OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Farmer's Street  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Malaysian variety | Café | Desserts


I passed by this cafe so many times every time I come to Tropicana City Mall. This time round, there was a weekday lunch promotion which came with orange juice and a plate of fresh fruits of 2 slices of orange, 3 slices of green apples and 3 balls of watermelon.

From the name, my mum initially thought that this is like MBC selling fruits and vegetables but soon learnt that that was just a name and nothing to do with what they sell.

I ordered the Lam Mee Noodles Lunch Set which is so delicious. It consists of shredded chicken meat, big prawns, fishcake and half a hard-boiled egg. The Lam Mee was quite tasty using fat noodles ala hokkien mee and reminds me of Lameeya Lam Mee. The noodles tasted so good with the best original Malaccan or Nyonya style sambal belacan.

 

 
The other item we ordered was the Nyonya Plate which does not come in a set. It is well worth the RM 20 price tag of deep fried chicken drumstick. The ikan bilis with sambal and onions were amazing and not too salty. The long beans and carrot and cucumber acar reminds me of the one I have in Penang. There are also a few pieces of keropok served together. This is the star dish.

 
Details:

Address: L1-57, 1st Floor, Tropicana City Mall, No. 3, Jalan SS20/27, Petaling Jaya 47400 PJ Selangor,

Tel ;03-7733 2822

 
Recommended Dish(es):  nyonya plate,lam mee
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tokyo Kitchen at One City USJ  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

 
I thought I did not want to eat at Tokyo Kitchen because I have a habit that once i have dined at a particular restaurant even the branch, I would not pay a second visit unless you have a lot of varieties. This time round, we just finished watching Star Wars : The Force Awakens at One City on 28 Dec 2015, as the other mainstream mall cinemas may not have a good seat for this blockbuster. Since we were still full from our late lunch of duck rice, but I have still a little hunger pang, we opted for a small set.

We ordered the Salmon Burger with Curry Udon (RM 29.80)

It was the first time for me to eat Salmon Burger which was not bad. The salmon meat is fresh and tender yet not too oily like the one at Fat Boys or Fat Man or even Tony Romas. There are shredded purple cabbage and cucumber too.

 

 
The mini udon with curry is very clear with beancurd and some seaweed and Japanese fishcake. The curry is just nice, not too thick, a little diluted but most importantly, minus the powdery taste of curry powder.

 
The soft tofu-like deep fried tofu whereby the deep frying still retained the softness of the tofu, was simply amazing.

I love the salad with non-creamy sauce. I always like Japanese salads because there is no thousand island or mayonaise but sesame sauce or non-fattening Japanese salad dressing.

The Chawanmushi and miso soup are also delicious.

 
Details:

Address: One City (Lot D-GF-06), Jalan USJ 25/1, 47100 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Tel: +603-5115 0056

 
Recommended Dish(es):  salmon burger,curry udon
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM37.55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Good Batch for New Year 2016  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches


Coming here makes me reminisce about my last New Year 2015 whereby me and another single friend attempted to come here for New Year lunch which falls on a weekday, at 1 pm. We were too late as there was a long queue outside and me being the principled person who never queue up for anything, moved to Frisson Cafe a few shops nearby which turned out to be a disaster with hardened baked eggs that are not runny and also coffee with the heart shape incomplete that kinda caused me to be heartbroken the whole year through.

So I guess it was safer to come here on 2 Jan 2016. Initially I was worried of the queue but it seems that most customers patronize this place for brunch and lunch due to the amazing brunch and all-day breakfast menu.

The interior is very simple, similar to most coffee places but the cocktails here have price labels of RM 25 above. There was a deal of RM 60 for 3 cocktails.

We ordered the Cranberry Juice (RM 8) and also Marrakesh Mint Tea (RM 9). The hot tea is just a white mug with the tea sachet but the tea is very fragrant and of top quality.

Angmoh (RM 29)

This is actually a big breakfast, named in a cute way. It consists of a lot of food such as a small bowl of canned beans, tender sausage, 2 pieces of ham, tiny chopped potato wedges (ok, this is the first time I see people dicing the potato wedges which made me like this place even more!), fresh mushrooms, half a baked tomato, a slice of baguette which is made without oil in sight, and runny scrambled eggs done just the way I like it. If you like big breakfast, then this is THE PLACE.

Portobello Road (RM 25)

This is a very special dish because I expected the mushrooms to be served just like that, without thinking that they would serve the mushrooms on top of hashbrowns and having runny egg benedict on top of the mushrooms. What an awesome combo for a person like me who loves every item involved in the combination! The mushroom is large, sweet and juicy and cooked without an overload of olive oil. There is also a special mustard and parsley sauce on top of these and fresh non-sweet blueberry at the side. I never thought people eat blueberry with this but it is amazing - not sweet or sour, just perfect. When the runny yolk burst out, it was akin to the burst of happiness for me.

Norwegian (RM 25)

I was busy browsing the entire menu for the Egg Benedict that The Good Batch is famous for and finally asked the waitress who pointed to this. There were fish roe, followed by cheese, salmon, egg benedict and lastly, toasted baguette from top to bottom. When the egg benedict popped, it signifies the fireworks in myself, whereby I have been living my 2-3 years dreaming of coming here, but always having a challenge to come to this place like my friend thinking it was too expensive etc. I have harnessed that dream ever since I saw The Good Batch published in a local residential newspaper featuring food outlets in Solaris.

I am coming back here for the popular coffee using Fei Hong Beans was tonight I do not want to risk having insomnia. Also since, I was going to Nadeje later, I stopped myself from ordering the banana cake or lychee cake which looks amazing.

The service was very good from the waiter and waitress who attentively poured plain water for us.

There is also a corner for latest magazines such as Female, Women's Weekly, etc. 

So I guess if you want to come here without having to queue up, try coming at night at about 6.30 pm even on weekends. 

Details:

Address: No. 53, Jalan SS21/1A, Damasara Utama, Selangor, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-7733 2303

Opening Hours: 10 am - 1 am

 
Recommended Dish(es):  norwegian,portobello road,angmoh
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM111.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Go-Gung Restaurant at Gardens  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | BBQ


We were doing a lot of shopping at the International Food Convention at Mid Valley Convention Centre when we finally had time for lunch. We had lunch at Gogung Korean Restaurant which serves delicious food at affordable price and wonderful quiet ambience.

We ordered the Kimchi Jeon beef soup with rice set. There are 5 Banchans consisting of spinach, preserved white fungus, ladies fingers, the ubiquitious kimchi and bean sprouts.

The Kimchi soup has straw mushrooms inside and also tofu, my favourite glass noodles, egg and mushrooms. The soup is so thick and tasty, simply superb!

 

 
We also ordered the Yuk Gae Jjang (RM 24) which is the best Korean Pancake ever. I specially requested for it to be super spicy. Amongst all the Korean Pancakes I have tried, this is admittedly THE BEST.

 
The Green Tea (RM 9) for 2 pax is quite tasty, clear and smooth.

 
I wonder why every time I come here, there were not many people but the food is quite reasonably priced. Probably because of the misconception that the restaurants here look expensive.

Restaurant Details:

Go-Gung Korean Restaurant (managed by Koryo-Won)Lot 212, Level 3,The Gardens, Mid Valley CityGPS Coordinates: N3 07.145 E101 40.538Tel: 03 2287 2981

 
Recommended Dish(es):  kimchi soup,kimchi pancake
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM61.50(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Character De Coffee  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops


What better way to start the new year with coffee to keep one awake. So here I am at Character De Coffee which is again, obviously my first time here.

Character de Coffee is a small coffee place, 1 shop lot, in Kuchai Lama. Inside, you find yourself in an environment whereby a few teddy bears welcome you. On the wall are decorations that are vintage and reminds one of childhood or the scene in the old classic English movies.The food here is very reasonably priced. Can you believe it that the price of Western Food only costs RM 13-15 per plate?

I ordered the Seafood Aglio Olio for a whopping RM 13.90, which is a difficult deal to get nowadays. The spaghetti is not overly oily like how people normally do it. There are three big prawns, 2 pieces of octopus and some small dices of capsicum inside. The taste is just ok.

 
My friend ordered Hainanese Chicken Chop (RM 13.90) which came in the smallest portion ever. My friend was not very happy with the portion but then again how much can one expect from a RM 13.90. As for me, I like the sauce which is thick and sweet and sour and have a lot of capsicum and tomatoes.

 
The Avocado Juice (RM 9.90) seems to be more expensive than the food here. The taste is not strong enough and has too little avocado inside, and incomparable to Avocado Juice in Philippines.

 
The Flat White (RM 8.90) has too little coffee taste inside. The leaf design is very beautiful on the foam. The Flat White has very little flavour inside too. I think it is safer for me to have cappuccino.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hainanese chicken chop
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0