OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 71 to 75 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Sweet Bean at SS2  Smile Mar 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Desserts | Porridge

I decided to meet my school classmate for dinner after she asked me out. She likes to eat Sweet Bean because according to her, the food is amazing and the ambience in a/c and quite ok. As for me, I was not really favourable on spending money in a cafe at RM 9-13 for a bowl of noodles. But I decided not to be so unaccommodating and agreed finally. 

She ordered the Hot Red Bean Glutinous Rice with Cold Soyabean Jelly. The meeting of the cold and hot was fantastic. 

I ordered the Wantan Mee with Roasted Chicken (that looks like roasted char siu) and also roasted white chicken. The sauce is amazing when coated with the mee. 

Vivien's Curry Cheese roasted chicken wantan mee was also quite tasty. The mix of curry and cheese is simply amazing. 

I guess Vivien is right about the food here being awesome. I am definitely coming back again. The best part is that it is halal which means I can come with Malays.
Roast Chicken (2 Types) wantan mee

Roast Chicken (2 Types) wantan mee

 
Soyabean jelly with black glutinous rice

Soyabean jelly with black glutinous rice

 

 
Cheesy Curry wantan mee

Cheesy Curry wantan mee

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  curry cheese wantan mee,roasted chicken wantan mee
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Go Noodle House  Smile Mar 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Group/Family dining | Special Occasion Dining

Whenever anyone says there is somewhere that sells Wine Noodle Soup, it is definitely a GO for me. So here we are at The School Jaya One. If not for him,  I would not have discovered this incredible place with old Classical Chinese ambience. There were Chinese wine bootles near the wall which forms an artistic decoration. One can actually buy those wine to add more wine to the soup, which I regretted not doing because my soup had no wine taste at all and lost to my mother's red wine chicken soup mee sua. I wonder how my friend can finish every single drop of the soup! The sambal is super spicy that you would be crying out silently. 

I ordered the Frog Superior Soup (RM 13.50) with the rough white noodles something akin to what Penangnites eat with their Fish Head Bihun. There were 4 miserable pieces of frog only with a lot of bones. The soup is not too oily. 

My friend ordered the Sliced Pork Superior Soup (RM 10.90) where there were a few miserable pieces of sliced pork which turns out to be awesome, something like what we have in Korean restaurants. 

The Fried Fu Chuk (RM 5) was super crispy and a bit too unhealthy and oily for me so I only ate a few while my friend finished the rest. 

The Snow Pear Juice (RM 3.80) which was touted to be no. 1, turned out to be served in the bottle itself, something like what we see in malls, but of course I have never seen it in malls yet. 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pork slice noodles superior
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM37

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches

I have never actually celebrated Chap Goh Meh before. Can you believe it that I did not know Chap Goh Meh is also Chinese Valentine's Day? That means we have 2 Valentine's Day in February. Anyway, both  of us singles went to celebrate it through dinner at The Red Olive which happen to have its first opening day today and offers 20% discount to diners on that special day. 

I orderd the Green Surprise (RM 8.80) which consists of Cucumber, Apple and some other green fruit which I could no longer remember but i definitely can remember how fantastic the drink was though my friend said it smells of cucumber a lot, so probably those who dislikes cucumbers should refrain from ordering this. 

My friend ordered the Lime Mint Fizz (RM 8.80) which look great too. I did not try it though. 

My main dish was the Pan Seared Sea Bass Fillet (RM 31.80) which was so tasty. The skin was very crispy till I thought it was fried but it was not. Very healthy and awesome! Totally a must-try here. Even better was the mashed potatoes which was very unlike the ones you eat at KFC or other shops like Am Sande. The best part is that they do not give us the super creamy coleslaw or over-mayonaise flooding the salad which usually spoils the original taste of the salad. I love the garlic sauce that came with it, probably mixed with a lot of olive oil and parsley. The blanched vegetables if broccolis, carrots and cucumber was made mediterranean style. The entire combo was amazing, and a bit like the one I had at Henry Cook. 

My friend ordered a less healthier option which was the Chicken Cordon Bleu (RM 19.80). The ham and cheese were neatly wrapped in between the deep fried chicken. The batter was perfect and the result not too salty. The crisp was incredible, and does not taste like there was too much oil used. 

All that was a very wonderful summary of how Red Olive is, and the First Day of Opening Eating experience was the most amazing I have ever had. I never imagined a new restaurant which was opened for 1 day only to serve such great food! The price is reasonable too, except the salmon which is slightly more expensive. The drinks are great to go with the artistric ambience which is perfect for hanging out for drinks and cakes too. Just the only downside is the location upstairs where some lazy people might not notice, especially since there are no big brands or franchise clothing outlets upstairs which would draw people up to notice the restaurant. 

The service of the waitress is amazing, probably because it was the first day and they felt enthusiastic to welcome new customers.

The bill went up to RM 60.90 after 20% discount for each item. How cool was our Chap Goh Meh 2015? With great ambience and delicious affordable food in laidback and artistic ambience, what else could one ask for? 
All in all, we really felt more "Alive" after dining there. Alive with Olive kind of rhymes too. 
Very neatly and perfectly made

Very neatly and perfectly made

 
Refreshing and cooling

Refreshing and cooling

 
Superb.Tender. Crispy skin.

Superb.Tender. Crispy skin.

 
Tasty mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables mediterranean style

Tasty mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables mediterranean style

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken cordon bleu,panseared seabass
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM61

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Gravy Factory  Smile Feb 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Group/Family dining

I have always wanted to try this place since I first saw it in Empire Damansara. Since I saw it again today, and since the rest of the places were not that special other than Melur and also Puffy something which sells local food, this seems like the better choice. 

I had their signature Hainanese Chicken Chop Set with iced-lemon tea at RM 21.90 which was just ok, probably because I am not a big fan of fried food. However, people who love fried food would love this as the chicken was fried till super crispy. I could not finish the crispy wedges as there was too much of fried stuff for me to handle in a day. The Pineapple Sweet and Sour gravy disappointed me as I expected more taste of the pineapples but it did not have this. 

My friend ordered the Black Pepper Grilled Chicken Chop with Rice and Pappadam (RM 20.90) which was quite tasty and very tender indeed. 

The food prices here are very affordable or shall I say very reasonable. I thought the bill would come up to more than RM 70 but both of our meals for two pax only cost slightly more than RM 30. It was fantastic that they actually have set lunch on public holidays too! Kudos to them. 

The al-fresco dining on the roof top overlooking the city of KL was quite refreshing and not that hot after all. Quite a great place to hang out for travellers. 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM38

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Alexis @ Jalan Telawi  Smile Feb 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

I wondered why I have never been to this branch of Alexis. Probably because I had the preconception that Alexis is usually expensive ever since I tried the one at Gardens where 1 plate of pasta cost at least more than RM 40. But I admit I love the food here. 

Anyway, since my friend wanted dessert and we were sharing, so I figured it was ok. Anyway, he made the decision for this place in split seconds so I had to agree and I had no other place in mind in Bangsar area which serves delicious desserts and he seemed to know better since he is a Bangsar boy. 

He ordered his favourite Tiramisu which came with a lot of nuts and a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and watery strawberru sauce. But it was a little too creamy for my palate so I just ate a little. 

I drank the Lavender tea while he drank Camomile. Each pot of tea costs RM 13. But I think the tea is not that great because it was not fragrant enough and by the second refill, the taste ran out. This is worse than the chinese tea at the kopitiam. 

The ambience won me hands down. The atmosphere is very romantic and dark upstairs with a Monalisa screen in different attire and done creatively. The sofas were very comfy and made for romance. 

So I guess this more like a place for drinking alcohol instead of tea. But fantastic place for romantic evening for couples. 

 
Tiramisu

Tiramisu

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  tiramisu
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0