here with my friend who loves Hokkien Mee. For those Penangites, this is not the Prawn Mee but what Penangites call "Hokkien Mee." Initially, when I first came to KL, I was confused over this.

The prices here are quite reasonable at RM 12-13 per plate which is somewhat similar to what we have at the kopitiam outside except that the portion is less here.

The weird thing is that my friend's brother doesn't seem to like Hokkien Mee so we had fried bihun Hokkien Mee style. It has big prawn and cabbage.

My favourite was the eggy Claypot Lao Shu Fan which was fragrant and delicious. The egg is is simply amazing as it covers the noodles.We also order the Sui Kow (Prawn Dumplings) which was filled to the brim with meat. I did not taste much prawns though. Most importantly it was not oily.

 
The belacan fried chicken is quite ok, but a little too salty for me as I hate salty food.

 
The Cantonese Noodles was quite ok but admittedly I didn't like too much hor fun.

 
Details: Address: Ground Floor, Sunway Pyramid (Ground Floor), 46150 Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

 
Recommended Dish(es):  lao shu fan
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


After trying the food here during a food review with Open Rice, I was so amazed that I brought my friend's family here today. We initially booked a tatami room but changed to the other room at the end and joined 2 tables together.

Ramen Salada (RM 16.90)

The Ramen Salada here has very fresh combination of vegetables like shredded cucumber, omelette, carrots, cherry tomato, bacon ham and seaweed. The ramen is perfectly boiled and not soggy at all.

 
Okonomiyaki (RM 17.90)

This is the Japanese version of pancake with pork and bonito flakes and fried till crispy. I kind of ordered the wrong one because I wanted to order the Tonpeiyaki that was omelette with cabbage and without rice.

 
Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura (RM 15.90)

The tempura giant octopus with bonito flakes are simply fabulous. The flour are just nice and enough and not too much. There was overload of mayonaise on top too.Hokkai Kamameshi (RM 36.90)

This rice inside a stone pot requires 20 minutes of cooking. The ingredients are crab legs, scallops, seaweed. It was quite delicious and not cooked till overly burnt.Nagashi Somen Setto (RM 27.90)

This is the highlight of the night. In Japan, they usually have the soba flowing down the bamboo. The soba is to be placed inside the machine to make it icy cold and eaten with the soy sauce and also chopped spring onions, shredded cucumber, baby mandarin oranges, cherry tomatoes and also sliced cucumbers that are made to so thin to be crispy. I think the price is very reasonable as it includes tempura containing 2 ebi, eggplant and another item.

 

 
Jumbo Kakiage (RM 9.90)

This is vegetable tempura which are fried till very crispy. I love this as it contains a lot of vegetables such as carrot, lotus root, greens and onions. It is way better than the one made by the Pisang Goreng Stall Hawker.

 
Dashimaki Tamago (RM 12.90)

I am not a big fan of tamago but this is served warm instead of cold like what the Koreans do. It is cut in smaller slice than the ones I had before. Very simple to please a simple person.

 
Torikawa Chicken Skin Skewers (RM 7.80)

This is done in a yakitori style resulting in crispy feel of oil.

 
Pork Belly with Spring Onion (RM 9.80)

The pork belly is quite ok though not as tender as expected but thank god it was not towards the oily side.

 
Potato Mentaiko Yaki (RM 13.90)

Despite not being a potato fan, surprise, surprise, surprise, this has become one of my favourite grilled potato. Probably because they grill it together with cheese and fish roe which when melted together, is a delight to the soul.

 
Salmon Teriyaki (RM 17.90)

We are a big fan of salmon so naturally we cannot avoid salmon in a Japanese restaurant. The salmon teriyaki is quite delicious and not too coarse or too dry. The tenderness is maintained. It is also not too salty.

 
Yuzu Shabetto (RM 9.90)

Whenever I frequent this restaurant, I cannot miss my favourite citrus sherbet. You can be assured there was no colouring used as the ice-cream is white in colour. I like the taste of the pieces of citrus inside which opened up the senses.

 
Matcha de Roru (RM 14.90)

I tend to like to eat anything in crepe so this is again one of my favourites. It is rice cake containing red bean and green tea ice cream. The folds are done very neatly and it goes nicely into my small mouth.

 
Our entire bill came up to RM 240.85 only with so many dishes! Definitely saved more money than eating elsewhere and leaving this place more than satisfied with the variety.Details:

Address: A2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala LumpurA2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala Lumpur

Tel (Reservations) :+603 6206 5526 , +6017 669 0060 (日本語可)

Opening Hours: MON - SUN : 11.30AM till 3PM, 5.30PM till closing



 
Recommended Dish(es):  ramen salada,Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura,Hokkai Kamameshi,Nagashi Somen Setto,Jumbo Kakiage,Potato Mentaiko Yaki,Yuzu Shabetto,matcha de roru
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM240.85

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0